Skip to main content
Weddings

Tress Salon Reviews

Tress Salon View more information

19 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 19
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner

29 User photos

  • Olivia
    Olivia Married on 11/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The absolute best

    I could not imagine getting my hair done for my wedding by anyone but Tress. Jill is so good at what she does. She creates beautiful, natural styles that look good and last all night. I trust her with my life! She’s very professional, keeps calm under pressure, listens to what you want (and recommends a change if she doesn’t think the style will work out great), and is a champ who can get multiple girls hair done in no time. The best part is all 8 girls loved their hair with no complaints or changes - when does that ever happen?! I can’t recommend Jill enough. She’s great at her job and is also very pleasant to be around.
  • J
    Jocelyn R. Married on 09/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    There’s no one better!!

    Jill is the absolute BEST! She was the first service I booked for my wedding because I did not want to risk her not being available. She is so talented, listens to your vision, and makes sure your bridesmaids hairstyles all correspond with the look you’re going for. Jill is so patient, kind, and calm no matter how stressful your wedding day might turn out! She even re-did my mom’s hair after my mom had seconds thoughts about having an up-do. She takes pride in her work and makes sure there is enough time to give the proper attention to each woman getting their hair done on your big day (and touches everyone up before walking out the door!). I could go on forever but you definitely cannot go wrong with booking Tress Bridal for your wedding day!
  • A
    Alyssa Married on 09/14/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely THE BEST!

    If you are looking for a hair stylist for your wedding, look NO further! I have known Jill for many years (she even did my hair for my prom) and have always said she would do my hair for my wedding. Jill is beyond knowledgeable, professional, and overall incredible! She will leave you with absolutely no concerns about your hair on your big day! At the end of my wedding night (after 12+ hours), my hair still looked as if it was just done! I cannot say enough about the peace of mind Jill brought me on my wedding day as I knew my hair was going to look absolutely perfect. Not to mention that she is so friendly so you'll enjoy the time you get to spend with her, You certainly won't regret choosing Jill to make your hair look beyond fabulous for your wedding!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 08/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding Hair

    Jill absolutely nailed my vision for my trial and my wedding. She did exactly what I asked for and exceeded all expectations for myself and my bridesmaids. We were so happy and felt beautiful all day. Jill stayed until the minute we walked out for our first look, doing touch ups and spraying hairspray the entire time. Highly recommend!
  • Jenna
    Jenna G. Married on 11/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Truly the best!

    Jill has been doing my hair for 8 years and when we started planning our wedding, she was the first one I reached out to! I would not have planned our day without her. Beyond the fact that she is so calm and composed, always a bright spot, she does truly beautiful and natural looking work. I knew I wanted my hair up and to trust it would hold. Jill did this and more, with it still looking so light and soft. All of my bridesmaids loved their hairstyles and everyone of them looked so unique.
  • V
    Vicki Married on 10/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Listens and executes exactly what you want

    Jillian is a perfectionist and will execute exactly how you want your hair. My hair, my moms hair and all of my bridesmaids hair do’s came out amazing on my wedding day. I wouldn’t recommend anyone else!
  • C
    Chelsea Married on 08/24/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Jill Ferguson

    Jill was not only amazing with each and every person but she remained so composed. All of my girls were extremely happy with their hair and even want her at their weddings in the upcoming year! She did touch ups flawlessly and made me feel so confident on my wedding day! I highly recommend her services!
  • E
    Elena J. Married on 04/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great work, made my day the most special

    Jill was exceptional. She had me in for a trial and made sure it was exactly what I wanted for my big day. The morning of my wedding, she came ready to work her magic. Her attitude added to the excitement of the day. She made myself and my bridesmaids feel the most beautiful. After her last touch up before the ceremony, everyone’s hair held up perfectly! I love Jill and highly recommend her!
  • M
    Molly Married on 09/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jill came in for the save in the 11th hour when my hair stylist bailed 2 days before my wedding. Jill was responsive, not rushed, and did a better job that I could have asked for. She got everyone done and had time for touchups in our timeframe. A few of my bridesmaids had pretty non specific requests and she used her creativity and everyone's hair came out beautifully! She was very reasonably priced and had no problem coming to do our hair in simsbury. Though I wish Jill would move back to Boston so she could cut my hair regularly, I would recommend her one million times over for any wedding.
  • L
    Laura Married on 10/22/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best in the business, without a doubt.

