House of JonLei Atelier Reviews

17 | Oxon Hill, MD
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for House of JonLei Atelier

Recommended by 80%

17

4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Flexibility 4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Average response time 4.0
Sort by:
  • M

    Melesa · Married on 08/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a great experience finding my dress and working with Prandie at Jonlei Atelier! I must admit that it was never my intention to purchase a dress that exceeded my budget of $1,200 (i thought that was more than enough) but when I saw myself in my dress...wow! And the funny part is that before I even tried it on, Prandie said "This is the dress I picked out for you" based on what I told her I wanted. I took one look at it and determined that it would take a miracle for that "ok" looking dress to be "it" but guess what?! IT WAS THE MOST AMAZING DRESS and was far better than I could've imagined. I would tell any bride-to-be to never judge a dress by how it hangs on the hanger lol because it can take on a totally different look and character when it hugs your body. Speaking of hugging the body, Ms.Mary made alterations on my dress and she was not satisfied until it fit perfectly. No matter how many fittings it took, she did what was necessary for me to be happy! I'm so happy I went with this bridal shop because they also helped me select the most amazing accessories that I truly didn't appreciate until the wedding day and the day I received my wedding photos. The veil, earrings, bracelet, necklace and hair piece were in sync and accented my dress perfectly!!!!! Even though I didn't intend to spend as much as I did, it was totally worth it and I would do it again.

    Sent on 10/05/2017

    House of JonLei Atelier's reply:

    Dear Melesa,

    Thank you so much for your kind words and review!

    We must tell you, still today we still talk about you and David our other brides and grooms. Melesa you were such a delightful bride and we truly enjoyed assisting you. We look forward to seeing you and David again (hopefully soon) and definitely any of your wedding photos that you would like to share with us.

    Many blessings to you both.

    Merry Christmas
  • E

    ELIZABETH · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm totally lost for words this has been the best experience in my life. I'm getting married out of state and was going to have all of my girls order dresses at local bridal stores. After my 1st experience ( I obtain everything Dress, Vail, Earrings, Necklace, Shoes and unique Flowers to walk down the aisle with) I decided I wanted all of 11 of my girls to do the same and experience the royal treatment. Mrs. GiGi and her team are the best!! They are never to busy to answer your questions and assist in reducing your stress level. We love you dearly and will always remember the level of service you have provided.
    Thank you for being a part of this special moment in my life.

    Best,
    ER

    Sent on 02/19/2017

    House of JonLei Atelier's reply:

    Dear Private User,

    We at House of JonLei Atelier want to say a warm "Thank You" for your kind words. All of our customers are very important to us and we value their support. It's important to us to pay attention and to be there during this important event in your life. We can't wait for all of the attire for you and your bridal party arrive and to see the total event come to life.

    We thank you again and hope you enjoy every moment of the planning stages for your wedding!

    Cheerfully,
    House of JonLei Atelier
  • V

    Veronica · Married on 12/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love these ladies and gentleman! It's a lovely shop with sought-after designers. The owner and stylists are very friendly, patient, and knowledgeable. They're helpful to find dresses that meet your vision.

    It's definitely worth adding to your wedding dress shopping trips in the D.C. area. Their tailor for alterations is pricey but she is worth EVERY penny.

    Ask about their trunk show schedule. I actually found my dress while Paula Varsalona of NY was there showcasing her veils. One of her veils made the dress I tried on with her piece "the one" and I ended up ordering a custom veil as well.

    I love their shop!

    Sent on 05/13/2017

    House of JonLei Atelier's reply:

    Dear Veronica,
    Thank you so much for your kind review!
    You were such a beautiful bride and we truly enjoyed working with you. We hope to see you again soon!

    Enjoy your summer!

    Cheerfully,
    House of JonLei Atelier
  • User4933589 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ladies at JonLei were absolutely amazing. I had bad experiences thus far with staff at other bridal shops. Prandie was amazing and knew just what I was looking for as soon as I said it. I said yes to the 2nd dress I tried on and couldn't be happier!!! Will be getting the remaining bridal party attire from this location just off the strength of the service alone.

    Sent on 02/23/2016

    House of JonLei Atelier's reply:

    Dear Private User,
    Thank you so much for your recent review our out boutique and service! It truly was a pleasure assisting you in selecting the perfect gown and attire for your wedding day. We are still talking about how much fun we all had with you and your friends last weekend. We look forward to you all visiting with us again for another fun-filled appointment and celebration!!!
    Until we see you all again, have a super fantastic weekend!

