Weddings

James Darmawan Photography Reviews

James Darmawan Photography

James Darmawan Photography

Green Bay, WI
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 37 Reviews
View more information

37 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 37
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

10 User photos

Sort by:
  • McKayla
    Mckayla K. Married on 01/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Talent

    One less thing to worry about with the stress of a wedding, James was amazing and knows what he's doing. Loved all the poses he had us do and got us some amazing highlight photos quickly after our amazing day.

    James Darmawan Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much for your compliment Mckayla and Thank you for trusting me for taking your pictures on your wedding day!
  • Amber
    Amber Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommended

    I would highly recommend hiring James for your wedding or any photography needs you have! He was wonderful to work with. We did our engagement pictures as well as our wedding with James. He had great ideas for locations and poses. He always made sure to get the perfect pic before we moved to a different spot. James was professional but also made the shoots super fun. You could tell he really cared about the photos because whenever he would get a really good shot, he’d get super excited and show them to us right away. He was always very quick to respond anytime we had a question during the planning process and helped us work out the timeline for our wedding day. He was also very quick with getting our pictures back to us. Our wedding pictures came back about 3 weeks later which is a lot faster than I thought. I’m excited to get them all printed and framed so I can show them off! I’m hoping to be able to work with James next time we find ourselves needing a photographer!

    James Darmawan Photography's reply:

    Thank you So much Amber for you kind words. It was really great working with you and your wedding party. My fav moment was we were sneaking in to the Halloween area in atrium :) . Glad I was able to capture a picture by the Halloween decoration. I will be sending the USB package soon, you will receive them by next week. Have a great day.
    Cheers.
  • Jacki
    Jacki Married on 09/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommended!

    We were excited to have James as our photographer! He spent the whole day with us and knew exactly how to capture the moments of the day. Definitely check him out for your special day because James is one of the best!!
  • C
    Corinne K. Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    James was professional, organized and easy to work with.

    James provided a quality and professional photography experience. We will be able to cherish the memories captured of my brothers wedding for a lifetime. James was great to work with and we are so happy we chose him to be our photographer!
  • Kristen
    Kristen B. Married on 01/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best choice in photographer

    My husband and I used James for our engagement and wedding photos. We couldn't have been happier with our choice! James was so easy to work with, had creative pose ideas and just made us feel comfortable the whole time. Even during our wedding I had guests come up to me and compliment on how nice the personable he was and how they were excited to see his pictures pictures. You can tell when working with James that he loves what he does, and it shows through in his photos. The photos turned out crisp and beautiful, we can't wait to display them. I would highly recommend James to anyone looking for a creative, personable and quality photographer.

    James Darmawan Photography's reply:

    Kristen, thank you for you kind review. It has been a pleasure working with both of you. Wish you guys the best in the future.

    Cheers!
    James Darmawan
  • T
    Theresa Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Flexibility and Incredible Value!

    James made us feel comfortable and listened to our needs and visions from day one, beginning with our engagement session - taken in a blizzard! The day of the wedding, our outdoor photo plans were foiled by the worst mosquitoes the area has seen in years - and James still somehow managed to sneak in a few amazing shots even though I swear we couldn't have been standing still for more than a second or two at a time with how often we were swatting at mosquitoes. I can't say enough good things about the flexibility and value James provides!
  • A
    Andrea Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    James is a great choice!

    James was great to work with for our wedding! He matched our laid back style and had many great ideas for shots around downtown Green Bay. James and his assistant worked well together and they made it fun for us and the rest of the bridal party. James is very low stress which matched our personalities perfectly, which helped keep the day running smoothly and keep us happy throughout. We ended up with plenty of great shots without spending hours and hours taking pictures. He was wonderful at the reception as well and had no problem throwing together a giant family shot after our first dance, which we really appreciated! Finally, we were so happy with the photos when we received them. There were plenty to choose from but not an overwhelming amount, which is exactly what we wanted. If you are looking for a great wedding photographer in the Green Bay area, look no further!

