Ithaca Farmers Market Reviews

19 | Ithaca, NY
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Ithaca Farmers Market

Recommended by 91%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.3

22 User photos

Ithaca Farmers Market 1
Ithaca Farmers Market 2
Ithaca Farmers Market 3
Ithaca Farmers Market 4
Ithaca Farmers Market 5
Ithaca Farmers Market 6
Ithaca Farmers Market 7
+ 16
Sort by:
  • E

    Emma · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding here. Only minimal decorations required as the beauty of the venue does the job for you! A lot of room to use the space and make it your own. A perfect space for a laid back wedding where you want people to have room to explore, walk around, and enjoy the beauty of Ithaca. We had games like canjam and cornhole available to play and people loved it!

    Sent on 07/09/2018
  • A

    Ali · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    wedding at IFM

    We had our wedding in September at the Farmers Market. It is a unique, large space for events. It's very reasonable, but then you do have to factor in the cost of bringing everything in. Laura was very helpful with answering questions ... can't recommend the space enough!

    Sent on 01/27/2019
  • R

    R · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We looked at many venues (probably over a dozen) before choosing the Market for both ceremony and reception. We chose it for multiple factors:
    1) it's beautiful!
    2) whereas at other outdoor venues we might have had to rent a tent and floor, the Market is a permanent structure with both ceiling and floor included at a very comparable cost.
    3) we liked that it was right in the city and easily accessible to guests
    4) being by the water was very important to us.
    5) The brick patio in front of the dock was the perfect space for the ceremony, and we also came up with a backup rain plan.
    6) zero restrictions on caterers/other vendors - we could do what we wanted. On the flip side, this meant we had to find all the vendors and coordinate them, but you can find vendors who are fairly full-service and experienced with the Market.
    The tight turnaround time was our only drawback, given that we were having a Saturday wedding (would not be an issue on a Friday). We managed this by choosing a caterer who was experienced with getting it set up quickly, and hiring a DOC who could coordinate getting the decor up (which you don't need much of, because it's such a pretty space on its own). We were able to start the ceremony at 5:30, just 2.5 hours after market officially ended. She promptly contacted us to return our security deposit once she had seen the following day that everything was clean. We also had a great experience with Laura, the event coordinator - she stopped by the rehearsal to make sure our DOC knew everything she needed to, was quick to respond to e-mails, and was also there as the wedding was getting set up.
    The flexibility of the space was really nice - we turned booths into photobooths, a kid play area, bar, dessert buffet, etc. People also really enjoyed wandering out on the dock as the sun was going down, the kids loved looking at the ducks and playing on the lawn, and it was just a nice space overall.

    Sent on 08/10/2018
  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ithaca Farmers Market (IFM) is a wonderful wedding venue! Laura Gallup, the events coordinator, was excellent in helping us get all of our paperwork, event insurance, and vendor details in her hands before the wedding day. Our big day went very smoothly thanks to Laura's collaboration with the caterer, DJ, and photographer my husband and I personally selected.
    Highlights of the Ithaca Farmers Market as a wedding venue:
    Space: The IFM has plenty of space for tables under the wings, and creates a cozy intimate feel for smaller weddings (our guest count was 100), and we used about half the space in the two wings). The dance floor fits very well in the entrance (dimensions are 15.5 ft x 15.5 ft if you want to rent a dance floor)
    Versatility: Any decor will look good at The IFM. We went with solid theme colours for an elegant feel, but a casual folksy decor (checkered prints and wildflowers) would fit the market’s rustic feel perfectly!
    Booth Access: Booths are great for the bar, DJ, photo booth, and general storage
    Lighting: There are string bulb lights permanently installed at the market
    Ceremony Spot: The spot in front of the steamboat landing is a beautiful spot for ceremony and photos
    Bathroom Trailer: There are three permanent bathrooms on site, and a bathroom trailer which has six extra stalls for larger weddings (trailer is an additional fee)
    Parking: Easily accessible by car and lots of parking space
    Flexible with vendors: Laura Gallup is very open to the vendors you select; I would recommend vendors who have catered weddings at the IFM in the past. We hired DJ Dale and H&J Catering, and they were excellent!

