Skip to main content
Weddings

JThomas Catering & Events Reviews

JThomas Catering & Events

JThomas Catering & Events

Savannah, GA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 67 Reviews
View more information

67 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

67
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

11 User photos

  • J
    Josh Married on 09/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Perfect choice for our wedding! They worked with us to customize a menu and the day of the wedding the servers were very polite. All the guests commented on how good the food was!
  • C
    Cindy Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    A wedding ceremony can be perfect but if the food is just so-so, that is what will be remembered. So glad we chose JThomas Catering in Savannah, GA. The passed appetizers at the cocktail hour had all of our guest so excited to see what was for dinner. We had some guests that are food snobs and they were so complimentary of the food.
    We decided to do stations instead of a plated dinner and we could not have been more pleased. Each plate at the stations was prepared as guests approached the station and the creativity used to plate the food was amazing and quick. Each plate was a work of art. My daughter has always loved funfetti cakes and so it was only fitting that her wedding cake be a funfetti wedding cake. Courtney and team made her dreams come true---a fabulous cake to see and eat!!! Everyone from JThomas was polite and professional and the evening was made even more perfect by the food that was prepared and served by these amazing people. Thank you JThomas Catering and Courtney for helping an anxious mother of the bride (long distance) have a wonderful experience!
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 05/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Food Ever!

    Our wedding was in 2018, and our guests are still talking about the food that was served by the JThomas team. A lot of our guests were from the New York area, so we wanted to serve some fun Southern food, and the topic of our wedding food still comes up at holidays. The passed bites were delicious, the buffet was wonderful, and my husband and I couldn't wait to dig in to our "to-go" boxes later that night. Thanks so much to Courtney and Josh for such a memorable meal!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Andrea Married on 04/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The JThomas Catering team and food was absolutely amazing! Outstanding customer service and delicious food! I'm beyond happy with my experience with JThomas Catering and would highly recommend to anyone!! We just had our wedding the Railroad Museum and everyone is still raving about how good the food was! I wish I could give more than 5 stars! :)
  • T
    Tonya Married on 12/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    JThomas Catering was amazing! They worked with us to come up with the perfect menu. The food was fantastic and we had rave reviews from all our guests. I highly recommend the shrimp and grits. We got our wedding cake through them also and it was delicious. I would recommended them to anyone!
  • L
    Leslie Married on 11/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    J Thomas catering was phenomenal! We got so many compliments on the food! The shrimp and grits were to die for. They are very reasonable and a pleasure to work with. Highly recommend them!
    12-2-17
  • K
    Katie Married on 10/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    JThomas is the reason you get married in Savannah. No exaggerations, the food was outstanding and I can't praise their service enough.

    We ultimately decided to upgrade from a buffet to the stations, and I'm so happy we did! Everything was wonderful. The plating was beautiful, and we had guests telling us they went up for thirds! The salmon and beef were a hit, and I highly recommend oysters for cocktail hour.
    We even threw them a curve ball and asked them to make buffalo chicken bites with our favorite hot sauce from Brooklyn.

    Honestly, if you're getting married in Savannah and need a caterer - book JThomas. You won't regret it.
  • S
    Shante Married on 09/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I got married in September and Ships of the Sea Maritime museum so this review is super late but I just wanted to say JThomas and his crew were AMAZING. My guests are still talking about the food at my wedding and how delicious it was. Everything was perfect. The only regret I have is I wish I would have eaten more but that was at no fault of theirs. We were partying hard. Thank again JThomas for everything!-Shante and Chris
  • D
    Devon Married on 08/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We chose JThomas to cater our wedding based on many reviews we read and we were not disappointed! They offered a wide variety of dish options. We were looking for something a little more casual for our reception and we felt that they had the best offering around from the research that we did.

    They were extremely friendly and easy to work with! They were very accommodating and worked with us to make sure that we got exactly what we wanted. They were also very reasonably priced, especially for the quality of food that we received! We got so many compliments on the food! We had chicken and waffles and shrimp and grits as our two entree offerings and everyone LOVED both! We liked them so much we had no problems eating them again the next day as we ordered more than what we ended up needing!

