Weddings

Josh Gooden Cinema Reviews

Josh Gooden Cinema

Josh Gooden Cinema

Charlottesville, VA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 25 Reviews
View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 25
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
Sort by:
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 05/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh Gooden Cinematography FAR EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS! Josh has now filmed my wedding as well as my sister's wedding, and we couldn't be happier. He has a way of making you feel very comfortable during the day. He's easy to work with, friendly, prompt in communication, and most importantly, produces beautiful work! Josh has the ability to highlight all the most special moments of your big day and showcase them in a beautiful story that will be cherished for a lifetime. His creative vision really comes to life through the beautifully shot imagery, which he pieces together with voiceover soundbites that bring the film to life. It's storytelling at its best! Trust me, you want to book him! : )
  • User510136 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh was an absolute dream to work with, from initial contact to the wedding day. He made an effort to get to know us, as well as our expectations and hopes for the wedding video, through a series of emails and a detailed questionnaire. We were hoping for a vintage/timeless feel and Josh was immediately on board, agreeing to shoot part of the wedding in Super 8 mm film. On the wedding day, Josh arrived early and ready to work. His experience, patience, and ability to capture special moments was evident from the moment he began shooting. We are beyond thrilled with the final product – the quality of the DVD and its various features exceeded our expectations.
  • L
    Lilywren Married on 05/10/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Choosing Josh Gooden to capture our wedding day was by far the best decision we made! Not only was Josh extremely professional, he was kind, welcoming, and helpful to our family and guests. Josh was able to capture each moment of the day in a quiet and noninvasive way. It was wonderful to see Josh truly enjoying the day and relishing in his profession, rather than simply going through the ‘hired motions.’ Because of Josh’s clear excitement for our wedding day and obvious love for his work, I knew that Josh would put his heart and soul into his editing and his final product. That, he did! In fact, he substantially succeeded our expectations! From the day my husband proposed, throughout our engagement, the wedding planning process, the actual wedding day... and all the way to just a few days ago, I had been wondering why I hadn't cried! I had imagined and expected all these milestones to be accompanied by joyous tears... which never came! With that said, I have felt nothing but happiness and excitement this year! However, it felt wonderful when the happy tears finally came the first time we viewed Josh’s final video of our wedding! Since then, my husband and I have watched it numerous times…daily! Each time, I get choked up and cannot hold back a huge smile at the same time. It is so moving to see such a perfect day expressed in a video that genuinely reflects our personalities and compatibility! Josh truly captured US in the most authentic ways! The way Josh was able to pinpoint the most meaningful moments of the day and produce the most accurate and poignant representation of our character as a couple is beyond talent. This will be a treasure in which we can reminisce with forever! I will be bragging about Josh’s work all over Virginia!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 10/05/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When we went into wedding planning, we didn't put much emphasis on videography because other people said to invest more on photography. However, I'm so glad to have read a photographer's blog post about their one wedding regret: not booking a videographer, specifically Josh Gooden. When you ask your own photographer for a list of videographers he recommends and the list is comprised of only Josh Gooden, we knew it was time to meet and book him.

    And we sure don't regret it! Josh is an AMAZING vendor. Firstly, he's great to work with. Communicating with him was a breeze because he was very quick with his responses. We also needed some help on our timeline and he didn't hesitate to give us some input. Secondly, Josh and his assistant were ninja-like on our wedding day. Very professional and unobtrusive. I even loved the fact that Josh collaborated with my photographer as well. Lastly, his work is amazing. We just received our highlights video and it is nothing short of spectacular. I HIGHLY recommend Josh Gooden. He is worth every penny!

  • N
    Natalie Married on 05/25/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh is an absolutely incredible cinematographer and a phenomenal artist! He was professional, unobtrusive, and personable throughout the entire wedding day! Josh was one of the best decisions that we made in our planning process and we will cherish the footage he captured for a lifetime!
  • C
    Channah Married on 11/02/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough good things about Josh Gooden! I remember the first time my now husband and I saw his work when we went to his website and watched some of the wedding videos. We knew right away that if he could do something half as good for us, we would have a truly amazing keepsake to look back on. And, he did!

    When we received the wedding video "short" (a roughly 4 minute movie of our wedding highlights), we were thrilled! It took me right back to the actual day, and it was so beautifully pieced together. I could not get over how he captured the feel of the wedding and caught so many wonderful exchanges / moments. He even found the perfect music for it (having taken care to ask us about what kind of music we like first). We were especially happy too because we were disappointed with our wedding photos - now we have 9 hours of footage along with photo stills from that footage. I didn't know until I saw the video how much it would mean to me to be able to hear my voice as I took my vows or see the look in my husband's eyes as he watched me walk down the aisle. Josh Gooden's film is magical. Having just watched the Oscars last night, I would give him the award for film editing!