    Things to consider:
    Getting dressed/doing makeup: There is nowhere to get dressed and do your makeup, so I recommend the bridal party arrange to arrive ready to walk down the aisle
    Rainy weather: Make a Plan B for the ceremony

    We highly recommend the IFM for an outdoor wedding!

    Sent on 08/12/2018
    Ithaca Farmers Market 8
    Ithaca Farmers Market 9
    Ithaca Farmers Market 10
    Ithaca Farmers Market 11
    Ithaca Farmers Market 12
    Ithaca Farmers Market 13
    Ithaca Farmers Market 14
  • J

    Jeanne · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a lovely summer evening wedding reception at the Ithaca Farmers Market! Our guests were blown away by the setting. With over 50 kids in attendance, there was plenty of room for them to run around, explore and have a fun time! The timing for the Ithaca Farmers Market is limiting (event needs to start after 6pm on the weekends) but it’s worth figuring out an accommodating game plan for this beautiful space!

    Sent on 06/30/2018
    Ithaca Farmers Market 15
  • K

    Kaylie · Married on 05/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Farmers Market Pavilion was exactly the venue I wanted--beautiful, simple, and by the water. I love the Market itself and was thrilled to celebrate that love with guests by having the Handfasting and reception at Steamboat Landing.

    One warning, though: there is no side coverage, so a storm with winds will bring precipitation and gusts inside the pavilion. A massive thunderstorm during my reception caused a bit of chaos, but my vendors and guests were fantastic when dealing with the storm.

    Other than that--which isn't a fault of the venue itself--I highly recommend the Farmers Market pavilion for one's special day!

    Photos were taken by the talented Rachel Philipson.

    Sent on 06/14/2018
    Ithaca Farmers Market 16
    Ithaca Farmers Market 17
    Ithaca Farmers Market 18
    Ithaca Farmers Market 19
    Ithaca Farmers Market 20
    Ithaca Farmers Market 21
    Ithaca Farmers Market 22
    Ithaca Farmers Market 23
  • A

    Allison · Married on 07/02/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a wedding photographer, I knew the lay of the land when planning my own Ithaca wedding, and the Farmers Market was my top choice! We wanted an outdoor wedding but I truly hate vinyl tents, and the market is the perfect venue to feel outdoors but be protected from the elements (from both rain and harsh sun). The setup time restrictions can be daunting, but so many Ithaca vendors are used to it and can pull it off without a hitch. We had our ceremony by the water and our reception in the pavilion, and we worked with a great team that understood the time restrictions of a Saturday market wedding, so setup wasn't an issue. Overall it's a beautiful venue with its own vibe, but also totally flexible and moldable to make it your own!

    Sent on 06/14/2018
    Ithaca Farmers Market 24
    Ithaca Farmers Market 25
  • R

    Rc Cc · Married on 08/04/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous venue with any vendors you choose!

    We looked at SO many venues and chose this one for a few factors: made it easy for our guests to get there and back because it’s close to downtown, beautiful setting by the water, and totally under our control in terms of vendors. Oh AND it included bathrooms. (I refused to do any venue that involved portapotties.) Downsides: because it’s a working market, turnaround time was very tight between close of market and event setup. We managed this by hiring a day of coordinator, accepting all offers of help by assigning people to setup crew, and choosing a caterer who was experienced with the venue/the turnaround time. A downside for many people would also be the fact that we did have to hire/organize every single vendor, but the upside is that it gives you control over whom you hire. (I was also afraid it would be a super hot or super cool day, but we lucked out with the weather because there’s no climate control possible where there are no walls!)

    Laura, the market manager, was super responsive and helpful. She stopped by both the rehearsal and during set up on the day of to make sure everything would go smoothly.

    Many people have told us how beautiful the setting was. My mom said "I don't know why someone would get married anywhere else!" We didn't do a lot of decoration because we felt it was so beautiful on its own!

