Jen's Cakes Reviews

85 | San Jose, CA
See photos, pricing and details

85 Reviews for Jen's Cakes

Recommended by 96%

85
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.6

1 User photo

Jen's Cakes 1
Sort by:
  • J

    J · Getting married on 02/14/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Jen's Cakes for our wedding cake and we couldn't be happier with how everything turned out! Our initial cake tasting with them was the first indication that they would be great. Strangely enough, I was wasting away with the flu at the time, so my fiance (now husband) had to go to the tasting by himself. As I listened in over the phone, I could tell how he loved everything he tried. Wishing that I could have some, I thought I simply had to opt out of this one until a later date. Luckily, the ladies at Jen's Cakes were so awesome, they prepared a sampling of several cakes for my husband to take home to -- talk about pre-emptive service!

    As I tasted each of them, it was a no-brainer that we would have to work with them for our wedding -- I mean, how often does one find wedding cakes super tasty? Let's face it: most wedding cakes have a reputation for being vaguely reminiscent of cardboard. Especially if they are attractive cakes. But Jen's creations appeared to be beautiful AND delicious -- AND, their prices were by far and away the best deal we had found in our exhaustive searching.

    Hashing out ideas for a cake that resonated to our fairy tale theme with our chosen flavors, we were very happy with our plan. Yet closer to the date, I wondered about the gold airbrushed look we'd chosen -- would it be exactly what we wanted? What if we wanted a more metallic look? Well, of course we wanted a more metallic golden look (believe me it looked royal, not tacky ;-)

    In response to my inquiry about wanting a more heavy dry-brushed gold appearance, Jen did us a HUGE favor and gave us exactly what we wanted without increasing the price -- and believe me, this adjustment was actually an up-charge.

    And gloriously, on the wedding day, I beheld a gorgeous golden cake with scrolls -- one that looked totally fairy tale, totally royal, and totally expensive (even though it wasn't). It was definitely a conversation piece in and of itself! But still . . . what about the taste? It's easy to make cake taste moist and delicious in small samples, but how would it be for the real deal in large quantities?

    Absolutely amazing. When my husband and I cut the cake and tried a bite, I was overwhelmed by how it tasted even BETTER than when I'd tried it the first time. Seriously, this was unbelievable: how could something be so beautiful and affordable and delicious at the same time? It really was the best wedding cake I've ever tasted and I am a very tough critic.

    As could be expected, the cake was demolished by people who came back for seconds, and finally, thirds. Indeed, I was not the only one who adored this cake. Luckily, we did make arrangements to save the top tier so that we can once again enjoy a delicate slice on our first year anniversary.

    . . . . So, f you decide to work with Jen's cakes, I imagine your experience will be rather similar ours! Needless to say, I highly recommend.
    P.S. Don't forget to preserve the top tier!!!

  • K

    Kayla · Getting married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very pleased with the cake we purchased from Jen’s Cakes for our wedding. We wanted a few flavors, and Jen had a wide variety for our to choose from and we were able to find one that all of our guests loved. Jen was very helpful during the planning process, and helped me to hone in on what I really wanted for the cake design. The cake turned out absolutely beautifully and was extremely elegant. The cake itself was delicious – it was extremely moist and flavorful and we received a number of compliments from guests. Throughout the process, Jen was professional, kind, and helpful, and I would certainly recommend her and her work to others!

  • A

    AARON · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The team at Jen's Cakes is on top of things and everything went smoothly. Our appointment was rather quick as we chose a 3-tier, Kahlua Chocolate cake and rented a tree stump base to match our theme.

    The cake arrived very early and our floral vendor had plenty of time to decorate it. Everyone at our wedding really, really enjoyed the cake. We would not hesitate to recommend them for other people's weddings or using them again for a special event.

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen’s cakes did an amazing job for our wedding! They matched the picture we provided perfectly and of course the cake was delicious! Loved them and would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a gorgeous art piece for their reception!

    Jen's Cakes 2
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was delicious! And our experience with them both at the tasting and overall was just great. I liked that they worked with us on the design and flavor. I would recommend them for sure.

  • M

    Melodie · Married on 08/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our cake! A lot of people asked where we got it the cake clause it was so moist. Easy to work with and very professional people. Thank you Jen's cakes! We will see you for our littles 1st Birthday!

  • Y

    yvonne · Married on 03/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Jen's cakes is extremely helpful. They go above and beyond to ensure that you are pleased with your cake. Their pricing is not outrageous either!

