Skip to main content
Weddings

Hyatt Regency Grand Reserve Puerto Rico Reviews

Hyatt Regency Grand Reserve Puerto Rico

Hyatt Regency Grand Reserve Puerto Rico

Rio Grande, PR
3.7 out of 5 rating, 13 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

3.7 out of 5 rating
13 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    3.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    3.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    3.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    3.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    3.8 out of 5 rating
69% Recommended by couples
  • S
    Sangeeta Sent on 03/23/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Many Beautiful Areas on the Property

    The moment we first saw pictures of this property, we knew we wanted our wedding to be here! Pictures do not do this property any justice. The Hyatt Regency is absolutely beautiful! We had an intimate Indian wedding in January. We initially worked with Ely and she was the main reason we moved forward with the Hyatt. She was amazing with communication and was very attentive to all our questions in the beginning itself. Once we started finalizing the details, we were working with Melody, who was amazing as well! We were extremely grateful to her in accommodating our requests, especially with the Mirador (an absolutely unique area in the property). Each of our events were held in different areas of the property, and each turned out very unique and beautiful in their own way. The rooms are very spacious, modern, and comfortable. We loved all the details that have been put into the interior design of the property. Every corner is sure to give you an amazing background for a picture. The staff here were all super friendly and accommodating. We were very pleased with our entire experience here at the Hyatt and look forward to visiting again in the future!
  • A
    Alexis R. Sent on 04/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Wedding Experience!!!

    Everything about this location was wonderful! It is truly a breathtaking resort, with friendly staff, and the selling point for me was working directly with the Director of Catering for Corporate and Social Accounts, Neisha Martinez. She is truly AMAZING at everything she does and gets the job done! Although it was very up and down planning a wedding through Covid, she still made sure that all of my dreams still were able to come true. She is a wonderful asset to the Regency Hyatt Grande in Puerto Rico!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Alexandra R. Sent on 12/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding Venue

    I’m so glad we chose The Hyatt as our wedding venue. The space is absolutely beautiful with so many great places to host a wedding. Gretchen and her team were always ready to lend a helping hand and did a fantastic job in execution! Can’t wait to go back!
  • Jayme
    Jayme B. Sent on 04/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    We were super happy with the accommodations at the Hyatt! They were great about making sure our guests were happy, and that we had everything we needed through our entire stay.
  • Jenny
    Jenny P. Sent on 03/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous venue

    We had a "Welcome Dinner" for our guests the night before the wedding at the El Yunque Terrace Cocktail area and it was wonderful. The food was delicious, the drinks were great, the waiters were attentive, and the landscape was gorgeous. Most of our guests stayed at this hotel and had the best time, so none of us wanted to leave. It was a gorgeous venue with the beach and scenery, very hard to beat! Neisha also worked closely with me to help make sure our plans could fit into our budget. I highly recommend it!
  • L
    Laura M. Sent on 03/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Wedding

    My son had his destination wedding at this hotel in February 2020. Not only is the hotel beautifully remodeled but the staff and everyone who works here were amazing! We stayed almost a week and the attention to detail was excellent. We are especially grateful to Neysha and Melody for their help with coordinating all the events which turned out to be spectacular! All our guests have promised to return to this beautiful hotel in the future.
  • M
    Maribel Sent on 03/22/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best day ever!

    The venue was magical! We had our ceremony and reception outside and it was perfect. Neisha is great, so make sure you talk with her. The staff is very nice and made our day even more special. We are vegetarian, they made sure the food was exquisite. Totally recommended!
  • Brianna
    Brianna M. Sent on 05/14/2023
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Wedding Team, Hotel Team Not Great

    I had a great experience with the wedding / event team - I worked with Melody Oberhuber mostly! Email wasn’t the best method of communication, but overall I felt incredibly supported by her and she was great to have making sure everything went smoothly day-of!

    The management of the hotel itself, however, was pretty upsetting - I.e. check in lines that took 40 mins (with not many people in line), being shown to a room type below that of what we booked and paid for, waiting over an hour for to-go lunch, not being able to get a golf cart to help me around with resort with my wedding dress in the rain! I believe they are under new management as of 3 yrs, hopefully they get it together soon.

    All in all, I’d still have my wedding here - the resort is completely gorgeous and the wedding team is great. Just be prepared for substandard service from the hotel itself at times.
  • Meghan
    Meghan Sent on 05/02/2023
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Do not get married here!

