Hot Einstein Reviews

33 | Oakland, CA
See photos, pricing and details

33 Reviews for Hot Einstein

Recommended by 100%

33
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
33 Hot Einstein Reviews
Sort by:
  • Tracy

    Tracy · Married on 05/20/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hot Einstein played at our wedding in May and were one of the true highlights. They are talented musicians and did an awesome job reading the crowd and mixing up oldies with newer hits that had everyone out on the dance floor. They really made the end of our wedding day a blast, and we’ve heard tons of compliments from our friends and family since. Matt was easy to work with and they were able to learn a number of special requests, including an Irish favorite to please my family, and they tailored an awesome set list overall that had everything we wanted. If you’re looking for a live band these guys rock!

  • P

    Peter · Married on 04/08/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hot Einstein played at our wedding and they were absolutely fantastic!!! Matt was incredible to work with, very helpful, responsive, and had many great suggestions of things we hadn't thought of. We chose to go full out and got the core band plus a female lead singer and two brass band members to boot and it was awesome. All of our guests raved about how great the band was and the dance floor was packed the entire time. Several of our guests work weddings as DJ's or band members and they all agreed that Hot Einstein rocked the set. We could not more highly recommend them.

  • M

    Margaret · Married on 11/05/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hot Einstein was AMAZING at our wedding! They let me pick the songs that I wanted them to play, and all of my guests were very impressed by their talent! Having a live band at the wedding vs. a DJ was such a great choice as they really kept the party going.

    Matt was very responsive with all of my inquires and many questions. My now husband surprised me with a performance with some of my best friends (all musicians), and the band not only let them take over for 2 songs, but also let him use their drums and some of their equipment! They are so talented and made my wedding really stand out. You will not regret booking Hot Einstein!

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 08/13/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We searched high and low for a band that could provide the famous tunes we all love from the radio, and also the fun and life a band brings. We really lucked out when we found Hot Einstein because they are AMAZING...no exaggeration! Matt was great through the whole process. He responded very quickly to each email and helped out greatly during our ceremony. He helped coordinate the acoustic feel we wanted during our ceremony and it was magical!
    Our dance floor was by far the busiest and most fun I've ever seen at a wedding. Everyone, including my grandmother who could barley walk, danced the night away! We of course asked for an encore and they rocked it out for another few songs. I would highly highly recommend Hot Einstein for your occasion!!!!

  • A

    Annie · Married on 08/12/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired this band to play all my favorite covers for my outdoor wedding in Berkeley. They accepted an eclectic list of requests from me: Stevie Wonder, Talking Heads, Hall & Oates, Elton John, David Bowie, etc... And they threw in their own fun covers of Outkast, R. Kelly, and Amy Winehouse. They learned how to play "Wild Flowers" by Tom Petty for my father-daughter dance. The Hot Einstein set list successfully had guests from multiple generations singing along and moving on the dance floor. Band leader Matt was easy to communicate with ahead of time and made sure that we agreed on a plan for set up time, start time, song order, venue details, etc. The entire process was handled smoothly and professionally! I also thought we got an amazing deal!! I highly recommend booking these talented musicians if you are hoping to give your event an entertaining, fun party vibe.

  • D

    Dylah · Married on 10/17/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hot Einstein played at our wedding, and seriously made it the fantastic event that it was! They are by far the best wedding band that I have ever heard. Our guests couldn't stop talking about how great the music was. People were on the dance floor the entire night and no one wanted the music to stop! They played the songs we requested flawlessly - from the very first dance to the last song, Hot Einstein was incredible!

  • K

    Kristina · Married on 09/12/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Quick summary - having Hot Einsteins at our wedding was the absolute BEST and MOST MEMORABLE part of our day. If you don't book them, you are missing out! Giving more detail below based on the categories that went into this review...

    Quality of Service:
    The band worked so hard to go above and beyond to play songs that were special to us - from classics like the Talking Heads, to R.Kelly, to LCD Sound System. I'm not kidding! And the covers were amazing - you could tell they worked very hard to make sure our guests had an amazing time. They were excellent at responding to the crowd. It was a nonstop dance party with music for everyone, from my 86 year old grandma to our college friends.

