JC Lucas Photography Reviews

14 | Louisville, CO
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for JC Lucas Photography

Recommended by 95%

14
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
14 JC Lucas Photography Reviews
Sort by:
  • S

    Sammy · Married on 06/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and His assistant were very nice and Professional.

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 02/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Husband and I had the pleasure to have John Lucas take our wedding & engagement pictures for both of our destination weddings (Civil & Religious).
    Our Civil Wedding took place in Golden, CO on October 2010 and the pictures look like they came out of a magazine! John is so very friendly and he even agreed to go to Mexico to capture our religious wedding two years later! I am usually very picky about photos but was amazed with John’s photography; our pictures were incredible and I could not believe how beautiful I looked!
    The photos where ready for viewing very quickly and online for all my family members to see. Believe me when I say the value and quality are the best you could ever find.

    Nick & Melissa Schelah

  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and his assistant were wonderful! I feel like I got a great value.

  • B

    Belinda · Married on 05/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John did a great job for us on our wedding photos and our engagement photos. He was easy to work with; flexible, knowledgeable and fun! He does a great job with all photos; however, his outdoor photos are breath-taking. My husband and I both recommend him highly.

  • M

    Michelle · Married on 03/27/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love both our engagement pictures and our wedding pictures. John is very professional, but keeps the bride and groom's wants and needs in mind. He is very creative and pays attention to detail. Overall, he was sure to get all the typical pictures you would want to have from your occasion, along with some great ones you would never think of, then of course many candid ones.

  • W

    Ashley · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a great time working with John. He is a great photographer. He took tons of pictures and captured so many moments. I recently went to another wedding where I saw the photographer standing around not taking any photo's and John definately walked around and took pictures the whole time. He was very friendly and talked to all of my guests and got them to take pictures. I was very pleased!

  • P

    Paige · Married on 05/18/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This married couple did an outstanding job at our wedding. They were not invasive and truly blended in. The pictures that they shot were everything I could have dreamt of and more. My husband and I will treasure our wedding pictures forever. I cannot highly recommend them anymore. They were affordable, friendly and produced amazing pictures.

  • T

    Tim · Married on 08/12/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After a horrible experience with our wedding photographer losing ALL of our photos from our big day (i-do digipics) my wife and I contacted John and Ginell Lucas based on a referral from friends. Mr. and Mrs. Lucas were AMAZING with their care in assisting us to re-create parts of our wedding day for photos as well as using the photos from our friends and family from the actual day. They are amazing and I would refer them to anyone.

    PS be sure to stay as far away from i-do digipics as possible

  • Shannon

    Shannon · Married on 06/27/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John was very flexible and worked with us. We had problems with the makeup vendor getting us completed-who ran us late into the ceremony, so unfortunately, we never received any time for Bride and Bridal party photography. However, that was never John's fault. He attempted to use Photoshop to fix that problem for us. He has always been quick at responding to questions or concerns and has bent over backwards to work with us and fix any issues that arose from the makeup vendor's negligence. The two photographers were able to cover everything and were present for the entire 8 hours. He also took photo requests with friends and family during the reception. We recommend JC Lucas Photography.

  • T

    Tiffanie · Married on 09/04/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    John was there at every moment. From the beginning he knew that my husband and I would only be available at certain times because we had to fly in from the East coast everytime. The package was very affordable especially because he offered a special accomodations for both my spouse and I being military personnel. Our engagement photos were beautiful! For the wedding and reception, John was there from early afternoon until the party was about to end at 10:30 pm. Exceptional service! Definitely recommend service to friends and family for any big event in someone's life, i.e. babies, engagements, weddings, etc

  • M

    Miranda · Married on 05/21/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    John was a great photographer and his prices were lower than any other photographers we could find in the area. He created a photo guest book that was a favorite among our guests and my husband and me. He also made himself available throughout the ceremony for our guests that wanted pictures with their families and friends which we thought was great. We got a lot of great pictures while we were getting ready, during the ceremony, and throughout the reception that we'll cherish forever.

  • E

    Eileen · Married on 05/03/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We chose J & G because their packages had what we wanted and their pictures were beautiful. They are a husband and wife team and the 2 big reasons we liked them? 1. All their wedding packages come with both of them as photographers which means you don't miss anything and they stay for as long as you need them. We told them during our reception that they could go whenever they wanted but they ended up staying for the whole thing. 2. We OWN ALL our pictures from our wedding day. We receive them on CD's to do with what we want.
    I had 2 small issues with them--1. They travel a lot so the response time varied and when you're a bride who wants everything perfect, that can stress you out. 2. John called my fiance by the wrong name several times and even posted our engagement pictures with his name wrong. On the wedding day though, he had all our names on a sheet on his camera so there were no mistakes.
    They get what you want quickly so there's not a lot of standing around waiting for pictures--which I hate. We also wanted to enjoy the time with our guests and they were aware of that so they used the time very well.
    The pictures turned out gorgeous. Ginell does the albums herself and I cannot wait to get ours back.

  • M

    michele · Married on 08/28/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    John was amazing to work with. He provided a professional experience with a touch humor to boot!

  • User2977172 · 2+ years ago

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    John Lucas did a great job for a friends wedding 5 years ago so I thought I knew what I was in for....not true at all. He was unprofessional, had bedroom jokes every 5 minutes, and was too busy promotoing himself that he missed getting photos for the father daughter dance. He disappeared for some time of my wedding. Was calling my dad and step dad the wrong name. Was very disorganized and even talked to me during the ceremony! Many of my guests were complaining as well. My husband was so mad at him that we did not get the pictures we wanted. We did not get our album till 3 months later. I would not recommend him to anyone!!!!! You will not get what you paid for. He even complained to me about his money problems. Do not hire him of you want your photos to go smoothly. Thank gosh that he got a good amount of good shots that I can have pretty pictures of my wedding. I hate to leave bad reviews but every bride deserves the best for their wedding.

    Sent on 01/13/2013

    JC Lucas Photography's reply:

    I really wish this bride would have left her name. I reviewed all of my 2012 weddings and I never, ever missed the father/daughter dance. Money problems? I have investment accounts that, if liquidated, would leave me with a substantial amount of money. If I sold my house in Louisville I would walk away with about $140,000. Disappeared? If I need to go to my car for equipment or for some fresh air I always ask the Bride or Groom if I can have a short break and I never take a break until all the reception activities have ended. Bedroom jokes? I get my jokes from Jay Leno and I like to think that I can "read" people pretty well. I've never told a vulgar joke at any of my weddings. If I got a dirty look after a joke I would know not to do it again. I was in the restaurant industry for about 20 years, then I owned a very successful GNC franchise for 8 years and have been a full time professional photographer for over 12 years. I had to deal with people in all these jobs and I think I do it very well. 3 months for an album? I have my brides give me their favorite images and have a online design done in a few days. Since my divorce 4 years ago I admit that I've had some personal problems that have affected my business in a negative way. I will admit that I might have been slow with this brides album. If I'm late a simple phone call or email is all a bride has to do to make me aware of any problems. In all of my 12 years and over 350 weddings I can't think of any bride who was unhappy with my work or my work ethic. Anonymous could be anybody who doesn't like me and I'm sure there are a few people out there that would do this. I strongly dispute this review.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review