James Stokes Photography, LLC Reviews

39 | Medford, WI
See photos, pricing and details

39 Reviews for James Stokes Photography, LLC

Recommended by 100%

39
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • A

    Amanda · Getting married on 02/29/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and Katie are amazing! They are a family business with quality service and treat you like their own family.

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Stokes are the best wedding photographers! They captured our day beautifully AND helped with so many things before & during our wedding. Before, they helped us make a timeline and checked in many times to ensure everything was all set. On our wedding morning, James folded my husband's & some of the groomsmen’s pocket squares, and put my husband’s boutonniere on him. My husband even said James was more helpful than some of his groomsmen! Katie stayed with us girls while we got ready. She captured the moments without us noticing and was great company and fun to talk to! We had a church ceremony, and they stayed at a respectful distance while capturing every moment perfectly. During the family photo session, they did a great job getting everyone arranged and took photos in which everyone looked good. After those, we went to our reception venue where they took awesome photos of us with our bridal party and of the two of us. I’m still not sure how they did it, but they managed to give us and our bridal party 20 minutes before group photos to take a break in the A/C and get drinks, and they finished all the photo sessions 45+ minutes earlier than planned, so we got to go to our cocktail hour! However, they didn’t miss any photo opportunities and gave us 1000+ pictures. After dinner, we went outside for sunset photos. Some of my favorite photos came from that time, so if you can do sunset photos, I highly recommend it! Throughout the entire day, they remained patient, upbeat, and accommodating to whatever we wanted to do. After our wedding, we received all of our photos in an online gallery within three weeks. If you're planning your wedding and get the chance to book James and Katie, you need to do it! Your wedding day goes by so fast and they capture all the big and little moments so you can relive it! James and Katie are truly the best wedding photographers and will go above and beyond to ensure your wedding day is even more perfect than you’re dreaming it will be!

  • W

    Wasana · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and Katie are an incredible team! Both of them made us feel very relaxed and at ease during all of our conversations and photo shoots. Our engagement shoot with James was very fun! He captured some of the best moments of my husband and I and the pictures are phenomenal. We were also pleasantly surprised when they were edited and back to us within such a short amount of time! Our wedding day was unfortunately very hot and the ceremony was outside, James took into account of all of that and did a great job at making sure that we were comfortable and had a great backdrop at the same time. They both ensured that they captured every special moment of our wedding day and we cannot thank them enough for that! James and Katie were both so laid back and fun to be around, they truly felt like close friends that we were celebrating our wedding with! We would recommend them to anyone for any photo event!

  • Lizzy

    Lizzy · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experiences with James and Katie have been absolutely fantastic! The only thing I would change is the fact that it rained not only during our Engagement Session, but all day on our Wedding Day as well...work on that next time, will ya, James and Katie? :) Joking aside, they were so positive, organized, flexible, and genuinely excited to be with us, we hardly noticed the rain. Our photos turned out incredible and they made the entire experience a delight. One of the guys in our bridal party even said, "I usually hate getting my picture taken, but that was actually really fun" as we wrapped up taking group photos on our wedding day. James and Katie nailed it!! Thank you again for everything - we cherish the memories you captured more than we can explain!

  • S

    Sonja · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and Katie bring such a positive vibe to your wedding day. Throughout the whole process they were responsive and accommodating. We are so happy with our engagement photos and wedding photos, which were delivered in a timely fashion and always very professionally (great packaging!). We got SO many good photos that I'll be able to use for years to come and I'll be happy to hang on our walls. Our guests complimented the photos a lot as well. I would definitely recommend James and Katie for superior photography but also as a kind and calming presence throughout the whole process.

  • T

    Taylor · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can't praise James, Katie, and Courtney enough! They are amazing to work with and are the best at capturing the day! They are so much fun and know how to make you relax and smile. Always making sure you are comfortable and doing ok. Our wedding day was like 90 degrees and sunny, and they were always making sure we were staying hydrated and felt ok. And the pictures they take are breath taking! Although I don't like to admit this, I probably have a little OCD and was extremely picky with all of our vendors - the Stokes were perfect! I am so happy to have found them, I wouldn't want anyone else! Highly highly recommend! Everyone told me that spending the money on an awesome photographer is worth it....and they are totally right! The day flew by so fast, so having those memories to look back on is wonderful! And to have them done with such care, love, and expertise is like the cherry on top! Can't rave enough!!

