How Sweet It Is Cakes Reviews

109 | Duluth, MN
See photos, pricing and details

109 Reviews for How Sweet It Is Cakes

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

109

3 User photos

How Sweet It Is Cakes 1
How Sweet It Is Cakes 2
How Sweet It Is Cakes 3
Order by:
  • A

    Amy · Getting married on 12/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eileen is heavenly and so are the cakes here! 11/10 would recommend. Eileen is straightforward and will work with you to provided everything you wish! This will be a lifelong devotion.

    Sent on 01/11/2018
  • Jacqueline

    Jacqueline · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    bringing our vision to life

    Lila went above and beyond with our cake. She did an amazing job at making our cake exactly how we wanted it and the flavors were amazing everyone loved the cake from the look to the taste.

    Sent on 08/06/2019
  • Claire

    Claire Rabine · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and Delicious!

    Lila did an amazing job on our wedding cake, it turned out beautifully. And tasted delicious too! There were such an assortment of flavors available to us, and we were able to choose different combinations for each of our three tiers, which allowed us to get a little something for everyone. Guests at our wedding were trying to get a taste of all three flavors, because they were all so good. I would absolutely recommend her and her delicious cakes for any event!

    Sent on 08/20/2019
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 09/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been more happy with our cake and cupcakes on our Wedding Day. We keep saying we can't wait for next year to get our cake topper so we can have the same cake again. Not only was everything absolutely delicious, but everyone raved at how beautiful the cake was. Just outstanding! We highly recommend!

    How Sweet It Is Cakes 4
    How Sweet It Is Cakes 5
    Sent on 10/08/2018
  • A

    Avarie · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eileen from How Sweet It Is Cakes was amazing! So helpful in every aspect of helping us decide what kind of cake to get. When you decide to get your cakes from here, they THREE FREE CAKES as part of your tasting- and they are so friggin' delicious. They have about a million different flavors to choose from, which can be somewhat overwhelming, but Eileen even helped us with that :) Our cake design was simple and it was executed perfectly. Beautiful cake, helpful customer service, overall an amazing experience!

    How Sweet It Is Cakes 6
    Sent on 09/20/2018
  • D

    deb · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I needed desserts for my son's wedding which would take place at Lutsen Resort. On our visit to Lutsen before the wedding, we stopped for breakfast at Duluth Grill and had to taste the French Macaroons and a few cupcakes. absolutely delicious "to die for". Later from home I called to place my order. I spoke to Eileen, she was wonderful, felt like I had known her forever, providing advice and suggestions, bonus you receive a bakers dozen for the price of a dozen and ordered dozens; carrot cake, an assortment of cupcakes, assorted cheesecakes, French Macaroons and the wedding cake. Everything was perfect and package as I requested. As a wedding planner for 15 years it is the first wedding I have attended that there was not one morsel left. So get an extra box for yourself. Fantastic service, and delicious. So f you have an event anyplace on the Northshore, if you want the best desserts call Eileen at How Sweet It Is in Duluth.

    Sent on 06/08/2018
  • E

    Emily · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eileen is remarkable. Her talent, dedication, and her team are all phenomenal. My parents had one of Eileen's cakes at a wedding five years ago and never forgot it. So, when were tasting cake for my recent NYE wedding, my mother insisted we also try How Sweet It Is - nevermind that they're located in Duluth and the wedding was in White Bear Lake. She was right - Eileen's cakes blew everything else out of water! If you're serious about dessert and getting married somewhere between the Twin Cities and Duluth, skip the bland and overpriced local bakers like Buttercream in Saint Paul (seriously disappointing) and give How Sweet It Is a chance. The cake was beautiful and delicious, as were all of the wedding treats we got from Eileen - millionaire bars (like a homemade Twix), financiers (French-style doughnuts that aren't overly sweet), miniature chocolate eclairs (best I've ever tasted - didn't know they could be so delicious), and the macaron are delightful, too - and that's just the tip of the iceberg of what she can do! Eileen is also a delight to work with, and also very organized and professional. I wouldn't trust a wedding cake and dessert buffet to anyone else for the dependability and fantastic quality she and her team provide. Thanks, Eileen and How Sweet It Is!

    Sent on 01/12/2018
  • A

    Ali · Married on 06/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVE How Sweet It Is Cakes! I ordered a small wedding cake for 25 people and handled everything through email. My parents went to pick it up the morning of, and it was absolutely perfect. Exactly what I asked for and even better, it tasted DELICIOUS. All our guests absolutely loved it. We got a chocolate raspberry cake with a raspberry filling and white frosting. It was beautiful, elegant, and just awesome. If I'm ever in the area again I will be ordering from How Sweet It Is Cakes!

    Sent on 07/19/2017
  • K

    Karen · Married on 02/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are still dreaming about our cake from How Sweet It Is! Due to a gluten and dairy allergy I was worried I wouldn't be able to enjoy any cake at my own wedding. How Sweet It Is not only made me a gluten free/vegan cake, they made one that was so good that those others at the wedding who had gluten and dairy allergies were convinced they had been served the wrong part of the cake. We had four different flavored tiers to our cake and each one received rave reviews from our guests. How Sweet It Is also created iced snowflake shaped sugar cookies for our dessert table. My husband, who does not enjoy iced sugar cookies, kept going back for more. We are counting down the days until our first anniversary so we can enjoy another cake from How Sweet It Is!

