Skip to main content
Weddings

Hunt Valley Catering Reviews

Hunt Valley Catering View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.8 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
4.8 out of 5 rating
198 Reviews
96% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

198
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • Gwen
    Gwen E. Sent on 06/12/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Easy to Work With, Delicious Food

    Darlene was so easy to work with and her team did an incredible job. Everyone complimented the food, Darlene was so responsive and kind and friendly. My only complaint is that we got crab cakes (because we live in Baltimore), and almost everyone who had a crabcake said that there was shell in their crab cake.

    Hunt Valley Catering's reply:

    Hi Gwen,

    Thank you for the nice review and for the opportunity to work with you. Your reception was wonderful. We only use 100% fresh crabmeat for our special blend of crabcakes. Nothing is ever served that was pasteurized out of a can. Many establishments use canned crabmeat, because of its low shell content. It is more prevalent with fresh crabmeat. We do our best to remove as many shells as we can, but sometimes we can't get it all. Thank you again and Congratulations!
  • C
    Cristin K. Sent on 12/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Phenomenal

    "Absolutely phenomenal catering experience for our Christmas party! The food was not only delicious but also beautifully presented, impressing all of our employees. The attention to detail and professional service from start to finish exceeded our expectations. Hunt Valley truly added a touch of culinary magic to our celebration. Five stars without a doubt – Thanks Jim and Darlene!"
  • A
    Allie R. Sent on 12/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Made our Wedding day all the more wonderful

    Darlene and her team were nothing but wonderful all throughout our wedding experience. They made our visions for the reception come to life and the food, bar, and desserts were amazing! We got nothing but compliments from our guests about how good the food and desserts were. Darlene is very responsive when it comes to questions and they have a variety of menus to fit your budget. The staff was also very attentive and professional on the day of! Made our wedding day all the more wonderful!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kelsey S. Sent on 11/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent caterer

    Hunt Valley Catering is absolutely wonderful and far exceeded our expectations. Darlene was exceptional with her communication and timely in answering all of our many questions. The servers were excellent and our guests have not stopped talking about how amazing the food was even 1 month after the wedding. If you are looking for a full scale, stress-free catering experience, then look no further. We could not be happier with Hunt Valley Catering and would hire them 10x over!
  • D
    Debbie Sent on 10/16/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional

    Darlene, Jim and their staff at HVC did an exceptional job with catering my daughters wedding!! Very easy to work with and all of the food was delicious. Wedding guests commented for days on how wonderful all of the food was, in addition the bar service was stellar. Would recommend for all of your catering needs!! Thank you HVC!!
    Debbie, Jill and Family
  • M
    Margaret P. Sent on 10/25/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Peggy (Married on October 14, 2023)

    Darlene, Jim and their entire Hunt Valley Catering staff did a phenomenal job with catering my daughter’s wedding reception at Montagu Meadows!! The catering staff were so professional and did a fabulous job the entire evening. The food was delicious, and the presentation was flawless. Our wedding guests have continued to praise how great the food tasted, how quick the bar tenders were serving drinks and how the staff members were so gracious to attend to their needs. I would truly recommend Hunt Valley Catering for your next event!!! Thank you for a wonderful wedding reception.
  • Fanny
    Geovany M. Sent on 05/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Phenomenal Catering Service!

    Darlene, Jim, & the whole HVC team are phenomenal! We have sooooo many guest raving about how delicious all the food was! We absolutely loved our food! From the appetizers to the salad to the dinner itself. HVC will go above & beyond for you! Everything looked absolutely flawless from our side. Thank you so very much Hunt Valley Catering!
  • Christa
    Christa W. Sent on 05/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hunt valley catering wedding 5/20/23

    From the beginning Darlene had helped plan our wedding reception at Jarrettsville Gardens. Always in contact explaining what our options for food and bar. We had a tasting of 3 different dinner selections and samplings of Hors d'oeuvres. We were able to customize what we wanted. Darlene worked with us explaining everything as the wedding date was approaching . If I had a concern she would always get back to me. Everything was handled with professional care. From the signed contract to our Wedding day. I had no worries. My now Husband Larry and I want to say everything was superb. Everyone raved about the food and there was plenty of it. The kind lady in charge of the food preparation was always checking with us to make sure everything was OK. Wonderful food, Bar tender and staff,
    😊 Thank you for such a wonderful reception. It went perfectly.
    Christa and Larry Derouin
    May 20,2023
  • Lauren
    Lauren B. Sent on 11/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hunt Valley Catering

