Weddings

Hilton Wilmington/Christiana Reviews

Hilton Wilmington/Christiana

Hilton Wilmington/Christiana

Newark, DE
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 136 Reviews
View more information

136 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 136
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

57 User photos

Sort by:
  • A
    Ayasha Married on 11/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Most Amazing Experience Ever

    As we begun our journey to the best day of our lives we shopped many venues, did the necessary tours and received pricing. Obviously we settled with the Hilton for a few reason: 1. It smelled amazing when we walked through the doors. 2. They were very flexible with our ideas and receptive to modification we wanted to make. 3. Leah...sweet and gracious Leah, she was there every step of the way. 4. The food...OMG the food. We didn't want the typical wedding food we wanted our guest to leave full and that they did. We received and still receive awesome feedback of the amount of food and quality. 5. The look and feel of the wedding space was elegant, soft and left much room to transfer the space. The bridal suite was very spacious with 5 women a flower girl MUA and hair stylist we still had plenty of room without feeling we were on top of each other. Oh and another perk the suite is on a private floor.
    All of my guest stayed onsite and were amazed by the accommodation and the staff. Jessica made the room block process seamless and provided regular updates she was just as amazing as Leah.
    The Butler staff Shaq and Alfredo catered to our every need even prior to the wedding when we would just show up to look at the space and ask questions.
    We were even taken care of after the wedding, the staff made sure we had food to eat and even left us a nice gift after the wedding in the honeymoon suite.
    I can go on and on regarding our experience. If we had to do it all over again the Hilton will still be our choice.
  • M
    Maura C. Married on 07/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream Wedding Weekend

    Thank you to the staff of the Christiana Hilton in Newark DE for helping to make our daughter’s wedding weekend a dream come true! From the rehearsal dinner to the cocktail hour, reception and farewell breakfast; it all went perfectly. Leah was great to work with. She answered every question and request, even arranging the unconventional New Orleans Second Line from the patio to the ballroom! Our guests travelled from over 10 different states and loved the convenience of having all the festivities at the hotel and it was great to have the hotel shuttle transport our guests to the church and back again. The ballroom was beautiful, the food was wonderful and overall a great experience.
  • D
    Dana Married on 06/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Most Perfect Day

    Our wedding at the Hilton was absolutely amazing. The only thing that went wrong the day of was the fact that it rained. The staff did everything possible to make sure it was still the best possible event it could be, even with having to make last minute changes on the fly. When we did our initial meeting to tour the venue, Leah could not have done a better job to sell us on it. She was extremely helpful with answering all our questions and also got back to us in a very timely manner. I was so confident that all details were perfectly planned for the wedding that I was not stressing and was fully able to enjoy the day. Alfredo was our day of contact for the wedding and he was absolutely amazing. He was right there whenever we needed him and told us everything we needed to do as it came up. All our family and bridal party made multiple comments about how good of a job he did. One of our eight year old flower girls said she wants him to work her wedding (many, many years from now). I can't put into words how good the food was. We had our rehearsal dinner there the night before and everyone ranted and raved about how good the food was at both meals.

    Coming from someone who works in operations and normally stresses about making sure everything is perfectly planned and goes off without a flaw, I can honestly say I did not have to worry about a thing due to the staff at the Hilton. All details were planned to a T and our wedding day was the most perfect day it could have been, shared with our closest family and friends.
  • A
    Ali Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Venue

    This venue is amazing. Leah worked with us from the beginning until the end. She answered calls and emails in a timely manner and always had the answers.
    The guests had a great time from the food to the beautiful room, everything was perfect!
    Alfredo helped us the day of the wedding and he took all my decorations and cake and had them packed up ready to go for me the next day. I would recommend this venue to anyone!!!
  • ASHLEY
    Ashley Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best wedding ever!

    We had our “Surprise” wedding at the Hilton Christiana in May and were blown away by the overall experience. The venue itself was exactly what we were looking for in terms of food, atmosphere, scenery and overall experience. The staff was so attentive and professional every step of the way, from Leah, who answered every email and phone call, to all of the day of staff who helped orchestrate the best surprise wedding ever. Everyone knew exactly what they were doing and were cheerful and helpful. The customer service was out of this world.

    We never felt rushed, and everything ran like clockwork. We could only imagine the amount of work that goes on behind the scenes to make it all happen. It is to the Hilton’s credit that this all happened so effortlessly, allowing us to have a stress-free experience.

    I can’t say enough good things about the food and drinks. All our guests commented on the quality and quantity of food. Alfredo, made sure we had plenty of food sent to our suite, which was also provided by the Hilton.

    Our guests are still talking about how it was the best wedding they have ever attended. Thank you from the both of us for making sure we had the perfect day. It truly was the best day EVER!
  • Min
    Min Married on 02/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Leah and her team gave us a fantastic wedding!

