Weddings

Historic McFarland House Reviews

Historic McFarland House

Historic McFarland House

Martinsburg, WV
Rating 4.7 out of 5, 28 Reviews
View more information

28 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 28
Sort by:
  • S
    Sofia Married on 01/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue is absolutely stunning and the staff is great to work with!
  • Katie212
    Katie Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding is not until 10/8/2016 (however I most definitely stand behind my 5/5 rating for this establishment already), but I have already had an AMAZING experience with Historic McFarland House. Going to an event there for Shepherd University was my first taste and I met with one of their wonderful employees who gave me a quick tour once I told her that I was looking for a wedding venue. They are quick to answer any question by e-mail and are very accessible. I got quotes on venue prices on a few others in the Martinsburg/Norther Virginia area and Historic McFarland House is by far the best value I've found! After exchanging e-mails for a few weeks, I set-up another tour with my fiance and my mother and we were sold. We got to meet Chef Brad and are super excited to work with him on our food selection as he is open to trying new things for couples who aren't in to the "traditional" wedding food. The interior is decorated to perfection and the garden had a magical feel! Even though my fiance and I have a long while until our big day, we know it will be a stress-free road with the staff at the Historic McFarland House working with us!
  • J
    Jen Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I haven't yet had my event, but the help received from the staff and the time they took to make sure that I had the information I needed, as well as scheduling the tour, confirmed to me that I have chosen the right place to hold my wedding!
  • K
    Kim Married on 09/26/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When I found the Historic McFarland House I knew I had found my venue. They are pros in holding special events and weddings so I never worried about logistics. They also let me come by the day before to drop off decor, which was a ton of stuff, so that was one less thing I needed to worry about the day of my wedding. I loved having butlerettes there to support me and my bridesmaids and the groom and groomsmen as well. I loved the experience and I have heard nothing but great feedback from all of my guests.
  • M
    Meredith Married on 05/30/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The team at the Historic McFarland House is incredible. If you want a wedding that is stress-free and all about you, this is the place to be. They take over from the morning and you are able to enjoy the entire day. I wish I could re-live it. And the planning process with them was great. Use this place for a wedding. We had 175 people -- they can fit you!
  • User1849935 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding day was absolutely perfect! The only mishap I had was the linen company they use sent the wrong colored napkins but the coordinators there fixed the issue within minutes and my correct napkins arrived in plenty of time! The food is amazing and my guests couldn't say enough good things about the house and how smoothly everything was!
  • K
    Kali Married on 08/23/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't say enough how amazing it was to have my wedding at the McFarland House.
    When you walk in it is like being in a different time, it is old and elegant, there is so much charm in the place that I knew it would be perfect for our wedding. We started planning early so I got to speak with Jeffrey and Karen many times and they were always very helpful and made the wedding planning very easy and with no stress. I had no idea that the staff at the house really run the wedding and this was a huge and very pleasant surprise. It was literally the best day ever. Cynthia was assigned as our Butlerette for the day and she did everything from iron shirts, get drinks and food and took amazing care of my 93 year old grandmother. My grandma said she felt like Cynthia was part of the family. Jeffrey was ensuring everything went smoothly on the set ups and that the whole wedding was on schedule. The food was amazing and the desserts flew off the table. We did a buffet and it was fast and smooth. No long lines or people taking forever to get food. We had about 95 people there and it seemed they all got their food in about 20-30 min. Many of the guests commented to me on how it was one of the best weddings they had ever been to and this is in large part due to the wonderful staff of the McFarland House. Even the wait staff were very friendly and easy to talk with; they were very attentive to little details. I usually feel the need to check on things and make sure all is going well but I was so at ease that I was able to just relax, have a great time and ENJOY my wedding. I could go on and on, it was really just the best experience that I had here. I would definitely recommend that you have your wedding at this location. I don't want to overdo it on the gushing but I can't help it. This will be a day that I remember forever and there wasn't one thing about the day that didn't go perfectly. This is the best that any Bride could ask for.
  • User1897456 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Beautiful home with amazing staff! My husband and I could not have asked for a more perfect evening. The reception was not until 7:30PM, however we had the house the entire day. The entire bridal party was pampered and well taken care of throughout the entire day. When my wedding cake fell over (I had an outside vendor do my cake--my mistake!) the entire staff went above and beyond to make sure I still had a beautiful cake for the guest to enjoy. Most brides would have said this would have been a complete disaster, but the staff at the McFarland House took care of everything. The could be disaster is just a good story tell. Honestly, I did not even notice and the day went so smoothly.