    Darlene and her team are absolutely phenomenal! From the food tasting to the actual day of our wedding, she was so helpful and responsive. Any time I had a question or wanted to make a change, she was always accommodating. I can’t heap enough praise for how the food turned out either. Everything from the passed hors d’oeuvres, to the bruschetta station, to the plated meal was outstanding. Our guests were raving about the food!
    The staff was respectful, attentive, and on time with each portion of our wedding timeline. I would absolutely use them again for any of our future catering needs. Thank you so much!

    The Flores’s
  • W
    Wei H. Sent on 10/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hunt Valley is the best!!

    We got SOOO many compliments from our guest about how good the food was! Crab cake was awesome and good veggie option too! We worked with Darlene closely for food options and finalizing our menu (it's a hard process because they have many good options!). We are sooo happy that we found hunt valley, and definitely very happy all guests enjoyed the food too! :))
  • H
    Heather Sent on 05/24/2007
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't gush enough about how impressed I was with Hunt Valley Catering. My husband and I wanted a non-traditional hors d'oeuvre reception, which HVC quickly accommodated to perfection. The reception ran smoothly and we had nothing to worry about. The setup was better than I had pictured in my mind. Very professional and highly recommended!
  • Daniel
    Daniel B. Sent on 10/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hunt Valley Catering was the perfect fit!

    Hunt Valley Catering did an amazing job with our wedding! They truly are the overlap of affordable and excellence. The crab cakes were out of this world!
  • O
    Olivia R. Sent on 09/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience

    Darlene and the entire serving staff did an incredible job making sure our day went seamlessly, and the food was delicious! We had a plated dinner, appetizers, open bar and wedding cake. At our tasting Darlene was very informative and answered all of our questions, and it gave us a great idea of what we wanted for the wedding. Throughout the wedding day, the servers were very professional and attentive. Jorge, the lead server, made sure everything was executed perfectly for our guests and also made sure my fiancée and I had everything we needed throughout the whole night. I cannot say enough good things, everything went better than I imagined and I can’t recommend Hunt Valley enough!
  • Mackenzie
    Mackenzie N. Sent on 07/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best service, best food!

    Where do I even begin? From the beginning, my husband and I agreed that food was the most important part of our wedding so our choice had to be exceptional, and Hunt Valley Catering far exceeded this expectation. This was my first time working with a catering company and I cannot have imagined a better experience. This incredible company will provide you with the pinnacle of elegant dining from a warm, family-owned business. Darlene was incredibly responsive throughout the whole process, both with me and my family members. She put on an amazing tasting experience, and everything we tried was unbelievably good. On our wedding day, the food was even better! All of our guests raved that it was the best wedding food they had ever had, that everything was so elegantly presented, and the caterers went above and beyond with their service. My husband and I are especially grateful to our lead caterer Jorge, who really made our wedding special. Jorge led us through our walk-through the week before the wedding and put all our jitters at ease, addressing every detail of the wedding timeline and set up so it was exactly what we wanted. On the wedding day, our cake had a fall and partially crumbled, and Jorge magically fixed it so I didn’t notice anything was wrong until I was told the next day! He ensured that my husband and I were never without a drink in hand and that we had a full plate of leftovers to take home and enjoy. Jorge is the best and our wedding was so much better for him being a part of the day! Everything went smoothly on an incredibly logistically complicated day and I am so glad I had Hunt Valley Catering to coordinate such a perfect wedding.
  • K
    Kim G. Sent on 09/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great food and service