    If I could change anything about my wedding, it would be where I had it. The Hyatt Grand Reserve was completely unprofessional, uncommunicative, and tried to nickel and dime us for every cent. Our guests, including ourselves, struggled to ever have someone pick up the phone at reception to book their room for our hotel block. We later found out that using a AAA discount was cheaper than our wedding block rate. The worst part, however, was despite disclosing all of my food allergies that were confirmed and listed on the wedding contract, they cross contaminated food and caused me to have an anaphylactic allergic reaction. They refused to give me medical attention by lying about having a doctor on the way to administer an EpiPen, resulting in me missing two hours of my reception. Luckily, a wedding guest was a doctor and was able to assist me. We requested to met with the hotel afterwards because they were avoiding us (because they felt guilty), and they appeared to be apologetic, however, denied all wrongdoing and lied about how they handled the food at the buffet. We had several guests struggle with their food allergies as well even after talking to three different staff members. We also paid for an open bar and they were 30 minutes late setting up the open bar. They also did not have the open bar ready for cocktail hour which required guest to go into a bar to purchase their own drinks so the hotel double dipped on money. Despite having booked our wedding well over a year in advance, they had me move rooms three times the day before our wedding because they did not for fill their promise on a wedding night upgrade.
    DO NOT GET MARRIED HERE!
  • Elana
    Elana A. Sent on 03/24/2023
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Our wedding was the worst experience of our lives

    Imagine the worst customer experience of your life, but it isn’t a one time transaction where you can just move on and never experience it again. It’s the most important day of your life that you’ve been dreaming of since you were a little girl, and you have to endure 18 months worth of disappointment, frustration, and heartbreak just to get to your day. My husband and I fell in love with the resort at face value. We toured in person with Neisha and she promised the world. The second we signed the contract she fell off the face of the planet. We went through 7 or 8 different coordinators planning our wedding and none of the previous information was past on to the next person. Our wedding was in December 2022. From February 2022 until August 2022 I reached out to all my present and past coordinators multiple times for months and did not get a response. For over 5 months I was ignored until they responded 4 months before my wedding with no knowledge of the past information we had been given. I grew up in Puerto Rico so I knew that island time would be a thing, but never did I imagine a situation like this. We were lied to again and again. Passed around to even more “managers” and employees. Refused the opportunity to talk to the resort director and lied about what their name was. Refused the contact information for corporate. A month before the wedding, their director of catering, Fritz, said we should just cancel our event if we weren’t satisfied with our service because we were asking so many questions (we had so many questions because we couldn’t get ahold of anyone for 5 months). The ONLY reason our wedding ended up being salvaged is because I spent hours on LinkedIn and google trying to find contact info for someone who could help. I eventually ended up sending an email to the CEO of Hyatt who had one of his VPs reach out to me. It turns out this resort is not a Hyatt. It is a franchise who pays to use the Hyatt name. Hence the complete lack of accountability, training, empathy, and competency. Once corporate stepped in (all they could do was give the on-site staff a gentle push) they were all of a sudden very eager to get in contact with me not to help us but to and I quote “settle things down so they aren’t under fire with corporate”. Again, this was November, one month before our wedding. The week before we were supposed to leave we found out they hadn’t reserved our rain location and they had booked another wedding in it. I sent them a recording from more than a year ago of them promising our rain location was secured. The location was also 30 ft from our ceremony so there would be another wedding going on at the same time as ours. I specifically picked this as our rain location so that we had a private intimate area regardless of weather. They didn’t want to upset the other bride so they let her keep the location if it didn’t rain. I will say they can have one star for rolling out the red carpet once we got there, but it was two little too late. You can’t fix 18 months worth of emotional distress with 6 days of decent service and a room upgrade (which was the only compensation we received). The day off actually would have been good, but again last minute issues and mistakes on their part were evident. My bridesmaid and her husband had to stop their walk down the aisle to argue with the wedding planner at the wedding in my rain location to turn their music down so that I could walk down the aisle and hear my music. They refused until it almost got physical. The Hyatt coordinator did also tell them to turn it down but they refused and she walked away and just left it. They did end up turning it down for the ceremony but the second we said I do they blasted their music so loud we couldn’t hear the rest of our ceremony or the congratulations of our families. Also, they had put curtains down to separate the spaces and didn’t even check to make sure they were clean. Half of my ceremony photos are unusable because the backdrop is dirty taupe curtains with heavy dirt and water stains. Both of these things were concerns I voiced when they told me they had booked our rain location out to someone else. Both ended up affecting our day. Then there was the food, we had our tasting that week and just asked for some basic changes. More salt on these dishes, beef and fish to be cooked not as long. I didn’t even end up eating because the fish was bone dry and the meat was chewy. We had raved about the soup and ended up embarrassed because it tasted nothing like the soup we had at our tasting. It was so flavorless we thought it was a different soup. Worst of all, a Hyatt employee removed the name place cards from our tables during a brief rain shower. Very thoughtful as the decorator had left already, but when they put the cards back they put them in the wrong order so our seating chart was reversed. We had two long imperial tables, so when we all sat down my parents, his parents, and our bridal party were at the very ends of the tables. My 18 year old cousin who I hadn’t seen in 6 years and some distant family friends sat at the head of tables. We couldn’t even see the people most important to us and they couldn’t see us. We paid over $6,000 for that venue space alone (literally just the space not food and beverage. We splurged on it specifically for the magical experience for us and our closest friends and family which we didn’t get because of this mistake. I look back at our wedding and feel like we hardly saw our parents or close family/friends. The nail in the coffin came a few days ago when they charged my card on file $7,000 without an authorization form. This is actually the second time they have done this. They charged my card $6,000 without notice or authorization in June, while at the same time ignoring my attempts to contact them for 5 months.

