Skip to main content
Weddings

Imperial Gown Restoration and Preservation Co Reviews

Imperial Gown Restoration and Preservation Co

Imperial Gown Restoration and Preservation Co

Silver Spring, MD
Rating 1.8 out of 5, 10 Reviews
View more information

10 Reviews

Rated
1.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 36% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 2 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 1.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 1.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 1.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 1.8 out of 5
  • User1233300 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are planning on wearing a vintage dress that needs to be cleaned or restored, do not trust anyone else with it! Steve is incredibly knowledgeable about what he does, and will explain everything to you from the process to the price. He's very straight forward, and definitely makes sure that everything is fully understood. If you don't live close enough to bring your dress in, you can mail it from anywhere, in fact, most of his business is mail in (which is what he told me). If you DO live close enough to Silver Spring to take your dress directly to Imperial, I would recommend working with his seamstress as well if anything needs to be altered. And after the wedding, he does preservations of dresses as well, so it's a one stop shop! Also, if you do everything through Imperial, he'll give you a little break on some of the prices.
  • J
    Jenny Married on 09/05/2010
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I used Imperial for my alterations after getting the company's name from my cousin. The dress looked great! It needed a lot of work, but Ho (the very experienced seamstress) did a wonderful job, and we always enjoyed chatting with Steven, the owner. The alterations were a bit pricey, but I did need a lot done, and their attention to detail and customer service is fantastic. I had 4 total fittings and never felt rushed or like I wasn't being prioritized. If you want peace of mind, go to Imperial.
  • Theresa
    Theresa Married on 11/24/2012
    Rating 3.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    I wore my Mom's dress, and the restoration and revival of the gown was amazing. The dress looked gorgeous and so white, from a yellow and brown color (unpreserved dress from the 70's). The price was high, but I was willing to pay since i really wanted the dress to be restored well. It was.
    When I picked up the dress, not all the items had been restored (veil), so he said he would ship it down to me in NC. He did, after a reminder a few weeks later. This all worked out fine, since it came right before my tailor appointment.
    The problem came in with the pressing situation. I was told that I could drop the dress off at the shop to get pressed while I go out to lunch with my sister in Bethesda, and pick it up after, continuing on my way to the wedding location on the Eastern Shore. The date of the wedding had been communicated the whole time, so when I called on my way up to Bethesda and he said the dress couldn't be pressed because of the the closeness to Thanksgiving I was caught off guard. Since this had been planned so far in advance, the blow right before my wedding was very upsetting. There was no attempt to accomodate or assist, and there ended up being some very nasty words said on the phone to my Mom.
    Thankfully the local dry cleaner was able to take the wedding dress and steam it that Tuesday before the wedding on Saturday.
    I would be hesitant to recommend if there is any promises of future services. The restorations were very nice however.
  • J
    Jen Married on 09/25/2010
    Rating 2.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    I purchased my gown at a Filene's Basement bridal gown sale and it needed to be both cleaned and have beading repaired. I called Imperial Gown because their name and number were listed on the tag for the dress as the manufacturer's preferred cleaning vendor.

    I was living in Maine at the time, so I shipped the dress to Imperial for an estimate. On the phone, when I coordinated the shipping with them, they said that cleaning dresses doesn't usually cost over $300.

    When they called me after receiving the dress, they quoted me a price of $500 for the cleaning (not including the repair) and I was astounded, asking why it was so much more than $300. After some discussion, the woman I was speaking with on the phone said that she thought I was having it preserved, which would cost more, and if it was just cleaning, it would only be $300. Then she turned the phone over to Steve, who I assume was the owner, for a beading estimate.

    He quoted the beading as an additional $200 plus $75 for material. Despite my better judgment, I went ahead and told them to move forward with the cleaning and repair. Steve told me the dress would be ready by May 1.

    I called 3 weeks later to check in and told everything was going ok. I didn't hear back again, so I called again on May 5 (5 days after the dress was supposed to be finished) and was told that the cleaning was done, but had I authorized the repairs? Then he immediately said that I must have authorized them, otherwise they would not have charged me for them (which they had, back in March). Steve apologized for the delay and said the repairs would take a week.

    I called again on May 14 and was told that the dress was finished, but they were waiting on a shipment of boxes so they could ship it to me, and they expected the boxes in a few days.

    I called again on May 20, and was told that they had received the boxes and that my dress was set to ship on May 21.

    I called again on May 26 and they said the dress would ship that day. I later received the tracking number in an email, and the dress arrived shortly after. During the same call, Steve also said "The dress turned out great. I mean, it turned out great before" which is an exact quote. Indicating to me that he'd been lying to me about the repair timeline since we spoke on May 5. I wasn't in a rush to get the dress, a June 1 arrival was still almost 4 months before my wedding, so why he couldn't just be honest with me, I'm not sure.

