Indiana Roof Ballroom Reviews

23 | Indianapolis, IN
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Indiana Roof Ballroom

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

23

10 User photos

Order by:
  • B

    Becky · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond Magical! Simply Amazing!

    If you are choosing a venue for a wedding reception in Indianapolis, look no farther than the Indiana Roof Ballroom. We had at least half of our guests from out of town and none of them had ever been to an event at the Roof. To put it simply, it becomes MAGICAL for a wedding. No other venue compares. We were treated like royalty. Guests remarked that it was like being at an Italian Villa. The professionalism of the staff, top down, was impeccable. Kile Shaw was our coordinator and she was the perfect blend of professional and calm. Where do I start? The parade of salads, the lighting, the food, the continuous communication throughout the process. The Indiana Roof was the one vendor we never had a concern about. A few months before your event, the Roof invites those who have planned a wedding to a tasting, complete with the light choices, specialty drinks, appetizers, desserts, etc. We felt special.

    After our daughter's wedding, we had countless people remark about how our reception was the nicest wedding reception they had ever been to. Mind you that we only had 196 people and the room never felt cavernous. The Roof knows what they are doing. We also did not choose the top tier bar package. The venue gives you many choices and works with your budget.

    When I entered the reception for the cocktail hour, staff approached me as the mother of the bride, got me a drink, and I mentioned that I would like to do a sparkler exit. I did not know that should be planned in advance. The Roof was fine with it and provided extra sparklers and the personnel to pull it off.
    The reception was so perfect, I don't see how it could have been better. Any other venue is just that....the Indiana Roof Ballroom is unforgettable.

    Sent on 07/03/2019
  • M

    Monica · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Night

    All I have to say is wow.

    Having our wedding reception at the Indiana Roof Ballroom made all my dreams come true.

    From the moment we toured a year before, until we got into our horse and carriage after the reception, working with the roof was perfection.

    Kile and her team are professional, responsive, educated, and extremely easy to work with.

    I was planning this wedding while living out of state and Kile was extremely accommodating to our situation.

    She would offer suggestions but never be to pushy. She was extremely organized and on the ball for EVERYTHING. Throughout the wedding process and working with a ton of different vendors, we always knew we could count on Kile and the IRB to come through and they always did.

    On the wedding day, the entire staff was so gracious and helpful. Craig was professional and kept the schedule moving. I didn’t have to worry about a thing other than having fun!

    I LOVED my reception at the roof and keep reliving the amazing night!

    Sent on 07/02/2019
  • L

    Laura · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All I can say is WOW! The Indiana Roof was an absolute dream to work with - they made wedding planning fun! Jeff, Craig and Kile are incredibly patient, talented and detail-oriented. They executed every element of my reception with extreme care and tact, ensuring that my vision was carried out perfectly. You would think that they were coordinating their own wedding!

    These guys/gals are ORGANIZED. I walked into each meeting and was met with checklists and options that I never would have thought of. They do not treat any detail as "too small" or "too insignificant." For them, production value is important.

    Additionally, they were communicative. I never had an email that was left unanswered for more than 24 hours and each response was detailed, thorough and helpful. From the big things (coordinating with our band, for example) to the little things (making sure there were snacks and signature cocktails ready for our bridal party the moment they walked into our holding room upon arrival) - everything was flawless.

    With help from the band + the team at the Indiana Roof, my fiance pulled off a surprise musical performance. Even the things I didn't know about were perfect. If you're on the fence about booking this spot for your wedding - DO IT! It is a jaw- dropping venue with a jaw-dropping staff. Thank you IRB!

    Sent on 10/04/2018
  • R

    Rosa · Married on 11/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding here and it was absolutely beautiful. It was the wedding I had dreamed of. The staff was so nice! Everything was perfect!

    Sent on 12/03/2017
  • F

    fran and kyle · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an absolute blast and an unforgettable evening!

