House of Blues Reviews

23 | New Orleans, LA
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for House of Blues

Recommended by 99%

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • K

    Ken · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I recently got married in New Orleans, a destination wedding for ourselves and all of our guests. The venue we chose was the House of Blues and we couldn’t be happier with our decision.

    When we were first looking for venues in NOLA we wanted to go with some place in the French Quarter that was unique, fun, had a space large enough for up to 100 guests, had a great in-house chef (because we didn’t want to have to deal with an additional vendor), and was affordable. We ended up finding HOB on multiple wedding sites with great reviews.

    We reached out to get some more information and spoke with Britt, the sales coordinator there. Britt was really helpful in answering our questions and quickly responding to emails. Britt was able to connect us with the right people to get things moving.

    We ended up booking the Voodoo Garden for our ceremony and the Parish Room for our reception. From that point Jeanne took over helping us organize the initial plans of our event. Since we were doing everything from the other side of the country, we needed lots of assistance from HOB staff, and Jeanne was happy to take that role and made the process super smooth for us.

    A few months before the wedding we made a trip out to New Orleans to meet with some of our vendors, and we also met with Allie the Sales Manager while we were there. Allie was incredibly accommodating for us, and we left that meeting feeling great about our upcoming nuptials!

    We also started corresponding with Jen who was the Logistics Coordinator for our wedding.She went above-and-beyond for us, coordinating the event with us late one evening on a 2 hour phone call. She was even able to work with the chef there to make us a special beignet tower instead of a typical wedding cake.

    Thank you HOB for a great wedding. Cant wait to see you the next time we're down in the Crescent City!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony and reception at the House of Blues and it was absolutely amazing! Kelly and Britt (along with the rest of the staff) were so easy to work with and accommodating. From the initial planning meeting to the day of our wedding, they made sure every detail was taken care of and we could not thank them enough for all that they did to make our day so special. We would highly likely recommend this venue to anyone looking to have a fun New Orleans wedding!!

  • K

    Kirsten · Married on 02/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    House of Blues was the perfect setting for our wedding. Cali was very easy to work with. Once we gave her our budget and what we wanted, Cali worked her magic! Having the ceremony in the Voodoo Garden was a perfect start to the day, with ending the night in the Parish Room. Since the Voodoo Garden and the Parish Room are already decorated, we did not have the extra expense of flowers and decor.

    Sent on 03/30/2015

    House of Blues's reply:

    Thanks Kirsten! You guys were a pleasure to work with and we were so happy to be part of your very special day- cheers to many years of happiness!
  • K

    Kandice · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The House of Blues is a one of kind, amazing venue at in the French Quarter. We had an amazing Rehearsal Dinner at the Voodoo Garden. Thank you Cali for making the day special!

    Sent on 10/20/2014

    House of Blues's reply:

    Thank you Kandice! We enjoyed hosting you and your wonderful family and friends. We here at the House of Blues wish you many years of happiness!
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have been happier with the House of Blues! It was a destination wedding and we did all of the planning over the phone. We had never even been there! Cali was totally accommodating and amazing. It was the best wedding ever. I was a happy bride. Best day and everyone at HOB made sure everything ran smoothly. I wish I could get married there every year!

    Sent on 12/09/2014

    House of Blues's reply:

    Thanks Chelsea!! You were a pleasure to work with- we wish you could get married here every year too! That's not weird….. right?! ;)
  • A

    april · Married on 11/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When deciding on a venue for Our wedding day, I knew that I didn't really want to go the the traditional route. We knew how we wanted our day to be, we knew we wanted a very laid back venue with a taste of New Orleans, loaded with good vibes and lots of fun! We began the search and stumbled upon the House Of Blues. It was meant to be. I meant Chloè and Cali who were probably the sweetest and most personable two I have had the privilege to meet. They were very knowledgeable and extremely helpful. I knew then I had to discuss this with my then Fiance to inform him that We would be exchanging vows at the World Famous House of Blues. Fast forward a little and I was in complete contact with either Cali or Chole for the duration to the big day! They were always available and made my life so easy during the planning process. Fast forward to the Big Day.. EVERYTHING was perfect! The ceremony which was held in the Voodoo Garden. Have yoh ever been to a wedding where you can enjoy a beverage during a ceremony? Well my guest either and they loved it!! Now I mentioned we didn't want to spend a fortune on decor. Well the House of Blues is so creatively and Beautifully decorated. It just didn't require any add-ons. Everything was so perfect! I can go on and on but then I would be writing forever. Our reception was AMAZING! It was held in the Music Hall. It was beautiful. We were provided with a fantabulous D.J. through the House of Blues that Cali and Chloè set up for us. Wow! What a night. No one left that dance floor. Not one person! ! It was such a great time. Im not kidding people nearly a year later tell us all the time how incredible our special night was!! Environment is everything and you won't get a better venue anywhere. The world Famous House Of Blues, still can't believe we were married at such a historic and amazing place. We love the House of Blues!!! ♡♡♡

