Jerry McGaghey Photography Reviews

23 | Tampa, FL
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Jerry McGaghey Photography

Recommended by 99%

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough wonderful things about Jerry. Your wedding photographer is someone that is with you during the most intimate moments of your wedding day, from getting ready, to first look, to ceremony - this is a person that you are spending the majority of the day with! I am thrilled that we picked Jerry to be our photographer. He's so sweet and genuine, worked well with everyone in the party and with my family, and kept myself and my groom calm throughout the whole day. On top of his wonderful personality, Jerry is a phenomenal photographer! Our photos came out so beautifully - they look straight out of a magazine! Our wedding day was overcast and gloomy, but our pictures are full of light, love, and the spirit of the day. He used the weather to his advantage and added so much drama and style to our photos. He also suggested wonderful locations to do a first look photo shoot prior to our ceremony and transported us there and back (and those of some of our favorite photos of the day). We loved Jerry and his photos so much, we suggest them to everyone we know and love that is getting married. Hire them - you will not regret it for an instant!

    Sent on 06/16/2016
  • User3455646 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have to write about Jerry. This will be my second review ever - I had to. Jerry was absolutely amazing. We chose him because we fell in love with the way he captures moments. If you look at his website, you’ll see what I’m talking about. We had our engagement session. This session gave us the opportunity to meet him, get to know his style and see his work before the wedding. We loved the engagement photos, the way he used all the surroundings to highlight the moment. During the wedding, he was great, very patient with my family getting in his way to take pictures. He was in a great mood, interacting with everyone. He kept us on schedule and delivered us to the reception site just in time. He is opened to your ideas and he has many ideas of his own. Super flexible, reliable, creative, very professional.

    We compared many photographer before choosing Jerry and I’m glad we did. I loved his previous work, what I saw on his website. He gave us just that, only difference, this time it was us in the pictures!!

    Sent on 08/10/2013
  • M

    Megan · Married on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jerry has a great eye for photos and edgy style. I can't say enough about how amazing his work is. Great quality and quick turn around.

    Sent on 07/29/2013
  • Sierra

    Sierra · Married on 09/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jerry is probably going to be sorry I ever found him! I love pictures anyways, but to have a wedding and "need" several photo sessions is even better! This was one vendor I knew exactly what I wanted but I wasn't sure where to begin. When I found Jerry I was honest from the start with our budget. He was very understanding and helpful, he gave us some options and worked with us. I ended up doing engagement pictures through someone else and they were not very nice at all. You definitely get what you pay for. In the end I had Jerry shoot both the wedding and the engagement pictures and so far so good! I really wanted to have a different and edgy look and he achieved the goal! As for the engagement pictures, we went to Key West and did the session there, which was a really cool idea. The pictures turned out fantastic. I really appreciated the fact that he is truly interested in his clients and what they are looking for, as well as having a passion for photography. Adam and I have both really enjoyed working with and getting to know Jerry and the good thing is that we will need more pictures in the future!

    The bottom line is that, you can't do any better. Don't get caught up in "preferred" or "featured" vendors. Listen to reviews and then see for yourself. He's amazing and very willing to work with your vision.

    Sent on 09/18/2012
  • User2057166 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jerry is truly talented and his pictures are amazing! We first had an engagement session with Jerry and he made us look better than we could have hoped, we were definitely a bit awkward at first, but you can not tell at all in the pics! We just received our wedding photos back (less than 2 weeks after our wedding, I might add) and they are equally gorgeous! We were not worried at all how our wedding photos would look after receiving such fantastic engagement pictures. Jerry knows the best places to shoot and really has a different feel than your traditional photographer. We loved all the "posed" shots as well as the candids. Jerry is super laid back and great to work with! Our second shooter for the day, Troy, was equally awesome and we could not have been more thrilled to include them in our special day!

    Thanks so much, Jerry.

    Ann & Andy Seger

    Sent on 05/22/2012
  • M

    melissa · Married on 03/31/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The photography for my wedding was always a top priority. I researched local photographers for a very long time before I luckily came across Jerry & his talent. I definitely had a certain vision for the pictures and knew only a special person would be able to capture the event as I envisioned. Jerry and his assistant came in like true professionals & created an amazing experience for myself as well as my guests. He was efficient and professional with his style & technique. As I anxiously awaited the photos after the wedding, they turned out to be everything I had hoped for. The evening sneaks by so quickly, yet I am lucky to be able to relive the night through the story Jerry's pictures tell. If you want AMAZING memories, Jerry McGaghey photography is a must.

    Sent on 04/18/2012
  • H

    Heather · Married on 03/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad we found Jerry and hired him as our photographer. We could not be happier about our entire experience. From the first meeting with Jerry we immediately felt comfortable with him. He had a great mix of professionalism and friendliness. The day of our wedding he and the second photographer were both so easy to work with. They were happy and willing to try any photo shots we wanted, and also recommended some great shots of their own. During the ceremony and reception, except for the times when they were doing shots directly with us, we didn't notice they were around. And I mean that in the best way - they were so good at their jobs that we never felt like we were being followed or being photographed.