  • B

    berren · Married on 01/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently used Jen's cakes for our wedding. From the beginning of working with Kristi at Jen's cakes, everything was wonderful! Jen's Cakes has been extremely flexible and has helped design both my wedding cake and grooms cake for my future hubby. I ever expected it to be! I was very happy and so were all my guests. It tasted as amazing as it looked!

  • K

    kerri · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how delicious Jen's Cakes is. We choose not to have a wedding cake, since we don't like cake. But we tasted some raspberry thumb print cookies at a wedding showcase and we HAD to have them for our wedding. We ordered them super last minute, but they were able to accommodate just fine. On the day of the wedding, we had forgot to pick up the cookies, totally slipped our minds, but they called to remind us and we were able to send one of our friends down. We thought it was so amazing that they reminded us, since they could have easily not have since the cookies were already paid for.

    All of our guest raved about the cookies and demanded to know where they came from, they were that good. I would definitely recommend them to anyone that needs delicious cooked of their next event!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen's Cakes did an amazing job at my wedding. As an out of town bride, it was already tough to find a good vendor. Originally I had consulted with another baker in the San Jose area, but after continual non-responsiveness, that incident was a blessing in disguise. Not only were Jen's Cakes desserts great, but they were also extremely affordable. It was so affordable that I was able to order extra mini cupcakes for our dessert table for even under the cost the other baker had quoted me for one cake! They surprised me on my wedding day. I thought our sheet cakes were just going to be plain square cakes to sit in the back kitchen for serving, but instead beautiful individual mini "naked" cakes were displayed next to our wedding cake. Highly recommended!

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OMG!!! I cannot say enough about this place. When we went for the tasting I told my Husband (fiance at the time), just to choose the one that he liked the most, because normally the cake sits out for to long on the wedding day and is to dry when you actually cut it! WOW was I WRONG! I got more compliments on the lemon cake then anything else!!! I am so happy we chose the flavors and the baker we did (lemon cake, lemon filling & white cake, raspberry filling).

  • P

    Kate · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were a bit of a unique situation and were lucky enough to have Jen's Cakes in Wisconsin for our wedding but they were beautiful and tasted great! We got so many compliments on how yummy and moist all of the flavors were. Thank you!!

  • I

    Irene · Married on 01/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Jen's Cakes for our wedding cake last month and it was beautiful and for me, more importantly, DELICIOUS! I had friends tell me that they had never seen a bride eat her wedding cake on her wedding day, but you can bet that I made sure to find time to eat the cake we had ordered!

    We had a wonderful experience with the sampling of the different kinds of cakes, and I just wanted a simple, elegant decor for our cake. They pulled through and it was lovely.

    We ordered the green tea cake with white chocolate mousse filling and the white cake with raspberry filling. Our guests loved it! Even the ones that don't really like cake!

    I felt like we were cared for from beginning to end and I didn't have to worry for a second about our cake. Highly recommend them!

  • J

    J · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our original cake vendor bailed on us despite our due diligence. We had to find a new wedding cake vendor 2 weeks before our wedding on November 14, 2015. We went in for a tasting with Tiffany, who is super nice! We got to try several delicious flavors but ultimately settled on almond cake with mango mousse (I wish I could have some right now!). We ended up getting a 3-tiered cake. I supplied my own cake topper, ribbon, and roses for decoration. My husband and I are pretty minimalistic but we were able to have some options for frosting decoration without an additional fee if we kept it white.

    Tiffany and her team member came early to the venue to get it all set up in time. Everyone loved the cake. It was really lovely.

    You really do get what you pay for and while it was a little over budget for us, I can honestly say that it was totally worth it. Especially when that delicious cake comes with excellent customer service. If you are having a Bay Area wedding, check out Jen's Cakes in San Jose!

  • J

    Jeff · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked our wedding at Hayes Mansion and included in the package was a cake from Jen's Cakes. Our wedding was a haunted theme wedding and we found a picture of a cake we wanted to copy from Pinterest that had creepy trees all around the cake. The wedding package with the venue included a 4-tiered cake, but since our wedding cake design was custom, Jen's Cakes suggested a 2-tiered cake to save some money and use that money to spend towards the custom design. As we had hoped, we ended up not having to spend an extra penny to get a custom designed cake!