    In sum, if you are looking for a videographer in the DC/VA/MD area, this is THE person!
  • User910476 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh recently served as the videographer for our wedding. We haven't seen the finished product yet, but if his prior work is any indication, we will be thrilled with his video. He was very nice, professional and helpful when interacting before the wedding, and he was great on the wedding day. He was unobtrusive and deferred to the photographer, seemingly not getting in anyone's way.
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 05/12/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh Gooden and his team provided videography for our wedding in May 2012. Hiring a videographer was a decision we made late in our wedding planning process, since the feedback we had gotten from friends who had gotten married before us was that a videographer was a nice-to-have, but not necessary (and often a costly) ticket item in the list of wedding vendors. One look at Josh Gooden's blog, though, tipped us over the edge and we decided to go for it. We are SO glad we did!! Josh was responsive to every single email, was thorough in asking us for important details about the wedding day and how we wanted to remember it, and was so friendly and pleasant to work with leading up to the wedding. On the actual wedding day, he and our photographer teamed up so nicely to capture all the key moments of the day and night. He and his team were unobtrusive the entire time... so much so that we were really surprised by all the amazing footage he took! The final result was an incredible 45 minute wedding video that completely took our breath away, as well as a 3 minute "highlights" video we could send via weblink to all of our friends and family who were at our wedding. Watching our wedding video with our parents was such a special moment - we all had joyful tears. Josh obviously cares about his craft - the details in the video were breathtaking and really allow us to re-live the day better than simply looking at photos. We will treasure Josh's video for a long time to come!! I recommend him so highly, it was absolutely worth the cost.
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 09/24/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't say enough about the amazing job Josh did on our wedding - the footage and film he captured are so beautiful, I know we will treasure them forever. Not only did we hear nothing but glowing praise from friends and family, the link to our film was passed around to friends-of-friends who later contacted us to tell us just how beautiful they thought the film was! As my mom (who is not one to give compliments easily) told me, he really captured the essence of what our wedding was about, and what's more, what our relationship is about. I could not be happier with our investment and the results we received!
  • T
    Tricia Married on 06/18/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can not rave enough about our experience and product created by Josh Gooden. He has one of the best websites to navigate and makes everything so easy for the client through the process. We have just received his video of our wedding and he captured the occasion so beautifully...his choices and priorities are perfect and the emotion is palpable. It preserves the day and so much more that we missed ourselves but, that his camera lense caught. Hiring Josh Gooden was one of the best vendor decisions of our entire wedding decision making and thankfully because the video is the one thing that you have to re-enjoy over and over of that most important time. Josh is a true professional and a delightful personality to work with. He is unobtrusive and completely flexible. Now that we have viewed the video, I wanted to let others know how high quality and artistic his cinematography is. You have to trust your videographer to prioritize the details of a wedding in the way you would wish...and Josh did that perfectly for us.
  • E
    Erika Married on 06/18/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh Gooden has been so great to work with...from the very first inquiry to receiving our final product. His payment method was easy to keep track of, his 'get-to-know-you' questionnaire was thorough and creative, his presence at the wedding was discrete and not stressful, and the final product just painted a perfect picture of our wedding day. Having a video keepsake of your wedding day is a unique gift. I am so grateful!
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 05/21/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What can I say about Josh Gooden? He was absolutely AMAZING!! I think using him was the best decision we made for our wedding. He did our engagement photos, wedding photos, and wedding films. He was great with giving us ideas for location for our engagement photos and helped us come up with some props and outfits. I got so many compliments on our engagement session because the photos were so amazing. He really captured our personalities. Then when our wedding day came, he delivered again. I have again gotten so many compliments on the photos and have been asked so many times who we used to photograph and video the day. I am really picky about photos, and before Josh, I never liked any professional pictures I had taken. He really knows what he's doing and does a great job in every other shoot I've seen from him. He photos seem to have sort of an old, classic feel that I think will remain timeless. He really captured so many special moments from our day and our love. Because of him, we will always be able to look back at that day and remember how great it was. I would highly recommend him to any bride and groom and will recommend him to my friends going forward!!

    He is so different from every other photographer we met with. We interviewed what seemed like an endless amount of photographers and cinematographers for our big day and even did some trial shoots. Many of them seemed factory like, as if this was just another standard job and would give us some boring stale looking wedding photos. Josh was so different! When I saw his website, I just had a feeling he was the one for our day. You can just tell from his work that he is really passionate about photography and cinematography. He is constantly perfecting his technique. He truly cares about your story. I could go on and on about him, but all you need to do is check out his work. It speaks for itself!
  • J
    Jonathan Married on 11/20/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh was flat our amazing. For what he's doing, and the product you receive...there's no one better. It's a bargain, at the risk of using that word with such an amazing artist. He's technical. He's not in your way.

    He really "remembered" our day in ways we could never.

    Always highly recommended!