    Cheerfully,
    House of JonLei Atelier
  • Kisha

    Kisha · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me first start by saying here is where I found THE MOST beautiful dress I am ever going to wear. The service was awesome and I loved how GiGi knew what dress was perfect for me before I did. I highly recommend this place for finding the perfect dress. My dress not only took my breath away but it didn't put me in the hole either.

    Sent on 12/16/2015

    House of JonLei Atelier's reply:

    Hi Kisha,

    Thank you for such a kind-hearted review!

    We truly appreciate you allowing us to be a part of your wedding day! You had an idea in mind as to what you pictured and you were open. Your bridal gown and veil is just perfect for you! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
  • Z

    Zakyia · Married on 05/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    GiGi and her staff were wonderful! GiGi helped me find my dream dress and we exchanged over 20 emails before even meeting. But it didn't stop there. They always made sure I was comfortable during fittings and were so sweet.

    Sent on 05/18/2016
  • User4093289 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing! Service was great. My experience was the best at this boutique compared to the other bad experiences I had. My dress was gorgeous. I have no complaints whatsoever.

    Sent on 02/22/2015

    House of JonLei Atelier's reply:

    Thank you very much for your kind review. We are truly honored to have been a part of your wedding day. As a valued customer of ours, on your next purchase with us we would like to extend a 10% discount towards your next purchase.
    We hope to see you again soon, until then let us say, "Congratulations" to the newlyweds!
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will be in good hands if you put your faith in the House of JonLei Atelier. I am very happy that I was able to find the gown I wanted at this shop. As a matter of fact, they provided all the attire for my wedding. They have a nice selection of tuxedo rentals and their bridesmaid dresses are prettier than other salons I visited. After a while, bridesmaid dresses can all start to look the same, but the dresses at the House of JonLei are unique. Even if they don't have the bridesmaid dress you are interested in, if it is by a vendor they carry, they will order a sample for you to try on.

    I can't say enough good things about the staff. GiGi, Bridget, and Vino go out of their way to provide impeccable service. No request goes unanswered and you will feel like you are their most important customer - because you are. Everyone in this charming shop takes the utmost pride in your care and your satisfaction. I wanted to make a change to my gown which would require ordering additional lace from the designer, and even though it was not available to be purchased separately, GiGi did not rest until she made that happen! It totally changed the look of my gown and it was stunning! Connie, the seamstress assigned to do my alterations, should get a lot of the credit for that. She did such an excellent job, it looked like it was designed that way from the very beginning, and the fit was perfection.

    GiGi, Bridget, and Vino - I would like to say that you are all very warm, caring, and lovely people, and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience in your shop. My only regret is that the fittings are over.

    Sent on 11/20/2014

    House of JonLei Atelier's reply:

    Laura, thank you so much for your kind words. You were such a joy to work with and thank you for sharing your friends and family with our family as well! We hope to see you and Terry soon. Happy Holiday Season to you and yours!
  • K

    Kindra · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    GiGi and her crew are perfect! My dress was perfect! The experience was perfect! I am so happy I found this shop after the original shop I bought my dress at went out of business and left me dressless. GiGi calmed me down and went straight to work trying to find me another dress. The whole crew's positive and upbeat attitudes made the dark cloud over me disappear. They also helped me pick out my bridesmaids dresses and a last minute dress for my grandmother. I purchased my flower girl dress elsewhere but they did the alterations and her dress came out as perfect as the other dresses purchased there. They make you feel like a part of the family by the end of the experience. If I had had the room I would've invited them all to our wedding!

    Sent on 08/27/2014

    House of JonLei Atelier's reply:

    Kindra,

    Thank you so much for your kind words! You and grandma were such a joy to work with. I'm going to say it again, you were a very beautiful bride and your pictures were AMAZING! Again, we wish you and your family nothing but many, many blessings galore showered upon you all. Please tell grandma we said hello! We hope to see you all real soon.

    Cheerfully,

    GiGi
    House of JonLei Atelier
  • D

    Dorothy · Married on 05/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As the mother of the bride I needed a gown for my daughter's wedding in Coral Gables, FL. I found it at House of JonLei Atelier. It is a family owned business who takes pride in their excellent customer service. I cannot say enough good things about the excellent and personal service I received. I was made to feel welcome and comfortable from the minute I walked through the door. The selection of mother of the bride dresses was the best I encountered in my searches. The whole staff to include the seamstress who did my fittings was wonderful. They made sure that every detail was perfect. I received so many compliments on my gown. It fit perfectly. I would highly recommend this bridal salon.

