Josef Sullivan Photography Reviews

18 | Spotsylvania, VA
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Josef Sullivan Photography

Recommended by 100%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • M

    Magaly · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can't go on enough about how great Josef is! His eye for photography is so beautiful and unique. We knew we wanted photos with a natural feel, but we were a little nervous about his laid back style with minimal direction, simply because neither of us feel comfortable in front of a camera. Yet Josef managed to capture our best selves, and our photos were absolutely stunning! Worth every penny! In fact his price is very reasonablele for the amount of work he put in and the number of images we ended up with. So happy with our decision to work with him.

    Sent on 09/19/2018
  • User7438038 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josef Sullivan was simply amazing in every way. From our first meeting, Josef understood what we wanted. As we moved closer to the day, Josef stayed in contact. At our event he took it upon himself to make sure he captured our wedding in the best possible way. When we received the photos, they were better than anything we could have imagined. Our family and friends have given us a lot of praise. Josef's photography not only captured our day, but preserved it for many years to come. He was professional, and friendly. If you need a photographer, I would definitely recommend Josef. I can't say enough wonderful things about his personality and photography!

    Sent on 11/27/2016
  • Karen

    Karen · Married on 10/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josef was so easy to work with from day one! He was quick to respond via email, and worked with us to put a package together that met our needs and our budget. And now that I've seen the photos, I couldn't have asked for a better photographer. He caught all of those amazing little moments on our big day that I wanted.

    Sent on 11/04/2016
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exactly what we wanted! We did not want a lot of posed pics - a few before the wedding of the wedding party and with our parents, but after that we wanted candid pictures that captured the celebration. And that is exactly what Josef captured for us! He was also really responsive to emails (very important to me when I was planning) and a really great guy to work with.

    Sent on 10/11/2016
  • User5625862 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Josef for our wedding photographer because we didn't want to spend any of our precious wedding minutes taking posed pictures--we wanted someone who'd capture our day naturally but beautifully, with photos that were artful enough to hang on our wall, and Josef delivered above and beyond. He was super dedicated (putting in a ton of hours in prep, day-of work, and editing after), professional, unobtrusive, kind, and wonderful at dealing with our crazy family. Our guests who met him just loved him. And THEN we got the photos back--wow. We were shocked at how one man could've been in so many places and could capture so many moments--we hardly even noticed he was there, he was so focused. We're still hearing from friends and acquaintances alike about how exceptional our wedding photos are. To top it off, Josef's photo packages are an incredible value with a ton of options so you don't feel like you'll spend 6 months toiling at doing your own photobook and prints--he does everything for you for a great price. Thank you, Josef, for your incredible work. I feel like we won the lottery in choosing you as our photographer.

    Sent on 12/20/2015
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 10/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we started talking about photography for our wedding, my fiancé expressed a desire to stay away from “typical” wedding photographs. He wanted the pictures to capture the real moments of our wedding, from the joys to the small special moments. Josef was more than able to provide that for us. His photographs of our special day skillfully capture all the big moments and small moments. Working with Josef was very easy and relaxed, and he makes it obvious that he cares about his clients and truly wants to give them his best work. We absolutely recommend Josef to anyone who wants unique and beautiful photos of their wedding to treasure for years to come!

    Sent on 01/25/2016
  • M

    Megan-Brette · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josef is an amazing photojournalist who has an eye for capturing the most beautiful moments. When we first saw our photos, I actually had tears in my eyes. There were moments that he caught that I really just thought would be fleeting, but he captured them to make such lasting beautiful memories. Our friends and family can't stop emailing us about how beautiful the pictures are and how Josef was somehow able to capture the joy and excitement of that day through pictures. Not only is Josef an amazing photojournalist, he is professional, and was very flexible as he took "traditional" portrait photos at our request. He is easy to get along with and is very well prepared. I especially enjoyed how he kept in contact, we spoke on the phone once, and then he emailed a few times before the big day to make sure we were in agreement with everything that was going to happen. Up until the very end of our professional relationship, Josef has been extraordinary.

    Sent on 09/30/2015
  • G

    Gina · Married on 07/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josef was a dream to work with for my wedding. From the beginning, he responded quickly and eagerly to all of my inquiries. He was upfront and informative about his style and pricing while being personable and giving me space to decide what I needed. So much of planning a wedding felt like conducting business, but with Josef, I felt like we interacted naturally and comfortably, which was really important to me. He conducted himself with the highest level of professionalism during our wedding and stayed relaxed, kept us focused, and directed us well amidst some of the chaos. The pictures we received were beyond beautiful and my husband and I couldn't have been happier with the end result. We loved his style of photography and he captured some of the smallest details that often go unnoticed day-to-day, but now I have to cherish forever. After the wedding, Josef remained in consistent contact with us and kept us up-to-date on our pictures and when they would be delivered. Josef will go above and beyond from just being behind the camera. It's hard to stand out among all of the vendors people have to choose from, but he is truly a treasure to be found.

