Skip to main content
Weddings

Horseshoe Bay Resort Reviews

Horseshoe Bay Resort

Horseshoe Bay Resort

Horseshoe Bay, TX
4.0 out of 5 rating, 26 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.0 out of 5 rating
26 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    3.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    3.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.2 out of 5 rating
79% Recommended by couples

Awards

26

4 User photos

  • E
    Erin Sent on 12/11/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my wedding ceremony and wedding reception at Horseshoe Bay Resort in early November 2015. As my now-husband and I don't live right nearby the resort, we relied on email and phone communication for much of the planning process, and our coordinator Paige Herbert, was phenomenal! She always kept me in the loop and did whatever was necessary to make me feel at ease with all decisions made. I had a lot of questions and she was always patient, kind and more-than-willing to help. The week before our wedding, a nasty weather forecast threatened our entirely outdoor event, and Paige worked with me on back-up plans at-length until I was fully satisfied and would have been fine had it been outside or inside. Day-of, Paige was a rock star. She was incredibly attentive and included me in every decision and change of plan that became necessary. We ended up having our ceremony outdoors on the beach and our reception inside the Yacht Club Ballroom. The entire staff really went above and beyond to make our back-up space beautiful. I truly appreciate the care, effort and attentiveness that was put in. All my guests raved about everything from the venue to the food and we're so pleased. Horseshoe Bay is a gorgeous resort that boasts so many different venues for anyone's big day - both indoor and outdoor. I'm truly grateful to have had my wedding there.
  • User2403606 Sent on 11/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had nearly 150 guests from all over the U.S. and Ireland attending a weekend filled with 7 different events - all held at Horseshoe Bay Resort. You can gauge the service level but everything that went right, but I think a better gauge is the staff's reaction when everything goes wrong. In this case, many of these 7 events were to be held outside (which we had planned down to the minute detail for over a year). When torrential rain and flooding nixed that plan, we collectively moved into over-drive to help give my daughter the wedding of her dreams. I can truly say that Rachel Harris and her colleague Rachel the banquet manager did everything possible to make that happen. I am a very particular MOB and had very specific requests. They continued to work with me on alternatives until I was satisfied. All my special requests were filled. The attitude was to say "yes" or "let's figure out how we can make that happen" instead of "no." Our guests had a fabulous time and my daughter told me the next day that "rain or shine - it still exceeded her dreams." As a mother that is all you ever want to hear. The biggest issue we had was getting people to leave at the end of each of the events. I would say that is a very good problem to have. I cannot thank the two Rachels enough for the personal service they provided and for helping to make this special weekend filled with memories we will cherish forever.
  • D
    Diane Sent on 04/07/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The team there was great, they made the planning easy. Very responsive. It was a beautiful experience!!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • User1104445 Sent on 03/06/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our rehearsal dinner at the Marriott and the food and service is phenomenal!! They did an excellent job! They also helped with shuttling our guests between the hotel, the church at horseshoe bay, and quail point. They were very professional and went above and beyond to help make our weekend special.
  • H
    Heather Sent on 06/27/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff at the HSB Resort were fabulous! They took care of every detail, which made my wedding day relaxing!
  • K
    Katherine Sent on 03/21/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    LOVE this venue! We had our ceremony outside on the Yacht Club Lawn (right on Lake LBJ) and it was so beautiful! We had to move our reception inside due to cold temps (which I was originally bummed about), but it ended up being lovely indoors. The staff was courteous & attentive and the food was AMAZING. Everyone was raving about it! Totally exceeded our expectations. Our wedding coordinator, Jill, was wonderful to work with. She was extremely organized and kept me calm throughout the entire planning process and, most importantly, on the actual wedding day. I can't say enough nice things about both Horseshoe Bay Resort and our coordinator. I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone!
  • Ashley
    Ashley Sent on 11/04/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything at the Horseshoe Bay Marriott was amazing! Our friends & family were there from out of town and had plenty of time to experience the resort - they all raved about the fun activities and the quality of service from the staff. The concierge recommended a winery for our bridesmaids outing the day before the wedding, and it was a great experience for everybody. We had our ceremony at the Yacht Club Lawn and Reception in the YC Ballroom. There were two other weddings going on the same night, but we never crossed paths and had no disruptions or confusion thanks to the resort staff. Many of our guests said that the food at our reception was the best they'd ever had at a wedding! During our reception, many different staff members approached us to check in and make sure everything was going well. They arranged for sparklers & a "getaway car" at the end of the night, and we received special amenities in our room during our three nights there. EVERYONE at the resort was fabulous and we are so happy that we chose such an amazing location for our wedding!
  • M
    Maria Sent on 06/05/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Gracious coordinators and staff along with the beautiful venues will make your day perfect. My husband and I will be return for our anniversary.
  • Z
    Kristin Sent on 12/07/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff at Horseshoe Bay were extremely helpful. They had everything planned out which made it a stress free day for me.
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 07/21/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We rented one of the sites that Horseshoe Bay offers. Our wedding was videotaped with a beautiful waterfall in the background. This site is at hole #14 on the golf course and our wedding was at sunset so there were no golfers,
    only us and the minister.
  • C
    Christopher Sent on 01/13/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an overall terrific experience.
  • K
    Kellye Sent on 01/12/2009
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Horseshoe Bay was top notch to work with. They helped me plan my stay and reception for my wedding. My reception was on the yacht and he personnel could not have been more knowledgeable or fun. The day was better than I imagined. Also, the food was plentiful and awesome. The recommendations for cakes, florists were top notch as well.

