Joyous Events LLC Reviews

46 | Alexandria, VA
See photos, pricing and details

46 Reviews for Joyous Events LLC

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

46

1 User photo

Joyous Events LLC 1
Order by:
  • J

    Joyce · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joyous Event provided the design and decorations for my daughter's wedding at Herrington on the Bay. Everything was BEAUTIFUL! The CEO and assistants are well versed and experienced in the wedding and decorating Industry.

    Joyous Events LLC 2
    Sent on 12/07/2017
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely had a wonderful experience working with Joyous Events. Their services were great, they were extremely professional, responsive and we felt valued as a client. Our wedding was beautiful and will always be memorable thanks to the creative decor and floral designs from Joyous Events.

    Sent on 12/08/2017
  • C

    Cherie Danyell · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot rave enough about working with Marilyn! I was very hesitant to plan a wedding, and decided to find a wedding coordinator. She held us (me) by the hand the whole way through seeing how I had very little vision beyond having a simple but elegant affair. I had dreams come true that I did not even realize I had!
    Here is a non-exhaustive list of help and guidance she provided:
    Kept us within budget
    Recommended and then contacted vendors for save-the-dates/invitations, decorations, music/DJ, hair, makeup, photography, cake, etc. (They were also amazing vendors to work with!)
    She always kept to her schedule and ours
    Made sure we were up-to-date with everything and checking on our progress
    Being available by phone, email, text, and in-person. Never worried about not hearing from her!

    Basically, she understood what we were looking for and made excellent suggestions. She had everything under control from beginning to the wedding. She also made time to meet us even though I was in Richmond and my husband in Alexandria.

    Just know that Marilyn has your best interests at heart and works hard to make sure your big day is gorgeous and painless. Thank you Marilyn for everything!

    Sent on 06/16/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a pleasure working with Marilyn! Very professional and kept the much needed tasks on schedule to ensure favorable results for the big day.

    Sent on 12/08/2017
  • S

    Shonte · Married on 12/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want the most professional, open-minded, respectful, kind-hearted event planner. Please choose Marilyn of Joyous events. She coordinated my husband and I 10 year vow renewal. Not only did she do a spectacular job overall, she also made sure we had everything we desired. She has connections to other vendors such as a florist, sugar artist, hair/makeup stylist, DJ, officiant, photographer/videographer, etc. which takes away all the guessing work and makes planning that much easier. We left everything in her hands giving her and the other vendors free range to be as creative as they desired. It worked out for us, the vow renewal was more than we could have ever imagined. Marilyn created a stress free planning process by maintaining constant communication. We will do this over and over again if we had the opportunity. So it’s safe to say that we will only recommend her for all events from here on out. It felt like 1:1 care. She was always available and her staff is so nice. Everything went smoothly with zero complaints. Thank you for making our night a very special event.

    -Drake & Shonte

    Sent on 12/13/2016

    Joyous Events LLC's reply:

    Shonte and Drake it was such a pleasure to be part of your celebration. Thank you for trusting me to always work with your best interest as my only priority. By allowing us to do what we do best, we were able to create for you everything that you dreamed of and more. May God continue to bless and keep you both through it all!
  • M

    Michele · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marilyn and her team were absolutely phenomenal. We had the exciting, unique, yet challenging situation of getting married on board The Royal Caribbean's Grandeur of the Seas before embarkation - with the majority of our guests getting off before we set sail. With this came a set of special circumstances regarding security clearance for guests, delicately orchestrating getting on and off the ship, staying on schedule, and dealing with the ship's crew and staff. The entire Wedding coordination team effortlessly took control, and I never felt like anything was off - I mean the entire day went off without a hitch and I have Joyous Events to thank!

    Sent on 10/10/2016

    Joyous Events LLC's reply:

    Michele and RJ you were such a joy to work with! Thank you for entrusting us with executing the wedding day of your dreams. From the "First Look" to the farewell song at the piano, your day was filled with special moments that were so emotionally inspiring. The entire Joyous Events Team wishes you the best for a lifetime filled with wedding day joy!
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booking Joyous Events was a blessing. Although my wife did not want any wedding planner help, I knew we needed help. So many moving pieces go into planning a wedding all the way through the big day. I contacted Joyous Events and knew from the first phone call with Marilyn that we were in great hands. Wedding planning can be really stressful but with Marilyn, we always felt secure. She was such a calming influence in stressful times and knew what we needed before we did. She was unbelievable in helping us secure vendors and negotiated on our behalf. We cannot say enough about how pleased we were. Marilyn is like family and we will always stay in touch. Excellent service!!

