Julia MacInnis Photography Reviews

29 | Fairfax Station, VA
See photos, pricing and details

29 Reviews for Julia MacInnis Photography

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

29
Order by:
  • M

    Matt · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am sure there are many wonderful wedding photographers on Wedding Wire. But if I were you, I would not look any further than Julia MacInnis. After meeting for the initial consult we knew she was the perfect photographer for our wedding. It only takes a short conversation to see her professionalism and passion for her work. A few months before our wedding we booked an engagement session with Julia. After two postponements due to weather, we dragged her to Eastern Market on a 90 degree day in July. Julia took the temp in stride and overcame the not-so-ideal light to capture wonderful photos. We had a few requests for specific photos on our wedding day but having looked through a few of her previous wedding shoots we told her to go with her instincts for the rest. So glad we did! We just received our final photos and they are incredible! Our wedding day was a complete blur but we will always have the memories and the photos Julia captured for us. Thank you Julia!

    Sent on 12/15/2013
  • D

    Devon · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was great. She walked my husband and I through our engagement photos and they came out great. She even picked the location and it was adorable. When it came to the wedding, she was there but she didn't stick out like a sore thumb. She was great with making sure we got all the shots we requested. When my flower girls (2 1/2) was acting up she was able to get her to sit and smile for the group photo! The pictures we have seen so far are great and we can't wait to see the rest!

    Sent on 10/08/2013
  • C

    Christine · Married on 09/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia did a FANTASTIC job photographing our wedding! We had only talked on the phone, and not met in person because we were planning our second wedding in a short time period. Nevertheless, she did a great job listening to what we wanted, and we felt like we had really good chemistry when we met in person on the big day. She was everywhere without being intrusive, she made everyone smile and feel natural with ease, she captured the spirit of the day and just took wonderful pictures everywhere, of everyone! She took a ton of pictures of my daughters and their friends doing their own things, and they are some of my favorite pictures. I don't know Julia well, but she is just a radiant person who takes so much pleasure in her work. I would very very happily recommend Julia to anyone who has a wedding coming up. I am certain we will find other opportunities to take advantage of Julia's great photography in the years to come!

    Sent on 12/08/2013
  • User2510750 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Julia! She was very professional, easy going, personable and of course took amazing photographs!!! She was also the wedding photographer at my sisters wedding the previous fall so I knew that I was going to be in good hands! Every picture that I asked for, she took and went above and beyond! I am so happy with the results and will recommend her to anyone who is in need of an amazing photographer!

    Sent on 12/13/2013
  • User3079931 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was great. My husband and I live overseas and got married 'back home' and Julia was flexible and responsive on email and phone calls, albums too. She understood the style and feel of our wedding immediately. Julia is also a great person. I highly recommend Julia's services.

    Sent on 12/02/2013
  • J

    Jim · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was amazing all the way through!

    When we went to sit down and chat with her, we met in her home which was very professionally kept and laid out, a feat given she has kids!

    She kept everything in line at the wedding itself and even pulled her camera back out while packing up to make sure to capture a very special moment for us.

    The pictures came and we were very impressed with the quality. Through and through we were blown away by everything she had to offer. I'd use her again for other stuff too!

    Sent on 12/03/2013
  • C

    Cady · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was everywhere on our wedding day. She captured images of our wedding that I didn't think anyone would think to get or be fast enough to snap. The day after our wedding she put four pictures up on facebook as a quick sneak peak. They were perfection. Within a few weeks, she put up a slideshow on her website and also posted it to facebook so my friends and family could see. Shortly after that, we received the whole gallery.

    I was very pleased with the quality, the time frame in which she did her work, and that she shared it on facebook. Julia is the kind of photographer that you keep in touch with, you send Christmas cards to and you use every time you have an important family portrait you want to take in the future.

    I knew she would be fantastic but the images she captured were more than I could have hoped for.

    Sent on 07/15/2011
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was amazing. Not only was her work beautiful, she managed to coordinate photos of a HUGE wedding party, was adaptable when things didn't go as scheduled before the ceremony (which is more than I could say about my reaction) and captured photos of our family and friends during perfect/special moments that my Husband and I would have otherwise not seen. For example, there is a photo of my Mom looking at my Dad after he sat down after giving me away and it's precious! That look happened in a split second, and she captured it, along with many more just like that. The thing that really sets Julia apart is her personality. She is friendly, funny, confident, and extremely professional and made us feel comfortable. She left an impression on everyone; family, friends, Country Club employees, etc. and that says a lot!

    Sent on 07/17/2011
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    No, I did not put five stars on everything because I was lazy! I truly loved having Julia as my photographer! She was nothing but professional through the whole period leading up to my wedding. With my initial consultation, Julia was up front about her services and pricing and her portfolio was beautiful so I was easily sold. Her responsiveness moving forward was always quick and no question was too silly. The day of the wedding, she arrived on time and got right to work. Even during "down times", Julia continued to work--setting up the next photo and making sure she had everything prepared. She also did a great job of impromptu photos. Any ideas I had for a photo she took to immediately and made it better than what I had imagined. My wedding was very relaxed and stress free for me and I loved that Julia fit right in. I was never concerned about what she was doing, I completely trusted her judgement. As far as the photos--amazing! I would highly recommend Julia MacInnis Photography for any type of wedding. She is the best, in my opinion.

    Sent on 07/18/2011
  • M

    Georgette · Married on 05/01/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia is wonderful!!! She did our wedding last year and she brought another very experienced photographer with her that just made the most beautiful pictures. Everyone gushed over them. Additionally, she is a great person. So fun to be around... we did our engagement pictures and just had such a fun time with it. She was also a very calming presence at the wedding, which is such a bonus for a nervous bride! We loved her!

    Sent on 10/11/2011
  • C

    Casey · Married on 08/08/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was great! Very easy to work with and willing to change the amount of time we had originally scheduled to make it longer the week of the wedding. The pictures are beautiful and very professional.

    Sent on 12/07/2009
  • Sheena

    Sheena · Married on 08/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Not to sound cliche, but wow, wow and WOW. Julia is by far one of the absolute best photographers in the Washington Metropolitan area, especially considering our particular cirumstance. Both my husband and I work for the Departement of State, so our wedding was VERY last minute and a bit of a whirlwind. I contacted her three weeks prior to our set date, and without any hesitation, Julia bid on my request - and a great bid it was. Not only did she have reasonable prices, but because we were not doing a full 8 hour wedding, she adjusted her prices to accomodate our short event.

    Professionally, she was on time, prepared, courteous, and listened intently to what we wanted as a couple. Some of our best shots are ones that we all collaborated on. As we are African American, and have darker skin tones, this could have proven to be a challenge for any photographer. Nevertheless, she adjusted, added and/or deleted light, and was sure to place us in the perfect position to utilize natural light as well. She touched up a few photos for the blog, but the ones that she did not still portray us in the most perfect way possible. Simply amazing photos.

    On a more personal note, I am above and beyond appreciative of her desire to please the customer. Our wedding ran late into the evening hours, so Julia did not get the best shots she thought possible. She texted me the very next morning and said 'lets try this again'. Any other photographer would have allowed us to go on with our lives, giving us what we paid for. Not Julia. She is very detailed and dedicated to her artform, and even if we were satisfied with her final product, she was not. We met again and took even more stunning photos, which we are all pleased with.

    To be very direct about it, Julia rocks. She loves her chosen profession and she loves people, which makes for some of the most heartfelt, candid, meaningful photography. Not that I am planning for children any time soon, but when I start showing that lovely bump, I will be calling Julia to document the life of us and our child(ren) for years to come:-)

    P.S. - Shes quick and full of energy - makes for a fun, great session!!

    Sent on 01/12/2010
  • A

    Alison · Married on 05/16/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia is awesome! We knew right away when we met her that we wanted to work with her. She is warm and friendly but totally professional. We had a great time working with her and we got to do a free engagement photo session with the package we went with which was really cool. Her photography is amazking and really helped to tell our story. We will be getting our albums soon and I am really excited. I would highly recommend Julia to any happy couple!

    Sent on 09/01/2009
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 04/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia is amazing. I am so glad we decided to have her photograph our wedding. She is talented, compassionate, encouraging, and really got to know us throughout the whole process.

    Julia's wedding photography is worth every penny. From the engagement session all the way up until I got the album, Julia communicated with us regularly and responded to questions very quickly. I personally hate getting my picture taken at all, but as a bride, I knew I had to! During the engagement session, Julia really made me feel at ease. She was so positive and supportive, and really helped me relax...something that is difficult for me to do when my picture is taken. We ended up having so much fun despite being outside in the cold!

    At the wedding ceremony Julia was great. The church we got married in was VERY strict in terms where photographers were allowed to stand. Julia and her co-photographers weren't even allowed to stand inside the main part of the church! Despite this, Julia's pictures were phenomenal. She was positive the whole time and used her professional talent to ensure she got great photos. She used the small areas where she could stand to get some neat aerial photos and some were zoomed in but looked as though she was right behind us at the altar. At the reception, Julia got some great candid pictures of us and our guests, as well as some that were set up.

    Photography is the one part of the wedding in which couples cannot afford to look for the cheapest prices available. I know so many couples who looked for really cheap photographers, and once the photos and albums came back they were so disappointed. With Julia, you will not be disappointed! Her photos really captured great moments on our special day, and she has options of parent albums of various shapes and sizes...traditional albums to ones that look like books and more!

    I highly recommend going with Julia MacInnis Photography...aside from marrying my husband, it was the best investment I made on my wedding day!

    Sent on 12/08/2009
  • Kari

    Kari · Married on 10/04/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From your first meeting with Julia, you'll know how awesome she is! Her pictures are sentimental, exciting, and she was right there for every moment of the wedding. We did our engagement shoot with her too, and it was fun afternoon - she made us feel comfortable getting cozy with the camera. I am thrilled with our wedding pictures and out of every vendor you have on your wedding day - pictures are what last forever!! She's awesome!!