    Sent on 06/04/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 03/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When the Wedding dress shop where I was originally supposed to purchase my gown from suddenly went out of business, House of JonLei came to my rescue! They special ordered the dress for me, and it came in earlier than it was supposed to. The staff is BEYOND helpful, and they make you feel like you're the only customer in the shop. They have a great selection of bridal gowns, bridesmaid dresses, and suits. Their alterations dept is also wonderful, and the work gets done in a timely fashion. I feel so lucky to have found this shop - don't know what we would have done without them!!

    Sent on 02/17/2014
  • M

    Maria · Married on 11/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolute best customer service ever

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • Y

    Yoony · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved my wedding dress that I got from House of JonLei Atelier! They have a great selection and provide wonderful service! They made shopping for a dress fun and stress free!

    Sent on 11/11/2013
  • User4989600 · 2+ years ago

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    The guy who works in this store is very unprofessional. He recommended me to get a size 4 wedding dress, when I am a size 2. I said yes because I thought he knew what he's doing. When my dress arrived after ordering, they didn't call me asap even though they know my wedding is coming up soon. I had to go to the store and ask first. Then, I saw my dress hanging and they wanted me to schedule an appointment for a fitting? Seriously? So I had to drive back to try on the dress. The dress was so loose. I had to take a couple of alterations which took a huge amount of tiem. A piece of advice, don't let them do the alterations. It was their way to get your money, by ordering from the designer a size that is bigger than your size so they can do your alterations and get paid. Go to other websites or apps that will help you find a person who does alterations, and check the reviews first. I loved my dress! But if ever you can find another place, go! Looking back, I have no regrets with my dress because the people who were dear to me were there when I found it. But this place and the only guy working there? If I can advice others, no! I went to other places to do fittings and trials, this one is the worst. Good thing they had the dress that I fell in love with.

    Sent on 09/15/2015

    House of JonLei Atelier's reply:

    Dear Private User, congratulations on your recent wedding!

    We are however, sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with us. We try our hardest to make sure that all of our customers have the happiest experience possible (after all we feel one of the best parts of your wedding day is the planning part). If you were unhappy with your consultant we would have loved to hear your concerns and we would have addressed them at that time along with your consultant. No customer should ever feel uncomfortable or dissatisfied. At the same time your gown was ordered in a size four (4) and that your normal dress size is a size two (2), and the gown was too big. As noted in our special order contract (signed by each customer); special orders are sized/ordered according to manufacturer's specifications and are not custom sized (unless requested and then there is an upcharge fee associated with that request). All gowns are two to three sizes different than your normal dress size and as a retailer for various designers we do not have any say regarding their size charts. At the same time we always, always go over the sizing chart with each and every customer so that they know what size is being ordered for them. We also ask each customer if they have any questions before they sign the special order contract and if there are questions we are always more than happy to answer/explain further. A bridal customer is always going to have more than one fitting; also as our contract states we do not require any customer to have their alterations provided by us. Our master seamstresses all have over 35 years of experience and their pricing is their pricing, this is why we do not quote their prices. We are again, happy that you walked down the aisle in the gown you fell in love with and that your wedding day was the most perfect day!

    We send you well wishes and blessings galore!!!
  • User4342703 · 2+ years ago

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Ordered Tux for my husband, groomsmen, and fathers would assume this would be a nice place seeing that it was at National Harbour. They were very friendly but did not write any of the measurements down and come the week of the wedding had 4 tuxes the wrong size and never ordered one of them. On top of that they forgot the men's cufflinks and buttons. Did not give us a discount and had to drive an hour and half day of rehearsal to pick up tuxes. I also tried to call and email them to change order and no one responded so the fathers did not have vest at all. They are very nice people but should not be running a business

    Sent on 09/24/2015

    House of JonLei Atelier's reply:

    Dear Private User,
    We kindly thank you for your review. Reviews (good or bad) help us to improve.

    After reading your review we took the time to check your file to see what happened so that it will not happen again. We’ve found that we have signed measurement forms/receipts for the groom, groomsmen, and fathers; which includes their measurements. Tuxedo jewelry was ordered for all of the tuxedos but unfortunately, were not sent along with the tuxedos from the tuxedo vendor. When we were notified that the tuxedo jewelry was omitted, we notified the tuxedo vendor and they shipped them to us overnight. We do however, admit there was one tuxedo that was sent to us by e-mail that had not been ordered but this tuxedo was ordered and received the very next day (one day before your wedding). As for tuxedo discounts, please know, all of the gentlemen in your party received a $20.00 discount off of their tuxedo rental. Although we spoke with the groom confirming the vest color for the father’s making sure the correct color was ordered, we did not receive an e-mail requesting a vest color change or voicemail message.
    While we know that we cannot please every one of our customers we do whole-heartedly strive to do so. Your wedding day is one of the most memorable days of one’s life and every day we are thankful and feel it to be an honor when a bride and/or groom allows us to be a part of theirs.
    Although there were a couple of hiccups (and we very much apologize for that) we wish you and yours many blessings and the happiest holiday season!
  • R