    Justin and Andrea Evans

    Sent on 12/27/2016
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding prepared by Joyous Events LLC. They were really helpfully Thanks

    Sent on 06/16/2016
  • D

    Dan · Married on 02/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We initially hired Marilyn and her staff to plan only our rehearsal dinner. As wedding planning logistics piled up and more details and decisions arose, we decided that we needed a professional wedding planner. We booked Joyous Events for wedding coordination services four months before our wedding.

    Choosing Joyous Events was one of the best decisions we made. Marilyn and her staff were able to work seamlessly with the vendors that we had already hired, despite never having worked with them before. She also reviewed our contracts and made sure the equipment we rented would meet our needs. In fact, she helped us change rental vendors due to delivery time constraints, and she made sure that our deposit was refunded. She also recommended and worked with a florist to order flowers for the cake, and when neither vendor decorated the cake, she placed the flowers herself!

    On the day of our wedding, thanks to Marilyn and her staff, all we had to worry about was enjoying the day with family and friends. At no point did anyone seem unclear as to where they were supposed to be or what was happening. Throughout our wedding weekend, Marilyn and her staff were prepared for every possible contingency and had a plan to deal with it. They were consistently gracious and patient, and many of our guests have commented on how great they were. Our wedding will always bring happy memories to us, and that's in large part due to Marilyn and her staff's hard work, preparation, and experience. We cannot recommend Joyous Events enough... if we could give them more stars, we would!

    Sent on 04/13/2016
  • K

    Karen · Married on 01/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a bit wild having a wedding on the Grandeur of the Seas cruise ship in the Port of Baltimore. As the mother of the bride I would personally like to thank everyone from Joyous Events so much, as they did such an amazing job placing our wedding flowers and decor exactly where I had suggested, and even better. You all were wonderful and I thank you so very much. The lovely minister (I am sorry to have forgotten her name) who performed the ceremony was marvelous and I heard lots of compliments on the service. The DJ was fun too. The guys thought the kind gentleman (again, forgive me with names) who attended to them and made sure they were where they were supposed to be, doing what they were supposed to be doing, was terrific. Thank you again for all of your personal attention and care.

    Sent on 12/28/2016
  • J

    Jewel · Married on 12/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marilyn Patterson and her staff are superb! Reliable! Detailed oriented! And absolutely charming!!!

    Sent on 12/31/2015
  • G

    Gabrielle · Married on 09/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My first conversation with Marilyn lasted 2 hours - I knew she was the person to make my dream wedding come true. Book her!

    Sent on 12/22/2016
  • User6112507 · event on: 05/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The event was excellent; the vendor and team made everything move smoothly and very efficient. The guests were very impressed. The event exceeded my expectations. The total process from the first meeting to the end of the event was not stressful for me. The vendor made a special effort to ensure that I also enjoyed the event. It was my first time working with the vendor and it was truly a pleasure for me.

    Sent on 12/30/2015

    Joyous Events LLC's reply:

    Betty, it was a pleasure to work with you to plan this milestone birthday party for your husband. Developing the "Around the World" theme for the party was so much fun - from the invitations, to the decor and the suitcase party favors - it so personal for him and your guests. The live band made the classy experience memorable and the dance floor stayed full! Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this important celebration!
  • M

    Marie · Married on 02/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service's provided by Ms Marilyn Patterson of Joyous Events proved to be the best decision we made in planning our Valentine's Day Party. Our guest were delighted with the arrangements from the time they exited their vehicles where soft lit lanterns met them walking up to our home followed by the friendly and professional staff greeting them at the front door. Our guest were pleasantly surprised at the level of service, attentiveness, and entertainment which made the evening special for everyone.
    The music provided by the band recommended by Marilyn was nothing short of smooth and entertaining. The services provided by The Joyous Event Team was excellent and and exceeded our expectations. We would definitely recommend and utilize Joyous Events again. Thank you for ensuring the success of our event and making it a memorable affair. JC & M Copeland

