House of Broel Reviews

59 | New Orleans, LA
See photos, pricing and details

59 Reviews for House of Broel

Recommended by 93% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

59

14 User photos

Order by:
  • J

    Jay Lee · Married on 01/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A remote planning dream

    We loved our experience with House of Broel. We do not live close to Nola, and planning the wedding from afar was a breeze. The team at Broel took care of almost everything in house, and if they could not, they recommended great vendors who they have extensive relationships with. The value for everything was off the charts - venue, food, beverages, and cake all covered??? We got a Second Line band come during the reception and every guest we talk to still talks about it.
    The House itself is amazing! There is literally nothing like it. Oozing with Nola flavor, and unique even for the city.

    Sent on 12/16/2019

    House of Broel's reply:

    Your special day was our pleasure. You and Penny are such an adorable couple. Thanks for your review.
  • E

    Elaine Bailey · Married on 12/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful vendor

    I really had a wonderful wedding service everything was right on time. Ms Broel did a wonderful wedding ceremony she truly a beautiful person very professional and the place is beautiful so much history there.

    Sent on 01/02/2020
  • M

    Mellanie Garner · Married on 11/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Wedding Services

    I recently had my wedding at HOB and it was magical to say the least. Denise and Bonnie were attentive to all of my questions, my family members, our tons of items being shipped to the venue, and all of our different personalities that were involved in the wedding. We picked this place based on the venue atmosphere, and the amazing garden it really was and is beautiful. The venue leaves very little to nothing to do in terms of decorating. The food was pretty good and never stopped! My only complaint was the dj, DJ Rick. There were issues with the initial dj which was out of their control. However the new dj assured me that he had all the songs from my list of songs to be played and he did not stick to the list of songs to be played. It was especially upsetting since the DJ had verbally confirmed with me and my attendant three times that he would play the songs from the list and he had everything under control. The lack of dependability of the DJ might not have been anything that HOB could've controlled however perhaps the vetting process could have been better? On a positive note my attendant for the day was amazing!! Thank you Cheri for your help, your kind words, and your glowing personality. I would definitely recommend HOB to any bride and or friend wanting to have an event there. I would only add that the person should stay on top of the DJ, if that is something that is important to you. The music was very important for my husband and I and we thought we had done a good job staying on top of the situation however I couldn't have predicted the DJ to lie to me (several times). Also be assured that the team at HOB has everything under control, they are professionals and are pros at running events. Thank you all once again for your help, smiling faces, and warm wishes.

    Sent on 12/31/2019

    House of Broel's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review. Your wedding was amazing and we enjoyed being part of your special day.
  • C

    Chris Redfield · Married on 11/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our tiny wedding

    Wonderful experience. Beautiful house, great ceremony, delicious cake, fun and friendly employees. No stress wedding/elopement was exactly what we were looking for. Denise went above and beyond helping me get laced into my dress. Rev. Bonnie was very accommodating with what we wanted in our vows/ceremony. Louis was an excellent photographer. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 12/18/2019

    House of Broel's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words. We take pride in hearing a review such as this. We wish you a lifetime of happiness.
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer Cannon · Married on 10/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Halloween Wedding

    We had a wonderful experience from start to finish. The house was BEAUTIFUL! The venue was perfect for our small wedding. Everyone was very helpful throughout the process. All my questions answered in a timely manner. I would recommend House of Broel to anyone.

    Sent on 12/16/2019

    House of Broel's reply:

    Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your review. We strive to accommodate our brides and grooms with your kind words it validates our efforts. Best wishes in your lives together!
  • Heidi

    Heidi Rose · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Hauntingly Wonderful Wedding