    Rosemarie · Married on 08/04/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    If I could give this business a negative one star I would. Their behavior was horrible!!!!!!! From the owner to the staff. The owner lost his objectivity and berated me as a customer after my complaint. I had a horrible experience at this store. Following my terrible experience I spoke with the owner only for him to add insult to injury by defending the negative behavior and poor attitude of his staff. He offered one excuse after another, and as a matter of fact the owner stated, that he felt that his employees "deserved a pat on the back" in response to my complaint of the horrible customer service that I received. This store did not value my business and made no apologies for the terrible treatment that my daughter and I received from their store. Their lack of care and poor customer service has caused my daughter to now be without a wedding veil and her wedding day is fast approaching. We should have been aware of this possibility ahead of time. We selected the veil at the time we selected the dress and if there was a danger in the veil not being able to arrive on time for the wedding date we should have been told. We were told that we had time to order the veil and that the worst case scenario would be that we would be able to purchase the store sample. We expected more but we have learned a valuable lesson. We should have read the reviews before we selected this vendor to purchase my daughter’s Pronovias wedding gown. If I ever have to purchase another Pronovias dress I will contact them directly to have them recommend another one of their vendors. Always go where your business is valued and my business was not valued at this store.

    Sent on 07/01/2017

    House of JonLei Atelier's reply:

    Dear Ms. Rosemarie,
    We thank you so much for your review.
    We have delayed our response in order to properly research this claim. Your daughter’s first appointment with us was 02/26/17 however, she did not purchase her gown until 03/18/17. We advise all of our brides (as we did with your daughter), to purchase the veil along with the gown at the same time. Due to the four month time period when the gown was purchased and when the separate veil inquiry was made that particular veil was purchased from our sample stock by another bride.
    Our specialist, explained this to you and stated that we would have to check to see if it was available to order and if so, ask if it would arrive in time to meet the wear date. We informed your daughter of this and she said was fine with selecting another veil. At that time, you then began screaming and swearing to the specialist over the phone. Witnesses also heard your screams, belligerent language, and threats. You abruptly ended the call by calling our employee an unkind word. To date, this employee has not returned to work due to your threats and language. We called your daughter to inform her of the incident and advised you were no longer welcomed in our establishment. Your daughter was perplexed as to why you called because she said she had not discussed purchasing the veil with you. Next, we notified the local authorities because our employee felt threatened (no one should ever feel this way, especially at work).
    During your daughter’s appointment last Saturday, she repeatedly apologized for the incident and realizes she should have listened to her specialist and purchased the veil with the gown.
    We value our customers and employees with much respect, however, when their safety is in question we must protect them.
    We wish your daughter the best with her 08/04/17 nuptials.
  • User7138456 · 2+ years ago

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    If I could give this place negative stars I would. By far the worst experience I have ever experience in customer service-- in my 26 years of shopping, dining, traveling, ordering dresses as well this takes the cake.This place does not know how to take a proper measurement. I got measured by a shorter lady that initially told me I hid a size 18 well for a dress. I am in no way shape or form a size 18 dress, am I the skinniest in the world no but my previous bridal the biggest size I ever got was a 12-14. Which I expected with this. We try on a few dresses and find one I like and take the measurements. Go to check out-was told "oh hunni with the measurements you're a size 18 and due to that we must up charge you for that". So basically telling me you got to pay more because your fat. So I insisted to get a size down because I'm paying for it it's not their money, was told no and made to get the bigger size.Flash forward to yesterday when we went as a group to try on dresses. First of all they were rude as soon as we get in the door, no welcome no offer of excited you chose us- instead we were told the reservation was messed up and we needed to be very quick since they had another party coming in. Mistake #1 in customer service. We are there for a service, a BRIDE CHOSE YOU to take care of her bridesmaids on the biggest day of her life. We get to trying on, so these dresses weren't cheap they we're making a good penny off of us-- 1 yes I said ONE DRESS OUT OF TEN FIT. And I'm not just saying the expected alterations like a hem or slight boob adjustment, were talking basically having to re-create 10 dresses so we can look how we need to look. They ordered a 12year old girl a women's size 8 so you figure it out on your own how that went. To my personal experience I hated this place and I don't use that word much. They were the most unapologetic Unaccommodating staff in the world, I even think we worked with the owner/manager and she didn't even seem to give two shits.

    Sent on 08/28/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review