    Sent on 12/31/2015
  • D

    Donna · event on: 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marilyn Patterson of Joyous Events is professional start to finish, and fun to work with as well! She led me from a concept to the execution of a marvelous party, helping me determine what I wanted at each stage. She was available each time I had a question leading up to the event. Having her on-site during the event meant that I could enjoy my guests and not worry. She also hired a wonderful bartender and caterer and the whole team worked well together. My guests were very happy, had a great time, and want another party.

    Sent on 11/20/2014
  • User4526520 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend the Joyous Events team. In addition to the professionalism and attention to detail exhibited by Marilyn Patterson during our first meeting, she and the other team members -- Valerie Connors, Lillian Patterson, Sharon Bunch and Jessica Clark -- put our minds at ease as soon as we arrived at the venue. They really made it possible for us to relax and have the wedding we envisioned. We can not thank them enough for helping to make our special day worry free and lots of fun. We will cherish the beautiful memories of our wedding for a lifetime.

    Sent on 11/05/2014

    Joyous Events LLC's reply:

    Karen and James you were a pleasure to work with. As your Wedding Day Coordination Team aboard the Royal Caribbean Grandeur of the Seas in Baltimore, it was wonderful to see all of the family and friends that traveled near and far to celebrate your new beginning. As trends go, 110 guests for a cruise ship destination wedding is a rather large crowd. The ceremony was so moving, intimate and engaging - Rev. Scott was awesome! Looking forward to working with you again as we plan a grand milestone birthday celebration for James!
  • T

    toni · Married on 08/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Marilyn and her team were flawless. Our wedding was fabulous!!! Our guest immensely enjoyed themselves as we did. Marilyn, we have you down to plan our next event! Thank you so very much, Bride and Groom"

    Sent on 11/17/2014

    Joyous Events LLC's reply:

    Toni and Jon it was such a pleasure to work with you to plan, design and coordinate your beautiful wedding event. The experience for your guests was awesome and so uniquely YOU! We especially love our mature couples because the styling of the wedding is so personal, elegant and sophisticated. The added touches that honored your military service and experience will forever be a fond memory! Wishing you all the best and can't wait for our next milestone event together!
  • C

    Carlene · event on: 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a short 4 months request, the staff at JoyousEvents provided excellent services leading up to my 20th anniversary. On the day of my anniversary I was very pleased with the outcome. Very dedicated, professional staff who truly care about the outcome of their services. They even decorated the bridal suite. I couldn't ask for a better staff and service.

    Sent on 08/28/2014
  • R

    Richard · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marilyn and her staff organized an outstanding event. Every vender that she used was top-notch (Baker, Photographer, Florist, Graphic Designer and Hotel Catering). From our initial meeting, she took our ideas and made spot on suggestions that made the event one of the best nights of my life. My family and guests were amazed at the décor and the flow of events. I would definitely recommend Marilyn and her vendors to my family, friends and co-workers.

    Sent on 09/10/2014
  • D

    D'Lisa · event on: 08/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have picked a better company! The owner came, delivered, set up, and broke down our table center pieces and lighting. It was the perfect touch to a beautiful evening. Joyous Events helped us out in a pinch but did not skimp out on the quality. All of our interactions were customized and professional! I highly recommend them to anyone and also will be calling on them again. Our pictures are all the more lovely! Thank you!! - NAOBI-DC

    Sent on 08/26/2014

    Joyous Events LLC's reply:

    Thank you D'Lisa for your kind remarks. It was our pleasure to serve the National Association of Black Interpreters for your 15th Anniversary Gala. I have a greater appreciation and sensitivity to the hearing impaired audience that you serve and the special needs for effective visuals in the design of the event. Thank you for entrusting Joyous Events with such an awesome opportunity!
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    With only three months time to plan our event, we hired JOYOUS EVENT and staff for day of wedding coordination and support services. Margaret was JOY to work with us and accommodate every request. She was an amazing planner and a wonderful friend. We know that my color scheme seemed to change every other day but in the end everything matched and looked beautiful, the linens, the framed table numbers.... and the flowers were INCREDIBLE. We will never be able to thank you enough for everything you have done to make our beautiful wedding possible. We know is a blessing from God! Thank you very much!

