Jay McElfresh Reviews

92 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

92 Reviews for Jay McElfresh

Recommended by 100%

92
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

9 User photos

Jay McElfresh 1
Jay McElfresh 2
Jay McElfresh 3
Jay McElfresh 4
Jay McElfresh 5
Jay McElfresh 6
Jay McElfresh 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • C

    Christina · Married on 12/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best dj

    Jay was absolutely amazing. He was so communicative and flexible, as we are from Maryland and had our wedding on Long Island. He understood our style and what we wanted, and kept people dancing all night! We loved watching him have fun, too! Thank you, Jay!

  • Gabrielle

    Gabrielle Grenier · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    V+G at Blue Hill at Stone Barns

    Jay was the perfect DJ to work with from start to finish. From the moment we first met with him to review our wedding timeline and review our music choices, he made us and those involved in the ceremony feel confident and excited for the big day. He totally understood our music choices and was able to play everything from classic Billie Holiday to David Bowie to The Cranberries and everything in between. He was very aware of timing and did an excellent job pacing the reception from the toasts to the first dance to party time. He kept our crowd dancing until midnight and they ranged in age from 26 to 86-- no one left early!

  • A

    Andrew Grossman · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the best wedding planning decisions we made

    Jay was awesome. Before our wedding, he spent time with us understanding what we wanted and guiding us towards good choices. He also helped track down instrumental covers of a few songs. On the wedding day, he was flawless--on time, played great music that aligned with our tastes, managed a fun hora and overall kept a great party going, We are so glad we hired him.

  • M

    Michael · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome & Professional!

    Jay was awesome! Very professional and easy to work with. Highly recommended. He's got a good pulse on the party and a wide variety of genres to play from. His detail oriented process made it easy for us to enjoy the night and not have to worry about the music. Book him. You will not be disappointed.

  • O

    Olga · Married on 09/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay was great through out the entire music planning process. He was very responsive and gave feedback on the music we selected. The day of (9/28/18), he was high energy and kept everyone on the dance floor the entire night. He came early to chat with our day of coordinator and set up to make sure everything would go smoothly for our ceremony. We would definitely recommend him to anyone getting married.

  • B

    Ben · Married on 09/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay did an amazing job and had everyone dancing at our wedding, from kids to grandparents, and most especially our friends. Music is very important to us and we got compliments on the music from many of our guests. He was effective and professional as an emcee, he kept the event to schedule and people knew what to expect. There was a minor timing issue with our dessert and he quckly adapted the schedule, everything flowed perfectly and our guests were none the wiser. He was friendly and easy to work with from our first call to our last song. He easily figured out our musical taste with little effort from us, and he did a great job reading the room. We would enthusiastically recommend him for your event!

  • Mina

    Mina · Married on 09/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just kept dancing!

    Jay was busy on our wedding day, so he recommended one of his other DJs Marcus for our day. Marcus was great to work with! He was very responsive and flexible—we had hired separate musicians for the ceremony and didn't need him until later in the evening, but Marcus still offered to show up early day of the wedding to set up and to meet the other vendors. He was very attentive to our song requests during the planning process and made sure that every detail and timeline was accounted for. The night of, he was able to adjust the playlist depending on which groups were on the dance floor, which kept the party going and people dancing! Would definitely recommend Marcus and Jay for others looking to hire professional DJs!

  • J

    Jason · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Jay was incredible, all of our guests raved about how great he was and how much fun they had. Our guests didn't leave the dance floor! Jay was flexible with our needs and over-delivered upon everything we asked for! We highly recommend Jay!

  • N

    Natalie · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay was a dream to work with and probably our favorite vendor we hired. He listened to our music requests and had us work on a worksheet that translated on our wedding day. Jay brought the party and honestly, made our wedding day the best day of my life. Our friends our still talking about our wedding and the party to this day! thank you Jay!!!

  • K

    K · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing DJ!

    Jay was an absolutely incredible DJ! He was extremely professional and knew exactly what was needed to get the party started and keep it going. He helped us coordinate live music for our ceremony and did live mixing during our reception. He brought microphones for a musical tribute and our speeches and kept everything working smoothly. And his music was SO FUN. It catered to every age group and we got so many compliments. 10/10 would recommend!!!