    October is our favorite month, and Halloween our favorite holiday, so we naturally decided to have a Halloween-themed wedding. But where should we hold our spooktacular event? We read reviews and talked to several consultants, but it was House of Broel that won us over. The home is to die for. It is an absolutely perfect venue filled with beautiful antiques, hardwood floors, and much history. We took a tour with Mrs. Broel and fell in love with her, her story, and her home. Our event was obviously not going to be traditional, and Mrs. Broel and her staff went out of their way to make sure everything was just perfect. The venue has everything a couple needs, but knowing we wanted a macabre setting, our consultant, Denise, would suggest purchasing such things as a themed cake knife and glasses. These little touches were things we hadn't thought of, and we appreciated her guidance and advice in helping us plan our event. The outside of the home is gorgeous as well, and we wanted our ceremony to be held in the lush courtyard, but the night before it stormed. There were heavy rains and strong winds. The morning of our wedding we got a call asking if we were willing to have the ceremony inside instead because the courtyard was a mess because of the storm. We didn't mind at all. Like I mentioned, the home is gorgeous. When we arrived, however, the staff at House of Broel had gone out of their way to dry chairs and make sure the garden was clean for us. I cannot tell you just how much they accommodated every little need we had. We were so pleased and happy. They made our dream event a reality, and we were so grateful for everything they did for us. We live in New Orleans, so we are aware and proud of our city's reputation for being welcoming to others. New Orleanians want you to feel at home. Mrs. Broel and her staff did just that. They made us feel welcome and at home. I truly could not recommend House of Broel enough. It was an excellent venue with an even more excellent staff. Our dream was realized, and the wonderful memories that helped create for us will be forever etched in our hearts.

    Sent on 12/23/2019

    House of Broel's reply:

    Thank you so much! We are so happy to hear how pleased you were. Congratulations and wishing you a lifetime of happiness.
  • Cindy

    Cindy Rigamer · Married on 06/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mother of the Groom

    House of Broel provided loving, personal attention with professional care for our son Daniel’s wedding. Bonnie’s ceremony was beautiful. Her thoughtful, eloquent words regarding the grooms’ lives brought joy to them as well as their family and guests. Denise and Cheri rocked prepping everyone for the ceremony and they continued to provide top notch service to everyone throughout the reception. Thanks for making this memorable family event everything we hoped and dreamed it would be. Also thanks to The Red M Studio for this great pic of Bonnie and the grooms.

    Sent on 12/18/2019

    House of Broel's reply:

    Thank you for you review! We were happy to share in the joy and appreciate your kind words. Best wishes to the newlyweds for a lifetime of happiness.
  • Daniel

    Daniel · Married on 10/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Dream Wedding

    We had our dream wedding at the House of Broel. The entire staff was both highly professional and friendly. The house itself is exactly what you hope for and imagine when you picture a charming old southern mansion on St. Charles Avenue. Bonnie, our gracious host, was also our minister; and she gave a truly touching ceremony in the ethereal back court yard. Denise, the coordinator, made us feel right at home. If there was anything we forgot, she remembered and already took care of it. Patrick, the chef, was a rockstar. All of our guest’s raved about the food which was truly excellent New Orleans cuisine. One of my favorite parts was the very thoughtful go boxes with each menu item in it. They made for a romantic second dinner later on at the B&B. Overall, I recommend this venue to anyone planning a party in New Orleans.

    Sent on 12/18/2019

    House of Broel's reply:

    We love to hear reviews like this! it validates everything we strive for. Thank you for your gracious review. Congratulations and may you have a lifetime of happiness.
  • D

    Daisy · Married on 06/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful location, very accesible!
    Great service and attentive, they get back to you in a timely manner when you have any questions. Great floor for dancing and the music selection was the best!

    Sent on 07/02/2018

    House of Broel's reply:

    Dear Daisy,

    Thank you for taking the time to write House of Broel a review. Reviews are such an important part of our business and we truly appreciate it.
  • C

    Claire · Married on 04/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They are wedding experts! I had zero wedding planning stress related to the ceremony and celebration, and everything went smoothly the day of. We’re planning another wedding in a second location, and there’s no way I could decorate, coordinate, and execute everything as well as they did with the same budget. The cake was delicious, too!

