Holmes Catering and Events Reviews

134 | Inman, SC
See photos, pricing and details

134 Reviews for Holmes Catering and Events

Recommended by 95%

134
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7
134 Holmes Catering and Events Reviews
Sort by:
  • L

    Linda · Married on 06/01/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent food in taste and quantity; wonderfully hospitable owner and staff

  • V

    Valentina · Married on 05/17/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great service. Great food! Everyone was very pleased!

  • T

    Trudy · Married on 12/30/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding and reception was yesterday 12-30-17 Lions Gate Manor n Spartanburg! Holme Catering did a superb job! We cannot say enough about how beautiful everything from the good food to the spectacular service provided by them . The food was delicious! There decor was more than I ever dreamed ! Every detail was met with great planning ! The value was awesome! Would highly use them and recommend them ! Tim Holmes Catering!!! 5 Stars !! Trudy and Allen

  • Kayla

    Kayla · Married on 09/02/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    HOLMES CATERING IS “THE ABSOLUTE BEST” CATERER YOU COULD CHOOSE! Hands down, Tim Holmes provides the best food, the best presentation, the best service possible, all at reasonable prices. Tim, as well as everyone on his staff, are a joy to work with! We are so glad we chose Holmes Catering to do our daughter’s reception & have absolutely no regrets, only tons of compliments from our guests who could not say enough about their work! The guest favorites were the beef tenderloin, shrimp and grits, sausage skewers and Mediterranean style antipasti salad. The lavish silver décor was elegant & decadent!
    Holmes catering takes pride in doing things with excellence and integrity & were such a blessing to our family at every turn! Tim was instrumental in navigating us through the wedding process & his expertise was invaluable in making the right food choices, the best ideas for décor for our particular venue, & the right decisions regarding what type & number of rentals we needed. Their warehouse is filled with options for décor styles of every kind to choose from. It was WONDERFUL to be able to have one vendor for both the food service & the rentals & not have to try to coordinate one more vendor into such a busy time. Tim went above & beyond expectations to make our daughter’s special day be all it could be! We NEVER worried about them not upholding their end & in fact Tim personally stepped up to help in a big way, without a word of complaint when another vendor had to leave un-expectantly at a critical time in our reception. The guests never knew there was an issue nor did he disrupt our celebration with it, he just took care of it. They are professional, knowledgeable, & patient as well as a calming presence in an industry filled with many variables & much stress. They always respond to emails/calls in a timely manner & simply could not have done a better job for us! They have an OUTSTANDING REPUTATION in the catering industry and now I know it is WELL DESERVED!

  • C

    Corinne · Married on 08/05/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire wedding process with Holmes Catering was fantastic! Communication was always open and emails were always answered promptly. The staff was nice and willing to help you get exactly what you wanted for your big day! You are able to go to tastings to help you better pick the food out that you'd want for your event. The food is AMAZING! Everything tasted great and I got SO many compliments on the food. Seriously everyone told me that the food was fantastic! The entire serving staff was very sweet and worked very hard to provide good service to all of our guests. The presentation of the food was beautiful as well. If you want food that tastes amazing and at a reasonable price - Holmes Catering is your go to!

  • L

    Loretta · Married on 07/29/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Holmes Catering is the BEST catering service in the country! The food at my wedding reception in July was delicious, and the presentation was absolutely beautiful! The flowers and other decorations Holmes Catering provided for reception room was exquistely displayed! I was extremely pleased with the service, the professionalism, as well asthe concern given my reception. Tim Holmes, and his wife Margi, and the most caring and accomodating people I have encountered in the catering business. I HIGHLY recommend Holmes Catering and The Lion's Gate Manor!

  • B

    Bill · Married on 06/23/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible food, presentation and service. Our guests are still raving about our daughter's reception.

    A big thank you to the Tim Holmes team!

  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 06/23/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tim Holmes did an amazing job with our menu for our reception. When we met with him, he was willing to listen to our ideas and he also offered us unique, delicious options. Every wedding guest who I have talked to since has mentioned how amazing and delicious the food looked and tasted! Especially our cinnamon roll icing fountain, which even our wedding planner said she had never seen before. I would recommend Holmes Catering for any event you need!

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 06/23/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were awesome! Food was Great! Staff was wonderful to work with! From the first time we talked, they were helpful, patient & went above our expectations! Have recommended them many times since the wedding. We had more people RSVP than we expected, & Holmes didn't miss a beat in upping our order. During reception, staff was extremely helpful & professional.

  • C

    Coral · Married on 06/03/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tim and his staff were superb! They met all of our needs and more. They were so easy to work with. I would definitely recommend Tim Holmes Catering and the use of Lion's Gate Manor (our Venue) to any Bride and her family. Lion's Gate Manor is gorgeous! So many of our guest commented on the beauty of the Venue.
    After the wedding my daughter commented that this was the most amazing night of her life! I totally agree. Tim and your staff, thank you for making this happen for my daughter!! It was a totally magical evening.

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 05/21/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Holmes catering for rehearsal dinner and reception. Everything was fantastic! From the professionalism of the team to the displays on the table, to the taste of the food...all was excellent. We couldn't have been more pleased! Thank you Holmes Catering for making our day special!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/08/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food was our top priority for our wedding. We couldn't have been more thrilled with our choice. The planning process with Sarah was a breeze and she was beyond helpful in answering every little question I had throughout the year of planning. The food was exceptional (we are still getting compliments from guests!). But what really stood out to us was the service that was provided at our wedding. Our team of servers was unbelievably amazing. They went out of their way to make sure it was the best day ever, right down to boxing up some leftovers to send home with us. We couldn't recommend Holmes any more highly!