    James Darmawan Photography's reply:

    Thank you Andrea for your kind words. It was such a pleasure working with you and Matt. You have such an awesome families and friends who came to your wedding day from all over the world. Thank you again for having me on your very special day.
    Best,
    James Darmawan
  • Z
    Zack Married on 06/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James is the best. Hands down. We booked James recently for a challenging dusk wedding with low lighting to work with and James captured the beauty and elegance in every photo. He is easy to work with, has amazing vision and creativity, and works hard to make sure you are 100% satisfied. If you're looking for a great photographer for any event - book James!
  • A
    Abby Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James was incredible to work with! As an out of state couple, it can be a bit scary to book your vendors without meeting them, but all our vendors ended up being amazing.
    When I saw Jame's website online, I immediately liked his photography style. We spoke with James multiple times on the phone to go over what we wanted and how the day would run, we also emailed periodically throughout the year leading up to the wedding to keep each other up to date. James and his assistant's professionalism was astounding! As soon as we met them on our wedding day, we knew we selected the perfect photographer for us. We got many compliments about them at the wedding, and, perhaps most importantly, once we got the photos! One thing that really stood out to my husband and I was how excited he would get about getting a good shot. He was very vocal and enthusiastic which ensured us that we selected a photographer who was passionate about his job, and made it clear that he wanted our pictured to be perfect too. Speaking of...the photo's turned out way better than we could have imagined. Seriously. We also got a photo-booth though James, and it was a blast! We appreciated that it wasn't an actual booth, but more of a screen to stand in front of so we could fit a lot of people in each frame. It is so fun to look back on our big day with both our formal pictures and the photo booth pictures we received on a flash drive. We highly recommend using James as a wedding photographer!
  • R
    Rachel Event on: 01/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Several reasons we went with James as our photographer! 1) He is great to work with- personable and flexible. If you have certain photo ideas in mind he will totally work with you, 2) the value you'll receive is awesome (his prices were FAR superior to other options we considered), 3) we loved our final photos, they are gorgeous! We will definitely book him again for our special occasions. You can't go wrong with James Darmawan, trust us! -Rachel & Colton
  • Abby
    Abby Married on 10/27/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We couldn't have picked a better photographer to capture our wedding day! James was so professional and easy to work with. From what we've seen so far, the pictures look amazing and he did great at getting pictures from 2 people who don't regularly get their photos taken and are sometimes awkward in front of the camera! We had a long list of photo requests and James and his assistant were so efficient and on top of getting all of the pictures we requested. We would definitely recommend booking him!
  • A
    Alison Married on 10/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I don't know where to start to describe our experience with James. Everything was perfect. Not only did we love James and his work, but I got so many compliments from guests about him, too! They liked that he was just an awesome person, they appreciated his ability to wrangle my ridiculous family, they were impressed that he had such a great eye from some small moments that were happening during the reception (people chatting, my dad and I sitting by a piano to take a break from dancing.)
    From our fun time during our engagement photos to the wedding day pictures, James captured every moment and made it so easy. I would recommend him to anyone and could see us getting together with James for any other life events we would want to capture!
  • J
    Jacob Married on 09/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am so happy that I was able to book James as my wedding photographer! He was always available via emails and phone calls, even though I was planning my wedding from across the country and had a crazy work schedule. The day of the wedding was perfect: James was accommodating, professional, and the wedding photos turned out gorgeous! I would one hundred percent recommend James to everyone!
  • L
    Leah Married on 09/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James has a true passion and talent for what he does. My husband and I are very pleased with his work- our wedding pictures are gorgeous! James is very receptive to answering all questions and has a very quick response time. He's very friendly and professional. He travelled extra miles to capture our wedding day. Thank you James Darmawan Photography!!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 08/19/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Shaun & Kelly 8/10/19

