Julia Morgan Ballroom Reviews

23 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Julia Morgan Ballroom

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

23

14 User photos

Order by:
  • Sherry

    Sherry A. · Married on 02/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Erickson Wedding

    The evening was magical! It was a fairytale wedding with some budgetary constraints- you would have believed it was a million dollar wedding reception! The staff from start to finish were SUPERB and the dinner menu wonderful! The cake- a masterpiece!
    10 Stars to Julia Morgan and team!
    The Groffs

    Sent on 02/23/2019
  • J

    John · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect wedding

    The Julia Morgan Ballroom is a stunning venue and was absolutely perfect for our wedding. The service is outstanding, the food is amazing, and everyone involved in the process was flexible, supportive, and responsive We would wholeheartedly recommend this venue to anyone looking to get married in San Francisco.

    Sent on 11/18/2018
  • A

    Arthur · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Julia Morgan Ballroom is a beautiful venue for a wedding. The ceremony can be held in the ballroom or in the fantastic lobby of the building. Lillian and her staff are incredibly responsive and work very hard on everything from how the space is set up and looks, to food and drinks, and any and all other details so the the event is perfect. They are sensitive to budget needs. They answered any questions we had during the planning process and were available the day of the wedding to make sure everything was as it should be. I highly recommend Julia Morgan.

    Sent on 05/24/2017
  • A

    Anadelia · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Venue: The JMB is an AMAZING venue. It's beautiful, timeless, and quintessentially SF. When my husband and I began the wedding venue search process, the Julia Morgan Ballroom was at the top of our list from the get go. It was the first venue we visited and from the moment we were greeted by Lillian and walked through the space, we knew it would be the one to beat - and no venue ever did. The venue itself has so much history and is incredibly stunning. All of our guests were in awe of the space!

    Lillian and Elexis: Were awesome! They were professional, incredibly responsive, always followed through in a timely fashion, were incredibly detailed, flexible, and all around just great to work with and made the process even better. We felt at ease with them and we knew all the details would be taken care of. They were always willing to answer any and all questions I had (and I had alot of them!) and always kept me informed of big deadlines coming up. We also hired a partial wedding planner which was amazing and she and Lillian and Elexis worked very well together too!

    Food: We chose 4-6 passed Hors D'oeuvres during cocktail hour and had a buffet style dinner. ALL of our guests couldn't stop raving about the food. People typically are iffy about wedding food but we along with our guests absolutely loved it. We wish they had a regular restaurant we could frequent in order to have the same food we picked out for our big day!

    Cake: we ordered our cake through JasmineRae - and it was seriously one of the best cakes we have ever had. All the cake details were coordinated through the JMB which made it even better during the planning process.

    All in all, I would greatly recommend the JMB - you won't regret it!

    Sent on 09/19/2016
  • R

    Rick · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Once you see the venue, and meet the team, you will be hard-pressed to pick a different location. Our experience was perfect in every way!

    Sent on 08/09/2016
  • A

    Amy · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I originally had a longer review for Wedding Wire, but there is a character cut-off so I will be posting that one on Yelp!

    I cannot recommend this venue & team enough. The JMB is absolutely breathtaking and has such a classic San Francisco feel. It is grand & opulent, but still felt very intimate for our wedding. Their in-house catering was such a high point. One of our priorities was making sure we didn't have the dreaded "wedding food" at our own wedding & they certainly did not disappoint. I loved the dinner so much that I saved our menu card from our wedding! And when you mention the catering at the JMB, one cannot leave out the wedding cake. It was made through Jasmine Rae Bakery, the sweetest, most talented baker I've met! Not only was the cake delicious, it was a work of art. We gave her our wedding palette and allowed her to take artistic licence with our cake design, & we are so glad we did!