    We just got the pictures back this weekend, and I can honestly say that there isn't a bad one in the bunch. We've had a hard time choosing one that is our favorite as there are so many. In addition, we were really impressed by how great the photos were. Our wedding was near dusk, and the reception was in the evening. We were worried that there might not be enough light to shoot pictures, but we didn't have to worry. Jerry and the second photographer were great with their cameras and lighting, and each photo came out perfectly framed and lit.

    Lastly, we were so happy how quickly the photos came back, as we were anxious to see them. I'd highly recommend them to anyone who is looking for a photographer.

    Sent on 03/25/2012
  • A

    Amy · Married on 09/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about Jerry and his partner. Having him shoot our wedding WAS the absolute best decision we've made. He was THE BEST vendor bar none! It took us several months to find the perfect photographer and as soon as we met with Jerry we knew he was the one. He is like Michelangelo with a camera.

    Just to give a little background on us we are a difficult couple to shoot. It's very hard for my husband to pose and "act" for the camera. I'm very self conscience and really HATE HATE HATE to have pics taken. Normally, I would run from the camera.

    Jerry just sent us some of the pictures and we cannot stop looking at them. My mom and I have viewed the slideshow a zillion times already and we cry almost every time...still! I cannot believe how majorly awesome ALL of the pics came out, I'm on cloud 9. I LOVE every single picture he took and I could never thank him enough.

    People will tell you the food or venue is the most important, or the DJ etc but they are all wrong. A photographer is THE ONLY vendor that is going to capture your memories forever which Jerry did seamlessly!

    Thank you Jerry.......

    Love always,

    Amy & Dan Fraser

    Sent on 09/28/2011
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 05/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having Jerry and his wife Mandy photograph my wedding was incredible. They are both professional and wonderful people, and the quality of work is top of the line. It's six months later and family and friends are still commenting on how amazing my wedding pictures came out. If you are looking for a creative, photojournalistic style like I was, Jerry McGaghey Photography is THE perfect choice. Not only is his work unbelievable, but he is a awesome person to work with, and can make anybody feel completely comfortable in front of his lens. Alot of the perfect moments are caught without you even realizing anyone is there taking pictures! My day was made so much more special because Jerry was there to capture it.

    Sent on 11/09/2011
  • C

    calista · Married on 04/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jerry was awesome to work with and did a fabulous job covering out wedding! His style is very unique and he does a great job at capturing the right moments and inspiration of the day!

    Sent on 10/25/2011
  • Brooke

    Brooke · Married on 07/31/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy with our decision to hire Jerry for our engagement session and wedding day photography! He is a friendly, creative, and genuinely nice person. As a vendor he is responsive and professional. Our engagement photos turned out better than I imagined they would. He was so easy to work with regarding locations and outfit changes. After seeing them, it was reassuring to know that our wedding day would be captured beautifully.

    On the wedding day he and his assistant caught all the perfect shots of Matt and me getting ready. They arrived a few hours prior to the ceremony to make sure all the details from my dresses and shoes (my favorite accessory!) to Matt's wedding day gift and cheers with his friends were pictured. The shots taken during our guest's cocktail hour were amazing. He has such great ideas that I don't typically see other photographers do.

    We have received many, many compliments from family and friends about our pictures. I would recommend Jerry to anyone!

    ~Brooke & Matt

    Sent on 09/05/2010
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding coordinator gave me several recommended photographers and Jerry's work stood out above all the others. Our engagement and wedding photos are phenomenal. Our guests commented on how our wedding photos were the best they've ever seen and look straight out of a magazine. The slideshows he makes have been proudly passed around by our parents to everyone they know. I, myself, have become spellbound by them and watch them over and over again. Our photos look like true art and I am so thankful we have all these memories captured for years to come.

    Aside from his talent, Jerry is great to work with. We were able fit our top priorities for a photography package perfectly in our budget. He is very laid back and non-intrusive. My husband HATES having his picture taken but Jerry made him feel at ease during our engagement session. Once the wedding rolled around, the photography was one of the things my husband was actually looking forward to. I didn't even make a list of "must take" photos for the wedding because I trusted Jerry so much. Members of our bridal party also commented how organized and efficient he was when it was time to take group photos. He gets all the best shots while moving things along and letting you enjoy your party. His assistant was also wonderful and very attentive to us. We received our photos in a very timely manner as well, which is important because I was on the edge of my seat in anticipation. I highly recommend Jerry McGaghey Photography!

