JD Star Productions Reviews

16 | Los Angeles, CA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for JD Star Productions

Recommended by 100%

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • User4541642 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really cant say enough good things about JD Star Productions and more specifically James Dunn. James went out of his way on multiple occasions through out our wedding. He controlled the pacing of the event so beautifully and seamlessly, He was extremely professional and constantly asked and was open to not only my suggestions and requests, but did the best in his power to accommodate some of my guests requests. He was always very prompt with emails and phone calls and made sure a couple of days before the wedding that we reviewed our timeline, songs and any other requests or services we needed. The day off the man did not even eat! I practically begged him to stop and go eat but he wanted to make sure that the party kept rolling. That dedication to his craft and to my event really moved me and I will never forget it, but please feed him :) Thank you James and the entire JD Star Productions crew, my wedding would honestly not have been as awesome as it was if you were not my DJ.

    Sent on 11/11/2014
  • E

    Erica · Married on 11/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He was amazing!! I gave him ideas of what we wanted and he made it all happen. He handles way more than you might expect. This guy is GOOD!!! I would recommend him for anything!!!

    Sent on 11/26/2013
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James was absolutely phenomenal! I had very high standards for my wedding DJ/MC to set the flow of the evening and James pulled it off perfectly. He was very professional while being very personable and fun to work with. The energy on the dance floor was kept high and our guests had nothing but positive feedback as well. I also really appreciated his availability to meet up with my fiancé and I prior to the wedding for an in-person meeting, as well as driving out to our venue a couple weeks before the wedding to ensure everything was in line. He went above and beyond my expectations as the DJ/MC of our wedding for a spectacular value. JD Star Productions is a wonderful company that I would highly recommend. Thanks for helping make our wedding the perfect night!

    Sent on 06/17/2013
  • R

    Reid · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JD Star Productions exceeded my expectations from beginning to end. They were professional and relatable. I especially appreciated how our DJ was prompt and detail oriented in communicating with us throughout the planning of the event. I am very happy with the services they provided and give my highest recommend their work.

    Sent on 06/17/2013
  • E

    Erika · Married on 12/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I contacted James D last minute-literally 2 weeks before our big day!! JD Star Productions was an exceptionally professional, friendly, and easy to work with gentleman. We are so blessed to have the Reception run so smoothly with his Emcee Coordination, lights, games and great music.
    Have your list of must haves and favorite songs ready he will tailor your big day to your genre of music! At the Reception after our grand welcome into the Ballroom my Groom and I (the Bride) had our first spot light dance~ it was magical-one I will remember forever! (By the way my husband hates dancing and doesn't dance but he learned to dance on youtube the night before the ceremony and practiced with me! He was such an excellent dancer at the reception you wouldn't have known he learned the day before.) The DJ's music got everybody up to dance and I mean everybody (relatives, co-workers, church members, even Grandma looked like a 16 year old girl!-husband's comment.)
    DJ also did the Emcee work at the Reception which my uncle translated into Chinese. My husband and I have a multicultural group of family and friends. We are Asian Americans but he's of Chinese descent I'm of Japanese descent. We also had family from Argentina and Austrailia fly over for our wedding it was awesome! Amazingly enough everybody had a great time! Thank you James D. for filling our night with laughter, joy and great fun! We appreciate everything you have done for us! I am already thinking about our future 10 year anniversay/ vowel renewal / we'll think of some celebration in the near future as an excuse to have JD Star Productions come back for another night of fun with our family and friends!

    Sent on 01/02/2013
  • J

    Jonathan · Married on 07/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience. Very professional. Excellent job.

    Sent on 09/05/2012
  • M

    Matt · Married on 07/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James was very relaxed and professional. Neither my wife nor I wanted the obnoxious DJ that tries to hard or plays ridiculous music. James was the perfect DJ for our outdoor wedding. He also made sure he had every song we wanted during the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. People danced and everyone had fun. I'd feel comfortable recommending him to any friends looking for a DJ or music for their whole wedding.

    Sent on 07/24/2012
  • M

    Montserrat · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't have enough words to say how extremely happy my husband and I are with JD Star Productions. We were blessed to have someone so professional and amazing as part of our wedding. James went above and beyond of what anyone could expect! When we first met for a face to face interview he gave us instant piece of mind I mean, just the fact that he does meet with the client prior to booking is a huge plus! but not only that he has a great presence and he definatively knows the business.

    After meeting with him and discussing what we wanted we had no doubt in booking him for our wedding..we were already happy when he impressed us even more with an online tool that helps you determine what music you want for the cocktail hour, grand entrance, dinner, dancing ect...It also asks for the names of the bridal party and parents so that he was prepared the day of, instead of being asking last minute. This was a "wow" factor for us..we knew before the wedding we were going to be definatively covered the day of our wedding...I even crossed out of my list hiring a "day of coordinator" because the way JD Star Productions was handeling everything, there was no point in hiring one...James even helped with the wedding timeline, I mean what DJ does that?