    Jill is bar none, the best in the wedding/event hairstyling business. She is professional, accommodating, kind, creative, helpful, and incredibly talented. Jill’s calming demeanor and willingness to accommodate all requests of individual bridesmaids, family members, and the bride without hesitation makes the getting ready part of the wedding day effortless. I have seen Jill’s work on at least 5 other bridal parties as well as my own, and I can confidently say that there is nothing she can’t handle. She’s also an expert at time management and somehow always manages to get everyone ready and perfect, inclusive of touch-ups, with plenty of time to spare! Jill also worked very well with our other vendors (photographer and makeup) and helped to manage the schedule for hair and makeup on the day of our wedding (bonus for the bride to not have to worry about that!). Above all, Jill truly is a phenomenal hairstylist and a genuinely wonderful individual who goes above and beyond to ensure your hair is perfect for your wedding day and your wedding photos.
  • M
    Mattie Married on 04/15/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ah where to begin - I went through two hair trials before meeting Jill and as someone who gets my hair done regularly in spots in NYC/Philly and Boston I was so nervous that I hadn't found someone I loved for my wedding. In the first few minutes of meeting Jill I knew I was going to be fine - not only is she super patient and flexible and not pushy at all when it comes to getting you the hair you want on your wedding day, she is just fun to be around. She took care of 8 people in my party, and got us all done in time for pictures with 0 issue. She was professional and every single person was raving about how great they looked, and how happy they were with how natural and pretty they looked. Every bride knows that wedding hair can tend to get very lacquered, over hair sprayed, and way too structured. Jill actually makes a point to make everyone look like natural, beautiful versions of themselves - with hair that is comfortable to wear all day. I actually ended up switching from an updo to wearing my hair down with curls absolutely last minute and not only did Jill show up at 630 am to give me a blowout and extra attention to keep me happy and set all morning - she worked with (and not against) my makeup artist while they were both pressed for time and gave me beautiful, bouncy curls that lasted through hours of crying, dancing, and even into the after party. Even my wedding party, who had been through several weddings with terrible hair, woke up the next morning attempting to repin what they had done for the wedding, so they could have it a bit longer. I loved her work on my wedding so much that she's now my regular stylist - a bride would be lucky to work with her.
  • User2348679 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jillian is so talented! As one of her regular clients, there was no question who I wanted to do my hair for my wedding. She is the best of the best. Jillian is very calm and sweet, so she's perfect to have around on your wedding day. Very professional and amazing at what she does. Look no further!
  • A
    Aileen Married on 07/18/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    In a nutshell: Jillian is exceptional at her job.

    I was looking for someone to do hair for myself, a few of my bridesmaids, and my mother for my wedding in July of 2015. I was looking for someone in the Boston area who could come to our hotel (vs having us travel somewhere), was reasonably priced, and who had good and calming energy as that's so helpful when doing anything wedding related. Jill crushed it on all of these criteria- I did a hair trial with her in her salon in Brookline Village (so easy to get to, right across from the T!) and showed her a sampling of styles/ideas I had but asked for her input and encouraged her to use her creative license. She was so helpful in brainstorming how to make the styles/look I was going for come to life, and played around with different options with patience and enthusiasm.

    When it came to finalizing plans for the wedding day, she was organized and timely in her responses. The day of she arrived early and was so laid back that it made everything that much more relaxing and stress free -- I can't overemphasize the importance of having vendors who bring this to your wedding day prep enough! All of my bridesmaids looked gorgeous and she was able to do everything from simple to complex (messy low bun up-do with a big braid starting midway back then incorporated into the bun!) flawlessly. We finished on time (early, I think! ..it's a blur) and her timing estimates for the day's schedule were on point.