    -Jonathan & Yvonne Woods
  • K
    Kurt Married on 10/15/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh Gooden did an amazing job for our wedding. His ability to capture special moments through out the day; as well as the atmosphere and essence of the day, while remaining unobtrusive, is absolutely extraordinary. He is an amazing artist who can deliver a professional product, we cannot recommend him highly enough.
  • I
    Isabel Married on 09/25/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Honestly, a videographer was not in the budget for our wedding. However, we are absolutely glad we changed our minds and made room for it. Josh Gooden is something else. Our highlights video designed by Josh was absolutely breathtaking. He was able to incorporate all the most treasured moments in a 3-4 minute film. The highlights video was great to have because we were able to share our wedding for people who weren't able to attend. A month or so later, we received our DVD of our wedding in the mail. It was wonderful to see all the parts and pieces we missed out on. I loved the ceremony, even our little whispers to each otherr. I loved all the highlights of the reception especially the father-daughter dance. I'm so thankful that was on video because NO ONE took a video of it. Everything was well-designed and put together seamlessly. Josh's style of videography is a breath of fresh air. It's beautiful, modern and classic, and he's a true professional.
  • B
    B Married on 09/04/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were very pleased with the final product.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 08/28/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh is AMAZING. I could never say enough good things about him. Videography was something that we had not included in our original budget. When I decided that it was something important to me, I was having a very hard time finding someone who fit the aesthetic I was looking for at an affordable price. When I stumbled upon Josh, I knew immediately he was exactly what I was looking for.

    He has an amazing eye, and is very talented in his edits. He was willing to travel 2 hours to our location at no charge, come early to film getting ready footage, and provided us with all of the raw footage. We had our highlight film by the time we were home from our honeymoon, and our final video by our one month anniversary. Once I had shared our highlights with a few people, they shared it with people they knew, and it was passed around. When I went to a wedding a few weeks after mine, people I had never even met before were coming up to me complimenting the video. An aspiring director who lives in LA even came up to me and said that he had never even sat through a wedding video before, but had watched ours several times, and complimented how nicely made the video was.

    If you are looking for an amazing up and coming talent, book Josh Gooden. You will not regret it.
  • B
    Brent Married on 08/21/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I'd give 10 stars if I could. Josh is amazing. He is incredibly professional, not intrusive, and his final product was incredible. It surpassed my wildest expectations. My wife cries every time she watches both the highlight video and the full version of the day. That, in and of itself, speaks volumes.

    Josh isn't merely a videographer. He is a storyteller. My wife and I are blessed to have him share in our special day.
  • K
    Kait Married on 06/19/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I were so pleased with the photography service Josh provided. Josh was in contact right up until the wedding day and was very aware of what we wanted. On the day of the wedding, Josh arrived well ahead of schedule and took charge. He and his assistant knew where to be to capture so many special moments. They did not impose but did an excellent job of being in the background. Overall, we are absolutely thrilled with the quality of the photographs. Josh caught some beautiful moments from the wedding day and we could not be happier with the finished product! I will continue to recommend Josh to any future bride - he goes above and beyond, and it is evident that he thoroughly enjoys photography and is very talented in his field. Thanks Josh!
  • S
    Shelly Married on 05/29/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We absolutely loved loved loved our video. My husband and I search far and wide for a videographer like Josh. Most of the places we looked were very traditional, but we wanted an artistic and captivating video similar to the ones in the east coast or Canada. Josh traveled to Richmond and spend the entire day filming us. Seriously, it was all day! Our video was def how we envisioned it to be and more. He's work says all. The best thing about it was that we got to actually see how our wedding was like in angles we didn't get to see during the wedding. We loved how Josh did a mini sneak peak of our wedding and how our DVD's came in such a delightful package. Josh is a steal, so get him now before he gets booked!
  • M
    Maura Married on 05/01/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh went above and beyond to create a wedding video for us that truly captured our day. The creativity that he used in piecing together special moments from throughout the day into one coherent and beautiful piece is truly remarkable. In addition, we didn't even know that he was there filming us that day, which was very important to the groom and to me. Josh made the effort to attend our rehearsal the evening before the wedding to discuss with us where we wanted cameras placed in the church to ensure that, at least in our minds, he wasn't being too intrusive. I highly recommend Josh!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 03/14/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh did such an amazing job with our video. He is so pleasant to work with and we could not have asked for a better videographer or service. We are extremely happy with his work!
  • P
    Paula Married on 03/06/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh is a superb cinematographer. He created the most amazing video for our engagement session and was able to set the tone that we were hopping for. He captured not only the best candid moments, but was so helpful at guiding us throughout the interview session, while never being invasive. We highly recommend Josh!
  • E
    Emily Married on 06/05/2010
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely love Josh Gooden's work! My husband and I are so pleased with our wedding video, and so are our families. It is top quality and feels just like we're watching our wedding on a wedding tv show. Josh captured all of our most special moments that we'll never want to forget and portrayed them beautifully with the perfect soundtrack and lovely, distinctive cinematography. He also brought great ideas to make it into the film that brings out our personalities and captures exactly the feel that we were trying to create with our wedding. He is very professional and flexible- a dream to work with!! I would recommend Josh Gooden to any bride, or anyone who wants to capture something special on film. I'm hoping for more opportunities when we can hire Josh for his services again!

    Thank you so so much Josh!!!
  • M
    Mary L. Married on 03/27/2010
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh is extremely creative and professional. Great at capturing the feel of your special day or weekend! Just let him know exactly what you want and don't want and he can take care of everything!