    When the day of the wedding finally came, James greeted us outside the ballroom and prepared our parents and bridal party for our grand entrance, not to mention that we heard from guests that before we arrived he was already pumping up them up for our entrance. He aligned us in the order it was from the form I filled out online..it was so smooth! after our grand entrance he announced our first dance, followed by the parents, but I mean James had a stunning presence in front of everyone not to mention a great voice and confidence! he managed everything so well I was in AWE..I knew he was going to be great but never expected him to be EXTRAORDINARY!

    During the wedding my husband and I kept on telling each other how lucky we were to have found him and we just couldn't believe how great he was!

    Our wedding ran so smoothly thanks to him as he made sure everything ran on time but not rushing..we had plenty of time to dance and to cover the events within the wedding....I even had guests complimenting on him..he added that special touch to our wedding! My family was extremely happy and just everyone kept on telling us that he was amazing and they loved the music the played and how he coordinated the whole wedding. After coming back from our honeymoon and talking to some of the guests at the party every single one has remembered James and everyone has mentioned how much they loved the music and how smooth everything went!

    JD Star Productions was by far the BEST vendor we came across for our wedding!

    Sent on 06/04/2012
  • M

    Mary · Married on 04/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James was really wonderful. We were looking for a DJ on a budget, and we were so lucky to have found him. My husband was set on creating our own playlist for the wedding, but when it was just a few days until the wedding and he still hadn't done it, I convinced him to ask James to add creating a playlist/providing the music to the day-of services we had already reserved. James willingly agreed. He had a great service just for this - his Wedding Day Planning Tool - which went through each of the parts of the wedding and asked what song or type of music we would like for each part. He provided suggestions when we were stuck, and provided a great variety in line with our music tastes. He even located a hard-to-find "must have" song that my fiance and I were overjoyed to hear on our special day. He was professional and entertaining. I got many compliments on the music (and him!) at the wedding. I highly recommend him!

    Sent on 11/09/2012
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 03/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you, James, for doing such a great job at our wedding! You are dependable and trustworthy. I only had to tell you things that I wanted once, and you made it all happen. I will surely refer you to all my friends!

    Sent on 03/18/2012
  • K

    Kerry · Married on 03/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James is a very professional MC/DJ. Not only is he an MC and DJ, but he is also a wonderful coordinator.

    James really saved the day! He took my timeline and made changes when needed. He was always paying attention to the crowd and was aware of the atmosphere changes at the wedding. If he felt that it was time to do the cake cutting or the bouquet toss, he came up and suggested it to me. If it wasn't for him, and if he just followed my timeline, things would not have flowed as smoothly.

    The quality of his work is perfection. He catches the guests' attention, hypes up the crowd, but doesn't steal the show: The focus was still always on me, the bride, and my bridal party.

    James is patient, understanding, charismatic, flexible and very experienced! Thanks James and team!!

    A+ for you!!

    Kerry and Jin


    Sent on 08/15/2012
  • V

    Viranda · Married on 10/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These gentlemen are seriously dedicated to providing excellent services and take their craft VERY seriously. They were able to help us not only with music for the event, but with last minute needs we had in terms of sourcing sound equipment and lighting for our event. And, in terms of their music, they created a playlist that was tailored towards our needs as the client and dynamically updated the vibe as they were able to feel out our guests/crowd during the event. Bravo!

    Sent on 04/06/2012
  • H

    Helyn · Married on 06/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend Toa. He was an awesome DJ for my mom's birthday party!! He picked great music, was entertaining, and acted as a very good emcee. He was so much better than the DJ I had at my wedding. He listened to what we wanted and delivered.

    Sent on 04/02/2012
  • N

    Namal · Married on 05/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toa Dunn handle the music at my wedding and was awesome! He listened to everything I warned and played all of my favorite songs! Very professional and caring.

    Sent on 04/18/2012
  • Z

    Zernan · event on 12/09/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ - Mr. James Dunn provided an excellent MC and DJ service for our 2009 Holiday Company Party! He was very professional and also assisted me in choreographing and editing Michael Jackson's Billy Jean and allowed me to perform a dance tribute as part of the entertainment http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCyRN-cWofo
    I can't say enough about how efficient and timely he came through for me not to mention his excellent job as MC and DJ during the party. I would have hired him as my DJ for my upcoming wedding had my fiance not already hired her cousin. Excellent and very professional and looking forward to doing business for a future event!

    Sent on 04/12/2012
  • K

    Emily · Married on 03/13/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JD Star Productions was the best part of our reception! They were very friendly, seriously fun, and completely accommodating to our needs and style. They paid close attention to who we were as a couple and our guests at the reception, and did an excellent job blending together a mixture of music that aided to the enjoyment of all. We loved having the team at our wedding, and were a significant reason to why our guests still talk about how much fun they had at our reception!

    Sent on 04/12/2012