Skip to main content
Weddings

Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia Reviews

Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Philadelphia, PA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 56 Reviews
View more information

56 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 56
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

14 User photos

  • Jess
    Jess S. Married on 09/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best place to get married!

    Desiree and team were amazing! She made our wedding the best night of our lives. She was attentive. The process was simple. They handled everything and made us feel so taken care of. The ceremony and flow was so well coordinated by them. The food and drinks were better than even expected! If we could get married twice, it would be at the Kimpton with Desiree!!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Married on 09/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best night of my life.

    Desiree is a dream, and she not only made the night perfect but the whole experience absolutely seamless. She is unbelievably responsive and truly aims to to please and take care of the couple in every way possible. The tasting was such a cool experience and the team listened to every detail and executed perfectly. The food was amazing, and they made our vision come to life. I highly recommend The Hotel Monaco - and Desiree if you're lucky! - for your special night. It was the best decision I made!
  • S
    Sarah L. Married on 09/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fairy tail wedding at Hotel Monaco

    Desiree and all the staff at hotel Monaco were amazing! They made my wedding day feel like a fairy tail!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Janna
    Janna L. Married on 05/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Venue

    We chose the Monaco as our wedding venue for its convenience and amazing reviews and we weren't disappointed. We were initially planning to get married during the early pandemic months and decided to completely cancel our wedding only to rebook a year later, and Desiree could not have been more gracious to welcome us back. We decided to do a completely vegetarian menu and while the chef had some limitations on what he could do outside of their usual offerings, we ended up with a wonderful custom buffet that we and our guests were very happy with. Desiree was hugely helpful both before and on our wedding day and with her help we did not need to hire a planner or day-of wedding coordinator. The Monaco also hosted our post wedding breakfast which was perfect. Our family and guests were all incredibly impressed with this venue and staff. Thanks so much!
  • Tim
    Tim F. Married on 12/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Kimpton Monaco

    They took care of every aspect of our reception , from design to foo to vendors , all the while working within our budget
  • M
    Mitch R. Married on 11/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thanks for the memories

    Thank you Hotel Monaco! The combination of the team (Desiree), location, and the unique venue make for a perfect spot to host a wedding. Thanks again for the memories.
  • S
    Shakia P. Married on 10/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wish we could relive the day

    The staff at Kimpton Hotel Monaco were amazing. From the day we went to visit the venue leading up to the day of the wedding. They made me feel comfortable welcomed and like family. Desiree was awesome with answering all my questions during the first stages and the Shannon came in and continued to make sure that every last detail down to making sure my nerves on the day of were handled and taken care of. Bernardo gave us an awesome tasting and made sure my husband and I wanted for nothing on our actual wedding day/night. The staff were above and beyond amazing and I would definitely recommend Hotel Monaco to anyone looking to get married. Our guest are still talking about that night even till this day!!!
  • Nicole
    Nicole S. Married on 09/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding of my dreams!

    I would recommend Hotel Monaco and Desiree with 100 stars if I could. Our wedding was absolute perfection! Desiree went above and beyond to make our day as special as I imagined. The wedding date had to be moved due to Covid which was extremely stressful and Desiree calmed our nerves and switched our date with ease. She is the best and our wedding was a day everyone remembered!
  • N
    Neda D. Married on 08/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience!

    We got married at the Hotel Monaco this past August after rescheduling twice due to Covid. We worked with Desiree who was phenomenal throughout the entire process. She helped us through each time we had to reschedule and helped make our wedding day beautiful. Everyone commented on how amazing the food and drinks were and how beautiful everything looked. I cannot recommend Desiree and the Hotel Monaco enough.
  • B
    Britney S. Married on 07/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The absolute best!!

    They have gone above and beyond since day one! Our wedding was canceled twice due to COVID and they were extremely helpful and accommodating. Every single person that works there is so nice, especially Desiree Sklar. The hotel is beautiful, welcoming and fun. Plus, they’re dog friendly so our fur babies are able to be apart of our big day.
  • Michelle
    Michelle H. Married on 06/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Kimpton is a Dream!