    One of the best parts about the Julia Morgan is the JMB team- lead by the Director of Weddings, Lillian Phan & the Wedding Event Manager, Elexis Feldbrill. These two women completely took our wedding vision in their hands and executed it flawlessly. We were lucky to have them be both our month of & day of coordinators, which was undoubtedly the saving grace of our wedding. In the few weeks before the wedding, they managed our wedding itinerary/details with emails that helped me stay organized, & even offered suggestions when I was at a loss with wedding decor. On the day of, Lillian and Elexis became superwomen- steaming my dress and veil, carrying my touch-up kit, making my husband and I feel absolutely at ease on one of the most hectic days of our lives. Lillian did all of this on top of managing the entire wedding day. I know the rest of their team were doing just as much behind the scenes, & hope they know my gratitude as well. I would 100% recommend this venue and their highly talented and professional team.

    Sent on 10/20/2016
  • L

    Liana · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at the Julia Morgan Ballroom was an absolute dream. From the moment we toured the venue, we knew that it beat out all the other venues we checked out prior to this one. The ballroom is stunning, elegant and took our ​breath away. The architectural finishes truly makes it stand out from the rest. Being able to have our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception all in one location was key. We didn't want our guests to be shuffling around all day long.

    The amazing team at JMB truly wowed us, especially Lillian Phan​, the Director of Weddings​ and Elexis Feldbrill​, Wedding Events Manager​. They were so wonderful to work with, very professional, incredibly detailed and were always quick to respond to all of our endless questions in a timely manner, whether it be through email, phone calls or texts. ​ ​We were very well taken care of and had so much confidence in them to execute every and all details on the day of our wedding. We could not have asked for a better duo to handle one of the most important days of our lives.

    To this day, we still have many friends and family who give us rave reviews of our venue and the ​amazing ​team who helped us carry out our beautiful wedding. We can not thank them enough!​! We highly recommend JMB and if we could do it all over again with Lillian and Elexis we would do it in a heartbeat!​

    Sent on 10/25/2016
  • S

    Siddhartha · Married on 03/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One word - spectacular!

    We had our wedding at this venue. This was a Hindu wedding on a weekday with a relatively small party of 60 guests. And everything was just spectacular. Right from the very first email to the time we left happily married. Lillian and Elexis helped us plan everything within our budget, accommodated our special needs without a single glitch, and made our day absolutely memorable. They helped us think through the myriad details that go into planning a wedding. Without us even asking. Things went very smoothly on the day. Our guests were mesmerized by how gorgeous and elegant the venue is. Honestly, we would not have been able to do this without the excellent customer support we received.

    Sent on 05/30/2016
  • J

    Janneth · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing wedding experience at the JMB. Our ceremony took place in the atrium lobby with the light coming in from above and the beautiful architecture. It was magical. Our reception was In the ballroom with the old world charm and such great architectural details designed by Julia Morgan herself! Lillian and Elexis were there every step of the way for anything from vendor and decor advice to day of coordination. I was planning my wedding from across the country so they were so much help. People are still raving about our wedding!
    If you love SF history, appreciate old world architecture, and want a memorable elegant wedding, I highly recommend the Julia Morgan Ballroom. Youll really have one of a kind wedding!

    Sent on 03/04/2017
  • L

    Lillian · Married on 10/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    his review is long long overdue! Shame on me for taking so long to write this review for our glorious wedding venue and the amazing wedding team: Lillian Phan and Kaley Fountain. My husband and I celebrated our wedding here at the beautiful Julia Morgan Ballroom. While we were venue shopping, we had narrowed it down to two venues, the Julia Morgan Ballroom being one of them of course. There were a few key reasons why we decided to go with the Ballroom over the other venue. CUSTOMER SERVICE: Lillian Phan, the Director of Weddings, answered every question we had, showed us the venue several times, laid out all of our options, and showed us patience and flexibility as we grappled with what a lot of couples may grapple with when planning a wedding: BUDGET. After very many phone calls and emails back-and-forth, Lillian helped us crunch the numbers and just like that our DREAM wedding came to life (and within our budget to boot)! FOOD/DRINKS & SERVICE: We had a wonderful, gourmet, family-style dinner which was whipped up by the amazing in-house kitchen. The food was delectable the wine and beer selection were top notch -- I received so many compliments from our guests! The service staff was also on point. We were told that service was attentive, timely, and most important, all the wine glasses were consistently kept full (always important in my book!). EVENT MANAGEMENT: Kaley Fountain, the Event Manager at the time, was amazing! Days up to the wedding, she made sure all the minor details were executed to the exact way I wanted, from arrangement of the photographs on the fireplace, to the exact placement of the guestbook, couple photos, and wedding favors! She even set aside time to help us conduct a rehearsal of our grand entrance at the venue with the entire wedding party! She and Lillian checked in on us throughout the event - from making sure we had appetizers and bubbly when we arrived after the ceremony, to making sure that our night was perfect.