    Most importantly, our friends and family have not stopped talking about how amazingly beautiful the ballroom was and the spectacular service they received while being there. Even guests who weren't part of the wedding party felt like the red carpet was rolled out for them and anytime they needed something someone from the ballroom was ready to assist. Jeff, Craig, Antonia, Kile, we knew you and your staff would be great but you truly exceeded our expectations.

    We were even surprised by some of the ballroom theatrics! Salad parade presentation, sparkle confetti at the final song. Also we got great reviews on the food and drinks. Everything combined to make the night perfect. Both of our pairs of parents said it was the best wedding they have ever been to.

    Thank you again for making our special day that much more magical!!!

    Sent on 08/27/2017
  • K

    Kyle · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First, I'd like to say that I do not usually take the time to write reviews, but my wife and I felt it was necessary to let folks know how awesome we thought the Indiana Roof Ballroom was!

    We knew we were going to end up having our wedding at the Indiana Roof Ballroom within the first 5 minutes of walking into the venue. Its amazing how pretty it is!

    Kile was assigned to our wedding and introduced to us by Antonia (I gathered she was the big boss) very early on in the planning process. While Kile put in most of the leg work with us, we saw the entire team, Kile, Jeff, and Antonia, during every meeting. They made us feel like we were the only wedding they were planning for! They outlined the process to make the planning go as smooth as possible during the first meeting, and then communicated with us via email when important dates were coming up. The planning was stress free!!

    The meetings were easy and fun! Each meeting had a purpose and was well run. They were flexible and had some great ideas on how to make the day special. They encouraged us to bring our parents and are very knowledgeable about what works and what doesn't.

    The day of service was impeccable. From the second we arrived, they made us feel like royalty. They took care of the bridal party and made sure we had everything we could ever want. They made sure the rest of the guests were taken care of with A+ service as well- we've received so many compliments about the service! From the bar service, to the way the salads are presented for dinner, to clean up... Things could not have gone better!

    The venue is definitely the prettiest one in Indianapolis. While they could probably get by with average service, they take pride in what they do and it really shows.
    Antonia, Jeff, and Craig really do go above and beyond. Kile was so much fun, professional, and really made things as stress free as possible. You will not be disappointed with this venue or the team that runs it!

    Sent on 12/14/2015
  • S

    Shawn · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There simply no other place as magical as the Indiana Roof Ballroom for a wedding. Hands down EVERYTHING was absolutely perfect!
    The ballroom beauty and atmosphere are like no other. You can feel the history and the love of weddings past. The entire staff was warm and welcoming from the first time we stepped foot in the door. Antonia's experience is so incredibly helpful. She worked with us to make sure our daughter's wedding was the experience of a lifetime. This goes for the the entire staff! You won't find anything that isn't top notch. The preparation, the food, the service,the staff, the bar, the atmosphere….are all the very best! Our guests (both young and old and everyone in between) can't stop talking about how this was the most beautiful wedding they'd ever been to and that they will never forget it. They even made the flower girls and ring bearers feel special. Our 10 yr old daughter said she felt like a princess because of the way the server for the table treated her and the other children at the table. We never wanted for anything as they graciously saw to it that we had everything or anything we wanted or needed. We didn't want the night to end! I could write a novel on all the wonderful things the IRB and staff had to offer. It was pure magic; not only for our daughter and her new husband, or my husband and I, but for every single one of our 220 guests. We will never forget that night!

    Sent on 10/14/2015
  • User6112699 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly the most beautiful venue in Indianapolis!
    The staff was great to work with, and the guests loved the food!
    Awesome lighting.
    As a bride, you truly feel like a princess!

    Sent on 12/30/2015
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! I can't even begin to describe how pleased I was with the fabulous team at the Indiana Roof Ballroom! My daughter's wedding was not only stunning, but the food was delicious, and the wait staff completely courteous and professional. They made the evening magical for my daughter, as well as all of our guests. We had guests from all over the country, and all over the world. Everyone was blown away by the beauty of the venue, and the calm professionalism of the entire staff. Thank you, Antonia, Kyle, Jeff, Dave, and Scott for making this an evening we will all cherish for the rest of our lives.