    Sent on 01/07/2019
  • L

    Laura · Married on 07/06/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful unique venue that you can decorate how you wish. We had our wedding on a Friday so we didn't have to worry about waiting until after the market on Saturday--which worked out great!

    Sent on 07/27/2018
  • O

    Olivia · Married on 09/23/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ithaca Farmers' Market is a beautiful outdoor (covered) pavilion at the base of Cayuga Lake. It is a very bare-bones venue, so if you choose it you'll be doing a lot of planning. This was fine for me because we loved the venue and I'm very much a type-A planner, but it's something to consider if you're not familiar with event planning.

    We lucked out on the weather - it was a high of 80 and sunny - but know that you can't heat the pavilion if it gets cold because you can't use open flame in the pavilion. The pavilion itself is a little dark even with the strung lights lit, so we opted to pay for extra lighting from a vendor to help with that. Our guests loved being able to walk out to the dock to take a break, and we loved having the ceremony outside facing the lake. It worked out wonderfully and I wouldn't do anything different if I did it all again!

    Aaron, the manager, was very helpful but took a few days to respond to any of my emails.

    Sent on 10/07/2017
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 08/30/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Farmers Market was a gorgeous venue, where we had both our ceremony and reception--it's right on the water, which means we were able to have our ceremony right on the dock. The pictures are unbelievable. The cost was 1200 with a 600 deposit. It holds up to 300 but we only had 85. The pros are the value and view. The cons are that you can't have your ceremony/reception until after the farmers market closes (4 pm) and cleans up and you have done your setting up. We didn't start until 6:30 and we paid to have everything set up by the caterer. The market has string lights hanging, but you really need additional lighting done by a professional. I recommend working with vendors who have done weddings there. The bathrooms are also slightly sketchy but overall, it's a gorgeous rustic venue in the heart of ithaca at a reasonable cost.

    Sent on 10/11/2014
  • A

    Alberto · Married on 07/13/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I got married at the farmers market this year, on a Friday. From what I heard from my vendors, Friday weddings are way easier to pull off at the farmers market than Saturday weddings; there's no competing with the actual market! The space is gorgeous, the bathrooms are nice (though we sprung for the bathroom trailer, too!) and the space feels outdoors, but is covered from the rain. I'd you're using other Ithaca vendors, chances are they've worked a wedding at the market before and will have the routine down pat. My husband and I were so pleased with our whole experience!!

    Sent on 07/23/2018
  • D

    Dan · Married on 06/01/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had our wedding here, the place was clean, all the facilities worked. It's a beautiful venue - if you and/or (more likely) your vendors are game for setting everything up and then cleaning it up after, then its great! However, you know that going in - this isn't a full service venue. I recommend doing your event on a day other than saturday, if it's during the summer, because on saturday you will have to start around late dinner time in the day because the market is happening in the morning and early afternoon. That's fine if you just want the reception/dinner there, but we did the whole shabang and needed all day. We did ours on a friday, which worked out great. If people won't take time off to come to your wedding, then do they really care about you? Nope, not your problem! You'll be there!

    It's a really great place to have a wedding. Also we HIGHLY recommend using caterer etc. who has done this venue before (hint serendipity catering, book them), because the setup is a little unique and you want someone who has a plan for it and experience. You want them to be directing you based on their successful past weddings, not testing things out on you!! Come on, you're not a lab rat - you're a person and your name is Anakin (star wars reference)!

    Oh , and also, it rained during our wedding - after the ceremony was finished (hashtag blessed) essentially nonstop, and it didn't matter - we stayed dry under the pavilion and it was still a beautiful setting. You're not made of sugar, rain doesn't hurt you - even if it did, you're covered here chief! It's all gravy!

    Sent on 06/13/2018
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/28/2013

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This was the perfect venue for a unique wedding! We loved having the open access to the lake and all of the vendor booth spaces to display our decorations and food. It was a little chilly at night at the end of September, but we were able to rent space heaters and that helped. The ceremony was down on the dock, and we had the best sunset backdrop for our photos. Definitely check this out for a summer wedding! The only problem with fall is that you can't use any fabric or tent walls, so we got some bamboo panels.