    The only small glitch that I encountered was booking "The Waters" It took a couple of months for someone to get with me to confirm the rooms. They turned out to be a perfect choice for me and my guests. I would recommend this resort to everyone!
  • M
    Marina Sent on 11/26/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!

    I had a magical wedding at Horseshoe Bay, and multiple friends told me that it was the best wedding they had ever been to. They made my husband and I feel like superstars. Vildan was absolutely incredible in helping with the planning process, and everything went extremely smoothly on the day-of because of her. Every single detail was just perfect. She was extremely accommodating, responsive to emails, and met all of our random requests (and wed had a TON of random requests...). Jessica also helped coordinate everything, and was extremely on top of it and detail oriented (even while on maternity leave -- that's dedication!) The venue is gorgeous, was recently renovated, and is full of fun activities for guests. The food, accommodations, ballroom, and ceremony location were excellent. My only piece of constructive feedback was that it was difficult for many guests to book their rooms. The booking process was confusing. Different front desk staff would pick up the phone and would be confused about our wedding discounted price and whether we had rooms available on our room block. Also -- online booking seemed to be cheaper in many instances than booking over the phone with our discounted price. I believe HSB is currently working on this. Overall, I was over the moon and SO glad I booked at Horseshoe Bay. It's a little pricey, but absolutely worth it. It was the best day of my life.
  • Lindsay
    Lindsay Sent on 09/17/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our video at HSB: https://vimeo.com/136157158

    Okay - it's expensive - but goodness gracious it is GORGEOUS! They have everything available that you need & as they told us over & over "they can make anything happen!" The grounds are incredible, the hotel is beautiful & the views are amazing. We chose the Magnolia Lawn (the most $$, but most beautiful ceremony location - it was an added $2.5k) & Lakeside Grill/Azalea Lawn for our reception (min. $10k in food/beverage expense required, this does not include sales tax/add ons). The FOOD IS OUTSTANDING! People walked away saying the beef medallions was the best piece of meat they have ever eaten.

    We planned an outdoor reception/ceremony for 2 years. Guess what...it POURED on our wedding day & we had to move everything inside. Our coordinator from the resort knew how much I didn't want the ceremony moved inside to the Travertine Conference room (great for a conference room, not very pretty for a wedding ceremony). We waited until around noon the day of (Ceremony started at 6:30pm) to make the decision to bring it inside (because I waited - we were charged an extra $500 for delaying the move - which is fine). But, thank goodness we had chosen Lakeside grill for our reception & had only 80 guests b/c the coordinator was able to squeeze us under the covered patio of the Lakeside Grill! This made everything thing worth it.