    Sent on 06/28/2018

    House of Broel's reply:

    Dear Claire,

    We take pride in our decor and service to our couples and it is wonderful to be recognized for that. We are thrilled that you have had such a splendid experience. Thank you for writing House of Broel this 5 Star review.
  • A

    Alisha · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow what an amazing day!! Bonnie Broel and her staff exceeded my expectations. They worked hard and were very organized and made sure that our day went smoothly. Denise the coordinator was great and easy to work with. The venue was beautiful, the cake, food, and DJ were good and the guest were happy. The staff helped me get dressed, helped pack up our things and listened to our request. Bonnie was great and even made sure that the photographer got certain special moments. Thank you all for making our day stress free and memorable. I highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 04/25/2018

    House of Broel's reply:

    Dear Alisha,

    We are pleased that we have exceeded your expectations. It is always a pleasure having wonderful couples, such as yourself, to work with. We strive very hard to accommodate our couples every need and it is wonderful to know that we have done a great job. Wishing you and your honey many blessings through your journey together.
  • C

    Christy · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    House of Broel is an amazing and beautiful place to have your wedding. Bonnie and her staff go above and beyond to make sure your wedding day is special and memorable. We wanted to have our wedding in New Orleans and toured several places there. The House of Broel exemplifies New Orleans and was just what we were going for. We loved how we could split up the payment and pay monthly for our wedding. This really helped with budgeting. Leading up to the wedding, I had several questions and called and/or sent a text to Denise, the coordinator, and she responded quickly every time. One of the best parts about House of Broel is that it is all inclusive. This alleviates the stress often involved in planning a wedding. There was no need to find a place for all the different things needed like food, cake, alcohol, and decorations.

    Now to the big day. Bonnie was our officiant and did a wonderful ceremony. Denise coordinated everything and made sure the whole thing went flawlessly. Rachel, my bridal attendant, was by my side the whole time. She made a plate of food for my husband and I and had us step away for a few minutes so we can spend a little time together and eat something. Kevin and Russell, the bartenders, made great strong drinks. My dad cannot eat pork and one of the bartenders went and made my dad some pork free jambalaya that he loved. The food was really good. The house DJ is great, definitely use him. The whole staff went above and beyond our expectation to make our day memorable not only for us but for our guests. If you care getting married in New Orleans, this is the place, you will not regret it.

    Sent on 04/29/2018
  • R

    Rebekah · Married on 12/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very lovely and accommodating venue! The House looked absolutely stunning and gorgeous. Our guests had a fabulous time! And thank goodness for the coordinator helping us keep on track!

    Sent on 01/01/2018
  • K

    Kylie · Married on 12/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bonnie and the attendants were amazing. Bonnie worked within our budget and was always quick to respond to any questions we had. The attendants helped us stay on track the day of the wedding. They pulled us aside so we could have a minute to eat together. Our day went even better than we had hoped for. The house was decorated beautifully and we only had to bring our favors and cake topper. We loved it was all inclusive and did not have to spend extra money on decorations, caterer, etc.

    Sent on 12/24/2017
  • T

    Tammy · Married on 10/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a Beautiful place and everyone was so nice. Thank you for making my special day wonderful.

    Sent on 02/25/2018
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The House of Broel team delivered an experience that absolutely made my dream wedding come true! When we toured the House of Broel with Ms. Broel, we were blown away, as the venue totally encompassed the authentic charm of New Orleans that we were looking for. Ms. Broel put our minds at ease and told us that we could just basically show up and they would take of everything. She truly has a passion for what she does, and she and her staff executed everything FLAWLESSLY! Denise, the coordinator, was amazing, and she was always available when I had a question or special request. She made sure that my every wish was granted, and I can't thank her enough. Cassandra was an absolute angel, as a bridal assistant! She doted on me like a mother would with helping me look perfect. She gave me words of encouragement and she was there to attend to me throughout the evening to make sure I was comfortable and had everything I needed. The food was DELICIOUS, and the libations flowed - my guests were EXTREMELY impressed! The House of Broel delivered a FLAWLESS dream wedding for me, and I just wish I could experience it over and over again! I had a vision of my dream wedding, and the House of Broel EXCEEDED my expectations! Beautiful venue and excellent service!

    Sent on 10/12/2017
  • T

    TaJa · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish Bonnie Broels and her staff made this process stress free. They were very helpful during the planning process. On the day of wedding my veil and jewelry was misplaced. Ms Bonnie went above & beyond. Not only did she give me a veil but offered a selection of jewelry to chose from. The venue was GORGEOUS, the food was delicious and the drinks were tasty. Everything was perfect.