    Overall great experience! We would highly recommend JThomas for your catering needs!
  • S
    Susan Married on 06/10/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We selected JThomas Catering for our daughter's wedding in June, 2017. My husband and I live in Pennsylvania and our daughter lives in Savannah so much of the communication was via email. Courtney was very organized and quickly answered any questions throughout the whole planning process. There were ample items to taste in the tasting and it was difficult to select the food items since so many items were delicious! John Thomas and his competent cooks provided superb food selection at a reasonable price. We received many favorable comments from our guests. The Chicken IN waffles hors d'oeuves were excellant and many went back up to the buffet several times for the Terres Major beef which was cooked to pefection. The few children guests enjoyed the smoked gouda mac-n-cheese. In addition, the wait staff which assisted with passed hors d'oeuvres were very friendly and efficient. We would highly recommend using JThomas Catering at your wedding or other event. It is money well spent.
    Susan and Jay Frerotte
  • S
    Susan Married on 03/25/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    JThomas is without question the best caterer in Savannah. Their food is delicious! Not delicious for a wedding/catered meal...it is delicious in the 5 star restaurant kind of way!!! They bring staff to give personal service to every guest. You will not be disappointed, I promise!!!!!!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 02/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    When planning our wedding, food was basically at the top of our priority list and JThomas Catering truly delivered! The guests could not stop talking about how amazing the food was! JThomas was actually the first caterer we tried and were instantly hooked. The set up of the tasting was amazing and they made sure everything was perfect. My husband even wanted to try a grit cake instead of regular grits and they made him one for the tasting. We knew right away that they were the ones to use for our special day. They really worked with us in terms of meeting every expectation we had. We selected 3 passed appetizers (fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and crab cakes) and they were amazing! Everyone came up to us during the cocktail hour to tell us how impressed they were. Then came the main dinner. We chose a buffet of fried chicken, braised beef shoulder, mac n' cheese, green beans with shallots, and a mashed potato bar with all the toppings you could want! I am still getting compliments from people about the food at the wedding. The best part was that the JThomas staff made a plate for me and my husband so we actually had time to eat while our guests got their own food. They even packaged up to-go boxes for us at the end of the night so we could eat again if we wanted. They were such an amazing team and I am so happy that we were able to have them for our wedding! Thank you JThomas Catering!
  • C
    Carly Married on 07/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Food was top priority for my fiancé while planning our wedding. Josh, Courtney and their staff went above and beyond our expectations on our wedding day and the days leading up to our big day. Our food was fabulous and they made sure everything was perfect!
  • L
    Linda Married on 06/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with Josh and Courtney for our daughter's Destination Wedding at the Morris Center (Trustees Garden) was absolutely the best experience we have had in a very long time. We wanted something different than the standard and they listened. They were so easy to work with and were able to accommodate adding things at the last minute. Those that attended are still sending us notes about how awesome the food was. The staff are all friendly and professional and we never ever worried a minute about the catering. The decision was also made in the family that they also cater the After Rehearsal Dinner (the barbeque was great). And goodness, they can make some great Mac and Cheese. From the passed appetizers to the grilled oysters and the special bar he created to serve them was the rave until they tasted the buffet dinner of Pork Tenderloin and Short Ribs. We even used their Pastry Chef for the Wedding Cake and he also was great as it was not standard either. A Crème Brulee flavored cake with caramel was created and was a hit. I could go on and on about how wonderful they were and are.
    They obviously love what they do and it shows with their care in quality of the food and its presentation. Thanks again JThomas. Loved working with you for a special day. I would say that if you are planning any event, you should call JThomas and let them help make it a GREAT event.
  • G
    George Married on 05/21/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We checked out a number of caterers before our daughter Jessica’s wedding last year prior to her wedding this year on May 21, 2016.

    JThomas Catering and Events was by far the BEST caterer of them all. They are so professional, and take pride in their food, and the presentation of their food. They are willing to work with you to arrange the menu to meet your specific needs, something the other caterers do not and will not do. My wife and I were born and raised in New Orleans, so we know good food. We and our daughter wanted the food to be centered on the food of New Orleans. We are talking, Gumbo, Red Beans & Rice, Muffalettas, Crawfish, Shrimp, etc… We went for a food tasting last year, and their presentation blew our socks off! Their food tasted as good, if not better than some of the great restaurants in New Orleans! They should open their own restaurant in Savannah.