    When picking a caterer for our wedding we were definitely nervous about finding the right vendor. We have a lot of guests in the hospitality industry, everyone from servers to owners, even my husband has a culinary degree, so can be picky.
    From the moment we arrived for our tasting, we were impressed with the attention to detail that the sampling menu offered. It was a mix of their classic offerings as well as items from their seasonal menu. We picked almost everything off the seasonal menu, because it was just so fresh and not the regular "wedding food". Some of the more unique offerings were mini Cuban sandwiches, chicken quesadilla trumpets, Chicken Chesapeake, and the Brybants, and the best Ratatouille I've ever had. There was other food, of course, but these choices I mentioned were outstanding. So many of our guests complimented the food and said they will keep Hunt Valley in mind for future events.
  • J
    Jane M. Sent on 03/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious Food, Amazing People

    Jorge and his staff did not disappoint! I did not have to think about a single thing at the reception! They brought us our food, made sure we always had a full glass of water, and I was never without a drink! On top of that, the food was amazing! They catered to all the dietary restrictions of our guests, and our guests have raved about the food and service.
    Then at the end of the night, they cleaned up everything. They broke down our decorations and transported everything out of the venue for us. I was truly able to relax during my reception thanks to Hunt Valley Catering.
  • Chelsea
    Chelsea Sent on 12/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

    Thank you Darlene and the Hunt Valley team!!!! The food and service was outstanding and it was such a pleasure working with you!! You guys are amazing and so easy to work with but you take care of all the details!! Thank you for making our day absolutely perfect !!
  • K
    Kelsey C. Sent on 11/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn’t have done it without them!

    Hunt valley catering was amazing to work with! My husband and I had a pretty good idea of what we wanted for our dinner— crab cakes, late night snack, open bar, and family style. They were able to accommodate every request we had and then some. They made the process so easy and Darlene was always quick to email me back and answer the many questions I had. People are still talking about the crab cakes and MD crab soup!!
  • J
    Judy I. Sent on 11/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fabulous Rehearsal Dinner

    Hunt Valley catered my son's rehearsal dinner at the Maryland Zoo and their attention to detail was exceptional. Everything was delicious and the crab cakes were superb. The team spoiled our guests and everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The value for the money was great, too. I had never hired a caterer before and they were so helpful and patient with me. I highly recommended Hunt Valley Catering and would use them again!
  • H
    Hadassah N. Sent on 06/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    5 out of 5 stars!!!

    Hunt Valley Catering did an absolutely INCREDIBLE job with our wedding. 5 out of 5 stars!!!! Our friends and family were still talking about how delicious the food was months after the wedding. The nicest and most hardworking folks at Hunt Valley Catering went above and beyond to make it the perfect day for us and our guests. We could not be more grateful! Thank you Jorge Mendez and the whole staff for being a part of making our wedding that much more special!
  • Housetyrrell2020
    Jacqueline Sent on 02/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent customer service

    My fiance and I were looking at this as out caterer for our wedding. The customer service and responsiveness to our questions was quick and friendly. This caterer would have been a great choice if my fiance and I hadn't chosen to go with a destination wedding instead!
  • S
    Sara B. Sent on 06/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful caterer!

    Hunt Valley Catering did an amazing job catering our welcome reception and our wedding! The food and service was fantastic and they accommodated all of our requests! They made sure my groom and I were always stocked with appetizers and drinks during cocktail hour and dinner so we could enjoy it all as well. We received many compliments from our guests about how great the food was! Our photographer even was impressed as they provided all the vendor meals right as guests were eating so they could all eat and be ready to go! 10/10 recommend them!
  • P
    Pine R. Sent on 05/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible food, service, and communication!

    We work in the industry and continue to be overly impressed with Hunt Valley Catering and their consistent performance. The food is amazing and the displays are gorgeous. The staff is extremely professional and friendly. Darlene and Jim deliver exceptional catering service to their clients. Communication is very important and they are always extremely attentive. We love working with them during our events here. You are a valued vendor at our venue. Thank you.
  • Amber
    Amber B. Sent on 05/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food and service

    Hunt Valley Catering was our first stop for food- and our last. Darlene was very responsive to our emails and answered all of our questions with ease. Our guests commented on how great the food was, especially the crab cakes. They made sure the bridal party got served (even during photos!) which was amazing. We were very pleased with the overall experience and would recommend them to anyone needing catering for any event.
  • B
    Brooke F. Sent on 04/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic service

    They treated us like royalty and the food was phenomenal
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours