Skip to main content
Weddings

Hunt Valley Catering Reviews

Hunt Valley Catering View more information

190 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

190
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

19 User photos

  • Lauren
    Lauren B. Married on 10/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hunt Valley Catering

    Darlene and her team are absolutely phenomenal! From the food tasting to the actual day of our wedding, she was so helpful and responsive. Any time I had a question or wanted to make a change, she was always accommodating. I can’t heap enough praise for how the food turned out either. Everything from the passed hors d’oeuvres, to the bruschetta station, to the plated meal was outstanding. Our guests were raving about the food!
    The staff was respectful, attentive, and on time with each portion of our wedding timeline. I would absolutely use them again for any of our future catering needs. Thank you so much!

    The Flores’s
  • W
    Wei H. Married on 10/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hunt Valley is the best!!

    We got SOOO many compliments from our guest about how good the food was! Crab cake was awesome and good veggie option too! We worked with Darlene closely for food options and finalizing our menu (it's a hard process because they have many good options!). We are sooo happy that we found hunt valley, and definitely very happy all guests enjoyed the food too! :))
  • H
    Heather Married on 10/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't gush enough about how impressed I was with Hunt Valley Catering. My husband and I wanted a non-traditional hors d'oeuvre reception, which HVC quickly accommodated to perfection. The reception ran smoothly and we had nothing to worry about. The setup was better than I had pictured in my mind. Very professional and highly recommended!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Daniel
    Daniel B. Married on 10/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hunt Valley Catering was the perfect fit!

    Hunt Valley Catering did an amazing job with our wedding! They truly are the overlap of affordable and excellence. The crab cakes were out of this world!
  • O
    Olivia R. Married on 09/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience

    Darlene and the entire serving staff did an incredible job making sure our day went seamlessly, and the food was delicious! We had a plated dinner, appetizers, open bar and wedding cake. At our tasting Darlene was very informative and answered all of our questions, and it gave us a great idea of what we wanted for the wedding. Throughout the wedding day, the servers were very professional and attentive. Jorge, the lead server, made sure everything was executed perfectly for our guests and also made sure my fiancée and I had everything we needed throughout the whole night. I cannot say enough good things, everything went better than I imagined and I can’t recommend Hunt Valley enough!
  • Mackenzie
    Mackenzie N. Married on 04/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best service, best food!

    Where do I even begin? From the beginning, my husband and I agreed that food was the most important part of our wedding so our choice had to be exceptional, and Hunt Valley Catering far exceeded this expectation. This was my first time working with a catering company and I cannot have imagined a better experience. This incredible company will provide you with the pinnacle of elegant dining from a warm, family-owned business. Darlene was incredibly responsive throughout the whole process, both with me and my family members. She put on an amazing tasting experience, and everything we tried was unbelievably good. On our wedding day, the food was even better! All of our guests raved that it was the best wedding food they had ever had, that everything was so elegantly presented, and the caterers went above and beyond with their service. My husband and I are especially grateful to our lead caterer Jorge, who really made our wedding special. Jorge led us through our walk-through the week before the wedding and put all our jitters at ease, addressing every detail of the wedding timeline and set up so it was exactly what we wanted. On the wedding day, our cake had a fall and partially crumbled, and Jorge magically fixed it so I didn’t notice anything was wrong until I was told the next day! He ensured that my husband and I were never without a drink in hand and that we had a full plate of leftovers to take home and enjoy. Jorge is the best and our wedding was so much better for him being a part of the day! Everything went smoothly on an incredibly logistically complicated day and I am so glad I had Hunt Valley Catering to coordinate such a perfect wedding.
  • Kim
    Kim G. Married on 04/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great food and service

    When picking a caterer for our wedding we were definitely nervous about finding the right vendor. We have a lot of guests in the hospitality industry, everyone from servers to owners, even my husband has a culinary degree, so can be picky.
    From the moment we arrived for our tasting, we were impressed with the attention to detail that the sampling menu offered. It was a mix of their classic offerings as well as items from their seasonal menu. We picked almost everything off the seasonal menu, because it was just so fresh and not the regular "wedding food". Some of the more unique offerings were mini Cuban sandwiches, chicken quesadilla trumpets, Chicken Chesapeake, and the Brybants, and the best Ratatouille I've ever had. There was other food, of course, but these choices I mentioned were outstanding. So many of our guests complimented the food and said they will keep Hunt Valley in mind for future events.
  • J
    Jane M. Married on 03/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious Food, Amazing People

    Jorge and his staff did not disappoint! I did not have to think about a single thing at the reception! They brought us our food, made sure we always had a full glass of water, and I was never without a drink! On top of that, the food was amazing! They catered to all the dietary restrictions of our guests, and our guests have raved about the food and service.
    Then at the end of the night, they cleaned up everything. They broke down our decorations and transported everything out of the venue for us. I was truly able to relax during my reception thanks to Hunt Valley Catering.
  • Chelsea
    Chelsea Married on 11/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

    Thank you Darlene and the Hunt Valley team!!!! The food and service was outstanding and it was such a pleasure working with you!! You guys are amazing and so easy to work with but you take care of all the details!! Thank you for making our day absolutely perfect !!
  • K
    Kelsey C. Married on 11/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn’t have done it without them!

    Hunt valley catering was amazing to work with! My husband and I had a pretty good idea of what we wanted for our dinner— crab cakes, late night snack, open bar, and family style. They were able to accommodate every request we had and then some. They made the process so easy and Darlene was always quick to email me back and answer the many questions I had. People are still talking about the crab cakes and MD crab soup!!
  • J
    Judy I. Married on 11/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fabulous Rehearsal Dinner

    Hunt Valley catered my son's rehearsal dinner at the Maryland Zoo and their attention to detail was exceptional. Everything was delicious and the crab cakes were superb. The team spoiled our guests and everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The value for the money was great, too. I had never hired a caterer before and they were so helpful and patient with me. I highly recommended Hunt Valley Catering and would use them again!
  • H
    Hadassah N. Married on 10/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    5 out of 5 stars!!!

    Hunt Valley Catering did an absolutely INCREDIBLE job with our wedding. 5 out of 5 stars!!!! Our friends and family were still talking about how delicious the food was months after the wedding. The nicest and most hardworking folks at Hunt Valley Catering went above and beyond to make it the perfect day for us and our guests. We could not be more grateful! Thank you Jorge Mendez and the whole staff for being a part of making our wedding that much more special!
  • Housetyrrell2020
    Jacqueline Married on 06/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent customer service

    My fiance and I were looking at this as out caterer for our wedding. The customer service and responsiveness to our questions was quick and friendly. This caterer would have been a great choice if my fiance and I hadn't chosen to go with a destination wedding instead!
  • S
    Sara B. Married on 06/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful caterer!

    Hunt Valley Catering did an amazing job catering our welcome reception and our wedding! The food and service was fantastic and they accommodated all of our requests! They made sure my groom and I were always stocked with appetizers and drinks during cocktail hour and dinner so we could enjoy it all as well. We received many compliments from our guests about how great the food was! Our photographer even was impressed as they provided all the vendor meals right as guests were eating so they could all eat and be ready to go! 10/10 recommend them!
  • Amber
    Amber B. Married on 04/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food and service

    Hunt Valley Catering was our first stop for food- and our last. Darlene was very responsive to our emails and answered all of our questions with ease. Our guests commented on how great the food was, especially the crab cakes. They made sure the bridal party got served (even during photos!) which was amazing. We were very pleased with the overall experience and would recommend them to anyone needing catering for any event.
  • P
    Pine R. Married on 04/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible food, service, and communication!

