Jay McElfresh Reviews

98 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

98 Reviews for Jay McElfresh

Recommended by 100%

98
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

10 User photos

Jay McElfresh 1
Jay McElfresh 2
Jay McElfresh 3
Jay McElfresh 4
Jay McElfresh 5
Jay McElfresh 6
Jay McElfresh 7
+ 4
Sort by:
  • Y

    Yana Manevich · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ Ever!

    We hired Jay for our recent wedding in Brooklyn and it was the best decision ever! From our very first consultation, Jay totally got our vibe and we knew we were in good hands. He provided us with a really helpful wedding worksheet and went over it with us in detail prior to the wedding to make sure we were on the same page.

    Fast forward to the night of our wedding and OMG it was just a non-stop dance party!! Jay completely knocked it out of the park! I couldn’t feel my feet for the next 2 days I was dancing so much! Jay was also an awesome emcee - getting everyone’s attention when necessary and making sure we stuck to our timeline without being cheesy or over the top. All our guests raved about how awesome he was as well!

    If you want your wedding to be a non stop dance party like we did, you’ve found your guy!

    Sent on 07/03/2019
  • taylor

    taylor · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply The Best. Look No Further!

    Stop looking for a DJ for your wedding. You found him. It's Jay McElfresh. And with a dope name like that, who could compete?!

    My husband and I can't say enough good things about Jay. Long story short - he #SLAYED! He is everything you want in a DJ - he listens to your "do not play list", he pulls from the playlist/list of songs that he asks that you curate for him during the planning phase, and he takes the time to get to know you and your spouse. BONUS -He is super stylish and sounds smooth as hell on the mic (the opposite of many DJ who are over-the-top, corny and literally sound like auctioneers on the mic).

    From the very beginning we knew Jay was our guy. He took the time to chat with my husband and I about our expectations, taste in music, and overall vision. He also had us complete a Music Worksheet which was super helpful to iron out all the details like wedding party announcements, couple's first dance, parent dances, toasts, and most importantly to detail the songs we would love to hear/genres we love, and to document the songs that would make us run from the dance floor for the "do not play list".

    On top of everything, he made sure he had our timeline handy and even arrived a couple hours early to help our Violinist set up for our ceremony and performed a sound check with both her and our Officiant. He truly went above and beyond!

    Jay is truly an expert in what he does, a real professional and overall cool dude. You will love working with him and your guests will be out on the dance floor all night! Book him :)

    Sent on 06/14/2019
    Jay McElfresh 11
  • S

    Sarah Ingram · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay is the best!

    Jay DJ'd our wedding last weekend in CT and was the BEST.
    From our first communication, he was SO easy and helpful to work with. We had an in-person meeting many months before the wedding and, filled out a questionnaire a few weeks before the wedding to finalize our music selection, and then did a final call with Jay to go over the details. He is super organized and professional - a big relief to a busy bride!
    My main concern in the weeks leading up to the wedding was the order of the reception (when to do speeches, when to cut cake, when to do dances?!) and Jay really, really helped me finalize the timeline. He is a real pro with tons of experience.
    On the day of, he was fun, professional, and flexible. His emceeing skills are also excellent and everything went according to schedule! Most importantly, everyone had so much fun and the dance floor was crowded all night long.
    I just have to think up another event to be able to book Jay again...

    Sent on 05/21/2019
  • C

    Christopher Neufeld · Married on 05/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A pleasure to work with and an excellent DJ

    We couldn't be happier with our choice of Jay as our wedding DJ. We spent a lot of time researching and interviewing DJs over several months. It was super important to us to find someone who had good taste, was flexible with our needs, who cared about making our experience personal, and who wasn't over-the-top with their style. When we got off our first phone call with Jay, we felt immediately comfortable and confident we found the right person. And our actual experience with Jay fulfilled all of those initial impressions. Jay was very responsive, was very accommodating our many requests (even when they changed last minute), and provided great feedback throughout our planning process. My biggest desire was to have a DJ set that kept everyone on the dance floor the whole night and, with a mixed culture and multi-generational wedding, that wasn't necessarily an easy task. But through a lot of collaborative planning, Jay expertly executed the setlist to where the dance floor was absolutely packed and energized the entire night. So many people told us afterwards how much they enjoyed the music and how it was one of the best dance floors they'd ever experienced. My completely soaked-through shirt was the ultimate testament to how much fun we had. Would definitely recommend and use Jay again.

