Skip to main content
Weddings

Historic Callahan House and Garden Reviews

Historic Callahan House and Garden

Historic Callahan House and Garden

Longmont, CO
4.7 out of 5 rating, 43 Reviews
View more information

43 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 43
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

63 User photos

  • B
    Basil N. Married on 06/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue Ever

    the Callahan House was absolutely amazing for our wedding. Kathy did an awesome job making our ideas a reality. the venue is gorgeous and we loved every step of the process.

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Basil & Uzezi,

    Thank you for your business. It was so much fun getting to know the two of you and we truly enjoyed the happiness you share! We hope your future together is as amazing as your wedding celebration!

    Kathy
  • Mary
    Mary A. Married on 06/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our lovely family reunion

    Kathy Korpela prepared and suggested for me the things I needed to think about for our family reunion with ages 1 to 89. The evening was perfect with gardens and games, an open house for looking out over the yard and exploring. Dinner was easy and informal and comfortable with helpers ready but not obtrusive. It was an extraordinary evening.

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Molly,

    It was so much fun to help you with your family reunion! You have an amazing family and we really enjoyed spending the evening with them. Thanks for your kind words. We hope to see you again!

    Kathy
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • W
    Wallace S. Married on 05/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding

    My family used this venue to host a celebration of life event to honor my deceased wife. The celebration could not have gone better. I highly recommend this venue for your event. Kathy and the staff were all fantastic.

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Wally,

    Thank you for letting us help you celebrate Maritza's life. It was nice to see your family and friends get together in her memory and enjoy each other's company.

    Kathy
  • T
    Tracy B. Married on 02/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect for an intimate wedding or celebration!

    We had to postpone our May 2020 due to Covid, Kathy was awesome! She guided us through and was very responsive in getting us a new date. She helped with everything from parking info to catering, I was so thankful to have her during this crazy time when our other vendors were not sympathetic to the changes. The mansion is beautiful and affordable, bonus... Kathy's expertise comes with that. If you are looking to have a memorable event with excellent customer service, the Callahan House is for you!

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Hi Tracy,

    We're so sorry you had to postpone. It was fun to work with you and we hope you'll still find time to celebrate sometime soon! I'm looking forward to finishing what we started.

    Kathy
  • J
    Joan W. Married on 09/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful location for an intimte gathering

    The Callahan House is an absolutely wonerful spot for a celebration. We held my mother's memorial celebration there and we couldn't have chose a nicer, more intimate venue. The staff was professional and helpful, to the extent of inviting us to cut flowers from their stunning garden when I was short one centerpiece. If you're lucky enough to have an event during the summer months, the gardens are an absolute delight.

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    We love that you remembered and honored your Mother's life in our amazing garden. We wish you fond memories of your Mother and your time here.
  • B
    Betsy I. Married on 08/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Post wedding Brunch at the Callahan House, Longmont, CO

    This is an amazing property and very affordable. The house is historic and the gardens are lovely. The manager Kathy is very easy to work with and made sure I had thought of everything and took care of the set rentals and recommended some caterers, which I appreciated. I even added a tent at the last minute to the set-up which she was able to provide. The teamwork between the Callahan house staff and Green Points catering staff was flawless and delivered a very memorable post Wedding Brunch.

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Thanks Betsy, it was really fun working with you to celebrate John & Kristi's wedding! We appreciate your business!
  • Cheryl
    Cheryl B. Married on 08/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    50th Anniversary

    We used the Callahan House 50th Wedding Anniversary on August 14th. The garden was a beautiful setting for our celebration and the staff was attentive and helpful. We felt safe hosting a party since we were able to have all of the tables and food outside.

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Cheryl,

    Thank you for letting us celebrate with you for your 50th Anniversary! We wish you many happy returns!

    Kathy
  • K
    Kurtis R. Married on 08/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome experience at Callahan House

    First of all the Callahan house is the most beautiful wedding venue I have ever seen, it has a lush garden full of colorful flowers with lots of space to walk around and admire the beauty. The history of the house is maintained with pride, honor and an attention to detail that maintains its charm. We had to reschedule the wedding twice because of the pandemic and Kathy was very kind and accommodating whenever we communicated. We also did our engagement pictures at the venue and a small 2020 ceremony; every time we have been to the Callahan Kathy made us feel so comfortable and went above and beyond to make it our special day.