    Sent on 10/23/2008
  • H

    Hilary · Married on 09/27/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was one of our favorite wedding vendors. She offers and extremely high-quality product for a reasonable price...and she is fun to be around! Her flexibility both leading up to the wedding and on the day itself really stood out for me. For example: about two weeks before the wedding, we decided to add an extra hour to our photo package. She worked to successfully find a second shooter who could be there the entire time (the second-shooter she had secured earlier could not make the re-scheduled timeframe). Another example: it crazy poured rain the day of our wedding. Julia and her second-shooter did not miss a beat and got some amazing interior shots (as well as some great exterior shots during the 30 minute rain-pause). The initial plan had been to take most all of the shots outside. You would never know that was the plan, based on how the photos turned out - they are beautiful. Another thing worth mentioning is that she is not an obtrusive photographer. I didn't even notice her (nor did any of the guests - several mentioned this to me after the wedding) the entire ceremony and reception. That has not been the case at many weddings I have attended!

    Julia produced high-quality photos for us. If we were getting married again, we would definitely use her. I have already recommended her to several friends!

    Sent on 12/17/2008
  • M

    Helen · Married on 08/24/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia is absolutely the BEST! She is so great to work with, she is worth EVERY penny and so much more! I am looking forward for other events in my life that will require a photographer!

    Sent on 02/05/2009
  • C

    Cameron · Married on 05/09/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was absolutely fantastic! My wedding was actually the first wedding I had ever been to and she helped out so much with all the timelines and was extremely helpful during the event giving me advice for when it was a good time to put on my dress and transitions into the dances and cake cutting. Also during the event she was great about not causing additional stress while I was getting ready, I barely knew she was there and she came out with great pictures! It was such a pleasure to work with her she is so sweet and fun loving and her work was FANTASTIC! If I ever plan on having a photographer for an event again she will be my number one choice and I would definitely recommend her to any of my friends! Absolute pleasure working with her:)

    Sent on 06/19/2008
  • D

    Dani · Married on 03/29/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia is a very easy going and attentive photographer. She is wonderful to work with. Her artistic touch to her photography is wonderful. I highly recommend her!!!

    Sent on 06/16/2008
  • H

    Heather · Married on 03/22/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia MacInnis was an absolute pleasure to work with from the time we first met her all the way through the entire process. She provided plenty of quality ideas and was always available to answer any questions we had. Her pictures captured our entire day and really created a beautiful wedding story...and these were just the proofs. We have no doubt that our wedding album will be phenomenal! Julia MacInnis will always be our choice of photographer.

    Sent on 06/08/2008
  • M

    Megan · Married on 11/03/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Without a doubt Julia was the best vendor of our wedding. This was my second wedding so I have something to compare her to. At my first wedding the photographer drove me crazy. I felt constantly interrupted so he could get a picture. In contrast, we barely knew Julia was there and the end result were beautiful pictures that captured every moment. Julia also did a great job with the small children in the wedding party. She is extremely patient and has a way of getting even 2 year olds to participate. Her number 1 goal through out the planning and day of the wedding was pleasing us. She was flexible and so easy to work with. There was absolutely NO stress in this part of our wedding planning. She is a true professional.

    Sent on 01/14/2008
  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 07/07/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was truly a pleasure to work with throughout the entire planning process and the actual wedding day. She was very responsive and professional. I would highly recommend Julia to anyone looking for a photographer they can trust!

    Sent on 01/12/2008
  • K

    Keli · Married on 03/31/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was WONDERFUL! We really couldn't have asked for a more reliable, talented and personable photographer. (I actually miss seeing her now that our wedding is over!) Everyone raved over our pictures after the wedding because she has a way of capturing moments that would otherwise be forgotten - and in a beautiful way. Julia is extremely up-to-date with what is happening in the photography world, which is very helpful considering that wedding photography is nothing like it was twenty years ago. My husband and I highly recommend her - you will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 01/17/2008
  • D

    Dan · Married on 09/16/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In addition to our wedding, we have had engagement, maternity, and newborn baby photo shoots with Julia and have been extremely pleased with her work in all of these settings. At our wedding, she was unobtrusive during the ceremony and reception and took wonderful shots of each, including impromptu pictures of guests and staged ones of us and the wedding party. We were fortunate to have the rain dissipate during the afternoon of our wedding, allowing us to have outdoor pictures taken, and Julia was expert at setting up dramatic scenes with the late afternoon sky and natural scenery in the background. Her staging of posed shots and use of state-of-the-art photographic technology in all our shoots has produced pictures we are proud to display at home on the wall and in albums. We will definitely continue having Julia take family pictures as our daughter grows up.

    Sent on 03/02/2008
  • D

    Diane · Married on 07/29/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh Wow, I just absolutely love the photographs that Julia took. She was very professional, on time, and friendly. When Julia arrived at my hotel room where I was getting dressed, she went right to work. There were photos that she took that I wasn't even aware she took them. Every single photograph was beautiful. I especially love the coffee table book that she put together. If you're looking for a knowledgeable, friendly, professional photographer she is the one you want.

    Sent on 02/22/2008