    I wanted a unique event and that is exactly what they gave me at the McFarland House. I had the perfect garden reception complete with a champagne bar. The champagne bar was the most refreshing and the guest are still talking about how wonderful it was. The space was perfect for a summer wedding. Most of the events took place in the stunning garden area. However, guests were seated inside to enjoy dinner and dancing. As night fell, guests could even sneak away into the garden for a romantic dance.

    The food was wonderful, the atmosphere was blissful. Too many wonderful things to mention about this place!
  • M
    Mark Married on 06/30/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I thought that I was already well acquainted with the quality and services offered by the Historic McFarland House but when my wedding day arrived the staff far exceeded my expectations. Every possible thing that we could have needed was taken care of, even small details that we might have overlooked, the staff made sure to deliver exactly what was needed.
    My friends are still talking about how beautiful, elegant, and professional our wedding was. In fact several of them say they want to go back to the McFarland House and are considering booking it for a business meeting.
    I can't say enough about how special the Historic McFarland House made our special day.
  • J
    Jenny A. Married on 06/21/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wonderful venue and very professional staff! Many many compliments from our guests!
  • L
    Lori Married on 06/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The entire staff of the McFarland House is nothing short of amazing! They went above and beyond to help at every level of planning my son's wedding. Nothing was forgotten and the day was wonderful. The service provided by the McFarland House was fabulous! I would not hesitate to plan another wedding or any event at this venue because I know it would be a truly spectacular event! Thank you Jeffrey, Karen, Chef Brad and the rest of the McFarland House staff! Sincerely, Lori Dulyea


  • K
    Kayla Married on 06/07/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jeffrey was very attentive and made sure the day went exactly as planned. He worked with us throughout the entire ordeal and was responsive when asked a question or a concern was brought to his attention. He was genuinely excited about the day and didn't act as though we were another paying customer coming through the door. He treated us with love, respect, and the utmost care! Because, and only because of his hard work and dedication, our reception at the Historic McFarland House was a success!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 05/31/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I couldn't be happier with my experience with The Historic McFarland House for my Wedding. The planning of the wedding was a lot of work but Jeffrey and Karen with the McFarland House made it much easier. They helped with the overall planning of the event and offered many suggestions. We worked with chef Brad to create the perfect menu for the big day and all of our guests raved about the food. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. I even had my own personal assistant the day of that made sure I had everything I needed at all times. It was a fantastic experience.
  • H
    Hannah Married on 05/17/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hosting our wedding at the Historic Mcfarland House was the single best wedding planning decision that my husband and I made. As my husband-to-be was working crazy hours in DC and I was finishing up graduate school, we didn't have much time to dedicate to focusing on "the little things" that go in to wedding planning and ended up delegating quite a bit of the decorative decision making to the HMH team. While this could have caused some serious stress, I went into my wedding day totally at ease because i knew they had it covered! The Mcfarland House staff is absolutely amazing. They made my every vision a reality and made planning my perfect day easy and worry free. The day was beautiful, the food was fantastic, and I couldn't have asked for a better experience.
  • S
    Sean N. Married on 01/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Home away from home. Very professional, great place, good food and all staff are very helpful.
  • M
    Matthew Married on 11/02/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We recently had a wedding at McFarland House in West Virginia and I could not imagine a better venue.

    From the time we walked into the McFarland House we were blown away and your guests will be too. It is a beautifully restored house with period furniture but feels just like a home. The videos on their website do not do it justice.