    We work in the industry and continue to be overly impressed with Hunt Valley Catering and their consistent performance. The food is amazing and the displays are gorgeous. The staff is extremely professional and friendly. Darlene and Jim deliver exceptional catering service to their clients. Communication is very important and they are always extremely attentive. We love working with them during our events here. You are a valued vendor at our venue. Thank you.
  • B
    Brooke F. Married on 04/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic service

    They treated us like royalty and the food was phenomenal
  • E
    Emmett B. Married on 11/13/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional Staff, Amazing Food

    Hunt Valley was flexible, priced fairly, and highly communicative, all great things to find in any vendor (and especially a caterer). Darlene, who we spent most of our time in contact with for HV Catering, was incredibly helpful and personable the entire process.

    But more importantly for those looking for catering - The food was amazing. So good that we had guests calling us on our honeymoon to tell us how good the food was.

    Their staff were also incredibly nice, polite, and professional. They almost felt like guests at the wedding themselves (in the best way possible) with how friendly they were to our guests, and how incredibly nice they were to the bride and I.

    Overall, highly recommended!
  • P
    Paul Married on 11/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional

    We planned our wedding very last minute. What started as a plan to elope at the beginning of October 2020, quickly turned into a small ceremony and dinner, and Hunt Valley Catering was there to work with us on short notice. Darlene met with us at our venue and walked us through everything, which is exactly what we needed. The food was delicious, the drinks were cold, the staff was attentive and prompt, and we really felt we got the 5 star treatment on our special day. We absolutely recommend Hunt Valley Catering for your special day and can't thank them enough for all they did!

    -Nikki & Paul
  • J
    Julie C. Married on 10/31/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fall wedding at Stone Ridge Hollow

    Darlene and her team were a pleasure to work with. The food was absolutely delicious and all of guests were raving about how great everything was.
  • Leonormorrow
    Leonor M. Married on 09/20/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most delicious catering company!

    My new husband and I are so pleased with Hunt Valley Catering. Out of all the companies we considered, they had the most delicious food by far, AND they were one of the most affordable! We are super impressed with the quality, service, and communication. Darlene was so quick to answer all my emails, attended a venue walkthrough, and helped my vision come to life! All our guests were super impressed by the food-- the Chicken Chesapeake was definitely a favorite!
  • W
    Wayne A. Married on 09/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional and Excellent service!

    Darlene and staff were helpful from start! We chose a BBQ style catering with Pit Beef/Turkey and Sausage menu. Staff on time! Excellent food and service! Highly recommend Hunt Valley for your catering needs!
  • Rachel
    Rachel B. Married on 07/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend!

    From start to finish Hunt Valley Catering was amazing to work with. They are so reasonable and their food is delicious! The presentation was everything I wanted for my wedding. I was orginally supposed to have my wedding on 3.21.2020 but due to coronavirus everything was shut down that week. We had to postpone our reception twice. Darlene didn't just want to get the job done she truly cared. I felt like she was just as devastated as I was to have to postpone. She did everything she could to make sure our experience, even with restrictions, was just as we wanted. I could not have asked for a better experience with a catering company. Everyone has not stopped talking about all of the food at our wedding! The French onion soup and mac & cheese hors d'oeuvres were a hit!!
  • T
    Trish S. Married on 05/16/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Trish & Bill's Wedding during covid 19

    This was actually our wedding redo.our original date was may 16 2020.hunt valley adjusted accordingly to July 24.Darlene and her staff were spot on with everything from table setting to the awesome food.you will not be disappointed if you hire hunt valley for your next event or wedding.thank you all for making our wedding day worry free.
  • A
    Andrew Married on 12/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding service, quality and value

    Hunt Valley worked with my family for a funeral reception where the planning was last minute. Darlene and team were extremely helpful with multiple communications and questions. They worked with our requests and put together a great meal with wonderful decorations. Their crab soup along with the other food was fantastic. Great group of people to work with. Thank you.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message