Weddings

Hotel Walloon Reviews

Hotel Walloon View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.4 out of 5

Awards

  • 13
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

16 User photos

Sort by:
  • Allie
    Allie K. Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great location and amazing service from Allison

    We loved the Talcott for our wedding reception. We got married in Boyne City and The Talcott provided the perfect venue for a nearby indoor reception in beautiful Walloon just steps away from the lake. We had a cocktail hour out on the front patio. Our photographer captured the most incredible photos of us on the doc at sunset. This is the perfect location for a reception. Tons of parking and its indoors so you don't have to worry about the weather.

    Hotel Walloon's reply:

    It was such a beautiful day. You and Steven were a great couple to work with! The pictures from Nathan English were amazing! We wish you the best.
  • J
    Jillian W. Married on 08/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing venue, even more amazing staff!

    Hotel Walloon did a wonderful job helping my team bring our vision for a fundraising event to life. The staff was incredibly responsive and was quick to help find solutions when we needed them. We felt like we were the only event their team was helping to plan during their busiest season of the year. We hosted our fundraiser in the Talcott and we received nothing but compliments on how beautiful the venue was and how nicely prepared the decor was to fit our needs. We cannot wait to host more events with Hotel Walloon!

    Hotel Walloon's reply:

    We loved working with you all and can't wait to do it again! Thank you for allowing us to be part of this special event.
  • M
    Melissa Married on 12/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The staff of Hotel Walloon & The Talcott were amazing to work with in planning our event. They made sure that every item was covered, our event was planned with ease! The day of our party was stress-free! The staff made sure that everyone was taken care of and my entire company was pleased with the event! Oh, and did I mention that the food was delish!!
  • V
    Vira (. Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We could not have been happier with our daughter's wedding at The Talcott/Hotel Walloon. Several months after the wedding we are still getting compliments from friends and family! The venue was fantastic and a great value - the outdoor area with the fire pit was a unique and lovely feature. The staff ( particularly Allison ) was amazing, very helpful with suggestions and accommodating our needs, wonderful with communication. We had several opportunities for access to the venue for planning. They coordinated very well with all our vendors.They went above and beyond with the setup, organization, teardown, the "big" and the "little" things. They brought extra vases when we needed them last minute for flowers, they packed up extra desserts and even brought some with a "care package" for our daughter and son-in-law who were staying at the hotel that night. They checked in through the day on how things were going. The bar ran very smoothly - a special thanks to Naomi for her work and organization! They really helped to minimize the stress and make the wedding wonderful!
  • J
    Jackie Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The staff made every effort to meet our needs and desires. We received raves from our guests. The hotel is beautiful and the staff very helpful in every way. The food at the Walloon Lake Inn was excellent. Everything was perfect!
  • L
    Lauren Y. Married on 05/27/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Talcott is an Unbeatable Wedding Venue

    We had our wedding at The Talcott, owned by Hotel Walloon. Everything from the staff & service to the ambiance of the space was incredible! We booked during the construction phase and had our wedding Memorial Day weekend, just months after the space was beautifully renovated and ready to use. You would think they have been hosting weddings at The Talcott for years!
    Our guests loved having use of the patio space for cocktail hour and then being able to go outside periodically to get some fresh air. Our bridal party arrived by boat to Tommy's Dock right across from The Talcott and it was such a cool experience!
    We did have to coordinate with a few outside vendors, but the Hotel Walloon staff worked seamlessly with the catering team we hired to make our wedding day a huge success. Hotel Walloon provided the bar and their bartenders were outstanding for our party crowd.
    To this day (almost two years later) my friends and family are still raving about the wedding and talking about how future weddings will have an impossible time beating ours!

    Hotel Walloon's reply:

    We still love looking at pictures from your special wedding day! Thank you for your kind words. We hope that you and Will are doing well!
  • A
    Amber Married on 08/28/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Allison and the entire team at Hotel Walloon was amazing. They went above and beyond all our expectations. Allison was easy to contact, flexible and helped me with every question, no matter how ridiculous it seemed (pictures of the bathrooms;) Hotel Walloon is the most amazing hotel I've ever stayed at, with staff that are sure to meet your every need. Our wedding guests are still raving about our wedding and the accommodations at Hotel Walloon.

    Hotel Walloon's reply:

    Amber,

    Thank you for your kind words! We loved working with you and had so much fun the weekend of your wedding!
  • M
    Mark Married on 06/17/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Allison at the Hotel took care of everything .Helped with dinner plans ,flower recommendations,etc .She also was flexible with changing of rooms and arrival dates for different guest.We did not have the wedding at the venue across from the hotel because our wedding was small, that didn't matter she works with us as if we where doing everything at the venue.Great service and wonderful memories for all that attended.
  • B
    Becky Married on 03/04/2017
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I were so pleased with the whole experience at the Hotel Walloon/Talcott Center. We used the Talcott Center hall for both our ceremony and reception. Allison was so helpful in giving us options for how to make both parts of the event work. She and her team not only offered their expert opinions, but listened to my suggestions. For all the months leading up to the wedding, Allison was very responsive and helpful. I could always count on her to answer an email or call and to be available to meet with me when I needed to see the venue. On rehearsal and wedding day, I did not have to worry at all about the venue because I knew it was ready to go.

    The only issues we had was with keeping the guests at tables for the ceremony it was hard for some people to see the stage. Also, we wish the venue would have a full set of white linens. We had to rent ours.

    One final positive note though is that the venue is AMAZING for pictures. Walloon Lake is so cute. There are great outdoor areas by the water to take pictures or outside the hotel. The inside is so charming. Our photographer was in love with the decor and style of the rooms: think mirrors, fireplaces, grand staircases etc.

    The Hotel Walloon/Talcott Center is a great value for the experience. My husband and I would highly recommend it.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 06/25/2016
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    Hotel Walloon was an idyllic place for our wedding and reception. Rooms and views are gorgeous and was wonderful to have everyone staying at the same place. Everyone could sit on their patios and enjoy the view, walk next door and rent a boat, or get ice cream and play corn hole at the park next door. Everything is in one spot so all your guests get to spend quality time together before and after the wedding. We were their first wedding so there were some logistics that we all had to figure out but it all turned out great! We had our wedding on the beach and then moved to Inn for dinner and then back to beach for dancing and desserts Huge shout out to Merry Makers/Kris Rundblad for figuring out all the logistics and making it so easy for me since I live in CIncinnati. Also Amy Hendrickson and her daughter Amanda added amazing creativity to make our wedding special. The team at Walloon with the help of Kris and Amy made it everyone's "favorite" wedding. Staff at Walloon hotel were professional and extremely helpful and The bartenders made the best cosmopolitans ever! Really special. Love Walloon!!
  • K
    Kirstyn H. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    October Wedding

    Thank you, Hotel Walloon, for making our wedding and the days leading up to it special.

    Hotel Walloon's reply:

    We loved working with you and Ben! The fall colors were so beautiful. It was such a wonderful day! We wish you all the best!
  • L
    Linsay Married on 08/18/2018
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    Great Memories

    We loved our wedding day experience at the Hotel Walloon. Although I believe the venue is a bit overpriced and the A/C was malfunctioning that day, we had a great experience and would recommend this venue. It is a well-kept, beautifully designed space in Northern Michigan overlooking beautiful Walloon lake, surrounded by the quaint village of Walloon. Our guests has nothing but compliments to give us on the experience they had as our guests!

    Hotel Walloon's reply:

    We are so glad that you and Sean celebrated your special day with us! It was a beautiful day, overlooking Walloon Lake. We wish you many years of happiness!