    Sent on 09/04/2014

    House of Blues's reply:

    Thanks April! You guys were such a pleasure to have and we are so happy we were able to be a part of your special day!
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 03/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chloe and Cali were easy to work with, easy to contact, quickly responded to emails, and made the wedding day low stress and almost relaxing for me (the bride). Our officiant was 45 minutes late, but our guests didn't even notice the wait. The venue is funky, but very pretty at the same time. It photographs beautifully, and gave our wedding a uniquely New Orleans feel. The serive staff was fantastic and very attentive. My husband and I couldn't have been happier with our wedding.

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 11/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    House of Blues made our wedding ceremony and reception so awesome i don't even know if i can put it into words. What i can say is that Kari and Cali are such wonderful gals and made the entire process of planning and decision making SO EASY and really worked with me to create the wedding of our dreams. Our guests are still talking about how much fun they had and what a great setting! And the food is FANTASTIC!! I wish I had time to eat more!!
    Thank you Kari and Cali...you helped make our day so special!
    --Jenn

  • C

    Carrie · Married on 11/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The House of Blues is a one of kind, amazing venue to get married at in the French Quarter. We were married in the Voodoo Garden and held our reception upstairs in the Parish Room.

    The staff – Kari Moorhead and Cali Gabrielle were amazing in every aspect from the initial walk through and tour of the venue to the rehearsal, ceremony and reception. With their ongoing help and support, vendor recommendations and just overall assistance in planning our wedding everything went without a hitch. Cali and Kari really made planning a destination wedding stress free and fun and I am so grateful for that! Our guests had an amazing time – with almost all of them quoting “this was the best wedding ever!”

    I would recommend this venue to anyone planning a wedding in New Orleans – you can’t go wrong with the amazing venue, staff, and food. Thank you so much to Kari & Cali for making this day so special and one that Scott and I along with our guests will remember forever!


    Music – John Lisi & the Delta Funk – great band & our guests were on the dance floor the entire night!
    2nd Line – Lagniappe Brass Band - incredible
    Photographer – Kristin & Heather Photography (most amazing pictures ever!)

    Carrie & Scott

  • Nellie

    Nellie · Married on 04/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about our reception. I worked with Kari Morehead leading up to the wedding, and also with Cali Gabrielle shortly before and on the day of. When H and I first visited New Orleans to find a venue, HOB was our last stop. As soon as we walked in the Parish Room, we knew we had found our reception location. It is such a gorgeous room, so uniquely New Orleans, and (very importantly for us being OOT and with a small budget) needed NO additional decoration!! We got a great F&B rate since we did the wedding on a Sunday, and the food was nothing short of amazing. We did a tasting in November and thought we were going to explode because we ate so much. At the reception, they have this very cool little side room that H and I waited in until our introductions. They brought us champagne and plate after plate of AMAZING food!!! Everyone was so helpful and accommodating. With only 35 guests, I thought for sure I'd have time to eat at the reception, but I didn't so I am very grateful for the opportunity to eat before our introduction! The setup of the room was absolutely perfect - they had some regular tables, high top tables, and then a little area with cushioned chairs and couches near the bar. We had a top-shelf open bar (one of the things we were really set on when we started planning), and the drinks were all fantastic. Our signature drink was a French 75, and although we were only supposed to have them for the toasts, they served me French 75s all night! A perk of being the bride I guess!

  • A

    Ania · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am giving House Of Blues A+++++
    Our ceremony took place in the Voodoo Garden at the House of Blues. And the reception was upstairs in the Parish room.
    Cali, the coordinator from the HOB was amazing! She was super helpful, very organized and if it wasn’t for her I don’t think the whole day would go without a hitch.
    I made my own decorations for the courtyard - aisle runner; and for the reception room -centerpieces and decorated candle holders. Cali and her stuff decorated the room and the courtyard exactly the way I wanted.
    Food was very tasty. My guests still talk about how everything was delicious.
    Even though it was a daytime wedding, the reception room which is pretty dark, made it feel like late at night. I wish we extended the reception to 4 hours at least!
    Everyone had a great time! I would definitely recommend House of Blues and their stuff.

  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So FRICKIN' AMAZING!!!! I CANNOT say enough nice things about the folks at New Orleans House of Blues.

    The food was soooo good!!!! People are STILL talking about the ribs, and I WISH I could get mashed potatoes that good here in KC.

    The staff was so eager to please. Thank you for giving me a PERFECT place for my small destination wedding.