  • H

    Hallie · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and Katie are such wonderful people! Their quality of service is unmatched and their bright personalities make wedding day photos unforgettable! Thanks James and Katie!

  • J

    James · Married on 02/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I selected the Stokes based on their wedding portfolio available on their website, and the pictures we have seen so far have not disappointed. James, Katie, and Courtney incorporated themselves into the wedding party perfectly. They went from running the show to capture specific requests to fading into the wedding attendees to capture candids perfectly.

    Initially I was a bit nervous with no face to face meetings, only Skype, prior to our wedding day. Within the first ten minutes of meeting the Stokes photography team that fear was gone, within fifteen minutes I could not imagine having picked another vendor.

    I would use the Stokes again for any of my special photography needs.

  • User5209580 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and Katie were great to work with. They are so kind and patient with everyone at the wedding. They are very professional!

  • SongfortheSummer

    Carley · Married on 01/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WE LOVE JAMES AND KATIE. Few things are more important than a photographer who loves what they do, AND loves you. They rock.

    We had an engagement session and did our wedding with them. They made sure we got every shot we wanted and added their own special shots that were absolutely amazing. Not only are they incredible photographers, they're wonderful people. We loved having them at our wedding.

  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with our experience with James and Katie. They were extremely professional--James met with us "virtually" several times before our wedding, which made the whole experience stress free for me. On the day of our wedding, they were extremely personable, professional, and talented. They were able to wrangle our wedding party (which is a job in itself) and gave great directions and suggestions for the best pictures. They were also so much fun to have around; extremely polite and fun to work with. When our timeline of the day got pushed back, they were so flexible and willing to work with us and stay later. We got our photos back much quicker than I had expected. The pictures turned out beautifully and I couldn't be happier. I would recommend them to everyone I know. Thank you, James and Katie!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and Katie are just awesome to work with! We smile looking at our pictures and remembering the moment or the emotion; the pictures make our hearts happy. Everyone loved having them as a part of our big day and we feel as if we have known them forever!! We feel so so blessed to have this reminder of our wedding day! :)

  • User5117829 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and Katie Stokes are a true gift! Their honest and raw photography captured the true feeling of the day. The sheer talent they have for picking photo locations, timing the sunset, and positioning for a beautiful photo, is truly extraordinary. Day after the wedding we had 4 beautiful photos, two weeks later we had the photo website and three weeks later we had a USB with all of our photos! Brilliantly fast!

    On top of everything else, James and Katie are simply people you want around! They are kind, lovely and loving. Making us comfortable, laugh and smile, they made even those of us who hate being photographed into models!
    We could not be more impressed or more grateful for the treasure they have given us in our photos! The captured smiles, kisses and tears are invaluable memories!

    Sent on 09/10/2015

    James Stokes Photography, LLC's reply:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review! It really means the world to us knowing that we served you well and added to the overall wonder and joy of your day! We simply couldn't ask for more :)
    May you continue to grow in love together!
    - The Stokes
  • M

    Molly · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and Katie are some of the kindest people we've ever had the pleasure of meeting. Not only did they capture amazing moments for us to cherish forever but they were amazingly helpful. (Side note, Katie - thank you again for the last minute save with the razor!! (=) Their pictures are stunning and I will tell everyone I know about them forever!!

  • S

    Sue · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoke's Photography was EXCELLENT! Both James and his wife did pictures before the wedding at the church and they were so flexible, so creative - it was just a fabulous experience!

  • D

    Jenny · Married on 08/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don’t really know how to put into words how much we love James & Katie. We cannot give them enough praise, but to say they were much more than photographers to us throughout the entire wedding planning process. They are a sweet, genuine couple with a great sense of humor, and honestly felt more like friends to us rather than a “vendor”.

    From day one they made the whole experience relaxed and fun. We fell in love with the Stokes at our engagement photo shoot when they traveled all the way to Chicago. We are so lucky to have had Katie and James with us throughout our wedding day. They acted as much more than photographers- from Katie stepping in as an emergency seamstress (not to mention she’s 8 months pregnant on the floor helping my mom pin up my dress!) to James staying so calm while trying to photograph 10 screaming kids in glaring sun!

