James And The Giant Cupcake Reviews

14 | Emeryville, CA
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for James And The Giant Cupcake

Recommended by 98%

14
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

2 User photos

James And The Giant Cupcake 1
James And The Giant Cupcake 2
Sort by:
  • E

    Ellen · Married on 10/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best gluten free wedding cake ever!

    I have been a frequent patron of James and the Giant, enjoying all their tasty gluten free sweets. When I got engaged I knew I wanted to have them make my wedding cake. Caleigh was a dream to work with. She was responsive, flexible and helpful and even provided us a tasting on the house (who would say no to free cupcakes?!!). We ended up getting a 6 layer sprinkle covered vanilla gluten free cake. All our guests couldn't believe it was gluten free! The cake looked perfect alongside donuts and our customized cake topper from Etsy. Would highly recommend. Thank you so much!

    Sent on 02/23/2019
    James And The Giant Cupcake 3
    James And The Giant Cupcake 4

    James And The Giant Cupcake's reply:

    Thank you, Ellen! It was so lovely to work with you too! I'm very happy that everyone loved the cake ... sometimes we have to trick our non-gluten free friends and family to prove how good it can be! We look forward to meeting all of your cake needs in the future (1st anniversary perhaps?). Thanks again!
    Caleigh
  • G

    Gabby · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful, tasty, lots of choices. We had 8 different kinds of cupcakes including GF and vegan. Our guests loved every bite.

    Sent on 11/11/2016
  • D

    Darin · Married on 07/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James and The Giant Cupcake is magnificent. I couldn't have selected a better Bakery. We ordered over 300 cupcakes and they came and set them up. It was absolutely beautiful not to mention extremely tasty. The chocolate cupcakes were the biggest hit... super moist! I love James and the Giant Cupcake and I highly recommend using them for any special event or just to satisfy a sweet tooth craving.

    Sent on 11/17/2016
  • B

    Brian · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were absolutely blown away with our wedding cake and cupcakes for our wedding. Both Caleigh and Eurydice were so pleasant to work with. We knew that we wanted to do cupcakes from the beginning, but I could not imagine them coming out any more perfect. The funnest part was going into the shop once a week or so and trying out all the flavors and narrowing down our options together as a couple, (which is really hard to do because all the flavors are amazing!).

    The cupcakes we ended up going with were:

    Strawberry Lemonade
    Chocolate Sea Salt Caramel
    Snickerdoodle (Vegan/GF)
    Bourbon Maple Bacon - A custom flavor that they made for us which ended up being a HUGE hit!

    Wedding Cake: Chocolate cake with Baileys cream filling and Guinness ganache with white frosting. (It was delicious!)

    I seriously cannot recommend them enough!

    Sent on 10/20/2016
  • K

    Krunal · Married on 06/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys were great. They were very accommodating and super easy to work with. They knew that we had about 1000 different other things for the wedding, so once we put our order in, they took care of the rest. Very good with communication and the best cupcakes in the Bay Area. Super happy with how everything turned out.

    Sent on 11/26/2016
  • A

    Angela · Married on 04/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most delicious cupcakes you can find in the area! Very creative flavors, super friendly staff, you can rent the cake stands, they deliver, priced very reasonably, they were everything we hoped for. All our guests loved the cupcakes as well. They offer both mini and regular sizes so you can choose your favorite flavors. HIGHLY recommend them!

    Sent on 11/10/2016
  • J

    Jennie · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I think our cupcakes were perhaps everyone's favorite part of the wedding feast...our food was fantastic, but the cupcakes we so much fun! We went and did a cupcake tasting where we tried an insane amount of cupcakes and picked out our favorite ones. Then we hired James and the Giant Cupcake to deliver to our venue and set up the cupcakes. They did a spectacular job--the guests were thrilled and it was its own artistic display, really. Their cupcakes are such high quality...I can't recommend them more. We did all minis, about 3 per person and had some (but not many) leftover. People loved that they had options and weren't just stuck with one slice of wedding cake. If you're excited about cupcakes, don't hesitate to use them for your wedding!

