Weddings

John Reynolds Caterer Reviews

John Reynolds Caterer View more information

41 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 41
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
Sort by:
  • K
    Kelli Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a tasting with John and his wife Valerie last weekend for our wedding next year. John's food was AMAZING!! The food was nothing like the typical "wedding food". Everything was seasoned and cooked to perfection. They worked with us to plan our menu exactly how we wanted it. The prices were very affordable for the amazing value. John and Valerie were welcoming and friendly, and it was great getting to know them. We couldn't be more excited to have John Reynolds Caterer for our reception.

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Kelli... thank you so much for you kind words!!! It was great getting to know you and Joe... the only thing we wish ... is that your wedding was this year!!! That way we could fed you sooner that next May!!!! Thanks again... we look forward to seeing you both again... Check my Facebook for coming events...
  • T
    Tami Married on 04/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had an excellent experience working with John and his staff. For the first time we met, he out our minds at ease, worked with your needs and wants, made suggestions we had not thought of and provided us with a pleasant experience. He catered the Birch Run High School Junior/Senior prom for around 230 staff and students. The food was excellent and perfect for our students and our barn location. Later at night, stone fire pizzas were served for our students! We can't wait to work with you again!
  • P
    Patricia Event on: 01/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired John to cater our extended family Christmas get together. The food was delicious and the overall experience was great. John offers a large enough variety of menu items that satisfied our pickiest eaters. There was more than enough food and it was fresh, hot, and "homemade." We will definitely be using John again.
  • C
    Carolyn Married on 09/15/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John catered a work event for me, serving his fire roasted pizzas. The gourmet pizzas were excellent. Everyone had plenty to eat and they tasted so good. One of our attendees said `You get the prize for planning the best food at one of these meetings that I have ever had.' John and Valerie are pleasant and easy to work with. This is the second event that I have had the privilege of working with them and both times enjoyed not only their food (YUM!) but they themselves and the staff working with them. I highly recommend them for whatever event you may have in the future.

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thanks Carolyn, it was our pleasure to serve you! We are pretty fortunate to have a great staff, great food… Made from scratch, and great customers like you! We look forward to catering an event for you again!
  • K
    Kathy Married on 09/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so impressed with everything. No kidding. The food was awesome. The service was so homey, personal, and fun. We will definitely call them again.

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thanks Kathy! Your group was fun! Especially when we pulled out those pizzas from our wood fired pizza oven! Actually... Who doesn't like pizza!
  • K
    Kevin Married on 08/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    very nice people to work with. very professional. very, very good food. would definitely recommend to others looking for a caterer.

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thanks for the review! We hope both of you are enjoying married life!!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 08/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John and his staff are very professional and welcoming!! All of the food was delicious!! I can tell when something is homemade and when it's not and everything of theirs was fresh and homemade!! Very good!!

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thanks Danielle! We look forward to not only serving you and your husband, but your guests as well! We know you will enjoy your special day!! Valerie
  • A
    Ashley Married on 06/27/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Not only was John's food amazing, but his staff was absolutely wonderful!! They made everything run so smoothly & everyone is still talking about how good the food is today! I would recommend them to anyone!!! :)

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thanks Ashley!!! We thought your wedding was beautiful... my only regret... I forgot my cowboy boots at home!!!! Enjoy your new life! Valerie
  • A
    Ashley Married on 06/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Pulled pork was absolutely amazing :)
  • User2176041 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am the junior class adviser at a local high school. I have been to and organized many proms. This was BY FAR the best meal we have ever had at a prom. The students and chaperons all loved the food and many went back for seconds (thirds, fourths, ...). The servers were very professional and friendly. I am very pleased that we chose to use John Reynolds this year.
  • G
    Gwen Event on: 12/03/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The food is amazing! We work with teachers and coaches and they tell us we spoil them with this food. They are also considerate of dietary restrictions. They are always on time, they make adorable table decorations, and very courteous. I can't say enough!
  • L
    Lisa Married on 09/17/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We have had John and his wife cater several of our professional development/ training sessions. They are the best people to work with, the food is always AMAZING and the extra touches make even lunch seem special.

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thank you so much for your encouraging words!! It's been our privilege to serve your group! We look forward to serving you again in the future ... Especially the fudge brownie bites!!!
  • K
    Kristena Married on 06/21/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My family and I had the pleasure to have a tasting with his wonderful wife last weekend. The food was AMAZING. John and his wife were also very helpful with any concerns and my budget! I can't wait for them to cater my wedding next month. I wound defiantly recommend them to everyone, you won't be disappointed.

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thank you!!! We can't wait to serve you and your family and friends!!!
  • S
    Sage Married on 06/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John Reynolds Caterer proved why he was voted Best Caterer in Gratiot County. He and his lovely wife, Valerie, arranged a generous tasting, offered ideas and encouragement and made promises that they delivered! The food is outstanding (people are still talking about it!), prepared with expert care and high quality products. The service was timely, efficient, kind and the presentation is lovely. We highly recommend John Reynolds Caterer for any event!