  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are from Florida so planning our wedding was a little tricky to start with. We met with Chloe in February and that's all we needed to do to finalize the best night of our lives! She is absolutely amazing at her job and The House of Blues is the perfect venue for a "true" New Orleans style reception. Not only did they make sure everything was perfect but they gave out the best recommendations for other vendors who I have to mention because they were fantastic!

    Kristin & Heather Photography
    Troy Stumpf (DJ)
    Get Polished (makeup & hair)
    VIP School Bus (transportation)

    Thanks to you Chloe and the rest of the HOB crew!

    Lindsay :-)

  • S

    Sharon · Married on 05/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot emphasize enough how efficient the event coordinator, Chloe, and her staff at the House of Blues was prior to and at the time of my daughter's wedding reception. Chloe had wonderful ideas that made the event even more memorable, and she certainly helped to make the planning almost stress free!

  • N

    Natalie · Married on 05/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chloe at the House of Blues is AMAZING!!! I did not have a wedding planner, but Chloe made it so easy. She is a perfectionist & everything exceeded our expectations. I had my reception at the Parish Room & Big Mama's House at the HOB and it was great! People are still calling saying it was the best wedding they've been to (and one of the best nights they've had, in general),and they LOVED the House of Blues. If you want a venue that is unique, lively, great staff, great food, professional sound system for a band, and a coordinator who will make sure all your ideas and dreams come true (I promise Chloe will!) then the HOB is your place!

  • C

    Chris · Married on 04/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    During our wedding planning phase, my wife (then bride to be) and I visited the HOB venue and we knew it was for us. We absolutely stopped looking for other reception venues. The energy and vibe at HOB New Orleans is incredible and so, so cool. The staff was fantastic, the food was awesome and you can not find a better place to have a live band. I think our reception band even gave us a lower price because they wanted to play at HOB. Almost to a person, our guests all told us ours was the BEST wedding they had ever been to! Special thanks to our HOB coordinator, Chloe Tassin, for helping to make our day so amazing.

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 03/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    House of Blues was an excellent choice for us, and one I am glad we made! It may not seem like a conventional choice, but everything was amazing.

    We had our ceremony in the Voodoo Garden, and it was beautiful with an accent of funky. Also, it ended up being more secluded than I anticipated... I had expected random people walking in on our service, but I sure didn't notice any.

    The reception was in The Parish, and the room looked great! The food was amazing, and we were given some leftovers; which was great since we didn't have much time to eat! Everyone had fun, and we received many complements.

    The planning process was low stress, as Chloe, the Special Event Sales Manager, is great to work with. She was quick to respond, and helped us with everything.I highly recommend House of Blues for any event, and we would do it all over in a heart beat!

  • M

    Mae · Married on 10/31/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for a beautiful venue to hold a wedding without the drama and where you know every penny you spend will be well spent, then the HOB is the place!!!! I don't have the words to describe how unbelievable the staff is. Chloe is the perfect mix of professionalism and down to earth. Her team makes you feel like you are part of their family and they know how to throw a party!!!! The venue is unlike anything you will see or experience ANYWHERE else. The pictures don't do it justice. People are still talking about my wedding today (8 months later). Everyone, I mean EVERYONE, was wonderful. We had the most kick a** bartender in the world (Drew!!! We love you). Chloe, who is a knockout herself, is all about making your wedding day an experience not just an event. She knows how to make your whole family feel included, not just the bride. The food....out of this world. We are not rich, but we decided to spend a little money for our wedding since we never do anything to outrageous. I could not have made a better decision. It was worth triple what we paid and the food alone was worth every penny. I truly love these people. I coordinated the entire event without ever visiting or meeting them face to face until 3 days prior. We didn't even need decorations. We walked in, threw a party, and left. PERFECTION!!!

  • M

    Brian · Married on 02/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was amazing. Perfect for us on our special day. Outstanding food and the staff was professional and courteous. We couldn't have picked a better place.

  • M

    Natalie · Married on 02/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chloe and Kelly were both very professional and helpful in assisting us with our wedding and reception. They went above and beyond to ensure our special day was unforgettable. Their easy-going, friendly nature really made the whole event an absolute pleasure (including that 'crazy busy' period leading up to the event, where they helped keep me sain!)

    The parish room was set up beautifully, and the food was fabulous.

    Thankyou for making our wedding so wonderful

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/28/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a fantastic time, reception was wonderful, food was very good and attendents freindly and helpful. Chloe did a fantastic job with original tour of venue and food tasting, stayed in contact throughout the event and truly carred that we had a good experience. Thanks to all at the HOB New Orleans.

  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 11/08/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved my House of Blues wedding! It was on the expensive side, but our families helped financially so that we could have the venue I really wanted. The HoB staff was very helpful and attentive. They did a great job with the event production the day of and my guests loved the food from the on-site caterer (restaurant).

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review