    Booking the Kimpton for our wedding was the best decision we made for the big day! Desiree and the rest of the Kimpton staff is a delight to work with, especially when postponing our wedding from 06/27/2020 to 06/20/2021. Desiree was in constant communication to help make our new day special with all of the necessary COVID precautions. We love the retro and classic feel of the Kimpton in the heart of Philadelphia. We're so excited for the big day coming soon!

    After the wedding: Our wedding day was an absolute dream come true all thanks to the Kimpton Hotel Monaco and the amazing staff there, especially Desiree our wedding coordinator!! First and foremost, the Kimpton and the Stratus rooftop is absolutely stunning, the décor along is funky, modern and edgy. This includes the Mist and Vapor rooms and on the roof and every hallway/corner in between! The food was delicious from start to finish and it is kept coming! The best part was the venue included all of the food, passed apps, cheese platter, platted dinner, passed desserts (everyone loved the fries at the end!) and the wedding cake from Brendenbecks! This made planning so much easier! The star of the show is definitely our amazing coordinator Desiree! She has been there for us not only each step of the planning, but through date changes and our questions and concerns about COVID guidelines. We decided to have a very small 50 person wedding on the rooftop, and she turn the roof into the most beautiful wedding spot ever! All we did was bring her the decorations and she set them up perfectly and thoughtfully. She also helped with giving out vouchers for parking, practicing with our bridal party for the ceremony and SO much more. Thank you Desiree and everyone at the Kimpton for making out day so special, fun and memorable! If you are looking for a city venue that is affordable, funky, fun and include so much with the overall price, book the Kimpton today!!!
  • J
    Julie Married on 12/31/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Covid Bride

    My fiancé and I have been planning our New Year’s Eve dream wedding since last year around this time. ( pre-Covid) during that time Desiree kept us informed and was able to help us make decisions regarding our dream wedding. When we were told that due to state guidelines we would have to postpone our party Desiree was with us each step of the way! She helped us to feel at ease with the changes and was even able to help us weigh out our options. We were able to move our reception to June 2021 which we cannot wait for! Thank you so much to Desiree and Hotel Monaco for helping us navigate through Covid and still have the magic of special wedding day we truly appreciate you and call you family.
  • Adam
    Adam Married on 10/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Phenomenal Experience, feels like family & home!

    I don't know where to begin in this review for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia. Even from our initial appointment way back when, we were given the royal treatment. All of the small little moments & details (which many may overlook) were made to be incredibly special. Desiree Sklar (director of catering and the venue's dedicated wedding coordinator) is INCREDIBLE at what she does. Anytime we had a concern or a question, she quickly put us at ease. This certainly was not an easy feat given how particular we are and all of the gymnastics she had to go through in the height of the pandemic. She truly makes magic happen. She was who we met with initially, and she was there with us through the thick and thin of it all along the way, including the entire day and night of! The hotel is beautiful, eclectic, extravagant, and so much more. We've never had a bad meal the many times we've eaten there. It honestly feels like home, and we were made to feel like family. The energy we created was infectious. Not only were we as newlyweds and all of our guests having the best time, all of our vendors worked together in harmony and all of the staff were excited to be there too. There are too many to name, but all of the staff was fantastic and went out of their way to ensure we were well cared for. Our wedding was perfect and it was well worth the wait (even with the extra year we needed to wait because of Covid). I can't think of anything I would've wanted to go differently. We knew it was going to be great, but we're still blown away by how amazing everything was. We still have people coming up to us telling us it was the wedding of the century, the best wedding they've ever been to, the best time they've ever had, the most beautiful venue, and more! Thank you to everyone that came together to make this happen, we can't wait to share our photo and video footage with everybody and relive it again. We'll never forget this, and luckily since we're local we can come visit anytime!
  • Bridget
    Bridget S. Married on 07/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We couldn't be happier!