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Lynda and Kurtis,

    It has been so much fun working with you this year while we scrambled to make sense out of all the chaos. We are really looking forward to your big celebration in 2021!

    Kathy
  • M
    Mandy F. Married on 08/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning Gardens and Experienced Staff!!

    BEAUTIFUL property and COMPLETE service. Kathy and her experienced staff were so helpful in making our wedding day perfect. They were communicative, prompt and most importantly, thought of details we ourselves overlooked! They were so dedicated to our wedding that everything went on without a hitch! This was especially helpful as we didn't hire a wedding coordinator. The gardens were breathtaking for all our guests and they enjoyed exploring the historical asepcts of the house. Our guests are still raving about how beautiful it was a month later. The recommended catering service was wonderful. They worked together with the Callahan House to provide for every need imaginable. We loved everything about our wedding day, thanks to the Callahan House and their wonderful staff!!

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Mandy & Salvatore,

    We are so honored that we got to help you celebrate your marriage at the Callahan House! We wish you the best of everything always! Come see us when you are in the states!

    Kathy
  • S
    Susan S. Married on 07/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Callahan House

    The manger of the Callahan house will make every effort to help your dreams come true. The garden is so beautiful as well as the house. She will work with you with any ideas you have.
    .

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Susan,

    Thank your for your review. It has been great working with you to create the perfect celebration. We are looking forward to making all your dreams come true next year! Fingers crossed!!

    Kathy
  • C
    Chelsea H. Married on 10/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Truly Exceptional!

    This vendor made my day truly exceptional. They were incredibly kind, helpful, and thoughtful. I couldn't have asked for anything better! The day was a true joy. The grounds as well as the home were beautiful! Definitely recommend this place!

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Chelsea and John,

    Your day was absolutely perfect and I am so glad we could have a hand in your happiness! Thanks for letting us be a part of your celebration!

    Kathy
  • J
    Josh B. Married on 09/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Wedding

    My husband and I got married at the Callahan House and it was wonderful. The gardens were extremely well kept and the staff very kind and courteous. We had had some issues when looking at other venues as it seemed the proprietors were not as open to LGBT weddings, fortunatly this was not the case here. The staff helped us to flesh out aspects of our wedding that we had not planned and were more than willing to suggest local vendors to fill any gaps.

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Josh,

    It was so much fun working with you and Todd to make your day extra special! Your happiness shone through everything all day long. Congratulations and blessings to you both!

    Kathy
  • Heidi
    Heidi K. Married on 08/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Flexibility during COVID

    Kathy and her team at Callahan House were awesome!! Due to COVID and the uncertainty of everything we only had our ceremony there but they made it happen! They were very accommodating and help us ensure the safety of all our guests while still using the beautiful garden as the perfect setting for our ceremony!

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Heidi and Tarl,

    It was such a pleasure to work with you on your wedding ceremony. Everything turned out beautifully and we were delighted that we could help you! We hope you had a great RVmoon! Kathy
  • Jillian
    Jillian L. Married on 06/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Feeling Grateful and Happy!

    Peter and I had the most beautiful wedding at the Historic Callahan House and Garden. We felt good giving money to a vendor that we knew would go back into such a treasured piece of Longmont history where we live, and the setting was the stuff of storybooks. The house manager Kathy was organized and prepared and helped guide us the entire way. I have to admit we were pretty close to clueless about planning a wedding! Her insight and her experience was helpful to facilitate what we wanted. Jacqueline helped as well on the day of and was the sweetest person we had ever met! Howard did an awesome job setting up for our needs and his precision in measuring everything out for our officiant (who moved through out the ceremony) was perfect! We felt heard, cared for, and our day was made so special by the Callahan Team. We highly recommend the Historic Callahan House and Garden!