    We had the run of our house from 7am until we left on our wedding day. We and our guests were encouraged to make ourselves feel at home. We felt very relaxed, never rushed, and had a lot of freedom to manage the schedule of the day.

    Jeffery and Karen coordinated every facet of the wedding with us and gave us exactly what we had envisioned. Now like any wedding you get what you put into it but Jeffery and Karen made all our efforts worth it. From the first time we met they answered all questions about the house, the ceremony, and the pricing. They have great ideas, great taste, and always followed through on their commitments.

    Jeffery and Cynthia, our butler-ette, yup you get a butler-rette managed every facet of the wedding day. We had anything we needed such as food, drinks, direction, and even sewed a button back on my tux. Everything was relaxed, on time, and flawlessly executed. They also seamlessly worked with all our vendors as well.

    Then there is Chef Brad. The Historic McFarland House truly does have a Master Chef. We were so lucky Chef Brad came to work at McFarland during our wedding planning. Coming from MD for a tasting, Chef Brad agreed to meet with us that night to revamp and discuss our menu. He sat with us for an hour and we went from the idea of a combo plate to a 10 course french tasting menu with wine pairings. He also made hor devours, petit fours, and chocolate truffles for our wedding. Service during the dinner was flawless. The whole staff at the McFarland was amazing.

    We had the perfect wedding at McFarland House and would highly recommend them to anyone.
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 09/07/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Historic McFarland House was the first venue we actually looked at in person. I was looking for a Victorian venue, and most of them were too far away or looked outdated. After taking a tour, and talking to Jeffrey, we knew that this venue was the one. We returned the next day to book it! The decor really needs to be seen to be appreciated! And I loved that guests are allowed to mingle throughout the house and can actually use the furniture.

    Throughout the planning process, both Jeffrey and Karen were available whenever we needed to make a change or plan a meeting. We also had a last minute change with our rehearsal dinner, and ended up having it at the McFarland House, as well.

    The final planning meeting with Jeffrey was very extensive, but extremely helpful. We went through all of the day's details, from table placement, to where to stand during the ceremony.

    Being able to have the venue for the entire day was a big selling point for us. I arrived at 9am on the day of the wedding with my bridesmaids to get ready. It was helpful to not have to worry about making it on time to another location. Also, throughout the day of the wedding we had a "butlerette", Cynthia, who made sure that we had everything we needed, kept us updated on time, and let us know of any changes or anything.

    The food at the cocktail hour and reception (and rehearsal dinner, for that matter) was AMAZING!! I am an incredibly picky eater, and we did specify foods I wouldn't eat (such as onions or peppers) and I ate all of it and wanted more! I would have eaten for another hour if I could have! It was very easy to change our menu during the planning process, and I was incredibly pleased with the results.

    Overall, the Historic McFarland House was such a great value. We got our getting ready space, ceremony, reception, food, and day of coordinator all in one!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 06/01/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Very personable. Always available and ready to do or get you what you need! That includes mimosas and chocolate covered strawberries while you're trying to de-stress while you're getting your hair and makeup done before you get in that dress and walk down the aisle! Thank you Cindy for ALL the mimosas! The venue is absolutely gorgeous.

    Thank you Jeffrey and Karen for everything!

    The NEW Mrs. Cain
  • M
    Megan Married on 05/04/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have nothing but good things to say about the McFarland House. I had a "vision" for my wedding, and the McFarland House staff worked diligently to see it come to fruition. Here are a few examples of why it is an excellent venue:

    - I was the first person to have a wedding outside in the courtyard. During the rehearsal, we realized the sun would be in the eyes of all of our guests so we completely flipped the set-up. Jeffrey just said "no problem" and it was taken care of.
    - I'm not from the area, so relied heavily on Jeffrey and Karen for vendor recommendations. Their recommendations were on point in every single case, from florist to hotel. They were also accommodating to my schedule while planning because I couldn't just pop by after work to discuss layout or linen colors.
    - The food was great. Not just wedding reception great, fancy restaurant great. The chef worked with my vision and it turned out fabulously. I had never tasted any food from the McFarland House before the wedding day (gasp!) and I sure was lucky! If you need any food recommendations, go with the bruschetta and shrimp and grits- ah. maz. ing.
    - I had some different ideas- like stringing and hanging 1000 paper cranes outside- and they let me go for it without giving me the side eye.
    - We had the venue the entire day. This is huge. It was so nice to have no pressure setting up in the morning for my 4:00 ceremony. Because there was nothing going on the next day we were able to come tear down and pack up the morning after the wedding too. The convenience of this cannot be overstated.
    - Their price estimate was very on par with the actual cost of the wedding, which I (and my bank account) appreciated.

    If you are considering the McFarland House for your wedding venue, go visit... if Jeffrey and Karen don't sweep you off your feet, the gorgeous mansion will!
  • K
    Katie Married on 04/17/2016
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Historic McFarland House is absolutely gorgeous and flexible, and everything you could want if you're not looking for something typical in a wedding venue. We had 3 different wedding coordinators, but each one of them got up to speed quickly and was wonderful helping us. We had a day of disaster and Michelle was calm and extraordinarily helpful. My only hiccup with this venue deals with the fact that they're in the process of opening a restaurant. There were lots of changes, and we had to fight for some of the things we were promised when we signed our contract. The house had changed quite a bit and was quite obviously still undergoing renovations. None of that ruined our beautiful day, and I would still HIGHLY recommend McFarland house as a venue!!

    The food and cake we had were AMAZING! Everyone is raving about it.
  • User1736194 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    My husband and I had such a positive experience with this venue. The staff are extremely professional and helpful, and the coordinators included in our rental fee made planning so simple. The food was extraordinary, the venue was beautiful, everyone was friendly. One of the couples at our wedding has been engaged for several years, and they commented that our wedding was so beautiful, they have been inspired to push some plans along for their own wedding. We've been hearing nothing but good reviews and reactions from our guests; they were comfortable, and they felt at home the entire time. Amazing experience.
  • User1863828 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    McFarland House was great. Everything went well and ran smoothly. There were a few things I felt they could have been a little more flexible on, however I think most wedding venues would have done it pretty much the same way.
  • User1700651 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding was the best day of my life and it was amazing from the ceremony to the reception. The food was amazing although it was hard at first to decide what we wanted to have served. The only reason it isn't a 5 is because one of the people that helps coordinates the wedding ended up being very professional the day of and wasn't dressed in there black tie affair I guess cause we were having a smaller guest list.
  • F
    Francine Married on 04/11/2015
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    We were married a year ago at the Historic Mcfarland House and overall it was a great experience. The space is beautiful and the people who we dealt with were responsive. Of course nothing is perfect and there were a few mishaps: the audio was very low throughout the ceremony and it wasn’t until someone from the venue realized (during the reception) that they need it to turn it up, (this should’ve happened before the ceremony started). The cake did not look like what I gave them a picture of and the food portions were small. I was hungry the night of my wedding. Lastly, I remember them telling me that saving cake for my 1 year anniversary would not be necessary because they would re-make and ship to me. This sounded beyond amazing and I regret not getting this in writing. I called a month before my anniversary, turns out that they don't really do that. So someone lied to me? I don’t get it. The worst part was that I didn’t get to eat my 1st year anniversary cake. I would’ve saved it otherwise.
  • A
    Andrea Married on 10/25/2015
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    we had a wonderful experience with Becca for our wedding on 10/25/15. The McFarland house was the perfect fit for our autumn, edwardian ceremony and wedding! Becca was prompt and easy to get ahold of with all questions and concerns we had before the big day - but there really weren't many since everything was clear and thorough in all of our planning meetings. we had approximately 55 guests at our wedding and chef brad created a wonderful menu for us that was sensitive to our vegan and vegetarian guests but also filling and delicious! we were very pleased with our experience and would recommend the McFarland house to any other couples who are budget conscious but also seeking a unique venue!