    Responsiveness:
    Matt was our main contact for the event and he responded to our emails and phone calls with promptness and thoughtfulness. He was more than happy to discuss timing, song requests, and logistics.

    Professionalism:
    The band did a great job responding to the crowd and making sure the night stayed all about Matt and I. They arrived early with great attitudes.

    Value:
    Not only are the Hot Einstein's covers great renditions, their original music proves how talented the band is. We are overwhelmingly grateful for their services at a price we could afford. Both lead singers are really versatile and have beautiful voices, and every single musician in the band killed it.

    Flexibility:
    A few members of the band were kind enough to show up early and set up the audio for our ceremony, which really saved us a huge headache of trying to find different rentals for the ceremony. Also, our meals/speech went a little longer than planned, and they were happy to shorten our first and parents dance at a moment's notice. They were great with rolling with the punches and making our party a success.

    I cannot recommend Hot Einsteins enough for your wedding (or any event!). I wouldn't change a thing about their service or our amazing day they were a huge part of!

  • J

    Jason · Married on 08/29/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This band is outstanding. Matt and all of the band members were great to work with. We booked about 7 months out after having seen them at Tupelo in San Francisco. Prior to booking, I met with Matt at a cafe near a Bart Station to discuss our wedding and how Hot Einstein could fit into our big day. Our wedding was in Yosemite and it was great to hear that they traveled outside the bay area. Matt was very professional and responsive throughout. HOT EINSTEIN ROCKED OUR WEDDING, our guests were on the dance floor the entire night which amazed me because neither of our families are big dancers. That really spoke to the quality of these musicians and the atmosphere they helped create. Hot Einstein elevated our reception, and we’re sooo happy we were able have them share in our big day. We highly recommend them for your wedding or any event where you want great musicians. I told Matt that I’d be happy to speak with anyone who is seriously considering them for their wedding. If I ever need to organize an event again and need a band, Hot Einstein will be that band if they are available.

  • B

    Ben · Married on 05/09/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Epic wedding band option. We heard them first at our friends' wedding, who heard them first at their friends wedding. Phenomenal dancable grooves running through all the band members and a super deep and well curated list of songs to choose from. A shared love of playing David Bowie connected us, and resulted in a most memorable moment on the big day -- unplanned and unpracticed, they invited me up on bass for 'Under Pressure' to help close out the evening and we brought down the house!

    Books this band!!



  • S

    Sharon · Married on 03/29/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hot Einstein was awesome. The crowd was up dancing the whole night!

  • A

    Alex · Married on 10/18/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I first saw Hot Einstein when they played my good friends' wedding. I was really impressed with how fun they were without seeming like cheesy wedding band. When, a year or two later, it was time to find a band for my own wedding, I thought of them right away. Turns out they're not only good, they're a deal too!

    Leading up to the wedding, Matt was accommodating and responsive. He provided us with a list of songs and let us pick ones we absolutely wanted to hear as well as ones we absolutely didn't :) On the day of, they completely exceeded my expectations. During the cocktail hour, they played some awesome funk and jazz instrumentals. And then for dancing, Queen, Talking Heads, Michael Jackson, Blondie, Stevie Wonder, and a bunch of other awesome tunes. I had remembered them being a lot of fun, but they really rocked it. Guests were coming up to me all night and telling me how great they were.

    Highly recommended!

  • User4466065 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my wife and I decided to get married we were certain that we would be hiring a band. In fact the three most important elements of our wedding (in order of priority) were the venue, band, and food. We spent countless hours scouring wedding band websites, watching videos, listening to demos, and talking to local musicians and friends in search of the right band. After a few months of searching, we found Hot Einstein, who had recently played at a friends wedding. Glowing reviews from our friends and seeing them in person at Tupelos was more than enough to make us feel comfortable hiring them to play at our wedding. Simply put, they are not a wedding band, they are a band of musicians that play at weddings. That said, they are incredibly talented, solid musicians that can play a crowd and put on a show. Throughout the whole process, Matt was responsive and flexible. With his help we worked together to create a setlist that would create the high positive energy we were looking for at our wedding and the band more than delivered! Our guests were thrilled and we were thrilled! We will be recommending Hot Einstein to all of our friends and would recommend anyone thinking about hiring a wedding band to at the very least check them out live or reach out to the band. You will not be disappointed!