    Sent on 06/02/2015
  • K

    Stephanie · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hope it doesn't seem hyperbolic to give James and the Giant Cupcake 5 stars in all 5 categories, but I really cannot say enough about how delicious (and pretty) the cupcakes were, how easy and charming it was to work with Eurydice and Caleigh, how totally low stress. Our wedding was a DIY affair in the Oakland hills, surrounded by trees and late afternoon sunlight, with catering by a local taco truck. My dress, by sara seven, was short, and the groom wore a seersucker suit with cream & gold Pumas. We ordered a combination of regular and mini cupcakes in red velvet & sea salt caramel and they were amazing! Because everything else was DIY, it was also huge treat that James & the GIant Cupcake folks delivered for a reasonable fee, and also managed setup / refreshing the platters. I have a photo of my nephew standing by the cupcake table with the biggest happiest eyes ever. I have a memory of myself eating a few minis at the end of the night and how unbelievably grateful I was to whoever set those few aside.

    Sent on 05/05/2011
  • K

    Melinda · Married on 01/29/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These cupcakes were beautiful and delicious! We ordered a selection of mini-cupcakes, so that people could try the different flavors. James & the Giant Cupcake staff came early to set up the multi-tier display and the results were very impressive. We ordered 4 different flavors. In order of favorites they were peanut butter and jelly (hands down everyone loved this one), chocolate & salted caramel and french toast with bacon (tied for 2nd place with lots of yums and oohs and ahhs), and carrot cake (also delicious but I wished the frosting was cream cheesier, less sweet). They were very flexible about meeting to try samples and returning the display tiers.

    My brand-new husband and I give this two YUMs up!

    Sent on 04/15/2011
  • S

    eric · Married on 08/01/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A friend turned us on to James and the Giant Cupcake as an alternative to the standard fare of a tiered wedding cake. We loved the idea of having an assortment of flavors and were thrilled to see how many varying flavors there were. It was so hard to decide from such delectable choices that it must have taken us three days to finally narrow down what we wanted! After a personalized taste test, we settled on Sea Salt Caramel, Red Velvet, and Strawberry. These three flavors were extraordinary, both separately and as compliments to one another. One of my favorite pictures from the wedding was of the stacked trays housing all of these beautiful treats. The conscientious staff also satisfied us by allowing half of our order to be large cupcakes and the other half minis, which added a bit of playfulness to the experience. My only complaint was that I didn’t get to the cupcakes sooner. My advice: stash some away for later or you’ll be sorry! Overall, this was such an easy and wonderful part of our wedding planning and I hope that this review sways some couples to make the right choice and let James and the Giant Cupcake add more sweetness to your big day.

    Sent on 04/18/2011
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/07/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Everyone still talks about the delicious cupcakes we had at our wedding. So many flavors and beautiful colors!!
    I do wish they had more options for stands for the cupcakes, but I know they are a small business, so maybe want to look into that for the future. Absolutely delightful !!

    Sent on 11/19/2016
  • User7399205 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our weddings cupcakes - and so did our guests! There were none left at the end of the night! We were able to get a variety of cupcakes, so people could pick and choose or try a few different flavors. Chocolate salted caramel was my favorite. And working with the James and true giant cupcake team was easy breezy.

    Highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/10/2016
  • R

    Riss · Married on 01/07/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Having been a long time fan of their gluten-free and vegan options, having James and the Giant Cupcake do our wedding suites was a no-brainer. The only reason they get a four out of five on communication and professionalism is because their main point of contact for getting the contract together didn't have the firmest handle on some of the online platforms that used. There was about a week long where neither she nor I were certain if I had paid the initial deposit, turns out that I had, someone else had to dig up that information. I didn't always get the promptest response, but overall I would highly recommend them to anyone for a casual weekday cupcake or their special event.

    Sent on 01/26/2017
  • C

    Cherr · Married on 01/13/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    James and The Giant Cupcake provided such awesome service, and not to mention very delicious cupcakes! It may be the best cupcakes I've had in the Bay Area by far! Caleigh, who is the catering manager, walked me through every detail of the order, what will be included and what will not. She will work with your theme, color, decor, and whatever you desire for your wedding or special occasion and will definitely let you know if certain things can't work. I would definitely recommend James and The Giant Cupcake any day!

    Sent on 01/28/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review