    Sent on 08/06/2017
  • A

    Allison · Married on 07/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved The House of Broel! We decided on the intimate package because we did't want to have a huge wedding but we wanted something really special. The staff was amazing and made our wedding day pretty much effortless. They did just about everything for us and all we had to do was show up. I would definitely recommend The House of Broel .

    Sent on 08/11/2017
  • T

    Tammy · Married on 05/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    House of broel really made having and out of state wedding worry free! Coming from Oregon we weren't able to view the venue before hand but it was amazing! The food, staff and the venue were amazing! It was a very magical time for us. Our quests still talk about how nice the house of broel was! They all loved it. A big thank you to Cassandra who was a huge help!!!! We love the city of New Orleans and will be back again!

    Sent on 08/16/2017
  • L

    LaShanda · Married on 04/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was absolutely perfect!!! We started planning our April 2017 destination wedding in June 2016. We would not be visiting the venue before the wedding, so we depended on communication via phone and email! Bonnie was helpful from the onset! She answered all questions that I had in a prompt manner! The thing that I loved about this venue is that everything is inclusive! There was no need for coordinating for chairs, cake, alcohol, food, flowers, etc that can really add up!We could show up, get married and be on our way! That is exactly what we were looking for ... a turnkey wedding!

    Fast forward to our big day! It was amazing! Everyone was in awe of how beautiful the venue was! We got married outside in the courtyard and had our reception inside. The weather was perfect! I can't thank the staff at House of Broel enough for ensuring that my wedding ran smoothly the day of! There was no need for a wedding coordinator, as they made sure the train ran smoothly and we kept on schedule!

    I highly recommend this venue! The price for what you get cannot be beat in this area! We loved every minute of our wedding at the House of Broel. When it was over, my husband said that he wanted to do it again! Bonnie and staff will take great care of you!

    Sent on 05/15/2017

    House of Broel's reply:

    Dear LaShanda,

    Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write House of Broel this fantastic, well thought out review. You my dear also get 5 stars from us! We are so excited that we were able to make all of your dreams come true. Please let your husband know when you are both ready to renew your vows, we are here for you! Much love to you both
  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 04/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the most beautiful places in earth. Everything was perfect! Mrs. Broel gave a special ceremony with a sweet loving touch. I am so happy this was were I got married.

    Sent on 04/28/2017
  • T

    Tiffani · Married on 03/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely perfect! My husband and I live out of state so this wedding was planned without being there. They are all inclusive which made it so much easier for us. All I had to worry about were my flowers and photographer. All my guest raved about how amazing the venue was and how much fun they had. Bonnie did tours of the museums upstairs during the reception. It gave my wedding that little extra unique experience. Bonnie and her staff are dynamite!!!! If you want that classic Victorian New Orleans wedding experience this is your venue!!!!

    Sent on 04/17/2017
  • M

    Mikelle · Married on 03/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was everything we were looking for and more!!!! The food was great, the staff was more than helpful, and everyone is till talking about it!!

    Sent on 07/28/2017
  • H

    Haley · Married on 02/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We decided to elope and found the Hosie of Broel to be extremely accommodating considering we called them one month before the ceremony! I did not step inside the place until 2 days before the wedding. I was in constant communication with Miss Bonnie and Denise and they assured me everything would go smoothly. The house is absolutely beautiful and pictures do not do this place justice. We had a small ceremony and plenty of places to take pictures. The bartender made sure everyone had a drink and the food was delicious!! If I had to do it all over again I would definitely go to this place first. They took care of all of the arrangements and the dj. All I had to do was walk in, get dressed, and get married. I would like to thank everyone at the House of Broel for everything they did for us and for making our day a wonderful experience with no stress.

    Sent on 10/04/2017
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are like me and hate to plan, the House of Broel is the way to go. (Almost) everything is included at some of the lowest prices in New Orleans. Thanks for making my wedding stress-free and enjoyable!

    Sent on 12/29/2016