    The food came out fantastic at the wedding reception! We had about 140 guests at the wedding reception, and all of the guests that we talked with raved about how great the food was!

    If you are planning a wedding, and need a caterer, then go no further than JThomas Catering and Events.

    JThomas you ROCK!!!!

    George and Nathalie
  • User2603038 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am an out of town wedding planner with very high expectations. I worked with Josh and Courtney on my client's destination wedding for 170pp! They catered our rehearsal dinner at Old Fort Jackson and our wedding reception at Tybee Chapel Ballroom. The food tasted great and looked fantastic! Our guests raved. The service and professionalism was some of the best I have seen. In the pre-planning stages with Courtney, she was an absolute asset to the challenges we were faced with, professional in all our dealings and quick to respond to all the questions we had. I highly recommend this caterer to anyone getting married on Tybee Island! They will take great care of you.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 04/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Josh and Courtney were amazing to work with. They catered my rehearsal dinner as well as my reception and all the food was wonderful. The presentation of the food was beautiful and it tasted even better. They made sure my husband and I were well taken care of, always asking if we needed anything and even bringing us seconds. They packed us up a to-go box, which was still so delicious at 1am =D Their staff was professional and so nice. I would highly recommend them to anyone!
  • D
    Deb Married on 04/02/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Josh catered the wedding for my daughter this month at the GA RR museum. (not the easiest place) He was very easy to work with and satisfied their food preferences!
    The passed appetizers were a crowd pleaser and the dinner was wonderful!!! We would definitely use Josh again for any type of catered meal. Thanks for helping to make their wedding a memorable event.
  • J
    Jenna Married on 04/02/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    J Thomas Catering far exceeded all of my expectations for our wedding day. The food was out of this world - from the passed apps to the side dishes, to the main course. In my opinion wedding food can be pretty "meh" - J Thomas was the complete opposite of expected wedding food, the dishes were memorable, fresh/local and delicious. We had so many guests come up and tell us how much they enjoyed the food. He really gets all the details - we had food stations and even the plating was pretty and detailed (vs being slopped on like you sometimes see). Do yourselves a favor and hire J Thomas!
  • B
    Beth Married on 03/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is the 2nd time my family has used JThomas for catering weddings and I will use them again! Guests were all commenting that this was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding. Professional, responsive, and delicious food!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 03/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Excellent service, both prior and during my son's wedding reception. And I got many comments from guests that the food was the best event food they'd ever tasted. Highly recommend!
  • User2677133 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chef Josh and his team hosted our Landmark 24 Homes Realtor Appreciation Luncheon. The first moment I met Josh and his team I was blown away. After sampling several of their amazing food choices, I knew I wasn't going anywhere else. Josh was more than willing to work within our budget while still providing us with a great selection of plated choices. On the day of the event, Josh and his team first served our guest with their signature hot dinner rolls and homemade butter followed by a jaw dropping plated lunch. The presentation, food, and staff was amazing and guest all across the room were giving rave reviews. Josh and his team made our luncheon one to remember. I highly recommend Chef Josh and his fabulous team. You will be seriously impressed.
  • M
    Michelle Married on 12/13/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired JThomas Catering for my Salon Christmas party and it was so much better then we ever expected. Their professionalism and hospitality is impeccable. Not only was the meal the most incredible meal we have ever eaten but my kitchen was cleaner than when they got here. Amazing food and awesome service right here in the comfort of our home at a great price. Highly recommend!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 12/05/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Josh created my dream menu all within my budget! Everything he makes is simply amazing! The beef short ribs and the Mac and cheese were the best I've ever had (sorry mom). I also still can't stop thinking about that delicious chicken pasta dish he served. It melts in your mouth. After the wedding I received so many calls and texts asking if Josh had a restaurant so they could get his food anytime. Everyone, including myself, thought it was the best food we ever had. Thank you so much Josh!
  • B
    Berry Married on 11/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Josh and his team were everything we could have asked for in a caterer, we enjoyed their food so much that we had them for the welcome party as well as the wedding!

    We loved that they are a family owned business that has the service level matched by none with a very professional staff.

    Also their day of coordinator Ann Marie did an amazing job and we highly suggest adding her to help with your wedding. With her there was no stress on our big day!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message