    Sent on 10/12/2015
  • J

    Ben · Married on 08/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at the Julia Morgan Ballroom was a DREAM COME TRUE! We had our ceremony in the lobby of the building and the reception in the ballroom. First, I would just like to say WOW. WOW to the venue itself. WOW to the incredible production crew and staff. WOW to the wedding planners that we had (Linda & Anna). And DOUBLE WOW to the food. The venue is just so STUNNING. It felt SO amazing and special. The production team and wedding planner did such an incredible job. After speaking with Anna and Linda about what we like and what, they provided us with three or so options for everything - linens, plates, glasses, lighting designs, etc. and every single option was so absolutely perfect that I would have been happy with ANY of the options they provided. They are SUCH great listeners and truly just... GET IT. :) My husband and I have different styles and tastes and they were able to perfectly marry the two, pun totally intended. ;) On the day of the wedding, they ran the wedding so perfectly -- when we should be where, where to line up, who lines up where, who goes next, and so on. I don't know what we would have done without them! The dance floor was big enough to accommodate ALL of our crazy dance loving guests and although the room is huge, it is still intimate and cozy because of all of the amazing use of space that the crew knows how to do brilliantly. The lighting, cocktail reception area, fireplaces, bar staff, and servers were absolutely amazing. I can't speak more highly of this venue and hope that you decide to have your dream wedding here because you will NOT be disappointed -- it's truly worth every single penny. ;)

    Sent on 12/23/2014
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil, Lillian and Kaley were wonderful to work with and helped to us make our visions a reality. The day/night of the wedding everything was so well organized and seamless. Many of our guests have shared with us that this was the best wedding they've been too....from the beautiful location, delicious food, and attentive staff...everything was spot on! Thank you JMB team for making our wedding so memorable!!

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • R

    Russell · event on: 11/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thought the evening was delightful. Room is beautiful and food was great. Service was likewise excellent.

    Sent on 12/27/2013
  • User3760620 · event on: 07/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue. Extremely well run.

    Sent on 12/29/2013
  • L

    Linda · Married on 12/31/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    My husband and I were just married on 12/31/17. We had our reception here. I can honestly say you will not find a more beautiful ballroom with the perfect staffing and hospitality that they have shown us here.

    As a wedding planner for my sisters and friends, I've worked with many venues in Los Angeles and Orange County. I looked at other venues in the city and I have to say.... the JMB was just perfect! Not only is the JMB is a much better value venue than other iconic venues, the venue is beyond gorgeous and so easy to work with. But what I love most about the venue is truly the staff, Lillian is so helpful, kind and goes above and beyond to make the experience so pleasant. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a great venue!

    Lillian and his staff are the most professional and caring that any of us have ever experienced. Everything from the wedding decor details to the food was by far the most amazing service we could have ever expected. The love and pride in their service were truly felt. They are more than flexible to help you get exactly what you want.

    When you look at most of the pictures for JMB it does not show enough pictures of the food. The food here is amazing!!! They truly pride themselves on making the best meals you and your guests will ever have. Your guest will truly be amazed and have a once-in-a-lifetime memorable experience that will be talked about for years to come.

    The atmosphere is nothing short of divine. Gorgeous high ceilings, romantic and classic ambiance, and tasteful decor. You will feel like a princess. Or a prince. Royalty of some sort, for sure.