    Upcoming brides please please please heed this warning. Two separate Hyatt employees said directly to us that we were essentially screwed over and that I’m not the only bride suffering. This wasn’t one or two mistakes it was 18 months of emotional distress. We are still recovering from this experience. This genuinely changed me as a person and exasperated already present medical conditions that I am still working to get back to baseline. We don’t talk about our wedding and we haven’t shared our wedding photos. As beautiful as they are, this is not an experience we want to remember. We are still working with an attorney and considering action to recoup damages. Don’t be fooled by the stunning scenery and their promise of the world, they will ruin your life and sleep soundly for it.

    And in case they want to call me crazy or whatever, we had a 200 person wedding reception at the Marriott in our home town. They were absolutely incredible and such a pleasure to work with. They went above and beyond at every opportunity and truly made us feel so special. I was able to see what the experience should have looked like for our actual wedding. My bridesmaid who was a wedding coordinator for 11 years said she has never seen such horrific service and someone’s experience be so horribly affected. She was just heartbroken for me and ended up stepping in to help relieve some of my emotional distress and hold them accountable.
  • S
    Samantha S. Sent on 12/07/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Great for a vacation - HORRIBLE for a wedding!

    I could not recommend this hotel less - they messed up so many aspects of our wedding: allowing a wedding crasher and not removing them, employees stealing property, unresponsive staff, messing up our room block, overpriced with no quality control, and the list goes on. While I did love the views and overall look of this resort, the way that they handled a wedding was so poor. Three brides were getting married the weekend I was and we were all so upset and disappointed. Please look at another venue for a wedding.
  • Lauryn
    Lauryn M. Sent on 11/09/2021
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Poor communication made my elopement a nightmare

    Elopements are supposed to be stress free and easy, this was far from it. Unfortunately for us we did not have a great experience working with Neisha. Better communication from her would have gone a long way. On September 14th 2021 we were sent the proposal from Neisha for a beach ceremony for 6 people. We accepted the proposal the same day and never received a confirmation she received our proposal response. We emailed again on September 22nd 2021 asking if she received our email and she responded saying she is waiting to hear back from vendors (minister and photographer) to confirm our event. We had no idea she had to confirm outside vendors and this was not a for sure thing. As far as we knew they had an on-site photographer and minister.
    She did not communicate with us again for 2 weeks. During these 2 weeks we were starting to get nervous not having a confirmation for our wedding date. We began calling her direct phone number with no return call back. We eventually called the hotel asking for her but the manager told us she was out of the office and there was nobody else in her department to help with our event. Neisha eventually emailed my husband on October 5th stating the only vendor she was able to secure was the minister and was unable to secure a photographer, therefore unable to give us the elopement package. She then offered us a different package with no vendors and just the location of the beach at the Hyatt and her services for $1600. She gave us no help or direction on where to find vendors. We dont live on the island and do not know any vendors or locations. We had already booked the rooms at the Hyatt and the airline tickets and the wedding was supposed to be in 15 days. Luckily, our family was able to jump in and we tackled the task within 3 hours. What Neisha was unable to do from September 14th to October 5th , we were able to do in 3 hours. I received numerous emails back from multiple vendors with availability for October 20th 2021. It was clear she put little effort into our event. It was very frustrating because other resorts had elopement packages we could have chosen and we elected to do it at the Hyatt because of their stellar reputation and was left with starting all over 15 days prior to the wedding.
    Icing on the cake was when I went to my hair appointment the day of the wedding at the salon at the Hyatt, that I made a month prior. I was told "the normal lady is off today so I am filling in, I know how to curl my own hair so I think I can do yours". She didn't. The style didn't last 15 minutes. It was a waste of money. However, the make up artist they had for me was absolutely amazing! The makeup lasted perfectly all day. On a more positive note, we had our wedding dinner at a restaurant there that night and it was fabulous. The food was great, staff was amazing. They made us feel special on our special day. The resort was beautiful, rooms were great and service staff was very respectful and pleasant.
Responds within 24 hours