Skip to main content
Weddings

Holmes Catering and Events Reviews

Holmes Catering and Events

Holmes Catering and Events

Spartanburg, SC
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 151 Reviews
View more information

151 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 151
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

8 User photos

  • Jasmine
    Jasmine B. Married on 11/13/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful, very professional

    Staff was very pleasant, Sarah was absolutely amazing to work with my wedding day was wonderful, food was delicious.

    Holmes Catering and Events's reply:

    We were honored to be a party of your special day! You were a joy to work with and I wish you both all the best!
  • Brooke
    Brooke B. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Whole Package

    Holmes Catering was a pleasure to work with leading up to our wedding and on the big day. While choosing a caterer, we were able to go to one of Holme's group tastings and were happy that the food at our wedding was high quality like it was at the tasting. The food options were vast, and the quality truly was awesome and not like 'typical' catering that tends to include overcooked meat, and bland sides.

    During the planning process, Holmes Catering made it easy to see how much we would spend on food, which helped with our budgeting process. It was also very convenient that we were able to directly rent our linens from them as they took care of bringing them, setting them up, and cleaning them. On the day of, their staff was on top of it despite issues we had with our venue/lack of communication from the venue to the caterers. The staff members were attentive, professional, and kind. My husband and I were served at our table while guests went through the line, and they made sure to provide a to go box for us to take at the end of the day.

    I'm so grateful we worked with Holmes!
  • Krystle
    Krystle Married on 04/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Loved the food!

    Everything was great, people were complimenting the food all night. Staff was very helpful and attentive. We appreciate all you guys did for us.

    Holmes Catering and Events's reply:

    Krystle,

    Thank you for choosing us to be a part of your special day. I am glad that you were pleased with everything. Our staff said that they received a lot of compliments throughout the evening on the food.
    It was a pleasure working with you and I wish you both all the best!
  • Regina
    Regina H. Married on 12/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best food ever!

    Holmes Catering is the best food I’ve had in a long time. Everything was good and beautiful.
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey H. Married on 11/28/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Food and Service

    We used this company with Lion's Gate Manor as our venue. They were quick to respond and very easy to work with. You meet with them in the beginning to choose linens, place settings, etc. We rented centerpieces and linens with them and it was such a great decision. Anything you rent through them, they setup and also take down. It made cleanup at the end of the night so much easier! You talk with them again a few weeks prior to the wedding to confirm menu and other selections. The food is absolutely fantastic and we received many compliments.

    Holmes Catering and Events's reply:

    Thank you for trusting us with your special day. Our staff received many compliments from your guests but it always great to know that the bride and groom were very pleased. You were a joy to work with and I wish you and Derek all the best.
  • Hannelore
    Hannelore R. Married on 05/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic food and service

    We met with Sarah initially, and she was so helpful in working with our budget and vision to create a wedding menu that was perfect for us! Throughout wedding planning, Sarah was very easy to get in touch with, and we were able to make changes to our menu after attending the tasting. The company was so professional and wonderful making everything happen on our wedding day! And wow, the chicken in Jack Daniels cream sauce was an absolute HIT with us and our guests!
  • Megan
    Megan T. Married on 05/23/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious food

    All our guests were raving about the delicious food. We are still hearing comments about how great it was, even from our most “hard to please” friends. We had creamy chicken with spinach and tomatoes, mashed potato bar, salad, and green beans. The serving staff was professional and quick to help any of our guests. The serving table was beautifully designed and Holmes made sure it fit well with the theme I had planned. Overall, it was fantastic. I would highly recommend Holmes Catering for any event, big or small.

    Holmes Catering and Events's reply:

    We are so happy that you were pleased with Holmes Catering and Events. Thank you for choosing us to be a special part of your day!

  • J
    Janet R. Married on 02/22/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Experience

    I can’t express how pleased I was with the service provided by Tim Holmes Catering. The food was outstanding and the service was professional. The staff was accommodating and made my guests their top priority.