    Sent on 06/10/2014
  • Chandra

    Chandra · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my reception at The Roof and it was beyond my wildest dreams. The second we got there they were there by my side the whole night to make sure that everything was moving along smoothly, that everyone knew where they needed to be and when, and they made everything perfect. I was blown away the first time I actually stepped into the ballroom because it was so gorgeous. Just absolutely perfect and the staff there are true wedding experts and professionals. If anything went wrong I never knew about it because they took care of it!

    Sent on 06/26/2014
  • User3263914 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Antonia and her staff at the Roof Ballroom were nothing short of AMAZING! Not to mention the venue is probably the most beautiful place that Indiana has to offer. My husband and I are not from Indianapolis, but from the moment we stepped into the ballroom, we knew that we had to be married there. Antonia was very accommodating for all the meetings I had with her prior to the wedding date and I very much appreciated that. She was also very prompt to answer any questions I had regarding pricing, food, lighting, etc.

    The food was amazing and all of my guests have been raving about it! The one thing that my husband and I did not expect was the phenomenal service. The rehearsal was a breeze thanks to Jeff and Craig- they really know what they are doing when it comes to coordinating a large group of people and they were always making sure that I was happy with everything. On the day of the wedding, their staff provided the absolute BEST service to us and our guests that we could ever ask for. John was the name of the gentleman who took care of me and my husband all night and he was AMAZING! He made sure we always had a full drink and was quick to get us anything we needed. My grandmother has to eat a gluten free and vegan diet, and when we couldn't find the special cupcake that my cake vendor was supposed to make for her, they were so quick to make her a dessert that she could enjoy and I thought that was awesome. They were extremely accommodating for anyone with a special diet and were quick to provide special meals for people who needed them.

    We also had a little blunder with our guest list the day of the wedding and we found out that a family of 7 was not going to be attending. The staff at the Ballroom was quick to switch out a table and renumber so that we didn't just have one empty table at the reception. They took care of everything!

    Overall, this was, without a doubt, the best venue I could have ever dreamed of having for my wedding day!

    Sent on 04/15/2014
  • User3559236 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place was a dream come true! People are still talking about how gorgeous it was!

    Sent on 09/25/2013
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Husband and I are extremely pleased with the Indiana Roof Ballroom. They were amazing to work with and the venue was incredible. We have nothing negative to say about them. By far the best customer service we have ever received and the most beautiful venue. I would hands down recommend this venue for any event!

    Sent on 06/19/2012
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We looked at so many venues for our wedding. Luckily, we chose the Ballroom. I know they have done many events here and are professional, but I had no idea how smoothly it would run. This was probably the most professional and best run event I have ever attended. We didn't have to think about anything or get stressed out at all. The staff was so incredible! I cannot say enough good things about them. The food, drinks, lights, timing, everything was awesome. If you are getting married in Indy, go to the Ballroom.

    Sent on 10/25/2010
  • D

    Darlene · Married on 06/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can only describe the Indiana Roof Ballroom as magical! There is no venue quite like it and I am so happy we had our daughter's wedding there. Antonia and her staff are so absolutely wonderful to work with and gave 110% towards helping us plan and have the most amazing wedding. The food was great, the service impeccable and the day could not have gone better. Antonia tried so hard to help us with our appetizer requests and was so patient and kind in her dealings with us. I just cannot complain about anything and would highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 07/16/2010
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 05/01/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Indiana Roof Ballroom made my fairytale wedding come true! Elegance, professionalism, responsiveness and great staff made our reception come to life. I am STILL getting comments from our guests about how great the service was, in addition to, the food!

    Antonia, Jeff, Craig and staff carried through on wish to truly "WOW" our guests! People are still talking about the wedding. I highly recommend the Roof to area Brides!

    Sent on 05/25/2010
  • K

    Katie · Married on 01/02/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have been to many weddings in Indianapolis and there is not a better venue for a wedding reception than the Indiana Roof Ballroom. This ballroom is absolutely beautiful and I could not have been happier with the "look" of my wedding reception. The food was simply amazing and the service is exceptional. We were treated like royalty the day of our reception and we did not have a worry the entire night. We I would recommend this wedding venue to anyone and everyone!!!

