Weddings

Jim Falbo. Guitarist Reviews

Jim Falbo. Guitarist

Jim Falbo. Guitarist

Burnsville, MN
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 55 Reviews
View more information

55 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 55
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5 User photos

Sort by:
  • Mark
    Mark P. Getting married on 07/07/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent Guitarist

    Jim is the best! He recently played for our daughter's backyard wedding, and we loved his performance. He had played a couple years ago at our other daughter's wedding, and we chose him again. He has all his guitar songs memorized, so he is able to play outside without worrying about the wind blowing sheet music. He excels at communicating with his prompt and thorough emails. And he comes early to the wedding to discuss when to begin playing and how the processional will go. We highly recommend Jim as a wedding guitarist!
  • G
    Gina N. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Truly amazing!

    The best decision I’ve ever made was to marry my now husband. The second best was to hire Jim Falbo to play the soundtrack of our love and new life together. Jim is a consummate professional, magically talented musician, and was totally receptive to our venue and musical requests. Our entire wedding was elevated because of Jim’s fabulous contributions. I cannot praise him enough. Jim was wonderful to work with in the preparation Phase and spectacular to hear play through the happiest night of our life.

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Thanks for the kind words Gina! I enjoyed playing for all in your wedding. All the best to you and yours!
  • Eric
    Eric A. Married on 09/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Made our wedding magical!

    Where do we start? Jim was an incredible addition to our perfect wedding. He went above and beyond in his clear and always prompt communication. He was great to provide updates and eased any doubts of his commitment and abilities. On the day of, he arrived early and was set-up in a jiff. He nailed each of the songs during our ceremony and transitions were seamless.
    During cocktail hour, he maintained the perfect tempo and balanced our request of upbeat music with Spanish guitar hits sprinkled in. Lastly, he learned a unique song for us and played it with such gusto - it was the hit of cocktail hour that everyone keeps talking about. He was friendly with our guests and we strongly recommend him for any wedding ceremony/cocktail hour.
  • H
    Hannah T. Married on 11/14/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful music

    Jim was amazing for our wedding at Minneapolis Event Centers. He did such a nice job and we loved the ceremony, and guests loved prelude and postlude!
  • C
    Cabell L. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Perfect Choice

    When we started the search for a guitarist to have at our wedding, it was clear we were over our heads. When we found Jim Falbo and listened to a few of his recordings we were very interested. I reached out to Jim and he was very responsive and sensitive to our wants. We let Jim give suggestions and were thrilled with his performance. There were no issues in timing, logistics, equipment or music selections. Jim took all the anxiety away and handled his part like a true professional. I will absolutely be utilizing Jim's services for future events within my own company. Thank You Jim for making our day that much more special.
  • B
    Brg Married on 08/16/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Jim's great! (August 2020)

    My wife's a classically-trained singer (music is important to her) and her primary wish was to have a classical guitarist be the soundtrack of our day. Due to COVID-19 we moved the wedding from San Diego to her hometown in Iowa, with limited options. We found Jim Falbo in the Minneapolis/St. Paul metro and, because Jim's so responsive, within a matter of an hour or so we had him booked for our date.

    Easy negotiation of the contract, travel details and logistics. Pricing was totally reasonable.

    Jim's amazing. Exactly what we had envisioned / heard in our minds' eye. The mood of the ceremony and cocktail hour was perfect. Great selection of songs to choose from and he even added one or two requests, including an accompaniment with our friend who sang.

    So happy that we found Jim!
  • A
    Ann L. Married on 06/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent musician, very professional!

    I couldn't have dreamed of a better experience with Jim! He was extremely flexible when we needed to reschedule our reception more than a year later. Most importantly, he communicated well, is an excellent musician, and extremely professional. I wish I had another excuse to hire him again!

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Thanks for the review Ann, I enjoyed providing music at your wedding reception! Glad it worked out in this year!
  • J
    Jody W. Married on 06/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    My favorite vendor!