    Sent on 05/17/2019
  • Beau

    Beau Alessi · Married on 02/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay McElfresh A+++++

    Jay was a fantastic DJ. Easy to work with leading up to the event, left us feeling very assured and heard during the preparation process. Did a fantastic job at the wedding MCing and DJing. Music was a highlight of the night for all the guests. A++++

    Sent on 03/24/2019
  • C

    Christina · Married on 12/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best dj

    Jay was absolutely amazing. He was so communicative and flexible, as we are from Maryland and had our wedding on Long Island. He understood our style and what we wanted, and kept people dancing all night! We loved watching him have fun, too! Thank you, Jay!

    Sent on 12/30/2018
  • Gabrielle

    Gabrielle Grenier · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    V+G at Blue Hill at Stone Barns

    Jay was the perfect DJ to work with from start to finish. From the moment we first met with him to review our wedding timeline and review our music choices, he made us and those involved in the ceremony feel confident and excited for the big day. He totally understood our music choices and was able to play everything from classic Billie Holiday to David Bowie to The Cranberries and everything in between. He was very aware of timing and did an excellent job pacing the reception from the toasts to the first dance to party time. He kept our crowd dancing until midnight and they ranged in age from 26 to 86-- no one left early!

    Sent on 11/03/2018
  • A

    Andrew Grossman · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the best wedding planning decisions we made

    Jay was awesome. Before our wedding, he spent time with us understanding what we wanted and guiding us towards good choices. He also helped track down instrumental covers of a few songs. On the wedding day, he was flawless--on time, played great music that aligned with our tastes, managed a fun hora and overall kept a great party going, We are so glad we hired him.

    Sent on 12/01/2018
  • M

    Michael · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome & Professional!

    Jay was awesome! Very professional and easy to work with. Highly recommended. He's got a good pulse on the party and a wide variety of genres to play from. His detail oriented process made it easy for us to enjoy the night and not have to worry about the music. Book him. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 11/09/2018
  • O

    Olga · Married on 09/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay was great through out the entire music planning process. He was very responsive and gave feedback on the music we selected. The day of (9/28/18), he was high energy and kept everyone on the dance floor the entire night. He came early to chat with our day of coordinator and set up to make sure everything would go smoothly for our ceremony. We would definitely recommend him to anyone getting married.

    Sent on 10/06/2018
  • B

    Ben · Married on 09/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay did an amazing job and had everyone dancing at our wedding, from kids to grandparents, and most especially our friends. Music is very important to us and we got compliments on the music from many of our guests. He was effective and professional as an emcee, he kept the event to schedule and people knew what to expect. There was a minor timing issue with our dessert and he quckly adapted the schedule, everything flowed perfectly and our guests were none the wiser. He was friendly and easy to work with from our first call to our last song. He easily figured out our musical taste with little effort from us, and he did a great job reading the room. We would enthusiastically recommend him for your event!

    Sent on 09/25/2018
  • Mina

    Mina · Married on 09/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just kept dancing!

    Jay was busy on our wedding day, so he recommended one of his other DJs Marcus for our day. Marcus was great to work with! He was very responsive and flexible—we had hired separate musicians for the ceremony and didn't need him until later in the evening, but Marcus still offered to show up early day of the wedding to set up and to meet the other vendors. He was very attentive to our song requests during the planning process and made sure that every detail and timeline was accounted for. The night of, he was able to adjust the playlist depending on which groups were on the dance floor, which kept the party going and people dancing! Would definitely recommend Marcus and Jay for others looking to hire professional DJs!

    Sent on 12/02/2018
  • J

    Jason · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Jay was incredible, all of our guests raved about how great he was and how much fun they had. Our guests didn't leave the dance floor! Jay was flexible with our needs and over-delivered upon everything we asked for! We highly recommend Jay!

    Sent on 09/08/2018
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay was a dream to work with and probably our favorite vendor we hired. He listened to our music requests and had us work on a worksheet that translated on our wedding day. Jay brought the party and honestly, made our wedding day the best day of my life. Our friends our still talking about our wedding and the party to this day! thank you Jay!!!

    Sent on 10/10/2018
  • K

    K · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing DJ!