  • D

    Denise · Married on 08/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so glad we had Marcus Ho (one of the DJs on Jay’s roster) at our wedding! The music was on-point for the whole event. Marcus just seemed to have an instinct for what people would want to hear, and even though it was a smaller wedding, the dance floor was packed the entire night. We got a ton of compliments about how much _fun_ our wedding was, and I give Marcus all the credit for that. He was a great MC as well, he got the crowd’s attention without overdoing it. It was also incredibly easy to work with Marcus before the event - he kept up with a barrage of last-minute changes and additions (including the night before) and flawlessly pronounced a bunch of unusual names.

    Sent on 08/25/2018

    Jay McElfresh's reply:

    Hey Denise... thanks so much for leaving a review for Marcus! He mentioned what a great time he had. So happy to hear everything went well. It's always an honor for us to get to be a part of your special day. All the best.... Jay
  • M

    Maddie · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The very best

    Jay is hands down the best DJ and we are so lucky he was at our wedding. From the first introductory phone call to our meeting in person in NYC, and to the wedding day itself in Vermont, he listened closely to our wishes and absolutely delivered. Jay knows the exact questions to ask ahead of time to ensure everything runs smoothly. He's also incredibly kind, super cool, easy to work with, and everyone keeps telling us how awesome our DJ was! We love Jay!

  • brooke

    brooke · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Want a great party? Jay's your guy

    Our biggest wish for our wedding was having an amazing party, and Jay was so key in bringing that to life. He rocked it big time!

    Not only did he get and keep the dance floor jamming into the wee hours, Jay worked directly with the venue for both preparation and on the day set up to ensure everything was in place for all the audio needs, which were many and varied: an outside ceremony, a different outdoor spot for the cocktails, indoor upstairs for dinner and then indoor downstairs for the partying!

    Jay also worked with the venue contacts on the night to keep the timeline flowing, and make sure everything was rolling as it should. He was super thorough in his prep and briefing with us to ensure we had everything we wanted and didn’t have to worry about anything on the day.

    Our venue thought Jay was such a great DJ — and so professional and pleasant to work with — that they added him to their list of preferred vendors.

    Could not recommend Jay more!!!

    Jay McElfresh 11
    Jay McElfresh 12
    Jay McElfresh 13
    Jay McElfresh 14
  • K

    Karen · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay is the absolute best, HIRE HIM!

    When we got engaged, one of the first things we did was book Jay for our wedding. He DJ'd my brothers wedding in 2013 and he was absolutely amazing. There was no question, no searching for anyone else - it was Jay or no one! And naturally, Jay did not disappoint for our wedding. Jay is a class act. He's not a hype man and doesn't put on a show distracting from the actual event (like many Long Island DJ's we have experienced in the past). He is passionate about making your wedding the best dance party ever. We gave Jay an extensive do-not-play list which he navigated around and avoided beautifully. He also deviated from our playlist, playing songs that we LOVE that we never thought to put on our list! Jay was also so kind and respectful to our guests and family members. He does an incredible job of managing expectations of family members while still respecting the couples wishes. My brother and his wife also had a large do-not-play list for their wedding and I remember as a spry 23-year-old, I requested that Jay play Teach Me How to Dougie...Jay politely and gently declined my request knowing that my brother and sister-in-law would probably be mortified to hear that song. One of my favorite memories from our wedding was singing at the top of our lungs to Mr. Brightside - at the perfect moment, Jay dropped the music so we just heard the dance floor sing out "PRICE I PAY". It was so powerful and so so cool. It truly felt like we had the most epic dance party when we turned around and noticed Jay rocking out along with us. The night of our wedding, we last minute decided to extend the evening by an hour because our speeches ran very long. Unlike some of our other vendors who money-grubbed us about extending, demanding the balance up front (which is actually the LAST thing you want to deal with on your wedding day), Jay was totally cool with it. He said he didn't want to bring up cost now, that its something that could be settled after the fact but that there would be an additional charge for extending. CLASS. ACT. That's all we needed to know and we went on to enjoy the rest of the evening. We appreciated that so much. Also, in his contract, he had a note about how much it would be to extend so we knew what we were getting into ahead of time. Jay was able to send us a set list of all the songs played at our wedding which is the COOLEST. We can relive the night song by song. Also, did the math, I danced for 41 songs straight!! One of my other brothers got married three months after us and he also booked Jay for his wedding. Jay is 3 FOR 3! My brothers wedding was such a blast. And it was so interesting to see how Jay adapted to another couples' playlist and do not playlist while still creating an amazing dance party. Don't look elsewhere. Jay is the man. Hire him for your wedding/event. You will not regret it!!

  • G

    Greg Dinardo · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding at Dobbin Street

    Everyone at our wedding loved the music and the dance floor was packed the entire time! We can't recommend Jay enough - everything was perfect.