    Sent on 09/03/2015
  • Katie

    Katie · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married a few months ago on May 2nd and we look back on our wedding photos on a weekly basis thinking about how fantastic they turned out! I originally approached Josef after looking at photographers on Wedding Wire, because I liked the photos on his page and his own description of his photography outlook of candid photos. More than anything I wanted someone who was there to capture the random moments of love, laughter, and fun on our wedding day. Josef was absolutely the right person to select for our wedding! He was very discreet throughout the entire day but somehow got every picture that I wanted! Most of the day, I did not see that he was there, but without even realizing it, Josef captures the candid moments that show the excitement and love on your wedding day. I love every single picture that we got from our wedding day and I will recommend him to anyone who asks! Thank you Josef for the beautiful pictures and all of your help throughout the process!
    http://www.josefsullivan.com/

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 04/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Talk about going above and beyond - Josef was not only an amazing photographer and easy to work with, he went well above and beyond our expectations of the day. He spent extra effort getting to know both of us and our close family which made a huge difference on the wedding day. In the few weeks since the wedding, he's shared a few "teasers" with us that I have shared with family and friends. Each of them has commented about how amazing of a photographer he is and how great the shots are. He captured our wedding just in the way we wanted it to be captured and I can't wait for the full gallery!

    Sent on 04/27/2015
  • User5424437 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josef shot my Valentine's Day wedding and I can't get enough of my pictures! He was very responsive to my many emails, went out of his way to find some potential locations, and -- most importantly, showed up on time on our big day. I told him that I wanted a lot of getting ready pictures, and pictures with my wife around DC, and he made sure that we were able to get all of that and more. Even though his style of choice is not posed pictures, he (of course) accommodated family and guest requests to take posed pictures of them. I love every single one of my pictures and I would recommend him to anyone.

    Sent on 09/10/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josef's photographs are beautiful and my husband and I are thrilled with the results. He was incredibly professional and responsive through the whole planning process and I was very happy to have found a photographer to capture some great candid moments. I love his photo-journalistic style and the soft, romantic images he produces. Although his MO is non-intrusive he was able to humor my family with a handful of posed portraits and for the rest of the wedding I almost forgot he was even there! His prices are perfect for more budget-conscious brides and he was very quick to post sneak peeks soon after the wedding as well as the final collection of images only a few weeks later. I highly recommend his services and he was awesome to work with. I wish I could have brought him along to document my honeymoon!

    Sent on 10/29/2014
  • A

    Antoinette · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A friend recommended Josef as a potential wedding photographer. We knew we wanted a photographer that would capture our special day in a different kind of way. Josef was awesome! From our initial email inquiry he was responsive and very thorough. He answered all of our questions and provided detailed information about pricing and style. We were very pleased with our photos. And, we received many compliment from our family and friends. Josef was extremely professional and we highly recommend his services to others.

    Sent on 10/26/2014
  • T

    Terrence · Married on 11/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josef was very cool and very professional on our first visit. On the day of our wedding, this was no different. He makes you feel comfortable in front of the camera and his personality let's it all be about you and not wanting to get some ultra artistic photos that make it more about his skills. His main focus is definitely catching the best intimate and memorable moments of the day. We haven't received the final product yet, but we already know that all of the pictures are going to be wonderful. Thank you Josef for being a part of our day and capturing all of the memories. I would easily recommend him for any event and will definitely use him in the future.

    Sent on 11/25/2013
  • L

    Lila · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josef was an amazing photographer. Our wedding pictures were fantastic, and he was so kind and cooperative to work with. My grandmother kept commenting on how great he was. Our church had a number of restrictions, and he was flexible and just worked around them.

    Sent on 01/03/2014
  • C

    Christine · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josef was amazing from the very beginning. I inquired about his services he got back to me right away, was upfront and honest about what he offered and what he could do. He was always easy to get a hold of along the way, was always available to answer any questions. On the day of he was promptly on time, and really was able to be everywhere at once. He was flexible and open to suggestion and really did an amazing job capturing the day. He took such amazing and beautiful picture of my wedding day and I am able to relive my special day every time I look at them.

    Sent on 10/24/2013
  • Y

    Yolanda · Married on 08/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josef Sullivan provided the images for my wedding and they were beautiful! Of course I was nervous about finding a new vendor online because sometimes you never know what will get or pay for. I was pleasantly surprised! I found a honest, professional photographer who captured some of the most memorable moments of our special day. You can not go wrong with Josef Sullivan! He rocks!!

    Sent on 12/17/2013
  • G

    George & Mandy · Married on 04/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    At the time my fiancé and I had won an engagement photo session in April with Josef, and were very excited to work with him. Josef met us at our desired location, despite how frigidly windy and cold it was, and he stayed the full promised amount of time. It was very easy to feel comfortable around Josef, he was down to earth and we joked around as if we had been friends for a long time. We felt at ease to just be ourselves and Josef gave us some guidance as well.

    When we received our pictures, we couldn't be happier. The pictures were stunning and it was apparent that he captured our romance in a pure and natural form. We will definitely use him again in the future.

    Anyone that wants gorgeous pictures that reflect the romance that people share cannot go wrong with using Josef. He really is an outstanding photographer.

    Sent on 12/22/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review