    Holmes Catering and Events's reply:

    Janet,

    I am so glad that you were pleased not only with our food but also with our service. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
  • Meg R
    Meg Married on 12/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend!

    The food was absolutely delicious, great presentation and the staff was awesome! They were so easy to work with and everyone loved the food. They were very organized and helped to make our day run very smoothly. Great selection and we felt like it was very reasonable for the quality of food for the price. Would definitely recommend!

    Holmes Catering and Events's reply:

    We are so happy to hear that you were pleased with everything. Thank you for choosing us to be a part of your special day!
  • Erin
    Erin Married on 11/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful and easy experience!

    I loved how flexible the menu was and how budget-conscious they were. You could easily mix and match menus, which allowed us to create the perfect menu for our night! The team was great to work with, and made the experience very enjoyable.

    Holmes Catering and Events's reply:

    Erin,
    Thank you for the opportunity to help you create the perfect menu for your night! We are so glad you found the experience enjoyable and truly appreciate you giving us feedback.
    Tim Holmes and Staff
  • Marissa
    Marissa L. Married on 11/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best of the best!

    Holmes Catering is simply the best, no question. The staff has the upmost respect for their clients. They are dedicated to making sure that your wedding day is exactly what you dream of. If you are a Holmes Catering bride, you are apart of their family. I enjoyed every step of planning my dream wedding with Tim and Sarah. The process is smooth, and the customer service is topnotch. 10/10 recommend Holmes Catering!

    Holmes Catering and Events's reply:

    I am so glad to hear that we made your wedding day exactly why you dreamed of. We enjoyed working with you every step of the way.
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    You won't be disappointed! Delicious!

    Tim Holmes and his crew are very professional and reasonable. They go out of their way to make sure that your day is everything that you want it to be! So thankful I chose him! THE FOOD WAS AMAZING! GUEST ARE STILL BRAGGING ABOUT IT!
  • L
    Linda Married on 06/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Excellent food in taste and quantity; wonderfully hospitable owner and staff
  • A
    Ansley Married on 06/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Phenomenal Team

    Holmes made our wedding perfect! From decor to food and drinks, they did it all. Our guests were so pleased with the selection of food and the professionalism of the staff. Everyone loved the Mac & Cheese Bar!! We would absolutely use Holmes again in the future. Not only was the food delicious, everyone there was so easy to work with and they all took great care of us!

    Holmes Catering and Events's reply:

    Ansley,
    I am so glad we helped make your wedding perfect! You and Zach were so much fun to work with and we really appreciate that you took the time to review us.
    Tim Holmes and Staff
  • V
    Valentina Married on 05/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great service. Great food! Everyone was very pleased!
  • T
    Trudy Married on 12/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our Wedding and reception was yesterday 12-30-17 Lions Gate Manor n Spartanburg! Holme Catering did a superb job! We cannot say enough about how beautiful everything from the good food to the spectacular service provided by them . The food was delicious! There decor was more than I ever dreamed ! Every detail was met with great planning ! The value was awesome! Would highly use them and recommend them ! Tim Holmes Catering!!! 5 Stars !! Trudy and Allen
  • Kayla
    Kayla Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    HOLMES CATERING IS “THE ABSOLUTE BEST” CATERER YOU COULD CHOOSE! Hands down, Tim Holmes provides the best food, the best presentation, the best service possible, all at reasonable prices. Tim, as well as everyone on his staff, are a joy to work with! We are so glad we chose Holmes Catering to do our daughter’s reception & have absolutely no regrets, only tons of compliments from our guests who could not say enough about their work! The guest favorites were the beef tenderloin, shrimp and grits, sausage skewers and Mediterranean style antipasti salad. The lavish silver décor was elegant & decadent!
    Holmes catering takes pride in doing things with excellence and integrity & were such a blessing to our family at every turn! Tim was instrumental in navigating us through the wedding process & his expertise was invaluable in making the right food choices, the best ideas for décor for our particular venue, & the right decisions regarding what type & number of rentals we needed. Their warehouse is filled with options for décor styles of every kind to choose from. It was WONDERFUL to be able to have one vendor for both the food service & the rentals & not have to try to coordinate one more vendor into such a busy time. Tim went above & beyond expectations to make our daughter’s special day be all it could be! We NEVER worried about them not upholding their end & in fact Tim personally stepped up to help in a big way, without a word of complaint when another vendor had to leave un-expectantly at a critical time in our reception. The guests never knew there was an issue nor did he disrupt our celebration with it, he just took care of it. They are professional, knowledgeable, & patient as well as a calming presence in an industry filled with many variables & much stress. They always respond to emails/calls in a timely manner & simply could not have done a better job for us! They have an OUTSTANDING REPUTATION in the catering industry and now I know it is WELL DESERVED!
  • C
    Corinne Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The entire wedding process with Holmes Catering was fantastic! Communication was always open and emails were always answered promptly. The staff was nice and willing to help you get exactly what you wanted for your big day! You are able to go to tastings to help you better pick the food out that you'd want for your event. The food is AMAZING! Everything tasted great and I got SO many compliments on the food. Seriously everyone told me that the food was fantastic! The entire serving staff was very sweet and worked very hard to provide good service to all of our guests. The presentation of the food was beautiful as well. If you want food that tastes amazing and at a reasonable price - Holmes Catering is your go to!
  • C
    Chelsea Married on 07/31/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Customer Service