    Jay was an absolutely incredible DJ! He was extremely professional and knew exactly what was needed to get the party started and keep it going. He helped us coordinate live music for our ceremony and did live mixing during our reception. He brought microphones for a musical tribute and our speeches and kept everything working smoothly. And his music was SO FUN. It catered to every age group and we got so many compliments. 10/10 would recommend!!!

    Sent on 12/13/2018
  • D

    Denise · Married on 08/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so glad we had Marcus Ho (one of the DJs on Jay’s roster) at our wedding! The music was on-point for the whole event. Marcus just seemed to have an instinct for what people would want to hear, and even though it was a smaller wedding, the dance floor was packed the entire night. We got a ton of compliments about how much _fun_ our wedding was, and I give Marcus all the credit for that. He was a great MC as well, he got the crowd’s attention without overdoing it. It was also incredibly easy to work with Marcus before the event - he kept up with a barrage of last-minute changes and additions (including the night before) and flawlessly pronounced a bunch of unusual names.

    Sent on 08/25/2018

    Jay McElfresh's reply:

    Hey Denise... thanks so much for leaving a review for Marcus! He mentioned what a great time he had. So happy to hear everything went well. It's always an honor for us to get to be a part of your special day. All the best.... Jay
  • M

    Maddie · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The very best

    Jay is hands down the best DJ and we are so lucky he was at our wedding. From the first introductory phone call to our meeting in person in NYC, and to the wedding day itself in Vermont, he listened closely to our wishes and absolutely delivered. Jay knows the exact questions to ask ahead of time to ensure everything runs smoothly. He's also incredibly kind, super cool, easy to work with, and everyone keeps telling us how awesome our DJ was! We love Jay!

    Sent on 11/11/2018
  • brooke

    brooke · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Want a great party? Jay's your guy

    Our biggest wish for our wedding was having an amazing party, and Jay was so key in bringing that to life. He rocked it big time!

    Not only did he get and keep the dance floor jamming into the wee hours, Jay worked directly with the venue for both preparation and on the day set up to ensure everything was in place for all the audio needs, which were many and varied: an outside ceremony, a different outdoor spot for the cocktails, indoor upstairs for dinner and then indoor downstairs for the partying!

    Jay also worked with the venue contacts on the night to keep the timeline flowing, and make sure everything was rolling as it should. He was super thorough in his prep and briefing with us to ensure we had everything we wanted and didn’t have to worry about anything on the day.

    Our venue thought Jay was such a great DJ — and so professional and pleasant to work with — that they added him to their list of preferred vendors.

    Could not recommend Jay more!!!

    Sent on 12/31/2018
    Jay McElfresh 12
    Jay McElfresh 13
    Jay McElfresh 14
    Jay McElfresh 15
  • K

    Karen · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay is the absolute best, HIRE HIM!

    When we got engaged, one of the first things we did was book Jay for our wedding. He DJ'd my brothers wedding in 2013 and he was absolutely amazing. There was no question, no searching for anyone else - it was Jay or no one! And naturally, Jay did not disappoint for our wedding. Jay is a class act. He's not a hype man and doesn't put on a show distracting from the actual event (like many Long Island DJ's we have experienced in the past). He is passionate about making your wedding the best dance party ever. We gave Jay an extensive do-not-play list which he navigated around and avoided beautifully. He also deviated from our playlist, playing songs that we LOVE that we never thought to put on our list! Jay was also so kind and respectful to our guests and family members. He does an incredible job of managing expectations of family members while still respecting the couples wishes. My brother and his wife also had a large do-not-play list for their wedding and I remember as a spry 23-year-old, I requested that Jay play Teach Me How to Dougie...Jay politely and gently declined my request knowing that my brother and sister-in-law would probably be mortified to hear that song. One of my favorite memories from our wedding was singing at the top of our lungs to Mr. Brightside - at the perfect moment, Jay dropped the music so we just heard the dance floor sing out "PRICE I PAY". It was so powerful and so so cool. It truly felt like we had the most epic dance party when we turned around and noticed Jay rocking out along with us. The night of our wedding, we last minute decided to extend the evening by an hour because our speeches ran very long. Unlike some of our other vendors who money-grubbed us about extending, demanding the balance up front (which is actually the LAST thing you want to deal with on your wedding day), Jay was totally cool with it. He said he didn't want to bring up cost now, that its something that could be settled after the fact but that there would be an additional charge for extending. CLASS. ACT. That's all we needed to know and we went on to enjoy the rest of the evening. We appreciated that so much. Also, in his contract, he had a note about how much it would be to extend so we knew what we were getting into ahead of time. Jay was able to send us a set list of all the songs played at our wedding which is the COOLEST. We can relive the night song by song. Also, did the math, I danced for 41 songs straight!! One of my other brothers got married three months after us and he also booked Jay for his wedding. Jay is 3 FOR 3! My brothers wedding was such a blast. And it was so interesting to see how Jay adapted to another couples' playlist and do not playlist while still creating an amazing dance party. Don't look elsewhere. Jay is the man. Hire him for your wedding/event. You will not regret it!!