  • E

    Erica · Married on 10/15/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The very first thing my husband and I knew before we had made any other decisions about our wedding was that we wanted Tim Holmes Catering. He has the best reputation and food in the Upstate. We did a dinner buffet that included a salad, green beans, parmesan crusted chicken, peppercorn beef tenderloin, rolls, a mashed potato bar, buffalo chicken dip and spinach dip. The food was so amazing! The presentation of the food was perfect. They can make anything look beautiful! They made a special area for my husband, our parents and I to eat our dinner and not be interrupted. They catered to our every need making sure we were taken care of. Not only was the food and everything that was displayed perfect, the staff went above and beyond. They were all so professional and kind. They did all of the decorating and all of the clean up. My family and I did not have to worry about a single thing. They did anything we would ask of them. I'm so thankful for them and everything they did for us. If you are unsure whether or not they are for you, I can promise that they have so many different options and everything is so tasty! Check them out you'll thank yourself later!

  • T

    Tammi · Married on 07/23/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can't say enough good things about Tim Holmes Catering. Easy to work with and the food was incredible. Beef tenderloin was a hit. We didn't have to worry about decorating the food tables because they had decorations to match the decor including copper serving dishes! We also had awesome ice cream bar for a July wedding. Warehouses full of decor. Beautiful mirrored table for wedding cake, gigantic framed menu board and more. Loved it all.

  • User4988542 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food is great and all the extra caters that come along to help are fantastic! He is very professional and has a lot of extra decorations that you can used during your reception.

  • User6815483 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Plenty of food, everyone can go back for seconds. It tastes great and you get the most for your money. We used for rehearsal dinner and wedding reception.

  • K

    Kendal · Married on 05/21/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was amazing, and the staff was so nice. Love all of the beautiful decor that they bring with them. Very pleased.

  • User6770448 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We looked at multiple upstate caterers and chose Tim Holmes Catering because they beat everyone else on flexibility, cost, venue knowledge, and customer service. Our wedding was for 215 people and dozens came up to us afterwards praising the food (tenderloin was a favorite) and the service. We had two buffets and a couple stations. Each option was decorated in a style that matched our wedding theme and the venue. Maybe one of the biggest things that set THC from the rest is their vast WAREHOUSES full of decor. We didn't even need a separate rental company because we used all of their decorations for centerpieces, tablecloths, gift table, etc. It was also much easier to stick with one vendor for tablecloths, food, decor, etc instead of having to juggle multiple other vendors. We chose Tim Holmes Catering because the food tasted great and the price was right but what we got in return was a very knowledgeable staff, unparalleled resources, and more than we could have ever dreamed of.

  • User6710388 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Would highly recommend Holmes Catering for your wedding food! We had a wonderful experience planning our menu and the logistics with Sarah. She knows a lot about weddings and a lot about many venues in the Upstate which made it easy to ask questions. We booked a few appetizers for cocktail hour, a buffet for dinner, and had the team pick up and pass out Chick Fil A sandwiches as a late night snack. Wow! Service was wonderful. One woman in particular was extremely attentive to my husband and I--providing a few snacks after photos, having the salads pre-made ready at our sweetheart table, making us full plates so we didn't have to go through the line and could keep talking to guests, and cleaning up quickly. Our guests complimented the food countless times...it's of course all delicious! Be sure to check out their decor rentals. All the food tables were gorgeous and our place settings were perfect. 5 stars!

  • L

    Liz · Married on 03/12/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tim catered our daughter Jessie and her husband Westons wedding in March. We were his first wedding at Lions Gate. Everything was absolutely perfect! We were a bit concerned because there was lots of construction going on but everything came out just beautiful! The food was just delicious. Jess had spent a month in Florence and wanted a bit of that old world touch! It was just fantastic! We would definitely recommend not only Tims catering but Lions Gate is just a perfect spot for any party! Tim, God bless you for putting up with us!!! We were truly blessed to be the beginning of Lions Gate!!!

  • User5399428 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were the easiest to work with! Food was amazing and the decor was perfect!

  • User6582510 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Holmes catering has a wonderful menu selection that allows you to create your own unique menu. Everyone is very professional and very easy to work with. They offer a wide variety of tabletop accessories that will compliment any style.

  • L

    LaHoya · Married on 10/24/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tim Holmes Caterering was awesome. Sarah Kolb was wonderful to work with from our initial contact with her to the day before the wedding when we were still making requests. She was getting emails from both of us as we thought of questions and was always accomodating. My mother has Celiacs disease and her diet is very restrictive. They made sure she had dinner as well. The table settings and decor they provided were beautiful. The food was delicious. I was asking my daughter what flavor of cupcakes she and her husband tried and she said she didn't know if he tried any because he couldn't stop eating the pasta!!! The staff at our wedding could not have been better.

  • T

    Tori · Married on 08/29/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tim Holmes Catering is the best Catering business in the Upstate. You cant go wrong with choosing him as your caterer. The food is amazing and the way his group presents the meal with his decor is beautiful. I would for sure recommend this vendor to anyone looking for the best of the best!

  • A

    Allie · Married on 05/23/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married on May 23, 2015 and I am over the moon about Holmes Catering! We had the Brazilian buffet and it was incredible (I would highly recommend it)! People are still raving about how awesome our food was! Tim and Sarah were both at our wedding and they went above and beyond to make sure my husband and I, and both of our parents had everything we needed food wise. The guest/server ratio was perfect and the staff was extremely professional and so kind.
    Allie Lanier

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review