    Having live music at my intimate ceremony was one of the most important things to me. Jim made the booking process super easy, and I was very impressed with the quality of his service. I have since hired him many more times for events for myself and for clients. I highly recommend choosing Jim for your event!
  • Jack
    Jack H. Married on 10/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Jim Falbo is Amazing

    Jim was incredibly responsive and flexible. He was able to accept the job to play for our ceremony and cocktail hour on relatively short notice. He was quick to send us a very wide-ranging repertoire to choose from which allowed us to create a perfectly tailored set list for both the ceremony and the cocktail hour. Jim was flexible in adding time to his original commitment and was very competitively priced. Jim also offered to learn additional pieces if we had a special song in mind.

    In addition to our appreciation, we had many people come up to tell us how beautiful the music was during the ceremony and how cool the cocktail hour was with Jim playing in the background.

    I truly believe Jim elevated the overall experience of our wedding day.

    I would highly recommend Jim to anyone looking for music at their event.
  • K
    Kristen Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Loved Working With Jim

    Jim Falbo played guitar for our ceremony and was the epitome of professionalism. He responded to all questions we had in a timely fashion. He even invited us to listen to him perform some of his arrangements, to include the piece he arranged just for us per our request . He was punctual for the event, showing up well before the agreed upon time. He had a very large catalog of songs from which we could choose. We really appreciated the classy touch that having Jim play for us brought to our ceremony/reception.
  • Taylor
    Taylor N. Married on 08/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Jim Falbo Wedding Musician

    Jim is an amazing musician and played beautiful music before, during and after the ceremony, including the cocktail hour. He was very nice and approachable.

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Thanks for the nice review Taylor, I enjoyed playing for everyone, and am so happy the weather cooperated! Wish you both the best!
  • Chelsea
    Chelsea Married on 05/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful and special ceremony music

    Jim was amazing to work with! From the first few emails we sent to the last, he was always very responsive and willing to work with our requests. He allows you to pick one song which he will learn for the ceremony (if not in his repertoire), and he played ours beautifully! We are so glad we found Jim and don’t think our ceremony would have been as special without him.

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Thanks for the kind words Chelsea! It's amazing that the weather held out long enough for the ceremony, and I enjoyed playing in your wedding. Wish you and yours the best!
  • F
    Frederick S. Married on 11/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What a night!

    There aren't enough superlatives to describe Jim and his skills: Mad skills, very easy to work with, flexible, and able to hit a curveball; we wanted to add a song not in his repertoire and - on very short notice - Jim was able to accomodate us. Jim made our night positively magical, and I cannot recommend him highly enough.

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Thanks Frederick! Enjoyed playing all the great tunes you requested. Anyone who selects Bach, Dire Straits, Mozart, The Eagles, and the Beach Boys for ceremony/cocktail hour music has good taste in music!
  • A
    Alysha E. Married on 09/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great to work with!

    Jim was an absolute pleasure to work with! He has extensive experience and a ton of great ceremony, cocktail and reception options. Jim was also very helpful while picking out music and made our ceremony so special! I would highly recommend him :)

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Thanks for the kind words Alysha. It was a pleasure to be a part of your wedding. So glad the weather was perfect, and the location made my job easier. Wish you and yours the best!
  • K
    Kelsey C. Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Choice!

    Jim was simply the best! He was so easy to work with and wanted to ensure our wedding was personalized and exactly how we envisioned it. When I wasn't able to find a song I liked for my bridal walk from his extensive list of songs, he suggested I find a song I loved and he would learn it! It was perfect :)

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Hi Kelsey,

    Pleasure working with you and Kyle. Really happy to be a part of your wedding! Wish you both the best.
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Married on 08/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Would definitely recommend!

    Jim was great! Super easy to work with. Willing to personalize the music but also easy if you want him to just recommend songs. Doesn't require a ton of prep time which is helpful when wedding planning. Music sounded beautiful! Also willing to bring a microphone for the officiant for free.