    Sent on 11/01/2013

    Ithaca Farmers Market's reply:

    Hi Melissa! MY name is Laura Gallup and I am the new Events Coordinator for IFM. Would you mind emailing me and telling me a bit more about your event? I'm interested in how you used the space heaters and bamboo panels - I haven't seen anyone else do that so far! Thanks, and my email is lauragallup@ithacamarket.com.
  • User3053573 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    If you're looking for a unique, rustic, picturesque and memorable wedding location, the Ithaca Farmers Market is for you. All you get for the rental is the market itself though. Everything else is your responsibility; from linens to lighting! A really fun place though!

    Sent on 10/08/2013
  • Savannah

    Savannah · Married on 09/22/2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    IFM is a beautiful venue that feels quintessentially Ithaca. The dock area is a great setting for a waterfront ceremony and the pavilion offers lots of space and flexibility for dinner and a reception. (It also offers a built-in rain plan.) It feels magical after dark when the string lights come on!

    You have to do a lot of planning yourself, but the Market has an events coordinator who will advise about the permits you need and do a walk-through before your event. They had some staff turnover early in our planning process, but their new events manager was great to work with.

    Things that might be drawbacks for some people are the lack of existing furniture and supplies—we had to rent everything ourselves—and the tight window for setup. We were allowed to start setup at 4pm for a 5:30pm wedding. They also require you to end your event at midnight and remove all trash yourself, so we'd advise having your caterer help with that.

    Overall we would highly recommend the Market. We got lots of compliments on the venue, felt like it was totally ours during our wedding, and were treated to an amazing sunset over the lake!

    Sent on 09/29/2018
    Ithaca Farmers Market 26
    Ithaca Farmers Market 27
    Ithaca Farmers Market 28
    Ithaca Farmers Market 29
  • User4558861 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    This venue is ridiculously beautiful. The structure and surrounding gardens are well maintained, and provide a lovely backdrop for a rustic wedding.
    However, it can be a little tricky to get a hold of a real person to answer questions. Every time I contacted them I talked to someone different.
    But, that said, the day of the event went completely smooth. They DO seem to be communicating internally!

    Sent on 11/19/2014
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 08/19/2017

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    So the space is amazing. It was such a unique and beautiful place to get married, with very few restrictions on what could and could not be done. For that, the value was well worth it. Planning was a bit challenging as there isn't a designated event coordinator, but rather a market manager who was very helpful, but it took a bit of work on my end to tease out answers to fairly basic questions. A list of FAQ's on the website would be really helpful and possibly event tips from former events held there. The space is challenging in the sense that Saturday is an active market until 3:00PM and you can't begin setting up until 4:00PM. Because of that, being provided more information up front would have made for less stress in the planning, because realistically, everything can together wonderfully, but I didn't think it would until it did. Also, a small sidebar...it's a garbage in garbage out facility. I was a fairly comfortable DIY bride, but it would have been a huge help to have a dumpster onsite...a service I would have gladly paid extra for. Hauling garbage out at the end of the night wasn't my favorite part...and then driving it to the dump the following Monday also wasn't. I would also consider looking into an event-coordinator for hire. Someone who really knows the space and how to make it work. My event coordinator was awesome and made it work without knowing the space, but a service i think future couples would take advantage of. Also, the groomsmen were sweeping the market before the wedding. I do think for the money paid, the market should have been broom swept and the bathrooms should have been cleaned better. Those are just the complaints though. The space is magical and the benefits FAR outweigh any of the complaints. I share them only so future brides know what they're getting into.

    Sent on 08/28/2017

    Ithaca Farmers Market's reply:

    Cheryl- Thanks for all the feedback! My name is Laura Gallup and I am the newly-hired Events Coordinator for Ithaca Farmers Market - and it's my job to fill in all those gaps you mentioned. All the issues you mentioned are exactly the things I'm working to fix. I'm so glad your day went well, and I look forward to making events at this venue run even smoother. I really appreciate you leaving a review so I can help future clients!
    -Laura Gallup
    lauragallup@ithacamarket.com

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review