    The cake turned out looking BETTER than the picture I provided them with! Not only that, the cake was delicious! We had the 2-tiered cake on display, but had 2 different types of flat cakes in the back to serve: chocolate cake with white chocolate truffle toffee filling (the BEST) and almond cake with custard filling. Our guests kept complimenting how delicious the cakes were after the wedding.

    We also had a custom cake topper that was pretty fragile and sat at the edge of the cake, but Jen's Cakes was able to safely secure the topper. I highly recommend this bakery and would hire them again in a heartbeat!

  • C

    Colleen · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently used Jen's cakes for our wedding. From the beginning of working with Kristi at Jen's cakes, everything was wonderful! We did a tasting and they have so many different flavors of cakes and fillings, both unique and traditional. They were priced very reasonably. We picked 2 different flavors and Kristi was very helpful when we were making decisions about everything. The day of, they delivered the cake smoothly and it looked beautiful! Everyone raved at the wedding at how delicious the cake was and how beautiful it looked.

    Whenever I had a question, the response time was SO fast and thorough! Jen's Cakes was really great to work with!

  • M

    Mallory · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen's Cakes has been extremely flexible and has helped design both my wedding cake and grooms cake for my future hubby. Although originally I was going to find some place closer for the grooms cake, I couldn't pass up the ideas the designer had for the grooms cake and they were flexible with my budget! I can't wait to see how both come out...oh and the cake is DELICIOUS!

  • J

    Janelle · Married on 01/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen's Cakes is AMAZING! At first I had a lot of ideas for my wedding cake that I showed them at my consultation. After the consultation and cake tasting they helped me narrowed down what I wanted. I submitted my wedding invitation because I wanted them to match it to my wedding cake. Come my wedding day, my cake was beautiful and more than I ever expected it to be! I was very happy and so were all my guests. It tasted as amazing as it looked!

  • V

    Vickie · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say about Jen's Cakes that hasn't already been said? My husband and I decided to go with a small wedding cake to cut for photos and for our guest, we went with cupcakes. The display was beautiful and well received! We had three different flavors for the cupcakes which was so useful because we were able to provide our guest with options. I was even able to adjust the headcount a few weeks before the wedding! I received nothing but compliments on our cupcake selection and our small cutting cake was exactly what I wanted.

    Special thanks to Kristi who helped me with everything! She is so patient and willing to work with you on any customization you might need.

    I highly recommend Jen's Cakes for your wedding cake needs!

  • N

    Nidia · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake was delicious. Can we end with that? Well to be more specific, the cake was the right density (it had some bite but wasn't a brick), it was moist, and the flavors were amazing. I got three flavors: white cake with almond filling, white cake with raspberry and custard filling, and lemon cake with white chocolate mouse. Each flavor was "taste-able" (ok it's a made-up word but I mean to say that the description of the flavor is exactly what I tasted) but not artificial or saturated by sugar. I can't wait to have another excuse to order another cake from them!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved Jen's cakes! Chris and I made a tasting appointment and loved a couple of the flavors. We knew we didn't want a huge cake so we opted for a small 6" cake and desserts. We got 3 different flavors of mini cupcakes- raspberry white, red velvet, and chocolate mocha, as well as chocolate covered strawberries and rice krispies (our fave desserts). This was more ideal for us because our guests had options of trying a few different things out and didn't even need a plate! They were very affordable as well and the set up at our venue looked beautiful. I had someone else return the stands and such after the wedding for us (you have up to a week after the even to turn in rentals) since we left for our honeymoon the next day. Overall, I was very happy with the service and quality from Jen's cakes!

  • S

    Sanaz · Married on 07/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved the cake design and we would use Jen's cakes in the future! Friendly staff and yummy cakes!

  • A

    Ana Maria · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen's Cakes did the grooms cake with was a bust of Darth Vader. It was perfect!! Everyone in the room loved it and could not believe how real it looked!!

  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing! Willing to listen to design ideas from the bride but also gave insightful information to design process, array of choices on flavor and cake which are delicious!

  • Stacy

    Stacy · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Although the cake vendor was provided through our venue, I highly recommend Jen's Cakes! The hardest part was deciding between the flavors because each and every one of them was delicious!!

    The cake was delivered on-time and absolutely beautiful. I had our florist add flowers to the beautiful cake and it looked amazing! It tasted even better than it looked! Guests couldn't stop talking about how great it was!

    Thanks to Jen's Cakes for a great wedding cake!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review