Jake’s Catering at Sentinel Reviews

52 | Portland, OR
See photos, pricing and details

52 Reviews for Jake’s Catering at Sentinel

Recommended by 93%

52
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6

8 User photos

Jake’s Catering at Sentinel 1
Jake’s Catering at Sentinel 2
Jake’s Catering at Sentinel 3
Jake’s Catering at Sentinel 4
Jake’s Catering at Sentinel 5
Jake’s Catering at Sentinel 6
Jake’s Catering at Sentinel 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • Patience

    Patience · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!! Every room was stunning and the food was customized to our dream menu

    Beautiful rooms, great Portland history and excellent customer service.

    Sent on 12/06/2018
  • Zandra

    Zandra Asanovich · Married on 04/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Surprisingly Affordable Elegance

    To be honest, when my fiancé and I were on our way to meet Kirsten to view Sentinel's event spaces we planned on saying thank you but no thanks. We just didn't think it would be in our budget. Kirsten walked us though the 2nd floor billiard room and library, explained what was included in booking with them and asked us our budget. She said that was doable. My husband was sold right there, that day. After receiving quotes a couple of business days later, I was on the same page; Especially with it including our preferred dinner choice, tacos (which were delicious by the way)! Kirsten is so kind, responsive and helpful. It was like working with one of our closest friends.

    Sent on 08/16/2019
    Jake’s Catering at Sentinel 8
    Jake’s Catering at Sentinel 9
  • claesone

    Erica · Married on 06/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kirsten, the Catering Sales Manager, is the sweetest, kindest person and made working with Jake's the best experience. We utilized a newer service Jake's offers for food catering pick-up, which was very easy to use. We placed the order and day of everything was packaged up for easy transport. We did a picnic wedding so ordered sandwiches - which included individual bags of chips and huge chocolate chip cookies. We also had a very pretty fruit display and multiple picnic salads. Kirsten was always quick to respond and was very helpful with our changing wedding plan. My now husband and I cannot wait to renew our wedding vows in a few years and use the Sentinel's Library for a beautiful party. I highly recommend Jake's!

    Sent on 07/25/2018
  • K

    Kate · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted our wedding reception at the Sentinel, and we couldn't have been happier with the venue and the team at Jake's. Kirsten was wonderful to work with—warm, patient, resourceful, organized, and insightful. We had our cocktail hour in the Renaissance Room and a dinner reception and dancing in the Grand Ballroom, with a total of about 200 guests. The food was excellent, the bartending solid, and the venue beautiful.

    We rented an ivory drape to cover the stage in the Grand Ballroom, chiavari chairs, and some gold accents—but no further rentals or external decorations were needed; the space is gorgeous as-is. If you're looking for a classic vibe and a venue that doesn't require lots of external rentals, consider the Sentinel!

    Sent on 05/22/2018
  • E

    Erica · Married on 02/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    By far the best decision I've made was having my wedding at The Sentinel with Jake's Catering. My guests still rave around how beautiful the ceremony/reception rooms were and how amazing the food and staff was. I literally did not have to worry about anything the day of the wedding. For example, someone had mentioned in passing my husband liked cherry coke. When we got to our table there was a cherry coke waiting for him. We also had a couple of guests with pretty severe tree nut allergies. The banquet team made sure they let these guests know exactly what was in the dishes and had nuts off to the side instead of in the dishes. Kristin, my Sales Catering Manager, was responsive and just in general amazing to work with. Seriously, if you want a stress-free wedding, book with Jake's Catering at The Sentinel!

    Sent on 05/11/2018
  • J

    Julie · Married on 11/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved every single thing about my experience with my wedding venue! The staff at every level was incredible to work with. The food was amazing , I got so many compliments from my guests.
    Of course the ambiance is second to none in the city of Portand... My ceremony was in the library (120) guests and I loved the intimacy & beauty it provided. We then moved to the Grand ballroom with a live band and DJ, rockin' the house there for the reception. I loved that the spaces were ALL mine for the entire day for set up (rare to find at wedding venues). This is a "turn key" operation and made for a stress free day with all the service I was provided. If you are considering this venue, "book it!" You won't be disappointed!

    Sent on 01/22/2018
  • B

    Breanne · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a plated dinner at our wedding and requested for our toasts to have champagne brought out for each guest on trays and Jake's accommodated all of our wishes and then some. They accommodated dietary restrictions and catered to our every need and request. The food and drink provided and the service were top-notch and nothing short of Jake's impeccable standards. They really are a stand out company.