    We highly recommend the JOYOUS EVENTS for your wedding or any event you are planning. You will not be disappointed!!!

    Many blessings,

    Mr. & Mrs. Wilton Madison, Washington, DC
    Wed on August 2, 2014

    Sent on 09/03/2014

    Joyous Events LLC's reply:

    Jennifer and Wilton you were a joy to work with! The experience of planning such a beautiful celebration of your love was life-changing! As my first hearing impaired couple, what I learned through this experience raised my awareness and sensitivity to non-verbal expressions. Thank you for entrusting the Joyous Events team with creating the perfect experience for you, your families and friends. May God continue to richly bless your lives as he has mine through this relationship.
  • User4271187 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Despite the short window of time that we hired Joyous Events, they accommodated us. I would recommend brides hire a wedding coordinator in the early months of planning to avoid the stress of managing all the details. We are grateful to God for Joyous Events, especially since they offered their services in the last weeks leading up to our wedding day. Joyous Events gave us peace of mind, to know our wedding day would run stress free because they were involved to manage the details. Our "big day" ran smoothly thanks to Regina Mangum at Joyous Events.

    Sent on 11/17/2014
  • C

    Constance · Married on 03/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joyous Events gave me everything I could ever dream of. This event was so special, I could not have asked for anything more. From the start of the planning stages of my wedding all the way to the day I walked down the aisle the staff at Joyous Events, led by Marilyn Patterson, gave me special attention. They went above and beyond what was expected of them and made sure every detail was thought of. The personal caring consideration that was given to my husband and me was impeccable. I would recommend Joyous Events to all of my family and friends. If you want that special touch with someone who is caring and always willing to help then, Joyous Events is the company for you. I was well pleased!

    I recommend them 100%.

    Constance Bryant

    Sent on 12/04/2014
  • User3454112 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marilyn Patterson and Joyous Events delivered more than I could ever dream of on my special day. Throughout the planning process Marilyn and her staff were professional, friendly, reliable, and an absolute pleasure to work with. Marilyn is a great listener and did a remarkable job of helping me pull together all that I dreamed of for my wedding day. My wedding took place in VA, but I reside in New York City. Thus, many of our communications took place via email, texting, phone calls, and several video conferences. Marilyn is excellent at forging relationships and has a great resources in the DC/ VA/ MD area, and I never once had to worry about what to do or where to go for anything. AdditionalIy, I was especially pleased with the way in which she worked with all of our vendors. I always felt that she had our best interest (and budget) in mind. She was professional and responsive in all communications. Perhaps most impressive is how Marilyn maintained regular communications and extended herself many times to make herself available at the most unreasonable hours. Marilyn takes the time to really get to know her clients. I felt that she invested in getting to know me, my husband, and my family. By the end of the process Marilyn became more than our Wedding Coordinator, she is now a true family friend! She is excellent at her craft, and I highly recommend her services.

    Signed,

    The new "Mrs. Perry"

    Sent on 11/16/2013
  • J

    Jamon · Married on 11/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Joyous Events for my wedding was a great experience. Today's grooms are becoming more involved in the planing process. I must say that Marilyn and her staff made this process very comfortable for me. My ideas were taken seriously and I received great feedback. For example, I expressed to Marilyn that I did not want my Mother-Son dance to be the "cookie-cutter" version, rather I wanted to honor several strong women that played significant roles in my life at once via a medley of songs. Initially, I was worried about how to make this work, but Marilyn listened to my vision and executed above and beyond my expectations. She created a very special moment for me that I will never forget. It is often said that it is not good to mix friends and business, but as time went on I found it difficult not to consider Marilyn as our friend. She is someone that truly enjoys their job and is really good at it! Marilyn - thank you for making 11-03-13 a day I will never forget!

    Signed,

    Your favorite client (and adopted son),

    Mr. Perry

    Sent on 11/16/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review