    Sent on 01/31/2010
  • M

    Michael · Married on 07/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Indiana Roof Ballroom was host to our wedding reception. After considering several venues, we decided on the Roof. We could not have been happier with our decision. The venue is magical and the food and drinks were incredible. The choices of food, decor and set-up is endless. The staff was very attentive and friendly. I would highly reccomend hosting any event there.

    Sent on 02/04/2010
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/31/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Indiana Roof Ballroom was the only real choice for my wedding. This opulent and elegant facility not only provided us with an exquisite setting, but unparalleled service. The management staff really went above and beyond to make the planning process as uncomplicated and easy as possible. The service staff was very professional and the food was incredible. We felt pampered and truly catered to throughout our wedding and reception.
    There is no other venue in the Indiana that can match what the Ballroom has to offer.

    Sent on 01/27/2010
  • J

    Jenn · Married on 07/12/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is by far the most unique facility in Indianapolis! My wedding was like a fairy tale and they took care of every detail for me. Couldn't speak higher of them!

    Sent on 01/29/2010
  • V

    Vickie · Married on 08/23/2003

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved the Roof Ballroom. It was a fantastic location with a great dance floor. The catering was excellent and they were so professional during the planning process and the night of the wedding.

    The downfall for me were:
    Some hidden fees
    The thunderstorm effect was broken that night, but we didn't get any kind of discount on our other lighting
    Select vendor list you have to use

    I would definitely recommend this location, even with all the downfalls.

    Sent on 05/01/2008
  • E

    Erin · Married on 06/10/2006

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Indiana Roof Ballroom is one of the most unique venues in Indianapolis. I was a bit nervous that the service wouldn't be as personal since they do so many large scale events, much larger than a 225 person wedding reception. I was wrong. The event coordinator I worked with, Paul Keith, made me feel incredibly comfortable throughout the entire process. I had a few somewhat unique requests (table names vs. numbers, candy buffet, etc) and he was very helpful and accommodating. I would have liked to do a tasting but they only did them during the week and being from out of state I wasn't able to visit during the week (hence the score on flexibility) although the food was excellent.

    The Roof is a truly stunning place for a reception...my guests still rave about it.

    Sent on 05/20/2008
  • G

    Girish · Married on 06/16/2012

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    Where do I begin? ... i guess I'll talk about one thing at a time ...
    #1) Antonia: this is your wedding planner from your worst nightmare that you cannot get rid of. She not only is hostile to even the bride/groom and family, but she will try to take over and dictate how the wedding will go. Abrasive personality that will run your wedding like a business event. Not very bright, not very professional, but acts surprisingly haughty regardless
    #2) Lighting and the facility is great I have to admit. This is what attracted us to the place in the first place. However, have you seen any pictures from two different weddings taken at the indiana roof? Well .... no need, you've seen one wedding there, then you've seen them all. Every single wedding at the facility looks exactly the same. I mean .... it's still nice at the end of the day, if you don't mind the internet or your indy facebook friends posting pics of a wedding that has the very same look and feel regardless of the amount of time you've spent making it your own (best you could do given #1 above)
    #3) So a little more than half way through the planning, we had enough. Could not take all the ridiculous restrictions this place has! They abuse the fact that there aren't many venues in indianapolis downtown that can host a big party. Antonia, at this point tried to swindle much more money than the contract would entitle them. Most places would even nullify the contract fees if they were to find a replacement party. I promised to pay all the fair losses from the contract, however she (apparently with little legal suave/moral sense) attempted to make ridiculous claims that their formal written contract could not support. ou can still have a nice facility to entertain your guests with less work on your part.You will just have to sacrifice originality, pride, money and support a corrupt establishment. End of the day, it's about the people at a party than anything else .... i just rather take my peeps elsewhere

    Sent on 04/14/2013