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Hi Jennifer,

    Thanks for hiring me, and taking the time to write this review! Really enjoyed playing at your scenic wedding. All the best to you and yours.
  • B
    Ben Married on 11/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jim was our guitarist at our wedding in November of 2017, He was such a great addition to have and our guests love him. He has such a large repertoire and was able to cater to every need we had. To quote one of our guests "This guy is SLAYING it, I want him for my birthday party"

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Hi Ben,
    Thanks for hiring me to play your wedding! Really enjoyed playing and talking with some of your guests. Hope the best for you and yours!
  • C
    Chrissie Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jim was great to work with! He's easy-going and friendly, as well as a complete professional; awesome combo. Extremely talented and the music was the perfect compliment to our ceremony and cocktail hour. We're grateful we had the opportunity to get to know Jim a bit and have him be a part of our day.

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Hi Chrissie, Thanks for choosing me to be a part of your wedding. It was a pleasure playing for you and your guests! Your kind words are much appreciated.
  • C
    Claire Married on 08/26/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jim's music was absolutely perfect for our cocktail hour. It completely set the mood. He played a wide variety of music and played flawlessly. I heard rave reviews from my guests as well. We had originally planned on having our event outdoors but rain forced us inside. I was a bit worried that the music might be a bit overpowering indoors, but it was exactly the right loudness and filled the space beautifully. I highly recommend Jim!

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Hi Claire, thanks for the kind words, glad I lived up to your expectations. Pleasure performing for you and your party! All the best!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 07/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hire Jim!!

    Jim played at our outdoor wedding ceremony in July. When we were planning our ceremony, we met with Jim and he played us a mini-concert and helped us choose our music. He totally put us at ease. For the wedding, Jim brought his own speaker and let us use his microphone for our ceremony - it was absolutely seamless. The sound carried to our guests - even outside!

    We LOVED the music before, during and after the ceremony. Our guests loved it, too, and had so many wonderful things to say about Jim, specifically. Jim has a huge repertoire. He played the songs we requested (some pop, Beatles, even AHA!) and learned a new song to play just for us. It was so beautiful and just what we wanted.

    Jim is so talented, professional, responsive and nice! I am looking for an excuse to hire him again!

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Hi Kelly,
    So glad I could provide music for you and Brian's lovely wedding. It really was a nice afternoon to play guitar for you all on your special day!
  • A
    Ann Married on 07/01/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt and I hired Jim for our July 1st of 2017 for our wedding. We found him through WeddingWire and could not have been more pleased. He was exactly what we were looking for. Very professional, always prompt in responding to questions we had, and willing to meet with us a couple times before our wedding. We would highly recommend Jim.

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Ann- thanks for the kind words, glad I met your expectations for your wedding!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 06/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We highly recommend Jim. He was so easy to work with and exceptionally professional. He was there early, totally prepared with all the songs we had asked for, and played beautifully. We had several guests comment on the lovely music. The portion of our ceremony with background music went very long. Jim's response was seamless. He kept playing and worked in several more songs that were perfect for the moment. His work is a great value. He is a top-notch professional and charges less than most of his caliber. He even provided a microphone (and a stand at the last minute!) for our officiant, which saved us having to rent one. Thanks Jim!

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Thanks for the kind words Lauren! Enjoyed playing at your wedding, and hope to stay in your wedding memories!
  • User2874969 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I couldn't be more pleased with Jim! To be honest, there are performers that are lower priced, BUT you definitely get what you pay for! Jim gave a wonderful performance, was easy to work with, always accessible and was very professional! He performed ceremony music and during the cocktail hour. I received many compliments and would not hesitate to book him again! Many thanks to a true professional!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 09/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jim was simply amazing. We can't believe how lucky we are to have found Jim to play in our outside ceremony. We received SO many compliments on Jim's performance and would highly highly recommend him to anyone!

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Thanks Sarah! I loved the ceremony location, and playing for you all.
  • K
    Kehly Married on 08/20/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jim was amazing! We absolutely loved the music - he is so talented! It was so cool that he learned a song just for us and also customized the ceremony and cocktail hour with the music that we love. Thank you so much!

    Jim Falbo. Guitarist's reply:

    Thanks so much for the kind words Kehly, I enjoyed providing music fitting the tastes of you and yours. All the best to you both!