    We chose to add string lights (w/30% tax about $1000+) over the reception spot. We didn't use the lights because of the rain, but we were still charged because we committed to it - same goes for the ceremony spot we paid an extra $2500 for. So know when it is on the contract - you are committed whether it happens or not! It was still SO worth it though!

    The only thing about HSB resort - you are paying an added 22% hotel tax + the 8% sales tax on every thing (other than alcohol - on alcohol you only pay the 8%)...the expenses add up quickly! It was beautiful & they made it so EASY/stress-free!
  • A
    Amanda Sent on 12/03/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is an absolute stunning location for a wedding. Our wedding was a fairytale come true! The landscaping and location is gorgeous. The staff working the event were professional and timely.
  • C
    Cj Sent on 01/14/2009
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The service was fantastic, the food was delicious and the guests loved the hotel rooms and amenities. Beautiful!
  • Lizzie
    Lizzie Sent on 12/07/2017
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We knew we wanted to have our wedding at HSB after our first visit. The venue is gorgeous and very accommodating. It felt like a destination wedding and was very intimate!
  • E
    Erin Sent on 08/31/2008
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The location was beautiful, and the staff was exceptionally helpful. Sandra, the coordinator was incredibly responsive, organized and helpful. The rest of the staff was also great. The food was better than average. My ceremony was outside on the Lakeside Lawn, and the reception was inside the Yacht Club. Although my reception was originally supposed to be outside, the possibility of rain forced us to move it inside. However, the staff worked overtime to make sure I would be able to have my dream ceremony outside by the lake, which I did! They also ran my shuttle from the Marriott to the venue, which ran perfectly without complaint.
  • K
    Katherine Sent on 01/12/2009
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Horseshoe Bay was amazing. They took care of all the little details a normal bride would have to worry about herself!
  • J
    Janlyn Sent on 01/15/2009
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The perfect scenario for a small, intimate wedding. The beautiful setting combined with the high level of service provided by the staff make Horseshoe Bay Resort a great value. They handle everything for you and really make you feel special on your wedding day.
  • User2686278 Sent on 07/14/2016
    1.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    After visiting a few places we decided to choose HSB for a November wedding. Shelley, was our point of contact. She was slow full with her response and was always out of the office when we needed to speak with her. I brought this to her attention at the beginning of signing she assured me things would change. Being we loved the venue we continued with them. However, now it's just a few months before the wedding and we're expecting a new addition to our family so we've decided to forego the wedding. We've paid more than half the contract and, HSB expects us to pay up until September, even though we are canceling early July. Also keep in mind she was not available the week we reached out to her to let her know our change of plans. My suggestion is save yourself the trouble. Go with Vintage Villas or Lakeway if you'd like a wedding on the water, or even Terra Dorna (Tom and Dory are very pleasant) for a picturesque scene. Last my in laws were in charge of the rehearsal dinner they went to HSB to speak with Shelley, whom of course was not available, she never reached out to them, and when they went to book their hotel rooms, they received only a $5 discount, instead of the price outlined in the contract. Overall 2 thumbs down and we are very unhappy with the quality of service received.
  • J
    Jillien Sent on 03/30/2011
    1.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    AWFUL experience, I still cry when I see other weddings on TV or hear about them because of the horrible experience I had, thanks to Horseshoe Bay. Our wedding planner that they provided did not care at all about us... she was incognito for about 2 weeks before the wedding when I had the important last minute questions because of a family incident which is fine, but she NEVER put anyone else in charge. Our "rehearsal" she basically said "ok meet here tomorrow at this time, and I will be available at this time." We had to stay and practice on our own. The time that she said she would be available was a lie, we couldn't get a hold of her to get a place to hang our dresses or anything. She FINALLY showed up late and asked the girls, after their makeup and hair was done, to help her. Then made me go out and show her the line up again because she lost the paper. So I was not able to get my portraits in time...