    I hesitated for a moment to reach out to her because she has fewer reviews than many vendors on here, but it was the best decision I made as I can't recommend her enough!
  • M
    Marykate Married on 06/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jillian is so talented and I was thrilled to get to work with her! I incorporated a piece of my mother's wedding hairpiece into my own wedding day "do", and Jillian made it look so beautiful! Thank you Jillian for everything, you are a true artist and so fun to work with!
  • C
    Catie Married on 05/09/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    OMG. That is what I said to myself when I saw how amazing my hair looked the day of my wedding. I've had my hair done up for proms and other weddings before but Jillian made me look like a movie star. I felt so elegant and glamorous! Jillian finished my entire bridal party, MOB and MOG in a timely, efficient manner. She was amazing, I can't speak enough of her high skill set and professionalism. She even stayed longer after she was done to ensure my veil was secured and placed perfectly.

    The biggest mistake you could make in your wedding planning is not booking Jillian!! If I ever have another event I would drive an hour to Boston just to have her do my hair, that's how amazing she is!
  • C
    Colleen Married on 06/21/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jillian did my hair and my bridal party's hair for my wedding and did a fantastic job. She was prompt, professional, and even stayed late for me to make sure my veil and hair looked perfect before I started taking photos. I would definitely recommend her- and some of my friends have already looked into booking her for their weddings.
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 05/03/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired Jillian to hair for myself and my bridal party for our wedding. Jillian showed up on time the morning of our wedding and got through 5 heads of hair with time to spare for touch ups and fixes after we all got dressed and took off for the ceremony. She was great about discussing what I did or didn't like at the trial, and remembered exactly how I wanted it on my wedding day. All of my bridesmaids were happy with their hair as well, and everyone's do's stayed in the entire night with out any issues, even through a lot of sweaty dancing.

    Jillian's great to work with, her hair styling holds up, and her pricing is very reasonable. I would highly recommend her.
  • K
    Kyle Married on 04/26/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jillian was recommended by a stylist that was already booked for onsite wedding hair, and I am SO GLAD I ended up working with her. She was so easy to work with, very responsive during the scheduling process, and even did a trial/consult with my Mother-In-Law, who was also very concerned with how her hair was going to look. Jillian made up my style on the spot during my trial, and it was perfect. The best part, it looked exactly the same on my wedding day, and each of the four bridesmaids, and my mom, all LOVED the way their hair turned out. Everyone felt that they looked like themselves without being too overdone. Each style was unique and classy, no prom-y up-dos by any means. The best part, she was completely affordable, and her time estimates were 100% accurate. We never felt rushed, but she still completed everyones styles within the time frame she predicted, so she helped us to keep the day running on time. I would highly recommend Jillian for on-site wedding hair!
  • User875853 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My fiance and I planned our wedding in two months so I hired her last minute. When I first called her, I explained to her that I didn't want a "prom-do" and she knew exactly what I was talking about. She described her up-dos as being "pretty." "You want soft, pretty hair." I felt confident with her abilities and she sent me her facebook link where she has photos of her former brides.

    Jillian met with me a month before our wedding for a trial in Brookline, MA. She was very flexible and sent me a reminder of my scheduled appointment a week before. I brought a picture of what I thought I wanted my up-do to look like, and she was able to complete the look with her own personal touches. I loved it. She took pictures of the up-do and emailed them to me that evening.

    On the wedding day, she showed up early at the Samuel Sewall Inn ready to get started. It took her about an hour to do my hair. She was sweet enough to stay while I did my make-up and assisted me in getting into my gown. She then touched up my hair.

    She is sweet, affordable and talented. I would recommend her to any bride who wants original, "pretty hair" for their wedding!
    Love her!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message