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thank you Sage! Your wedding was amazing and fun. Backyard wedding always have the feel of a family reunion filled with people enjoying themselves. You and Justin make a beautiful couple. Enjoy your new lives together! Say "hi" to your parents, especially your mom!
  • K
    Kaitlyn Event on: 04/19/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The food was exceptional! Not just the delicious tasted but the price of the food for how much you are given. Everyone took home leftovers and we still have enough to feed an army. My aunt commented that it is the only chicken she has had from catering that wasn't dry. John and Valerie sure do make a good catering team!
  • J
    Janet Married on 03/22/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John, Valerie and staff were exceptional. Prior to the wedding they were always available for questions. They were prompt, hard working, friendly and courteous. The food was NOT your typical event food. It was fresh. Carrots were perfect - tender crisp. Rolls are to die for! Everyone has complimented the meal. The Pastor performing the wedding said that it wasn't your GFS green bean meal. I can't say enough about John's cooking and service! It's worth every penny.

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    thank you so much for your kind words... Your daughters wedding was beautiful!!! It was an honor to serve you, your family and your guests!
  • M
    Mary Married on 01/16/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have had several opportunities to enjoy the food and company of John the caterer. The most recent was the holiday dinner he prepared for the staff from the office that I work. We enjoyed a wonderful meal and great service. I highly recommend John for any event you plan.

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thanks Mary!! We enjoyed your group... you must.have fun everyday at work!!!
  • L
    Lori Married on 01/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The food was excellent! John and Valerie were helpful, friendly and masters in the art if catering!! We had the best experience tasting and planning for my daughter's wedding!! I would highly recommend John Reynolds catering!
  • P
    Pat Married on 01/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I selected the event as a "wedding", but it was the tasting event before the actual wedding on August 16, 2014. I have also had the pleasure of attending a luncheon with friends at John's place and everyone was very pleased with the excellent food.

    A great sampling of so many wonderful foods that John and Valerie served us for Tara & Jason's upcoming wedding. After trying Traverse City salad, cole slaw, asiago stuffed chicken, chicken rollatini, braised brisket, pulled pork, redskin potatoes, carrots, baked beans, macaroni & cheese, and the famous dinner rolls--we were all stuffed. Now the difficult part to decide on the menu. Everything was so delicious and appreciate all the time you took with us. If anyone has any catering needs, I highly recommend John Reynolds, Caterer--truly the best around! Thanks again for everything--you were everything I told the kids about and more--Grandma is now a hero!!!

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thanks pat! Love your family!
  • H
    Heidi Event on: 12/19/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John has catered our staff Christmas party for many years. When planning the party, having John cater our event is the first thing on our list! He has been so flexible. We have had our party in the school gym, a local bed and breakfast, and for the past few years at a teacher's house. The food is excellent! John and Valerie were very good about working out the menu and the cost. They were timely in their communication which really helps when planning the event! They are kind and loving people with a good hearts who help to create a positive atmosphere. I would highly recommend them for any event. I must stress this...they make really, really good food!

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thanks Heidi!!!! We appreciate the opportunity to cater your group and I know they enjoy Johns food. But I know they really love his mini dessert bar!! We are thankful that we have served your group for the past four years! Thanks again! Valerie
  • T
    Taylor Married on 12/04/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My fiancé and I had a tasting with John Reynolds and his wife, Valerie, this evening for our wedding reception next October. Both the food and the service that we received were incredible. John and Valerie made is feel like we were part of the family by inviting us over for dinner, eating with us, and really taking the time to get to know us, envision our reception and customize a menu and pricing to fit our budget. We were able to decide on John's fabulous pulled pork and, after some tough deliberation, a variety of sides. The easy decision was to book John as our caterer. We are so excited to work with him and Valerie on our big day!

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Taylor and Dustin. It was fun serving you and getting to know you both. Watching Dustin enjoy the food was probably the best part and seeing your notebook of ideas for your wedding was amazing! We look forward to your wedding! Have fun as you make your plans!!
  • User1462615 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My friends, family and I went to a tasting for John Reynolds caterer and they were fantastic! When we walked in I immediately felt the professionalism but also felt at home. They are very down to earth and not to mention the food was delicious! My favorite was the pull-pork. It was exactly what I had in mind for our BBQ style wedding and it was all homemade! Great couple!! I can't wait for them to cater our wedding!

    John Reynolds Caterer's reply:

    Thank you!!!! You and your family were amazing too! We look forward to catering your wedding!!! I'm sure it will be fun and memorable!! Thanks for your kind words!!
  • M
    Michelle Event on: 11/09/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    AMAZING food and service!!!! Wonderful people!
  • User1429926 Event on: 11/09/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The food was delicious! John and Valerie are just as great as their food ! I will definitely recommend them to my friends and can't wait to enjoy their cooking again!
  • G
    Gwen Event on: 11/07/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The food was delicious, as always! John and Valerie are amazing, always friendly and professional. I would not cater with anybody else! My favorite are the homemade yeast rolls, the best rolls you will ever eat!