Inn at Taughannock Reviews

4 | Trumansburg, NY
See photos, pricing and details

4 Reviews for Inn at Taughannock

Recommended by 56%

4

2.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 2.9
  • Professionalism 2.3
  • Flexibility 2.8
  • Value 3.4
  • Average response time 2.6

7 User photos

Inn at Taughannock 1
Inn at Taughannock 2
Inn at Taughannock 3
Inn at Taughannock 4
Inn at Taughannock 5
Inn at Taughannock 6
Inn at Taughannock 7
Sort by:
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Inn at Taughannock is a romantic spot for a beautiful wedding. We had a small intimate wedding with just 17 guests at the Inn. Our rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony and reception, and farewell brunch were all held at the Inn. Each event was unique and allowed our guests to experience the Inn to it's fullest. We had our rehearsal dinner in the beautiful Bommer Room, our ceremony was held outside over looking Cayuga Lake, our cocktail reception was held on the porch and our reception dinner was held in the romantic Jones Room. Our guests stayed onsite at the Hillside House while we enjoyed the romantic rooms at the Main Inn during our stay. From the time we arrived, to the time we left the staff went out of their way to make sure our events were prefect and all of our needs were met. Thank you Heather, Chef Tom, and Gigi for making our wedding events wonderful and memorable for us!! We look forward to spending our first anniversary at the Inn next year!

    Sent on 08/09/2018
  • F

    Franklin · Married on 10/07/2018

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    So much potential, but not there yet.

    We were married in Oct. 2018 but selected the inn as our wedding venue over a year before. For us, this was a destination wedding, so we really tried to maximize the time we spent at the actual site. While we had a beautiful wedding day, the planning experience was very stressful and less than ideal.

    The inn has a great many positives. The staff organized the logistics for our falls-side ceremony inside the state park, and it was stunning. The inn is absolutely beautiful and had the vintage Gatsby-esque vibe we were going for. We cannot sing the praises of Chef Tom enough; he is without a doubt a saving grace. His food is fantastic, and he is always willing to brainstorm new ideas and try new recipes. His food was a great value and included wine and desserts; an excellent touch. The day itself was fun and magical, with just a few minor hiccups.

    We also really need to recommend Hillside House. It was a fun, convenient and attractive place to stay, easily holding both sides of the wedding party while capable of hosting various events, including our rehearsal dinner and the wedding after party. Hillside House was an expensive but well worth it option for accommodating our wedding party.

    Unfortunately, many of the comments from the previously posted reviews also applied to us. We went through three wedding planners over 18 months, all but the last were very disorganized, failing to pass along any of our plans from one to the next. This resulted in going back to square one each time, having to plan our wedding anew with every new person that came in. Combined with irregular responsiveness to calls or emails made the planning process incredibly stressful.

    The lack of communication about staff turnover was a constant challenge. The times we learned about staffing changes were when we would arrive at the inn demanding to speak to someone in person, a difficult task as we lived almost five hours away.

    A significant point contention was the construction on site. The construction was not planned when we initially went into contract and ended up taking over the outdoor space we were supposed to use for our cocktail hour. Again, we only found out about the construction after dropping by unannounced. At the time, we were told the construction would take just a few months, wrapping up long before our wedding day. This was not what happened. Not only was the construction site an eyesore during our wedding weekend, but it also made getting to our wedding site inside the Taughannock State Park exceedingly tricky. It also led to a cramped indoor cocktail hour without the satellite bars we had planned... the indoor bar is too small for the number of guests we had.

    Ironically for an inn, there were also several problems with guests trying to book rooms for our wedding weekend and never getting confirmations, or getting a confirmation and having their rooms mysteriously booked by other people. The inn did their best to rectify the situations each time, but it was frustrating having to manage booking rooms on top of trying to organize our wedding.

    Overall, we hope the inn gets a far more organized and attentive wedding planning team since it could be a premiere area wedding location. Our final wedding planner was Gigi, and she was the best of the three. She tried her best, and it showed, but she was not set-up for success, having to run several things by herself and playing a lot of catchup. In summary, based on the totallity of our experiences, proceed with caution and keep your wits about you!

    Sent on 02/17/2019
    Inn at Taughannock 8
    Inn at Taughannock 9
    Inn at Taughannock 10
    Inn at Taughannock 11
    Inn at Taughannock 12
    Inn at Taughannock 13
    Inn at Taughannock 14

    Inn at Taughannock's reply:

    Dear Brides and Grooms,

    I've learned that most people who have enjoyed an exceptional experience, rarely write a review. But when someone is upset, they ALWAYS post a one.

    When you read these reviews, please note the reviews are motivated by contempt for our previous event planners and the disruption they caused. A few complaints regarding the construction of our future wedding garden are listed. Read closely, every couple who has picked the Inn at Taughannock as their wedding location, received a first class wedding. That's because our team of 50, who produces the events, care about your special day and always deliver!!

    As the owner, I was well aware of the issues surrounding last years Event Planners, it was a tough year as we searched for replacements during the season, part of our growing pains of the past. Frustrated by their lack of performance and the stress they caused several brides, I did my best to make things right with all of the brides who were upset. We resolved our event planner staffing problem last October by doubling down and engaging two (2) full-time new event planners to handle the demand and most importantly make sure they had the necessary time each day to provide our clients with the attention their big day requires. We've also employed an on-site event supervisor to make sure every detail the Bride and Groom have requested is implemented to perfection throughout their wedding day.

    Construction is never fun, it is always a messy business. Fortunately, the worst of it is now behind us and the new Wedding Garden we are building should be completed by July. The venue will undoubtedly be the ultimate event location in the Finger Lakes Region.