    Sent on 10/16/2017
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 01/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely LOVED every part of our experience with Jake's catering. We started working with Julie a year before our wedding and she was there for us every step of the way. From our first tour of the event spaces to our food tasting- every single meeting was professional and the staff made us feel welcome. Our reception was held in the beautiful Governors Ballroom which was absolutely stunning and more than enough room for our party size of 250+. The food was AMAZING and the service matched. They were also very accommodating to those in our party with food allergies or food restrictions. Every single employee went above and beyond any and all our expectations and we received so many compliments on the venue and quality of food to reflect that. We wouldn't have changed a thing and are so grateful to everyone with Jake's who was apart of our special day!

    Sent on 02/11/2017
  • Z

    zack · Married on 01/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our experience with Jake's Catering, The Sentinel Hotel, and our main point of contact, Julie Weiss, the Social Sales Manager.

    Julie was wonderful, making herself available on weekends, before hours, and after hours. Our wedding was executed perfectly and a lot of that credit goes to Jake's Catering and Julie.

    The food, catered by Jake's Catering, was as advertised. We had the chicken, Flank Stead, and Salmon. People were raving about the food. Several people said it was the best wedding buffet they've ever had.

    Combine that with the location (Ballroom inside of The Sentinel Hotel), and we had a storybook wedding ceremony & reception.

    The final "icing on top" was the price. The price is reasonable and fair when compared to other competing venues. The food and location at The Sentinel are superior, so we felt like we got a great deal.

    A+. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 05/02/2017
  • User7817022 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our rehearsal dinner in the library room at the sentinel - the dinner from jakes was delicious and impressed our guests! They hosted for nearly 75 people and it was perfect!

    Sent on 02/22/2017
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where do I start? The Sentinel Hotel and Jakes Catering are the best in class! I give them 5 stars in all aspects. I recently got married in Portland, OR and hosted the reception at the Sentinel Hotel’s Governor Ballroom and used their in-house catering: Jake’s Catering.

    The Venue: I love that the hotel has history to it. The designers who recently updated the hotel did a fantastic job my adding in funky Portland touches while still preserving the historical theme of the hotel. Everything about the “look” of this hotel is amazing and creates a great theme for a wedding. The Governor ballroom looks like a classic lavish jazz ballroom with 40 ft. ceilings and a ridiculous amount of crown moldings and grand columns. It certainly gives a Wow Factor when you step foot into it.

    Jakes Catering Food and Planning: Julie Weiss, Todd and their banquet teams are catering geniuses. Their level of knowledge in the catering industry is far more superior than the average caterer. They are competitively price, a dream to work with, and executed their food and services better than I could have dreamed of.

    All of the catering staff were dressed in sharp uniforms, they set up 2 beautiful bars with twinkling candles all over them. They didn’t miss a mark on the food service schedule. The whole service flowed beautifully which timed out our event perfectly, not to mention the food was delicious. I had guest comment that that the banquet staff were so attentive it felt like there was one banquet staff per guest. “Every time I was getting close to finishing my drink the banquet personnel topped off my drink immediately”.

    The planning process with Julie was a blast. My mom and fiancé developed great banter with her, which brought in humor to the whole process, which then turned the planning process, believe it or not, into a FUN process.

    Thank you to the whole team that made our wedding a dream come true!

    Sent on 09/18/2016
  • C

    Connie · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not begin to describe how beautiful the Grand Ballroom was for my daughters wedding reception. It was only topped by the delicious food and the amazing service, from the day we first came to visit The Sentinel until we loaded the last wedding gift in our car. We were told by several of our guests that this was the best wedding they had ever been to!

    Sent on 08/15/2016
  • Y

    Yoshini · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jake's was nothing less than phenomenal. They worked so closely with us to create an amazing meal and experience for our guests. They have amazing staff who made us SO comfortable for on our big day. Furthermore, their social sales manager, Julie Weiss, was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful during the entire process. I felt cared for from start to finish. I would recommend Jake's to anyone!

    Sent on 05/30/2016
  • C

    Cat · Married on 02/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jakes catering made my dream wedding happen with smoothness, elegance, and delicious food! I am so grateful to the staff for being patient with the decision making process, working well with my other vendors, and making me feel like I could focus on the special day without worrying about things behind the scenes. I can't even count the number of compliments my guests had about the venue!!!!