    We have had the most amazing experience with the Kimpton. The last year did not go remotely as planned and Desiree and the entire team at the Kimpton always took care of us and made us feel supported. We could not be more grateful to have chosen Hotel Monaco for our wedding.
  • E
    Elana R. Married on 03/29/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Wedding Experience

    Despite having to move our wedding date
  • J
    Joseph K. Married on 11/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A++ for Hotel Monaco

    Desiree and the entire team at Hotel Monaco were amazing and greatly exceeded our expectations. They were engaged throughout the entire process, and made sure the wedding day ran smoothly. Don't hesitate to book your wedding here, it was perfect.
  • Gina
    Gina P. Married on 11/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Desiree and Carly were AWESOME!

    My husband and I just had our wedding here this past weekend and it was absolutely PERFECT. Desiree and Carly were so professional and went above and beyond. Besides the venue being beautiful, these two are the reason why I had the most perfect wedding. Can not express how thankful I am for their help!
  • A
    Anna Married on 10/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cannot recommend enough!

    I cannot recommend working with Hotel Monaco highly enough!! My fiance and I are transplants to Philadelphia within the past 10 months, so we know nothing about this city or any vendors. Hotel Monaco, besides working with us to make our day at their venue beyond special, have been EXTREMELY helpful in finding additional vendors and just recommending places within the city for us to try. Jackie has been lovely to work with! I would host any event at Hotel Monaco!
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin Married on 09/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They made our dreams come true!

    I honestly don't even know where to begin when reviewing the Hotel Monaco as a wedding venue. We booked the venue because of the beauty of the space and the competence of the team there. The cocktail hour on the Stratus Lounge and reception in the Lafayette ballroom is the perfect setting for a wedding, especially if you have out of town guests staying at the hotel as well. We loved having everything in one place. We even had our welcome drinks at the Red Owl Tavern, which made it so easy. Mid-way through our planning process, the team actually changed out, and Jackie became our new go-to person. I can honestly say that having Jackie become our wedding coordinator/manager was the single best thing to happen to us during the entire planning process. She has an incredibly rare combination of intelligence, patience, diligence, and excellent client management that makes you feel taken care of. We really trusted her, and we know she played an integral part in the success of our day. To give you an example of how detail oriented and caring she is, my grandmother passed just a few weeks before the wedding. She gifted me a small token of remembrance with a beautiful note. I was totally taken aback, and it made me realize how important it is to have someone like her planning the biggest day of your life. In addition to Jackie, Tinisha handled all of our room reservations. She was AMAZING. She was the most responsive person I have ever worked with, her communication was flawless. She also artfully handled a couple of room switches, and went way above and beyond to make people in our room block happy. Carly handled all of the financials for us, and while this role doesn't always get a lot of love because they're not in the "fun" parts of the planning, she was a big part of everything going smoothly, especially with a lot of last minute changes. Bernardo was our maitre'd for the evening. People are still coming up to me and talking to me about how amazing he was, our wedding was 2 months ago. He truly made the party go on and on and on. A bit more about the reception space... it is a little small, but don't let that deter you. The size of the room made our party absolutely bumpin'. There was not a single soul that did not dance. Our dance floor was packed, but it felt like a true party. We just could not have imagined having our wedding anywhere else. GET MARRIED HERE!!!!
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie B. Married on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect wedding 10/10

    I got married on June 8th, 2019 at Hotel Monaco. It was truly the most amazing wedding ever (I may be a bit bias) and exceeded every single one of our expectations!!!!! Desiree Sklar was our contact throughout the planning process and was there for us on our wedding day through the entire day/night. She is AN ANGEL! Truly she was made for weddings. She was so chill to work with and totally understood the vibe we were going for. Thank you so so so much hotel Monaco for bringing our vision to fruition and making it a day we will never forget. Also - can't forget about Bernardo, our server. He is THE MAN! I even convinced him to do a solo on the mic, absolutely LOVED it!
  • T
    Terri Married on 12/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Taste Testing