  • C

    Carol · Married on 09/26/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are two things I have heard the most over the past 6 months after getting married this past September. How did you find the beautiful little spot and "We LOVED your band! Are they local? I want to recommend them. They are seriously the best wedding band I have ever experienced". Let's face it, at 39 I have also experienced many different music selections for a wedding. I am so happy I found the Hot Einsteins to play our wedding. We have many DJ friends and my husband initially wanted a DJ. I never had the white dress dream or any fairytale vision. I did think If I did ever get married the music and the dancing would be something very important to me. Matt and the Hot Einsteins delivered on all levels. Huge repertoire, amazing vocals, learned a few special requests, got everyone dancing the entire reception and were fun and easy to work with. You found your band! Now go cuddle with your loved one and take the rest of the night off.

  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/21/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Other than who I married, and where we got married, hiring Hot Einstein was the best decision we made. We were debating between a DJ and live music, and we are so thankful that Hot Einstein won that debate. They were easy to work with, helpful, funny, and amazing performers. They learned songs upon request (including a Metallica song for my husband), had a good range of music, and had people dancing all night. We loved the music, but were also happy to hear that our guests also enjoyed Hot Einstein.

    We corresponded with Matt, who always replied promptly. I really felt like we were in good hands as they know what they are doing. They were also helpful with figuring out cocktail music, and stepped up as MC when necessary. Overall, they are top of the line and we were so happy to have talented musicians who enjoy what they do.

  • M

    Megan · Married on 05/10/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We initially heard about Hot Einstein from a coworker, whose daughter had had them at her wedding, and then from a friend, who had hired them for a corporate event. With two enthusiastic endorsements, we still took the job of selecting a band very seriously; we visited one of their performances to check them out, and we were sold.

    Matt, who plays the keyboard and interfaces with clients, is a TOTAL GEM. He met with us over a beer to discuss what we wanted. When we decided on a first dance, the band learned the song. We got to know Matt fairly well over the course of wedding planning, and eventually hired him to also play keyboard for the ceremony processional. Matt understood how important our wedding day was to the two of us, and took great care in helping us set the right vibe.

    We danced and danced at our wedding. Hot Einstein's music appeals to many generations, and this got a lot of people to boogie. Many thanks to all the members of Hot Einstein for a great night on the dance floor!

  • O

    Olivia · Married on 11/09/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We highly, highly recommend the band Hot Einstein! They played at our wedding in November this year, and they were fantastic! Hot Einstein traveled from the Bay Area to Santa Barbara for our wedding.

    They were very organized and extremely helpful in planning an amazing event. Matt, the band leader, was wonderful to work with and helped choose our music selection, including our first dance. Our other vendors also expressed how great they are to work with and what a great wedding band they are.

    All our of guests raved about the music and danced all night. But most importantly, Matt also helped me surprise my husband by allowing me to sing with them! It was incredibly memorable for everyone. It was a spectacular wedding, made particularly fabulous by Hot Einstein.

  • A

    Andrew · Married on 08/10/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Hot Einstein play our wedding in August and they were fantastic. They were really flexible with our schedule during the whole day and Matt was really responsive to all questions I had leading up to the event. They learned two songs for us for our first dance and father/daughter dance. They are all such good musicians and had the dance floor going all night long. Closed with The Weight and American Girl- it was awesome. Couldn't have been happier with them!