    Sent on 02/09/2017
  • R

    Robyn · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding ceremony and reception at The Governor - Stephanie and Erin at Jake's were a pleasure to work with. Always on top of it, they had it covered. The food was fabulous, the rooms are gorgeous, and the hotel and Jake's were both always quick to respond to any questions I had. They had SIX weddings, yes you read that right SIX, the weekend I got married. Three were happening simultaneously on my wedding day. Were there hiccups? Delays? A drop in service? Nope. Nope. Nope! Total professionals, they know what they are doing and they do it well. Many many thanks to all of the staff at Jake's and The Governor for a fabulous weekend

    Sent on 08/04/2013
  • User2953549 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so happy with my service. Their event coordinator Stephanie was like a good friend, so easy to be with and so willing to help and advise. She always believed in the wedding vision (it was a bit unusual) and was someone I could count on to be calm, think of solutions and run things as much or as little as I wanted.

    The venue itself is stunning--I got married in the Heritage Ballroom. Jake's food and catering were also excellent, and the staff were friendly, smooth and flawless. I hardly knew they were there.

    We had a tiny bit of trouble with the rehearsal. Just be sure if you aren't using a different room for the ceremony than for the reception that you work that out in your contract or with Stephanie well ahead of time. I wasn't quite on top of that and it caused some trouble for the rehearsal the day before, but Stephanie bent over backward to resolve it, and everything worked out well.

    The wedding and reception were absolutely dreamlike and perfect. I couldn't recommend this venue more!

    Sent on 01/07/2013
  • Berniece

    Berniece · Married on 08/13/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Linda was AWESOME! She went above and beyond to make our wedding a wonderful experience. She was both personal and professional and was able to turn a stressful experience into something fun. I would highly recommend holding any event at the Governor Hotel. With Linda’s expertise and friendly spirit you can’t go wrong.

    Sent on 08/23/2011
  • B

    Bailey · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jake's catering was willing to do anything possible to make my day perfect!

    Sent on 06/30/2011
  • M

    Marianne · Married on 05/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything went without a hitch, every reasonable request was accommodated, I could not have asked for a better day or venue to have my pre-event functions and wedding at!

    Sent on 06/11/2011
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 03/27/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We stayed at the Governor for two nights, the night before, and the night immediately following, the wedding. We loved our suite! The majority of our out-of-town guests (we had many — most of our friends and family do not live in Portland!) stayed there as well. I believe we had over 30 blocked rooms there, and Melissa Staneck did a magnificent job taking care of coordinating those reservations. I'd definitely recommend working with her if you plan to have hotel blocks at the Governor. She was extremely responsive, friendly, and capable of thinking of potential guests needs that slipped my mind.

    Sent on 05/06/2011
  • L

    Laura · Married on 02/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved everything! The menus they provided us to choose from were fantastic. We had a few changes we made to upgrade some of the meat selections and they had no problem with that. Really got our moneys worth. Everyone at the wedding commented on how good the food was and they even provided us with some kid friendly options as well.

    Sent on 02/28/2011
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 01/15/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was wonderful! We could not have chosen a better place to have our wedding. We had many out of town guests and the hotel was very accommodating. The hotel is beautiful and has so many rooms to choose from for all the wedding festivities!

    Sent on 02/08/2011
  • D

    David · Married on 09/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Linda Wolfson and her Team was a distinct pleasure. Linda is the total package. Someone that personifies professionalism, expertise, flexibility, warmth, humor and grace.

    We had a lot of moving parts with our wedding, it was a true event production with a Rolling Stones reception, 300+ people, live band, 38 person head table, etc. Linda met us every step of the way and executed flawlessly. We also can't say enough about John Liles. He is a pro and a class act. You are lucky to have him in charge of your AV.

    Lastly, we just simply love Jakes catering. The food is amazing.

    Thank you,
    David & Reegan Rae

    Sent on 10/15/2010
  • R

    Roberta · Married on 09/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous venue that needs little to no extra decorating. The uplight package makes a huge difference in the room and well worth the price. Staff and Erin the coordinator were very helpful and professional.

    Sent on 09/09/2010
  • C

    Cristina · Married on 08/29/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding at the Governor Hotel, and it was the best experience one could dream of! Our wedding coordinator was always keeping us updated and she was always very responsive to my emails. They're so professional, everything went off without a hitch. Even some last minute changes did not faze Erin or Russ. There was some confusion on payments that were worked out, the ceremony planning was a little scattered but they pulled it together. While some might consider the cost a little daunting, it is beyond worth the services they give!!

    Sent on 09/02/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review