    Everything had to be on an EXACT schedule, to the point where the photographer missed our cake cutting because it had to be done to the second. I broke my toe, yes with x-rays, because they had a metal umbrella stand (4 to be exact) in an unlit area on the patio and I hit it while going to the bathroom, 100% sober.

    PLEASE be careful if you decide to have your wedding here... beautiful but not worth the heartache and pain.
  • Ashley
    Ashley H. Sent on 08/29/2021
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue - worst wedding experience!

    Wanted to start off by saying we have been trying to get in contact with HSBR GM for the 4 months following our wedding to try to have them make things right, but they don’t care and made that extremely clear. I was so excited to have my wedding at one of the most beautiful resorts in Texas! But almost immediately after signing our contract, we noticed a change in the way they treated us. Rachel (who is no longer there) was in charge of doing our contract and basically lied about everything we were able to do, and when we got switched over to Shelly (who is also no longer there) we were extremely disappointed. They completely ignored us until MAYBE a month out from the wedding. Then about a week out from the wedding, they DOUBLE BOOKED multiple villas of ours that we booked a year+ in advance and went around asking people not to come that weekend in order for us to get a place to stay for our WEDDING. On the wedding day, Shelly who was suppose to be there helping and making sure we had everything, was not to be found. No one could get a hold of her, not even her own workers. My wedding planner was astounded at how poorly we were treated. The ONLY time we ended up seeing Shelly that night was when she was touring another couple around our wedding!! They didn’t serve passed wine at dinner, AND THEY CLOSED OUR BAR 45 MINS EARLY! We paid for these services and it was very embarrassing for us in front of our guests. On top of all that, when we were checking out at the end of the weekend, we walked into our room after breakfast to find the maids in there with my wedding dress on the cart along with our entire card box filled with thousands of dollars from the night before. I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND HSBR TO ANYONE EVER AGAIN!! They made our wedding process the most stressful situation ever, and robbed us of not only thousands of dollars of items they did not deliver on our wedding day, but of what could have been our most perfect day. If I did not have my wedding planner and her staff, our wedding most likely would not have happened and I am externally grateful for them! PLEASE DO YOURSELF A FAVOR, AND DO NOT BOOK YOUR WEDDING HERE! It is a breathtaking venue, but they do not care about you after they have received the tens of thousands of dollars you pay. Very expensive place, for almost nothing in return!! I will continue to urge every person who attended my wedding to write a review on their experiences as well, since many were unhappy with their stays as well. 😤😢
  • B
    Barbara Sent on 12/31/2020
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Did not honor contract

    The venue asked use to move our wedding time to accommodate another wedding that had to be rescheduled because of COVID. We agreed with a reduced rate. They did not honor the adjusted rate and provided no services. Everything was setup to accommodate the other wedding. They charged us the full rent with no services. They have been promising credits for three months. Do not book with this venue. They seem to be struggling financially. Our wedding party and guest lost their rooms the night before due to a power outage. They did a little to accommodate anyone. Beautiful venue very disappointing service. Don’t risk your money!

    Horseshoe Bay Resort's reply:

    I am so sorry to hear about your experience and would love the opportunity to speak with you to gain more information. We pride ourselves on providing amazing customer service and guests encountering anything less is not acceptable.

    Please reach out to me directly so I may assist with a resolution.

    Best regards,

    Sara O'Day
    Associate Director of Sales
    Office | 830.598.3912
    Email | soday@hsbresort.com

  • Vicki
    Vicki Sent on 08/21/2017
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    Our event coordinator would take forever to get back to us with questions we had. We had to call transportation directly to get answers. They quoted us a less price than she gave us and she basically told me it is what it is. The worst part was when she didn't show up to the rehearsal. I called and she never answered, so we started it without her. Afterwards, she called and told me she was at the venue. Long story short, I was misinformed of the ceremony venue name. She told me that I was at the wrong venue and if I wanted to switch it I would have to pay an additional amount. This was the night before the wedding!!! Needless to say, I went Bridezilla on her!!! Not a good experience. I will say that the room blocks went very smoothly and I was responded to very quickly with any questions.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message