    Sent on 11/11/2018
  • G

    Greg Dinardo · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding at Dobbin Street

    Everyone at our wedding loved the music and the dance floor was packed the entire time! We can't recommend Jay enough - everything was perfect.

    Sent on 10/24/2018
  • N

    Nora · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay was a blast! He expertly combined our favorite songs with a good helping of classics, which kept the party going and the dance floor full nearly the entire night. He was super professional and answered all our questions, made every accommodation one could ask for, and had great advice when it came to selecting music for our reception. And even though we kept dancing all night, I heard absolutely zero complaints (ZERO!) from the older folks at the wedding about the music being too loud or crazy. Jay truly understands his audience and how to create an incredible party. Book him for your special day if you can!

    Sent on 06/28/2018
  • Brittany

    Brittany · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ ever

    As soon as we started wedding planning we knew who we wanted to be our DJ. Jay had done my sister’s wedding and the dance floor was on fire all night without any cheesiness. We couldn’t have been happier with our choice! Although we love music we were unsure of what we wanted played to keep everyone engaged but Jay was able to help us through it and calm down any nerves we had about it. All night Jay read the crowd and kept the party going. Many of our guest could not stop telling us how much of a blast our dance floor was. I would highly recommend Jay to anyone looking for an awesome music experience at their wedding without the cheesy “wedding dj”.

    Sent on 05/17/2019
  • C

    Chantal · Married on 06/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I knew finding a DJ to fit our eclectic tastes was going to be a task. (And so help me if you even mention “Shout” or “YMCA”) But as soon as I received Jay’s intro email, I knew we had found our guy. He immediately put me at ease and assured me that he would work closely with us to craft a list that reflected our personalities, and that the Village People would stay far away from his playlist.
    At our first meeting, Jay couldn’t have been nicer; we were immediately comfortable with him. As soon as we left, my husband looked at me and said, “Well, he’s hired.”
    Leading up to the wedding, Jay worked with us to create exactly what we wanted for our day. He was readily available if we had any questions, always quick to respond, and had great suggestions if we were unsure about anything.
    On the day of our wedding, Jay was punctual, prepared, and professional. Not to mention, he’s a really snazzy dresser!
    The ceremony was flawless. Cocktail hour was a fun mélange of all our favorites that had me running to find my husband and going “OMG do you hear that?!” But Jay’s talents were best exemplified on the dance floor.
    They say a picture is worth a thousand words, and our wedding photos from the dancing portion of the evening really say it all. Somehow, Jay managed to touch on all of our favorite songs, yet the flow never felt disjointed or jarring. Each song transitioned so smoothly into the next; as soon as I was ready to sit one out, the next song would come on and I would yell out “I LOVE THIS SONG” and get right back up. People came up to me all evening to compliment me on the music alone.
    Throughout the evening, Jay kept us on time with the order of events without every feeling pushy. He was never showman-y and never once felt like a typical “wedding DJ.”
    You really can’t have a great wedding without a great DJ. And not only is Jay a fantastic DJ, but he’s a really good human being. Our wedding day wouldn’t have been the same without him!

    Sent on 07/30/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay is the best! He was our DJ for our Upstate NY wedding this June, as he came recommended by our venue.

    Jay was professional and easy to work with, provided feedback quickly, and genuinely executed our wedding soundtrack exactly how we envisioned. He has great taste in music for any type of reception and we were thrilled with his services and overall vibe. I really appreciated that he provided a detailed, user friendly worksheet in far advance for us to fill out on our own time, and did not overwhelm us. He did his thing and did it perfectly. Highly recommend!!!!! Thanks, JAY!!

    Sent on 06/29/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review