    They did a great job of going with the flow, but also keeping us on schedule. I can honestly say that my confidence in James and Katie is what kept me calm the entire day. They have a very professional but relaxed manner and I found myself more than once turning to them for advice over anyone else present that day. I was sad to say goodbye to them at the end of the night!

    We’ve only seen a few sneak peek photos, and so far we LOVE them! Hire James and Katie! We plan on keeping in touch with these two wonderful people and cannot wait to work with them again for anniversary/baby/family photos in future! Wishing these two and they’re expanding family the best of luck! They deserve all the happiness in the world!

    Jenny & Matt Suggitt

  • K

    Katie · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James is an amazing photographer and his wife Katie is wonderful at capturing those unexpected moments. I couldnt have asked for a more petfect team to capture our special day. I was very pleased with the quality and originality of the photos. Our photos are definitely one of a kind and I look forward to showing them off to family and freinds. I also appreciate the fact that they were not up in our face the whole day. They were able to capture all of the special moments without distracting us or obstructing the view of guests. I would highly recommend James Stokes as a photographer. You definitely get whay you pay for. I look forward to working with James and Katie in the future.

  • K

    Kayla · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and Katie are such a sweet couple to wotk with. James has an amazing talent for this profession and truly captured incredible memories for us. Worth every investment.

  • C

    Chad · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and his wife are the best! We were blown away by the quality of the photos and their professionalism. Big city quality with small town affordability. We recommend going with them 100%!

  • D

    Danielle · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and Katie were amazing to work with. They not only made me feel beautiful on my wedding day, but when I was truly stressed - 3 days before the wedding - they called just to check in. As I was on the phone with James, he talked me through ideas for our itinerary. He even typed it up and emailed it to me afterwards! He really helped ease my mind. James and Katie are great people with big hearts and a great eye for amazing photography! They are such a fun couple to be around. It was calming to witness how well they compliment each other, not only as photographers but as a couple on your wedding day. One more example of how amazing they are: It was a busy day (as I am sure every other bride will tell you) and we never assigned anyone to place the pedals down our aisle for the wedding ceremony. With all the nerves I had that day, I hadn't even noticed until after the wedding ceremony when James and Katie had found the bag and brought it to our "sunset" wedding photos. They said they had found the pedals and "figured we should use them for a picture or two." I still had these beautiful pedals in a few of our amazing wedding pictures. It was so thoughtful (not to mention assertive!) of them to do that for us. And I totally forgot to mention how amazing I felt in the engagement session they planned for us! James made me feel like a model. It was a humid day and my hair is extremely difficult to curl (again, as most brides will probably tell you). After our first location, my hair went from beautiful to completely flat and frizzy. James stopped at my house and waited at least 30 minutes while I redid my hair before our second location. I couldn't believe it. It was so nice of him and I am so glad that it happened. I have never felt so beautiful or loved how I looked in pictures- until that day.

  • J

    Jacki · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond pleased with James Stokes Photography. James went to all measures to capture our wedding day and make each vision come true He and his wife were extremely easy going, personable and magically creative. We absolutely love love love our wedding pictures. We have had so many lovely compliments on our pictures with many saying they should be in bridal magazines. James Stokes Photography did an amazing job and we are so thankful they agreed to capture our wedding day.

  • E

    Ellie · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been happier. They were an absolute dream to work with!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and Katie were a pleasure to work with. They are genuine, honest, and truly talented photographers. We will cherish our wedding photos forever.

  • D

    Daniel and Renee · Married on 10/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely incredible in every aspect, James and his wife Katie went way beyond our expectations!! They were so flexible and fun to be around. They make you feel super comfortable and get to know you as they photograph you! The best thing was by far that they were very patient and super positive the whole time. They were always there, not one time throughout the whole 10 hours they were photographing us did I look around and wonder were they were, and every moment was captured! Just awesome A++++ and worth every penny you spend and more!!

  • K

    Kira · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and his wife are amazing! Both are very nice and very professional. Since it was my husbands and my first time getting professional photos taken together, we really didn't know how to act. James made us feel comfortable, and coached us through it and didn't expect us to know what to do. The end result with pictures/albums that they do are simply gorgeous!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review