    James was fantastic to work with from beginning to end. He was incredibly flexible for us and made us feel comfortable and sure we were getting the best experience. The day was practically seamless and we got our amazing pictures back almost immediately.
  • A
    Ashley Married on 08/12/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James was great to work with. He was very accommodating, professional and kind. I forgot my necklace at the salon and his assistant went to get it for me during our ceremony--Above and beyond for sure! My husband and I both agreed that he was a great choice because of his style of photography and personality. I will use James again in the future and recommend him whenever possible.
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 08/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James was the best photographer ever. We pretty much went with him randomly after doing some research online and picked him based on the high-quality pictures on his website and affordable prices. James was extremely easy to work with the entire time from us initially reaching out to him, keeping in touch as the wedding was approaching, and on the big day. He was incredibly professional and kind throughout all our interactions. Some of the members of our wedding party referred to him as "the most laid-back photographer" they had ever seen. We got our pictures back within 3 weeks and they are absolutely beautiful. He gave us a USB with our photos which gave us the freedom to share them and print them as we wish. If you are looking for a photographer who delivers amazing photos without breaking the bank, I would 100% recommend James.
  • M
    Miranda Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James was an amazing photographer and had creative ideas. Every picture turn out great and we had so much fun taking them!
  • A
    Alicia A. Married on 03/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our family has gotten the pleasure of working with James on more than a couple of occasions already and the most recent experience was for our own wedding ceremony and reception. James is very accommodating and extremely flexible, he took shots for us in multiple locations over two days and arrived early both days and came ready to work! James is extremely professional, takes his time, and makes everyone comfortable, and ALWAYS gets the best shots every time. He is a true artist and each of his photographs are works of art. Our family will definitely be working with James again in the future, he is always going to be our go to picture guy!! A huge THANK YOU James for another job well done. If your looking for an outstanding photographer to capture you special moments, trust us, hands down ... James is your guy!!!
  • N
    Nicole Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James did our photo booth at our wedding and was absolutely AMAZING! He was super quick at responding back to me, which made planning an out of state wedding helpful! He provided me with advice that would meet our needs of an outdoor wedding truly went above and beyond to make sure our needs were met. The attendants running the photo booth were awesome! I actually forgot to provide double sided tape, so during the down time, the attendants ACTUALLY went to the store to get it for me! The pictures and props were great quality and I am looking forward to looking at them and remember the fun times all our guest had using the photo booth!

    Thank you James for being amazing!
  • A
    Amy Married on 07/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James is an amazing professional photographer who goes above and beyond to get the job done and your wedding day worries go away, I would highly recommend him to anyone who is getting married or other pics.
  • C
    Cassie Married on 05/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James did an amazing job taking photos at our wedding. I love all the photos he took. Everyone complimented his professionalism and photography skills. We would love to work with him in the future and recommend him for any photography needs.
  • User2620230 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James was awesome to work with! He made sure that we got every single shot we wanted, and was creative with us as well. He made our wedding day so special and now we have all of the memories to cherish!
  • User2501939 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James was so enjoyable to work with. Not one complaint with his photography services. From the moment we met with him he was professional but was very personable. We didn't feel like just another client. James was organized and very helpful with the process from start to finish. Our pictures turned out amazing, he has a good eye in photography and very creative. Also he ended up staying at our wedding an extra hour to make sure that we had gotten plenty of pictures throughout the dances. I would recommend him to anyone wanting a wonderful photography experience on their special day! Thank you James!
  • N
    Natalie Married on 08/15/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James was wonderful!! He and his assistant were so easy to work with and had great ideas! We absolutely love our photos and had so much fun taking them. I would highly recommend his service as I feel we got great quality at a reasonable price. I've had a couple friends book with him already after seeing our photos and will keep recommending him to anyone looking for a photographer or getting married. James's effort to remember our names and our friend's names at other events was impressive and really put that personal touch on a business relationship. We've received so many compliments on our photos and are very happy with everything!