    Historic Callahan House and Garden's reply:

    Happy New Year Jillian and Peter! We hope you enjoyed your first holiday season as newlyweds. Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to see you both so happy! Kathy
  • B
    Beth Married on 03/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kathy and her team were incredibly accommodating for our very non-traditional party. We just wanted to have some good food and hang out with our guests in a relaxed atmosphere, and Callahan House delivered exactly that. We had a buffet set up in the dining room downstairs with tables and chairs throughout for small conversation groups. We had a board/tabletop game room set up upstairs for our guests to have something quieter to do if the crowd got to be too much. The weather was perfect for mid-March so we really got a chance to enjoy the porch and gardens. It was especially nice to be able to use the house's serving and dinnerware; it gave it that extra-special personal touch and felt like using the family china. All of the house's furniture was fantastic, it was great to have such wonderful antiques around us. Absolutely everything was perfect, and the staff did a great job making sure they knew exactly what we wanted beforehand, that it was set up, and that the whole event ran smoothly. Our guests absolutely loved the beautiful house and so did we. It was so pretty, we didn't have to decorate! (A big plus for me).
  • T
    Tina Married on 02/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved this quaint venue...definitely perfect for our small, intimate wedding!
  • J
    Josh Married on 09/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Callahan House was a gorgeous venue for my husband and I's wedding last September. We got so many compliments on how beautiful the venue was. The staff was extremely professional and assisted us everything from finding vendors to planning the event. We found the staff to be quite friendly to same-sex couples and they just seemed happy to share in our day. Overall, top notch service!
  • K
    Kristen Married on 07/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Loved the venue! Loved the staff! We were soooo happy with our bridal shower day at Callahan House!
  • M
    Megan Married on 06/10/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a great wedding at the Callahan House. Kathy was readily available to answer questions prior to our wedding and helped provide valuable information on vendors and wedding day plans. The wedding day went well, Kathy and her staff made it such an enjoyable and non stressful day - the Callahan House is definitely worth it - we had an amazing experience and the house and gardens are gorgeous!
  • D
    Debbie Married on 05/27/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue and the staff of The Historic Callahan House was worth every cent. The weather did not want to cooperate with us Kathy Korpela watched the forecast until the last 10 minutes- Then made her decision to proceed outside the tent. AMAZAING!! That is what the bride wanted, she always has the brides wishes in check. It was nice as Mother of the Bride to show up for a special day and I did not worry about anything. It was all handled and it was PERFECT. I would recommend this to anyone who would like a garden wedding. There's nothing they can't do
  • K
    Kimberly Married on 07/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great experience! Very helpful and responsive to our needs!
  • User2706483 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my wedding here just over a month ago, and I couldn't be happier! The grounds and area are well-kept and stunning, and from the moment I parked and caught a glimpse of the house, I knew it would be perfect for what I'd envisioned. I was stunned when I realized the asking price for a wedding package was half of what I'd researched elsewhere!

    Kathy is so organized and on top of everything, I felt like she doubled as a wedding planner. She was the one to make sure everything was perfectly coordinated, and she was very clear about the pricing, the plans, and what was needed. There were several times I sent her a 3am question and got an email with an answer the next morning.

    The staff was courteous, friendly, and if anything went wrong, I never heard about it. I think I appreciated the walkthrough and rehearsal most of all -- all of my questions were answered, and she asked some that I never even thought about.

    While I was getting dressed my centerpieces arrived, and Kathy mentioned that they were just low enough to obstruct the view of someone sitting across the table from you. She asked if we would like them raised up with a block of wood -- and then suggested we cover the blocks with linen napkins, so they couldn't be seen. It was taken care of within minutes. This is the type of care she showed the entire event.

    If you're getting married in the area, definitely give this place a shot. You couldn't ask for better people in your corner or a more gorgeous venue. Thanks guys!
  • User2386626 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used the venue for a 50th wedding anniversary. The staff was extraordinary, super nice, professionally run and met more than our expectations. They were very accommodating to our changing demands.
  • J
    Jeremy Married on 07/10/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married here last Friday, holding our ceremony in the lovely garden at the Callahan House and it was basically perfect. Kathy the lead event person was always happy to work with us and extremely responsive whenever we had any questions or thought about changing things up as we were going through the wedding planning process. We were the test group for a new flat rate system where they provided us access to the gorgeous Callahan House, as well as the garden, and the carriage house, they set up all of the chairs, a drink table for our guests, the sound system, a wireless microphone system and probably a few other things that I'm forgetting about. Our worries about details for this portion of the wedding were next to nothing. The gardens are beautifully maintained, and the staff were always friendly and eager to help.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message