  • J

    Jean · Married on 07/20/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt and his band Hot Einstein were one of the best parts of my wedding. I booked the band before anything else, within 2 months of getting engaged! I heard about them from a good friend because they had played at her brother and sister's weddings. Over the next year of planning, Matt was extremely responsive and professional by email, always offering help and words of encouragement during the process. The band learned new songs for the first dance, father/daughter and mother/son, and they pulled them off terrifically. They were able to read the crowd during the night and changed their playlist accordingly. Our guests were half Irish, which means they usually prefer to hang out at the bar. But Hot Einstein kept the dance floor packed. Our night would not have been nearly as amazing if Matt and Hot Einstein weren't there. If you're looking for real music from a real band, these are your guys.

  • R

    Ruth · Married on 06/29/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hot Einstein was the best part of our wedding, hands down.*

    We'd seen them play a couple times in Oakland, and were always impressed. A friend suggested I call them up, but after having seem them perform (these guys are legit performers, with excellent original material) I was worried they wouldn't even want to bother with clunky weddings. I'm so glad I was wrong.

    Matt was a dream to work with. I initially requested Styx's Come Sail Away and Led Zeppelin's Over the Hills and Far Away. No problem. Then I asked to see their whole catalog so I could hand pick my favorite songs. Then, maybe two weeks before the wedding, I requested Daft Punk's Get Lucky. Every time, Matt responded super quickly, and accommodated all of our requests.

    We also had some weirdness on our end with a really tight schedule. Again, Matt and the band were awesome, communicated clearly, and put us at ease.

    Basically, of all the hectic stuff happening, my husband and I went in 100% certain that if nothing else, the music would be awesome.

    And how it did go? SO UTTERLY FANTASTICALLY WELL. Hot Einstein rocked it. The best part of the day was halfway through Come Sail Away when the tempo picked up and all our friends joined us on the dancefloor. Then it was just another two hours of David Bowie, Talking Heads, and Zeppelin. I'm pretty sure they went 5-6 songs over, just because everyone was just having such a fantastic time. They closed it out with an original arrangement of Get Lucky for their instruments, and just absolutely nailed it.

    I don't have the words to heap enough praise on these guys. Several times on the honeymoon, Josh and I mused about future excuses to pay these guys to put on a show. If only. We're dedicated Hot Einstein devotees now.

    *Technically second after marrying my husband, but going into the whole thing that looked more certain.

  • C

    claire · Married on 04/08/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Hot Einstein for our wedding in april 2013 in Berkeley. Right from the start Matt was willing to work with us to meet our budget and time frame, answering emails promptly. The band were happy to learn our first dance request and even added new songs to their repertoire for our British guests.

    Hot Einstein kept the dancefloor filled all night and since the wedding we have had many compliments on what a great band they were.

    If you aren't sure, go and check them out at their monthly gig in oakland - we took some friends last year when we were looking for a wedding band and it was a great night!

  • A

    ashley · Married on 12/31/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hot Einstein was amazing! They went out of their way to learn our wedding song - Ray LaMontagne's You Are The Best Thing and also BOTH of our Father-Daughter dances! A great thing about them is the music sounds great in either setting; inside dancing or outside under the heat lamps and stars talking with family! They had everyone up on the dance floor at one point or another. Our wedding was on New Year's Eve and they ended the evening with their own funky rendition of Auld Lang Syne - it was a highlight of our evening!
    If i were to give any negativity, it would have to be that their song list does not encompass any of today's hits - which are fun to dance to. However, we were able to mitigate that during their set break with an iPod of some dance tunes, which turned the beautiful Brazilian Room into a mini dance club.
    Hot Einstein was easy to work with, has amazing vocals and musical talent and will be worth your money!

  • R

    Rachael · Married on 09/22/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was already a big fan of Hot Einstein before our wedding. They are a super-talented group of musicians that are among the best the Bay Area has to offer. I am particularly a huge fan of one of their vocalists, Karyn Paige. They were super-responsive and really easy to work with, They asked for my input on song selection, and were able to accommodate my requests for everything from Prince to Hava Nagila! They were completely fantastic and all of my guests had a blast. One of my favorite songs is a Hot Einstein original, written by Matt Berkeley: "You Know I'll Always Love You." We chose the song for our first dance, and even choreographed a little dance to it. They truly provided an outstanding performance, and made the event unforgettable!