    Bernardo was our waiter as we went through the taste testing for our wedding this spring. He was knowledgeable, good- natured, and professional. We really enjoyed the experience and know our guests will have a great evening at our wedding.
    Thank you Hotel Monaco!
  • S
    Samantha S. Married on 11/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beyond our expectations

    Our wedding venue search started and ended with the Hotel Monaco. Literally we went to look at one other venue after seeing the Hotel Monaco just to be polite as it was too soon to cancel but we knew we found the perfect spot right away. We initially worked with Matt Bassant although he left half way through the planning process. We had a completely smooth transition and began working with Jackie DeLawrence. The building, convenience of hotel and venue in one, decor and vibe were exactly what we were looking for. The food, alcohol and accommodations were above and beyond and every request we had was fulfilled without batting an eye. It was truly customer service at its finest. The bell hops and valet will know your name and remember it after your first meeting and somehow knew we were a bride and groom hosting an event there every time we pulled up. The best part of hosting your wedding there is you can tell everyone who works at the Monaco loves their job and this truly translates to the service. Eduardo was our head server at the wedding and I still am in awe of how amazing he was and how well he took care of us and our guests. Btw he also as the voice of an angel I'm not kidding I almost fell off my feet when he sung. The food at the wedding was not your typical wedding food and was delicious. Hats off to the chef for serving 130 piping hot, spot on meals that everyone raved about. Hosting a farewell brunch at the red owl tavern was a cherry on top. Again our guests were catered to and enjoyed every bite of food. Thank you to everyone who played a hand in our wedding. It was truly the best night of our lives thanks to you all!!
  • T
    Taylor Married on 01/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding here in January of 2018. We had about 100 guests. Everything was amazing from the food, the staff (especially valet attendants!), appearance of the hotel, and the service. The catering sales manager, Matt Basset was also nothing short of amazing. He quickly answered ALL of my MANY emails and kept me calm and feeling good about all of our decisions for the wedding. We had a lot of out of town family come to our wedding & they stayed at the hotel. They raved about how great everything was. There were a lot of things locally for them to do in Old City Philadelphia as well, which was a plus for people wanting to explore the city. We highly recommend you look into Hotel Monaco Philadelphia for any event!
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 11/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hotel Monco is AMAZING! We blocked our room, the bridal suite, and a few other suites for the wedding and they were so easy to work with and everything is done online. We also are using them for a good-bye brunch and we're using the rooftop lounge as the afterparty location ..... They have been a dream to work with I'm so happy with the service.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 07/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    A huge thank you is owed to Janet and her team at Hotel Monaco for an absolutely perfect reception! From the start, all of our interactions have been exceptional. Janet hosted my now-husband and I for our initial meeting and we instantly fell in love with the hotel and the ballroom. Janet has been in the business for awhile and helped us novices navigate wedding planning (she even helped us select our rehearsal dinner venue). She gave a full list of preferred vendors, all of which turned out to be amazing! We used the Girard room for the cocktail hour and the Lafayette Ballroom (across the hall) for the reception dinner, all are located on the ground floor and were convenient for guests, the majority of which stayed at the hotel.

    The ballroom is absolutely stunning, with beautiful banquet chairs and decor. You don’t need to purchase or rent your own linens or dancefloor or tables! In addition, the food is divine. Philip and I had such fun at the tasting with Janet and Bernardo (our server) and fell in love with every dish that was served. Everything tasted even better on our actual wedding day and my husband and I were spoiled with our own server who made sure I had a drink in my hand the entire night!

    Hotel Monaco made everything so easy for us because everything was taken care of for us - including a day-of coordinator, which allowed myself and my friends and family enjoy the day with no responsibilities. In addition, when the bridal party was stranded in the limo because of a crazy thunderstorm, the staff at Hotel Monaco formed an umbrella tunnel for the bridal party to enter through. These little details, as well as the grand-scale coordination, are what makes Hotel Monaco so special. Best wedding ever!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message