  • N

    Nora · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay was a blast! He expertly combined our favorite songs with a good helping of classics, which kept the party going and the dance floor full nearly the entire night. He was super professional and answered all our questions, made every accommodation one could ask for, and had great advice when it came to selecting music for our reception. And even though we kept dancing all night, I heard absolutely zero complaints (ZERO!) from the older folks at the wedding about the music being too loud or crazy. Jay truly understands his audience and how to create an incredible party. Book him for your special day if you can!

  • C

    Chantal · Married on 06/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I knew finding a DJ to fit our eclectic tastes was going to be a task. (And so help me if you even mention “Shout” or “YMCA”) But as soon as I received Jay’s intro email, I knew we had found our guy. He immediately put me at ease and assured me that he would work closely with us to craft a list that reflected our personalities, and that the Village People would stay far away from his playlist.
    At our first meeting, Jay couldn’t have been nicer; we were immediately comfortable with him. As soon as we left, my husband looked at me and said, “Well, he’s hired.”
    Leading up to the wedding, Jay worked with us to create exactly what we wanted for our day. He was readily available if we had any questions, always quick to respond, and had great suggestions if we were unsure about anything.
    On the day of our wedding, Jay was punctual, prepared, and professional. Not to mention, he’s a really snazzy dresser!
    The ceremony was flawless. Cocktail hour was a fun mélange of all our favorites that had me running to find my husband and going “OMG do you hear that?!” But Jay’s talents were best exemplified on the dance floor.
    They say a picture is worth a thousand words, and our wedding photos from the dancing portion of the evening really say it all. Somehow, Jay managed to touch on all of our favorite songs, yet the flow never felt disjointed or jarring. Each song transitioned so smoothly into the next; as soon as I was ready to sit one out, the next song would come on and I would yell out “I LOVE THIS SONG” and get right back up. People came up to me all evening to compliment me on the music alone.
    Throughout the evening, Jay kept us on time with the order of events without every feeling pushy. He was never showman-y and never once felt like a typical “wedding DJ.”
    You really can’t have a great wedding without a great DJ. And not only is Jay a fantastic DJ, but he’s a really good human being. Our wedding day wouldn’t have been the same without him!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay is the best! He was our DJ for our Upstate NY wedding this June, as he came recommended by our venue.

    Jay was professional and easy to work with, provided feedback quickly, and genuinely executed our wedding soundtrack exactly how we envisioned. He has great taste in music for any type of reception and we were thrilled with his services and overall vibe. I really appreciated that he provided a detailed, user friendly worksheet in far advance for us to fill out on our own time, and did not overwhelm us. He did his thing and did it perfectly. Highly recommend!!!!! Thanks, JAY!!

  • Steve

    Steve Rose · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An absolute pleasure

    Jay was an absolute pleasure to work with from start to finish. He set expectations for timelines and what he needed from us early, and showed up prepared, punctual, and full of energy. He truly helped make our wedding day even more special and did a great job mixing in more mellow tunes during cocktail hour with others that got our wedding guests to rush toward the dance floor. An overall great experience and would highly recommend.

  • Melissa

    Melissa Sukalo · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Best Wedding Vendor

    Jay was by far our best vendor decision. Truly. He completely understood what we were looking for in a DJ even though WE didn't even know what we were looking for. He was so easy to work with, so prompt and professional while being light-hearted and so fun - he's a highlight of our wedding planning experience and wedding day memories. He laid things out for us so clearly and simply - and improvised effortlessly when my mom came through with an unexpected bouquet to toss at the wedding. My maid of honor and husbands best man both commented on how at ease they felt when he explained to them how the announcing and timing of the speeches would go, mic, etc. He played an amazing mix of music and was able to accommodate a huge range of genres - we had requests from the Postal Service, to Stevie Wonder, to the Spice Girls.

    To start, I had naively submitted my e-mail at a wedding show and was bombarded by various large-scale entertainment companies. To me, those big companies came off more like used car salesman and sports announcers. With every phone call and e-mail we "won" a new part of a package. I was drained and discouraged I would find a DJ that felt like "us" so a DJ had quickly fell to the bottom of our priority list.

    That was until we contacted our photographer (another phenomenal vendor!) for a recommendation to which she raved about Jay. He was super flexible in setting up a phone meeting. After my initial worries with those big companies, I rattled off a list of questions about introductions and announcements to which he said, "No worries, it won't be like sports announcing or anything like that." My husband and I were sold. He completely understood what we were looking for. With every phone call and e-mail, it felt like we were working with a friend. We never felt pressured or pushed. Such a pleasant, easy-to-work with guy. He just gets it.