    As far as I could tell, they did an excellent job on the cleaning, but very little in the way of repair. In fact, the dress still had dangling threads where the beading should have been repaired and I wonder if they did more than cut some of the worst threads off the dress. I ended up having my tailor clean it up, and she charged $75 to take in the dress AND fix the beading. I also heard from my tailor, that her seamstress didn't save the hem scraps from my dress because they were so dirty, so now I'm not even convinced how well the cleaning was done.

    In addition, all my interactions with Steve just made my skin crawl. During the pricing discussion, I asked if the $50 coupon discount was included in the price and he got belligerent with me. I never really felt like he was being honest (and I'm now sure that he upped the cost of my repairs well above what was necessary), and in the end it turned out he was lying about the repair timeline all along.

    I'd recommend not using this vendor.

    And if you're purchasing a dress from somewhere other than a bridal store, find a good tailor that you can trust immediately and get their advice on when to clean the dress (my tailor later told me that typically you should clean the dress after the tailoring is done).
  • G
    Gail Married on 09/05/2010
    Rating 1.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    I had to send the dress back for a second cleaning and a year and 2 months later am still waiting for him to make good on replacing a sash that he cut after telling him that my daughter wanted to have the sash separate to use again.
  • B
    Mary Married on 08/20/2011
    Rating 0.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    Steve Saidman provided horrible customer service and I do not recommend his services. He nickled and dimed us during our initial meeting with my Mom. We decided to use his services anyway because he was recommended from the place where I bought my dress in Ohio. BIG MISTAKE! After our first meeting, my Mom and I were very clear that all charges were to be included during the first contract and that we didn’t want to be hit up for any extras after we already signed the contract. He agreed.

    However, when I came back for my first fitting, sure enough he said that there were extra charges because he forgot to include the bustle. I told him that he had promised no extra charges during our first meeting and he said fine he would bustle the dress for free and that he did not want to lose me as a customer.

    At my wedding, I found out that my dress was not bustled. I called Steve to tell him and he apologized and said that it should have been done. I asked for a refund of some sort and he said he would give me a refund of $0 since that is what I paid to have it bustled. So he never had any intention to bustle the dress and knew it was not bustled despite what was promised and written in the contract. I told Steve I would not recommend his services to any of my engaged friends and then he called me a horse’s ass. Obviously, I was not going to respond to his unprofessionalism and sink to his level so I ended the conversation. Please do not use his services and get swindled the same way I did.
  • G
    Grace Married on 06/17/2017
    Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    PLEASE everyone file a complaint with the BBB which then goes thru the attorney general. This man is getting away with things because not enough of us are filing complaints to the people that might actually help. It’s been a year and he has my daughter’s wedding gown and won’t return it. According to the BBB there are only 3 complaints and many more documented complaints are what is needed to start an investigation of this bizarre business. Thanks to everyone that can help and starts the process. I believe there is strength in numbers.
  • J
    Jesus Married on 06/17/2017
    Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    This Company is run by Steven Saidman and he has what we call now, stolen our dress. His deceitful practices are no doubt evil. He lies impulsively and god know what he may have done/doing to our dress. He claims that we have not paid for the services and therefore does not send the dress back but after multiple and I mean MULTIPLE Emails and Texts and Calls he avoids us at all costs and claims that our card does not go through in the transaction. Nice try buddy the bank would have told us if you attempted to make a charge. We gave him the benefit of the doubt but now we perused a claim to the Attorney Generals office In Maryland where he refused to mediate with. We are now exploring other options and will file a police report for what is now stolen property.

    STAY AWAY FROM THIS MAN YOU WILL NOT SEE YOUR DRESS BACK.
  • T
    T Married on 10/03/2010
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    Steve and Imperial Gown Restoration, completely ruined my $10,000 Monique Llhulier wedding gown, which I paid $600 to have "cleaned." Not only was the dress NOT clean, but it has multiple new stains/burns and is falling apart. Needless to say, it is damaged beyond repair. Their service is deplorable and Steve is a nightmare!! He is irrational, was irate and called me names as well as yelled at my in-laws who attempted to rectify the situation. I regret not seeing other reviews on sites such as insiderpages.com and believed I was paying such high $ for a high end service, which I was guaranteed by Steve. I believe this business is a scam, preying on brides who want the best for their gowns to which they have sentimental attachment. His "guarantee" of reimbursement, should anything go wrong, is a lie! When I discussed this guarantee with him and my desire to be reimbursed due to the irreversible damage, he accused me of damaging it and said he "improved it." Stay away from this man and this business...it is BAD NEWS!!!
  • N
    Nichole Married on 11/18/2006
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    Poor service - don't send your dress here...even if you send it for a "free no charge quote" you will be charged more than you approve to get your dress back. Horrid. This is your wedding dress and your finances he will be screwing up. Don't make this mistake.