    This company was so easy to work with. They made changes up until a month before the wedding and worked within our budget. They gave us exactly what we wanted and more. My only regret is that I did not try the broccoli cheddar soup!

    Holmes Catering and Events's reply:

    Chelsea,
    Thank you for your kind words! I am so glad you found us easy to work with—we try to tailor each experience to the individual bride. We really appreciate you and wish you the best in the future!
    Tim Holmes and Staff
  • L
    Loretta Married on 07/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Holmes Catering is the BEST catering service in the country! The food at my wedding reception in July was delicious, and the presentation was absolutely beautiful! The flowers and other decorations Holmes Catering provided for reception room was exquistely displayed! I was extremely pleased with the service, the professionalism, as well asthe concern given my reception. Tim Holmes, and his wife Margi, and the most caring and accomodating people I have encountered in the catering business. I HIGHLY recommend Holmes Catering and The Lion's Gate Manor!
  • L
    Lisa Married on 06/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were awesome! Food was Great! Staff was wonderful to work with! From the first time we talked, they were helpful, patient & went above our expectations! Have recommended them many times since the wedding. We had more people RSVP than we expected, & Holmes didn't miss a beat in upping our order. During reception, staff was extremely helpful & professional.
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 06/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tim Holmes did an amazing job with our menu for our reception. When we met with him, he was willing to listen to our ideas and he also offered us unique, delicious options. Every wedding guest who I have talked to since has mentioned how amazing and delicious the food looked and tasted! Especially our cinnamon roll icing fountain, which even our wedding planner said she had never seen before. I would recommend Holmes Catering for any event you need!
  • B
    Bill Married on 06/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Incredible food, presentation and service. Our guests are still raving about our daughter's reception.

    A big thank you to the Tim Holmes team!
  • C
    Coral Married on 06/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tim and his staff were superb! They met all of our needs and more. They were so easy to work with. I would definitely recommend Tim Holmes Catering and the use of Lion's Gate Manor (our Venue) to any Bride and her family. Lion's Gate Manor is gorgeous! So many of our guest commented on the beauty of the Venue.
    After the wedding my daughter commented that this was the most amazing night of her life! I totally agree. Tim and your staff, thank you for making this happen for my daughter!! It was a totally magical evening.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 05/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Holmes catering for rehearsal dinner and reception. Everything was fantastic! From the professionalism of the team to the displays on the table, to the taste of the food...all was excellent. We couldn't have been more pleased! Thank you Holmes Catering for making our day special!