Hodell's Cake Shop Reviews

35 | Saint Clair Shores, MI
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for Hodell's Cake Shop

Recommended by 99%

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 02/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I booked our wedding cake from Hodell's and could not have been happier. We chose a 4 tier cake with different flavors for each tier and we got exactly what we expected. We were very happy with everything including the price! We will be using this cake shop from now on.

  • P

    Patricia · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was amazing. We had a four tier cake, and we're able to choose each flavor! Everyone loved the different flavors and said it was delicious. My brother got his wedding cake here a year before, and my parents got their cake here too! They were helpful and kind. I would highly recommend Hodell's to anyone!

  • User5267487 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We went to a cake testing and immediately wanted to book! They were so friendly and helped explain the costs of the wedding cake and made it a reasonable price. I thought we would have to do cupcakes because of the costs of cakes, but they had GREAT pricing and we will be able to have a three-tiered cake and then a sheet cake. I am excited to see the cake on the wedding day!

  • D

    David · Married on 06/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the initial cake tasting and booking for the wedding... an enjoyable task, with a very friendly, courteous, and helpful staff. The cake looked exactly as we envisioned and TASTED like a slice of HEAVEN!
    Moist, tasty, fresh, So DAMN delicious.

    We received MANY compliments from our guests! Thank you for contributing to our incredible day!
    David and Glenn

  • User5191028 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hodell's Cake shop was beyond amazing! 1 months before mine and my husbands wedding our cake person backed out on us. Needless to say I was a little stressed about finding someone to do our cake on such short notice. I did a bunch of research and the next day I spent a lot of time looking at other bakeries and trying their product. Some said they could not do it in such a short notice and others wanted to charge us more for such short notice. Hodell's was the last bakery I went to that day and they were beyond amazing from that first day all the way up to the wedding day. On the first day I went in and the lady at the counter was extremely nice and cordial. Even though I had not made an appointment she went and made a cake plate for me so that I could try their product. After trying the product and realizing how great the cake was, there were books of different types (decorative) cakes I could get. They also had this great showcase of fake cakes. The lady than came back over and we talked prices. Unbelievably appropriate. They were going to charge me the exact same amount my friend was going to charge me for doing the same cake; but these people were professionals! I chose our cake signed the paper and was very excited about our decision. Later on that week dropped off the ribbon I wanted them to use. About a week before the wedding I got a call from one of the workers saying the baker was practicing for our cake and it looks like the ribbon I dropped off was not going to work. They then said that it was not a problem that if I would allow them they would use their own ribbon that was very similar to the color I had dropped off. On the day of our wedding the cake looked spectacular! It was exactly and beyond what I had ordered. It was beautiful with such great detail. I received multiple positive comments about how the cake looked and tasted! We will be using them again for everything. Thank you so much for your flexibility and quality!

  • C

    cindy · Married on 10/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I get all my cakes from here. I actually order a cherry nut cake for my mother's birthday, FABULOUS! I always refer all my friends here. thank you for the job well done!!!

  • User4511397 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding cake and cupcakes made at Hodell's. The cake and cupcakes were beautiful and I was given many options for flavors. I mixed my cake layers and cupcake flavors up and have a great variety. They delivered quite far (Port Huron area) for a small fee of $40. It is free delivery for closer locations. It baker was very creative and understood exactly what I wanted. I had ribbon on my cake and the application fee was very reasonable. I am not a cake fan but the cake was pretty good. Carrot was the best flavor in my opinion.

  • R

    Raymond · Married on 06/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They did an awesome job giving me exactly what we wanted. Not pushy and could not beat the price. Cake was also very tasty. Great frosting!!!!!!!!

  • User3455276 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you like buttercream frosting you will love Hodells. Cake was delicious! Many flavors to choose from We provided a pic of what we wanted the cake to look like and it was duplicated to a tee Very friendly and helpful staff

  • User3552159 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Cake! Guests were yelling across the dance floor to ask me where the cake was from!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yum, yum, and yum! The cake was amazing. The put all the details on it that I requested. It was beautiful and tasted fantastic!

  • User2955061 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cake was fantastic and it was also beautiful!

  • User2403793 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This company was wonderful! We ordered 200 cupcakes, a small 6 inch cake, and 100 cinnamon sugar doughnuts. The price was great, and the quality was amazing. We chose this company because my husband's family has been getting cakes from here for a while and they ALWAYS taste great. I will of course be back for more great bakery sweets!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hodell's cake shop was affordable and the cake was delicious. We choose cherry nut and carrot cake. The cake looked beautiful!

  • A

    Andrea · Married on 08/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I went in there knowing what I wanted done. I left there within 5 minutes of ordering feeling excited to see the cake! They did an amazing job and did exactly what I asked for. They told me I was the easiest Wedding customer they had because I already knew what I wanted. The cake was delicious and I couldn't have asked for better!
    Thanks so much for making my wedding much more special!

  • M

    Melanie · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hodell’s is a small family owned bakery with wonderfully delicious cakes. We went there twice for a tastings and everything was wonderful! They have beautiful display cakes which made it easy to say “I want that one in these flavors” Soooooo easy and delicious. It was really special knowing that this was the same baker my husband’s parents used at their wedding as well as a few of our friends used at their weddings. This was a great recommendation that was given to us and now I am passing it on to you. Excellent value and a delicious treat! It was perfect!

  • M

    Lindsay · Married on 02/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had cake centerpieces for 30 tables and couldn't be more pleased with the price, taste and love that was out into our special day by this bakery. They have been around for a long while and now I get why. My parents used them for their wedding cake and its been over 20 years, n which they haven't skipped a beat. Each cake was made and decorated awesome and the napoleons that the bridal got were amazing. I highly recommend this bakery. They can handle anything u give them. Thank u Hodells!

  • Jallon

    Jallon · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding cake was splendid. They did everything right. I'm not a fan of fondant and the buttercream was right on time. Fabulous job. The staff was great and patient with all my changes. Thanks again.

  • J

    Jenny · Married on 07/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our guests thought our cake was fabulous. The raspberry was a good choice and very delicious!

  • Brandy

    Brandy · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cake was delivered and looked exactly as ordered. Taste is great, value is outstanding. While they do hold tastings, they were very helpful when my mom and I stopped in to check them out. They provided us with a table and a few cupcakes to sample. Great experience. Definitely recommended!

  • K

    Kristy · Married on 03/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cupcakes were perfect!!! Thank you so much!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the marble cake with raspberry cream filling. One of the best cakes I ever had (wedding or other). We brought in our own ribbon and flowers for them to put on and everything turned out beautiful!

  • A

    Alicia · Married on 10/03/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hodell's was fantastic! The cake was gorgeous and delicious!

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 11/08/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have been getting cakes from Hodell's since my parents wedding back in 1977. So it was a perfect choice when I was getting married. The staff is fantastic and very helpful. I have yet to find a place in VA (I moved after we got married) that even compares to Hodell's in both taste and fabulous customer service. Thank you!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/23/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hodell's provided us with the best tasting cake we could find! Very close to our area we decided to stop in and participate in a taste testing event they held in October of 2007. Outstanding samples and decor displayed we decided to go with them for their amazing attention to detail, quality of ingredients, taste and all for a most affordable price. They are well worth considering for any wedding or special event :)

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review