    Sent on 09/09/2010
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Jerry per a recommendation from another photographer. After one look at his work on his website and after I talked with Jerry on the phone, I knew I was making the right decision. All through the my wedding planning, Jerry was very easy to get a hold of if I had a question, which was great because I was planning my Florida wedding from Texas. Besides Jerry's "easy to work with" personality, the day of the wedding was amazing. Jerry just fit right in our wedding day, we loved having him and his assistant with us on our special day- they were very easy going and blended in while giving great direction for our group and bride/groom photos. Jerry captured ALL of the important moments and details and some. The photos came out absolutely BEAUTIFUL! Jerry created an amazing slideshow that summed up our whole day- my mom and I probably watched it 100 times the week it came out! We are so happy that we have so many awesome pictures to keep forever on one of the most memorable days of our lives. I highly recommend Jerry to anyone getting married in the future, he is extremely talented, professional, and throughout the whole experience has become a friend.

    Sent on 09/07/2010
  • B

    Becky · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jerry's photography captures the moment for a lifetime. When I go back and look at the slideshow he provided, I feel as if I am back in the moment of the wedding. My son and daughter-in-law's love and happiness are expressed in every picture. Jerry and the other photographer were never imposing during the wedding or reception. And timely too....it seemed as if the picture taking after the ceremony was quick and painless, for the wedding party and guests waiting!

    Sent on 09/08/2010
  • C

    C · Married on 05/02/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have asked for a better photographer! Thanks to Jerry, we have beautiful pictures from our wedding day! Every time we show them to people, they always talk about what a good job he did. Very talented and creative!

    Sent on 09/22/2010
  • Kelly

    Kelly · Married on 03/21/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jerry McGaghey's photography is absolutely breathtaking. We are so happy we went with him because he is extremely professional and creative and if you're looking for a photographer that does more than just the traditional point and click then he is exactly what you are looking for. Perfection!

    Sent on 04/14/2009
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 12/14/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jerry did a beautiful job for our wedding!! I still love looking at my wedding pictures almost 2 years later because they are gorgeous. Everyone that sees them says they should be in a magazine. He captured the whole day perfectly, with out ever really being aware of him at all the key moments. Without any hesitation I recommend Jerry for your wedding!

    Sent on 09/05/2010
  • Jill

    Jill · Married on 06/01/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Jerry was the best decision I made on my wedding day... right behind marrying my husband, that is! I heard from many people that your wedding day goes by so fast and it is hard to remember the exact details so I knew that hiring a great photographer was most important to me. Well, they were right… the day flies by and the little details turn blurry, so it is pictures that we rely on to bring parts back into focus. Not only are Jerry’s pictures absolutely beautiful, Jerry has the most amazing ability to capture every single emotion and moment that occurs. I could not believe my eyes when I saw my wedding pictures for the first time; it brought back every single feeling (and more) that I had that day. My wedding pictures amaze every person that views them and two and a half years later I still have people constantly complimenting and talking about them. Not only is Jerry one of the most talented photographers I have ever seen, he also is a great guy and a joy to work with. He made my husband, Jason, and I so comfortable and made things run so seamlessly. We definitely consider Jerry a friend of ours now and feel so incredibly lucky that we were able to have him as our wedding photographer. I recommend Jerry very, very highly and feel very strongly that he is the guy that you want photographing your special moment! Thanks Jerry… You really are the best!!

    Sent on 09/29/2010
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 02/17/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jerry was a wonderful photographer! We loved the images and emotions he was able to catch on our wedding day.

    Sent on 03/05/2012
  • G

    Glenda · Married on 04/11/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Jerry and Mandi were not only great to work with in the planning process but exceeded our expectations the day of event. Jerry worked his magic with his camera to leave us with amazing pictures. His style of work is not "cookie cutter" and that is exactly what we got. Picture after picture were a work of art that demonstrated how special the day was to us. We would definitely recommend them to any couple! I also have to add that I have planned weddings and events for many years and their pricing was very reasonable for the quality of work....

    Sent on 09/06/2010
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 02/21/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jerry was a great photographer. In my situation it was important to find a photographer who would make my husband feel at ease (since he is not someone who likes his picture taken). Jerry had the perfect personality to compliment my husband and it made our entire experience natural and the pictures came out wonderful as a result of it.
    For me, Jerry was even open to hearing my ideas for the kind of pictures I was interested in having. I think it is important to have a photographer who is flexible and open to artistic ideas.
    Overall, Jerry (and his partner) were wonderful to work with. My wedding was one of the most memorable moments of my life and I am completely content with my decision to have had Jerry capture it!

    Sent on 09/06/2010
  • E

    Erica · Married on 07/11/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jerry was great to work with and the photographs he prodced for our engagement session as well as our wedding far exceeded our expectations. Several people have said that they thought they were some of the best wedding pictures they have ever seen. I would recommend his services to anyone who wants to capture the entire day, your venue and the un-staged photos of the bride and groom enjoying the entire event with all their friends and family.

    Sent on 09/06/2010
  • orientalstar

    Sue · Married on 10/23/2009

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Jerry is a very easy going, creative photographer that is extremely passionate about his job. I would recommend him to any bride that wants a wedding photographer with and edge. He was prompt with any questions I had and arrived early from out of town to begin and stayed a little longer even when he didn't have to for special moments that were important to my husband and me. He was an important vendor that made the best day of my life even better! -Sue Ashby

    Sent on 09/06/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review