  • J

    Julia · Married on 07/28/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hot Einstein ROCKED. The dance floor was packed the whole night I never wanted to leave! Dealing with Matt was always easy and couldn't be more professional. They were extremely flexible, even when dealing with our other vendors and coordinating setup times and other details. Music is very important to us and our friends and family, and we saw this as a priority when planning our wedding. I was relieved when I realized this immensely important factor was also going to be the easiest aspect to arrange! Every member of Hot Einstein was incredibly talented and together they really brought down the house. Their range of songs was great, and they were even flexible on the fly when I asked for the father daughter dance to be abbreviated since my dad hurt his foot the day before. Anyhow, pick Hot Einstein - you won't be sorry. The last song, Tom Petty's American Girl, actually ended with an epic group hug of 50 people on the dance floor. Enough said.

  • User1582438 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hot Einstein played our wedding last weekend and was FANTASTIC. We were looking for a band that could play classic funk and soul songs including Aretha Franklin, James Brown, Steely Dan, Michael Jackson, Ray Charles, Stevie Wonder, Jackie Wilson, Carole King, etc. After researching dozens of bands based everywhere from San Francisco to LA, I decided to hire Hot Einstein, even though they had to come down to Ojai from the Bay Area. It was the best decision we made for the wedding. No matter where you are having your wedding, I would highly recommend this band. Here are a few bullets that might help you make your decision:
    **Matt Berkeley, the band leader, was professional and kept in consistent communication with me for the months leading up to the wedding.
    **They were able to grow the band to an 8-person funk/soul ensemble with horn section, bass, guitar, keyboards, drum kit, and 2 lead vocalists, making for an incredible performance.
    **They were willing to drive down from SF to Ojai for the show, and put in extra work to find lodging accommodations that made it affordable for their trip.
    **All the band members are INCREDIBLE musicians, and also smart, interesting and fun people to have around.
    **They gave me and my wife an extensive list of cover songs to choose from covering a wide range of styles and eras. They were even able to add a few of our favorite songs that weren't on the original list!
    **The band learned our first dance song, Frank Sinatra's "The Best is Yet to Come" and played it perfectly. We had choreographed a dance to the Sinatra tune, and it was awesome to have it re-created with the same tempo and accents. Also, on the spot, Matt was able to end the song right on our finishing dip move, making it seem like we had rehearsed for weeks.
    **Most importantly: the band had the ENTIRE wedding party dancing all night! My wife's 80 year-old grandmother even ditched her cane and danced for some of her favorite Michael Jackson songs.
    **Cost-wise, I feel we got an incredible value. It can be a significant expense to hire a good band, and Hot Einstein was far and away worth every penny. We even gave them a big tip because they rocked it beyond our expectations.

    I can't say enough good things about Hot Einstein. Hire them! If you want to hear more about them by phone, I told Matt Berkeley he could give out my number as a reference.

  • A

    Alan · Married on 10/29/2011

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I watched several bands play before we found, and immediately decided on, Hot Einstein. We were looking for solid musicians, who would perform something a little more original than the standard 70's-through-today top-40 hits.

    Hot Einstein delivered. The band is exceptional. The singers were soulful and the musicians were tight. I am writing this more than a month after my wedding passed, and I still have friends telling me how much they enjoyed the band.

    I met with Matt (the band leader) in the weeks leading up to my wedding. I reviewed their song list before meeting with him and asked him if the band could bring along some additional Stevie Wonder and Beatles songs that were not on their list. They did, and blew me away with their performance. They even brought along a trumpet player to perform some of the songs, much to my surprise, in response to an off-hand comment I made to Matt about how much I loved horns in rock bands.

    They accommodated my requests, and were very responsive in the weeks leading up to the wedding. They exceeded my hopes and expectations by a long shot, and set the tone for a fun-filled party that everyone loved.

    I highly recommend Hot Einstein for your wedding if you are looking for an exciting, crowd-pleasing band.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review