    Sent on 03/20/2018
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 10/26/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil does a wonderful job of managing the ball room and providing excellent hospitality and service. I love attending events in the beautiful ball room~

    Sent on 12/05/2013
  • User3536876 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue itself is beautiful and there is nothing else like it in San Francisco. For our recent wedding, the venue looked great and everything turned out perfect. The steak was a big hit. We recommend it to anyone looking to get married in a beautiful space in the city.

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • C

    Crissy · Married on 08/10/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married on 8/10/18 and Julia Morgan Ballroom was the perfect wedding reception venue for us. It was difficult to find a venue in San Francisco large enough to fit our guest count as we expected about 200 guests AND match our personalities well. To no disappointments, JMB had the exact look & feel we were going for - classy & sophisticated San Francisco vibes. The 3 fireplaces add such an elegant touch as well.
    Lillian and Amy were amazing and so wonderful to work with; they helped tremendously in helping execute our wedding vision the day of. Lillian and the rest of the JMB staff were very attentive during our reception and constantly checked up on us as well as our guests to make sure we were happy. The food was very delicious; the only thing I wish could have happened was the ability to taste more food at our tasting. There were some items during our tasting that we decided not to order and other items that we did not get to taste. However, Lillian was very honest and made excellent recommendations for substitutions. All of our guests still to this day will let both of us know how good the food was. They were very accommodating as 2 of our guests were vegan and multiple guests had food allergies. They even let us order the exact desserts we really wanted, which they did not necessarily have on their menus - beignets, ice cream sandwiches, and we were able to order the exact wedding cake from the bakery we wanted. The bridal suite was a great size as our wedding party was 20 people, unlike other wedding venues in SF we had toured that had very small bridal suites. They also have associations with nearby hotels, so we were able to block off multiple rooms for our guests travelling out of town. One additional tip of advice for brides: may just have to be patient with communication as some times it would take a few days-weeks to get a response. JMB is a very popular event venue, so it is understandable that they are extremely busy.

    Sent on 09/21/2018
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 10/10/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we chose the Julia Morgan Ballroom as our reception venue! It's a truly stunning location, and Lillian and Elexis were fantastic to work with. My husband and I both have very large extended families and having the big items (food, drinks, service, lighting, linens, set-up) streamlined through the Julia Morgan team made things so much easier for us to coordinate. Lillian and Elexis were also very patient and flexible with us when we needed to make changes to the seating, menu, etc. throughout the process. We looked at several other locations before we chose the Julia Morgan, but we honestly could not find anything nearly as straightforward or elegant this venue.

    Sent on 11/06/2015
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 02/14/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I had my wedding here in February, 2014. Very nice and professional event manager on the site. I took points for the QS as the waiters made a few mistakes and their catering manager was nowhere to be found but my wedding planner took care of the issue quickly. Love the size and layout of the whole floor, the lobby and lounge/bar area - great size, lots of room for the money paid. Food was ok, flavor was not there and chicken was little dry. Bartender was great.

    Sent on 11/24/2014
  • S

    Shiree · Married on 12/30/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Winter Wedding

    I would highly recommend getting married at the JMB! While it was a confusing process getting all the pieces into place, the outcome was more wonderful than we could have expected. The setting was immaculate, the food was delectable, and the service was professional. It was an incredible night and everything went as planned. We had the ceremony downstairs and the reception upstairs and while I was surprised that we had to buy a lighting package, it turned out to be stunning. The wedding cake was also delicious. If the venue provided a booklet describing the different options and pricing, it would have streamlined the process and eliminated many awkward conversations. However, I would do it all again because the outcome was just so good. I couldn’t imagine getting married in a more beautiful place!!

    Sent on 04/13/2019
  • User3098118 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Julia Morgan Ballroom is like no other - it's absolutely beautiful! My husband I are completely pleased with our choice in holding our wedding reception there. The room is spectacular and fit our large party of guests perfectly (256). We received so many compliments from our guests and would recommend this venue to others in the future.

    Sent on 09/27/2013
  • User3417685 · 2+ years ago

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Venue was beautiful, but make note of all of the added costs with booking this place.

    The day of was perfection...but getting there was a bit bumpy and required my constant attention and aggressiveness to get responses.

    Sent on 07/24/2013