    Sent on 02/18/2017
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 09/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Eileen and her staff was fantastic! What a great group of people! I am still in awe over the amount of flavor options available, the sky is the limit!

    Sent on 10/10/2016
  • L

    Lainie · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED our wedding cake! We both have food allergies, and How Sweet It Is, was soooo accommodating! They worked with us to make sure we had a fantastic cake that we could both enjoy. Also, we highly recommend paying extra for the delivery service. Having it delivered and set up was worth the money. It saved us time and stress! We highly recommend them for your cake!

    Sent on 10/03/2016
  • User7169960 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How Sweet It Is was amazing! They made our cake and they did a fantastic job! They worked with me and made my dream cake and it tasted delicious too!!

    Sent on 09/05/2016
  • Sheilla

    Sheilla · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eileen was wonderful to work with. She helped me select a design for my cake. The cake was delicious and perfect on our day. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 08/21/2016
  • D

    Dana · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Definitely recommend booking with How Sweet It Is! Their food/cakes/etc are delicious, the artistry is phenomenal, and the employees are very professional and friendly. They ask about your budget, and they let you try different items. I highly recommend this bakery. Stop by for a sandwich too, they're delish!

    Sent on 05/25/2016
  • J

    Juliana · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eileen is the best, and don't hesitate to use her wonderful bakery to create the most delicious and fabulous cake for your wedding! Eileen met with us many times to first listen, offer her expert advice, and then create the picture perfect wedding cake to fit the style of wedding we had at the beautiful Greysolon Ballroom! Together with Mariah from Northland Special Events, we worked together to come up with a 3 tier NAKED cake with 24 karat gold icing on the largest tier! It was both gorgeous and delicious! Worthy of a magazine cover! She also made 200 wonderful cupcakes and we were so happy with everything she did for us to make this truly a dream fair tale wedding come true!!!

    Sent on 07/25/2016
  • User6123590 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a pleasure working with Eileen from How Sweet It Is! Our cake was perfect and tasted great. The service was wonderful, she was always responsive and willing to work with special requests (great vegan options!).

    Sent on 03/27/2016
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 02/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We contacted Eileen at the very end of January 2016 to see if she could do a wedding cake for 2/29/16. She was very willing to work with us and the cake was amazing! All of our guests raved about the flavor and how amazing our "naked" wedding cake looked. It couldn't have been a smoother transaction and the bonus 1st wedding anniv cake is such a sweet touch, thanks Eileen and crew!

    Sent on 02/22/2017
  • User4766911 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eileen was great to work with. We've had a few of the cupcakes and cookies at How Sweet It Is and we are pretty basic in the flavors we like so we had come up with a few options but she knew what to add to them to make them a little bit better! The red velvet cupcakes are my favorite :) We had a wood theme so Eileen recommended a birch bark cake for our cutting cake. It looked so amazing! Some people didn't even realize it was a cake! They also have gluten free options that don't taste dry! Very delicious and would recommend them!

    Sent on 02/10/2016
  • M

    Martha · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have had HOW SWEET IT IS provide us with 7 cakes (5 gluten free with one also being vegan) for 2 special events which were 4 years apart. Both times, exquisite. We also had them provide us with a variety of cupcakes for another event, magnificient!!
    These cakes also included artistry beyond any expectations I had. I'd call Eileen again, and again, and again.
    Thank you Eileen and your staff at HOW SWEET IT IS!

    Sent on 10/23/2015
  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful fresh flavors and ingredients. Cannot wait to get our one year anniversary cake

    Sent on 11/07/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone was raving about the cake. It was gorgeous and delicious!

    Sent on 10/04/2015
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 09/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was so beautiful and everyone loved the flavors! We did layers of salted caramel, red velvet, and lemon cream - our guests were obsessed! My only regret is that I didn't get to eat more of it!

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I walked into How Sweet It Is knowing this was our first choice for our wedding cake and cupcakes. We stopped by to make an appointment for a consultation, but instead we were greeted with a smile and told that we could have our consultation right away!! We met with Eileen who could not have been nicer!! She went over pricing and all the options for fillings and toppings (so many to choose from and it's so hard to choose!). We felt so comfortable talking to her and knew she would take such good care of us and our wedding. At the end of the consult, she even offered us each a free cupcake to try!

    We ended up going with a chocolate and espresso cake for us (which was out of this world delicious) and red velvet and sea salt caramel cupcakes for our guests. We had SO MANY compliments on the cupcakes-I think people took more than one! (Which I don't blame them for). Eileen was so easy to correspond with in person and via email, and she made our experience so special. I would HIGHLY recommend How Sweet It Is to anyone getting married, or to anyone who wants to enjoy a delicious cupcake!!

    Sent on 09/21/2015
  • User5406456 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One word: PHENOMENAL!!!! This place is just amazing. Not only are they accommodating but incredibly nice. They're cakes are divine and truly made from scratch so you can get any cake you want. Eileen, the owner, is the funniest and most welcoming person ever. The cake and frosting literally melt in your mouth and are the perfect amount of sweetness and flavor. Please please go with this place for you wedding cake. You will not regret it!

    Sent on 09/03/2015
  • User4945571 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eileen and the "How Sweet It Is" crew was absolutely AMAZING!!! I ordered a smaller cake and cupcakes for our wedding and was so delighted with everything, the look, the taste, the setup! I cannot say enough good things about this place. All of my guests were asking where we got our desserts, they loved it!! The price was also very reasonable, I would recommend How Sweet it is to anyone getting married!

    Sent on 09/07/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review