    Our friends and family still rave about the music. They were so happy to hear their song recommendations played. They've commented Jay is exactly who they want to DJ their weddings so we hope we get to dance to his DJ'ing in the future! My favorite part of our wedding video is seeing our friends and family in pure bliss on the dance floor - even my Dad was dancing all night - who was fresh off a knee replacement surgery!

    Jay, we cannot thank you enough for giving us and our wedding guests such fun memories to look back on. We truly cherish the laughs and embarrassing moves we shared on the dance floor with our loved ones - they are our favorite memories of our day.

  • C

    Carmela · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Mikey Palms was fantastic! He is an all around class act and a very good listener. We met with him and spoke on the phone several times prior to the wedding; Mikey was prompt, professional and extremely knowledgable. My husband and I wanted a DJ that would focus on the music, our guests and us. Our wedding ceremony was at the venue and DJ Mikey was there to provide music for our guests arriving as well as our ceremony music. Mikey played all the songs we requested and built a strong playlist around all of them. The reception was incredible....everyone was dancing up until the last moments of the last song!
    We have had several family and friends ask about Mikey and we strongly recommend him for any event.

  • J

    Janette · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Music was of the utmost importance to my husband and I for our wedding day. We wanted to ensure that our guests would be dancing the night away. Jay helped us achieve just that! His pricing was reasonable and accommodating to services required. He was so attentive to our needs, from the initial consultation, to a detailed phone discussion planning all the special elements and reviewing the music worksheet he had us fill out, to the day of execution. The "DJ had us falling in love!" All our special songs were played and he truly included music that honored and us as a couple and our families, as my husband is from Ghana and Jay was able to seamlessly blend our favorite African jams with our requested pop and hip hop favorites. Jay has the utmost professional and comfortable demeanor, there was no cheesy or over the top announcements, it was classy and sophisticated yet fun! We had a blast and are thrilled we chose Jay McElfresh as our wedding DJ! We highly recommend Jay!

  • D

    Dan · Married on 05/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From our first call with Jay, we knew he was going to be our DJ. My wife and I hung up the phone, looked at each other, and both said “I’m good!”. Jay has an ease about what he does and a love for what he does that transcended right through our phone conversations. He was there every step of the way for us, even obliged our request to mash up some songs for a special first dance. He did not hesitate and was happy to listen to our feedback and edits.

    On the day of, the only time we were off the dance floor was when we broke for buffet service, the rest of the day we were dancing our faces off and having the time of our lives.

    Jay was careful to listen to our requests on how friends and family were to be introduced and how we invisioned an MC for our big day. He was spot on in every way, never missing a cue.

    Lastly, the music. We completed our homework assignment and we were buzzing with excitement after our final call with Jay. He felt exactly what our vision was and was ready to deliver, all while ready to get a sense for the room on the day of. By the end, our faces were nearly melted off and our feet were sore. We had so much fun and this sentiment continues to be echoed by guests at our wedding.

    We had an absolute blast and the process of working together was easy. We owe so much of this to Jay.

    Jay McElfresh 15
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We initially met with Jay because we liked the mixes he has on his website - the late 80's, early 90's are our jam. We did not want a cheesy MC with flashing lights, disco balls, or any gimmicks – we wanted good music and we wanted people to dance. From the moment Jay walked into our first meeting and said "You don't even have to tell me not to play the Chicken dance, that's already understood," we knew he got our vibe.

    Jay is very organized and professional. It is clear he does weddings, not just as a side gig, but for a living. We had one initial meeting, filled out his simple (but extensive) form, and had a follow up call right before our wedding – and we were left with full confidence that he would deliver what we wanted on wedding day.

    We had a good idea of the type of music we wanted during the wedding and Jay took our song list and built on it perfectly. From guest arrival, thru ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, and then dancing – everything was exactly what we wanted.

    Jay played a key role in making sure the event went smoothly and everything happened on schedule, without making any stereotypical annoying MC announcements. His MC'ing was tasteful and helpful and very low key, which is what we were looking for. Most importantly, the dance floor was full all night long. Our friends and family loved dancing and have been raving about how much fun they had for the last few weeks. At our first meeting, Jay stressed the importance of his job to our wedding day by saying, "you can recover from bad chicken, you can't recover from bad music."

    If you are looking for a DJ for your wedding, hire Jay McElfresh.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review