    Should you have any questions, please reach out to our new event planners, Kim and Tiffany, they'll be delighted to assist you with the attention you deserve.
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/15/2018

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    I had my wedding here this September, and although the wedding day was nice, I would not recommend this venue. We went through 3 poorly organized event planners in less than one year, so anytime we thought we were getting things we were not, and our actual planning to be done in the last 2 weeks. They did pull off a nice wedding day, but I can’t say it was perfect: the construction that was scheduled to be done months before our wedding was not done, and was an eye sore, the champagne flutes and place cards for us were not on the sweetheart table, and the event planner told us about how she invited a couple of Inn guests to crash our wedding because she felt badly that they had to put up with our noise (we have their photo booth to prove it!). The Inn gave us some freebies to try to make it right, and the location is stunning, but any bride knows how valuable it is to minimize the stress of planning your wedding, and then actually have the plans happen. I would not recommend having your wedding here, until they get over their “growing pains,” become more organized, and have a steady functional event planner. Be aware that they are going through a transitional stage for weddings. However, the Head Chef Tom is amazing. He even did research beforehand and made cultural foods for the wedding. Go for dinner (we loved Chef Tom!), and leave it at that.

    Sent on 09/22/2018

    Inn at Taughannock's reply:

    Dear Brides and Grooms,

    I've learned that most people who have enjoyed an exceptional experience, rarely write a review. But when someone is upset, they ALWAYS post a one.

    When you read these reviews, please note the reviews are motivated by contempt for our previous event planners and the disruption they caused. A few complaints regarding the construction of our future wedding garden are listed. Read closely, every couple who has picked the Inn at Taughannock as their wedding location, received a first class wedding. That's because our team of 50, who produces the events, care about your special day and always deliver!!

    As the owner, I was well aware of the issues surrounding last years Event Planners, it was a tough year as we searched for replacements during the season, part of our growing pains of the past. Frustrated by their lack of performance and the stress they caused several brides, I did my best to make things right with all of the brides who were upset. We resolved our event planner staffing problem last October by doubling down and engaging two (2) full-time new event planners to handle the demand and most importantly make sure they had the necessary time each day to provide our clients with the attention their big day requires. We've also employed an on-site event supervisor to make sure every detail the Bride and Groom have requested is implemented to perfection throughout their wedding day.

    Construction is never fun, it is always a messy business. Fortunately, the worst of it is now behind us and the new Wedding Garden we are building should be completed by July. The venue will undoubtedly be the ultimate event location in the Finger Lakes Region.

    Should you have any questions, please reach out to our new event planners, Kim and Tiffany, they'll be delighted to assist you with the attention you deserve.
  • L

    Lacey · Married on 05/11/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0


    Brides Beware. I’ve never experienced such a stressful few months while coordinating with the Taughannock staff. We visited and LOVED it. It truly is a gorgeous location. We told them that we’d take it! They sent over a blank contract and requested a $5,000 deposit. We were uncomfortable with the contract, since it did not mention anything we negotiated and had some errors. It was basically a blank contract; contracts should be protect both parties! I asked her to update the contract to reflect our discussions and she agreed. And then EVERYTHING fell apart:
    - A 2 week period of no contact despite my effort and urgency,
    - A new wedding planner Gigi who was rude, hung up on me, literally said “I don’t know why we are spending so much time on you”. She missed self-given deadlines, would say she would call me right back and never would, and was terrible to work with.
    - I finally reached out to the manager Carl because after 3+ weeks, we’d gotten nowhere. Instead of addressing the personnel issue, he said “I reviewed your file and I have bad news for you!” and went on to tell me that the negotiated and agreed upon price per plate of $49 was incorrect and it was actually $85. This $49/plate was on the website, their brochure, and was signed off by the original wedding planner AND the chef! All in written agreements!!!!!
    We were DONE. How unreliable can this be! It was so stressful and they ended up wasting 2 months of precious wedding planning time. This fun time turned out to be a nightmare.

    Let me give you some costs that slowly trickled in: $5,000 for the tent rental, Apparently NOW $85/plate, ceremony chairs $4/pop, minimum of 125 people. Expensive booze. If you want to stay at the inn, there is a mandatory 2 night minimum rental and check to see if it is even available.

    All-in-all, the gorgeous location is NOT worth the stress and falsification of agreed upon pricing. What a nightmare!

    - L

    Sent on 09/07/2018

    Inn at Taughannock's reply:

    Dear Brides and Grooms,

    I've learned that most people who have enjoyed an exceptional experience, rarely write a review. But when someone is upset, they ALWAYS post a one.

    When you read these reviews, please note the reviews are motivated by contempt for our previous event planners and the disruption they caused. A few complaints regarding the construction of our future wedding garden are listed. Read closely, every couple who has picked the Inn at Taughannock as their wedding location, received a first class wedding. That's because our team of 50, who produces the events, care about your special day and always deliver!!

    As the owner, I was well aware of the issues surrounding last years Event Planners, it was a tough year as we searched for replacements during the season, part of our growing pains of the past. Frustrated by their lack of performance and the stress they caused several brides, I did my best to make things right with all of the brides who were upset. We resolved our event planner staffing problem last October by doubling down and engaging two (2) full-time new event planners to handle the demand and most importantly make sure they had the necessary time each day to provide our clients with the attention their big day requires. We've also employed an on-site event supervisor to make sure every detail the Bride and Groom have requested is implemented to perfection throughout their wedding day.

    Construction is never fun, it is always a messy business. Fortunately, the worst of it is now behind us and the new Wedding Garden we are building should be completed by July. The venue will undoubtedly be the ultimate event location in the Finger Lakes Region.

    Should you have any questions, please reach out to our new event planners, Kim and Tiffany, they'll be delighted to assist you with the attention you deserve.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review