    We had our weddding on Feb 02, and Leah and her team gave us a fantastic wedding! First of all, Hilton provides the most elegant set up for everything, the decoration of guest reception tables, wedding ceremony, cocktail hour tables, and the reception tables. Secondly, they are very flexible and professional, they coordinated my other vendors very well to make sure the flow is smooth. They also provide a special drink that was designed for my wedding, which is peach color cocktail drink, we love the drink! All in all, our guests spent a great time together, they love the food, drink, the service, the breakfast and everything during the wedding. After the wedding they provided us a sweet hotel rooms with chocolate and champagne, and we had spent the most wonderful night at Hilton. I strongly recommend my friends to hold their wedding at Hilton Wilmington/Christiana.
  • Renee
    Renee J. Married on 01/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best venue ever

    Where do we begin with our gratitude and thanks to the Hilton Christiana!?
    The Hilton was the last of MANY venues we looked at and all it took was one visit, I knew the search was over! The location was perfect, accommodations were gorgeous, food was amazing, and the all inclusive pricing took away so many worries and extra planning details that I was stressing over!
    Leah and all of the staff at Hilton Christiana really made our wedding the dream day we had imagined. Right from our first visit we were made to feel at home and could immediately envision our wedding there.
    The personal touches that Leah worked hard to make happen for us were indescribable. (EX: We wanted Donuts instead of Wedding Cake. DONE. We wanted Whiskey Shots for our Unity Ceremony. DONE.)
    She was always available by phone or email and readily answered the many, many, many questions we had up until the big day.
    On the day of, we had absolutely nothing to worry about. The Hilton Christiana Team ran the whole day seamlessly, if there were any issues we never knew about them!
    From Leah and Jessica working behind the scenes, the wonderful Front Desk Staff, and Alfredo catering to our every need – it truly was the best day ever. Alfredo truly deserves special recognition. From the Rehearsal to the After Party, he was guiding us along every step of the way and provided nothing less than PERFECTION. I can not imagine our day with out him!
    There are not enough words to give the thanks you all deserve! Thank you again for everything!
    PS- we loved our experience and The Hilton Christiana so much that we now come the first of every month to have a drink together and celebrate another month of marriage bliss.

    With our best wishes,
    Ryan & Renee Jones
  • P
    Paula P. Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An elegant luncheon for 25

    We wanted to thank you and your staff for the most wonderful luncheon.  We could not have asked for more.  Your attention to detail made the day go so smoothly.

    Alfredo was amazing and his staff was excellent.  He didn’t even flinch when we arrived a bit early.  All of our guests praised the food and service.

    No one went home hungry; that is for sure.  Please pass on our thanks and praise to all involved including the chef.  Everything was fantastic.
  • S
    Shamere Married on 08/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Words can't describe how great the staff is. Leah goes above and beyond to help make things run as smooth as possible. The day of my rehearsal and actual wedding day went absolutely perfect thanks to Todd and Shaq. No matter what was needed how big or small they were right there. I definitely recommend the Hilton for events.
  • J
    Jacklin Married on 06/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hilton was a wonderful venue & made our wedding so perfect! Leah & Alfredo are amazing! All of our guests raved about the food, customer service, and overall experience! We highly recommend this wedding venue!
  • B
    Brittany Married on 05/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Choosing the Hilton as our venue was absolutely the best choice we made! Leah was awesome during the planning process and ran with every idea we had. She has such a positive, up-beat personality and we loved working with her. The staff at the Hilton are a great group of people who made the whole process and day of so much fun!

    We had a wonderful time the day of our wedding and were not stressed at all throughout the night. We insisted on having our ceremony outside in the courtyard, even though the forecast looked a little iffy, Alfredo handled it like a rockstar! The newly renovated ballroom is gorgeous and fit our wedding theme perfectly! Alfredo and his staff ensured we always had a drink in hand and kept the party going smoothly. At the end of the night he even packaged up our meals (we didn't have time to eat), some tacos from our late night snack bar, as well as cake and champagne all waiting for us in our room! Alfredo seemed to be every where that night and was always there when you needed him. We can't thank him enough!

    We received many compliments from our guests about the venue on the food, drinks, taco bar, etc. We really couldn't be happier with how the day turned out! We will definitely recommend the Hilton to anyone getting married or looking for an event venue!

    Thank you to Leah, Alfredo, and Hilton Staff! We are so grateful for such a wonderful day!

    -Alex and Brittany
  • L
    Lauren Married on 03/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Leah, Suzanne, shaquanna, Kelly were all amazing. I chose the venue because Leah was the only person we met with that made me feel like a bride. My wedding was beyond my wildest expectations and the staff is truly the best in the world. I can't even express how thankful I am. You made us so happy love love love you all
  • J
    Josh Married on 01/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Leah, Suzanne, and all of the staff at Christiana Hilton went above and beyond for us and all our guests. The ballroom is absolutely gorgeous and all the amenities made our night more special than we could’ve imagined
  • L
    Liz Married on 12/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were very, very happy with our wedding at The Christiana Hilton. Leah went above and beyond to help us with every single detail along the way. The newly renovated ballroom and the surrounding area is stunning, classic and elegant. We would highly recommend this venue.
  • C
    Christal Married on 10/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our Wedding was absolutely amazing the staff at the Christiana Hilton are truly amazing.
    From start to finish our experience with this Venue has been beautiful.
    We like to thank Leah for answering & returning our phone calls every time when we had even the littlest questions she was there to answer. We had been planning our wedding for over a year and to see this day come together so beautifully because of the Christiana Hilton team was everything.
    Our Butler for the day Mrs. Suzanne was so professional and such a great help with everything, if you are looking for a Venue to have your ceremony the Christiana Hilton is the place to go.
    Thank you everyone at the Hilton that was help in any and every way in making our day one to remember.
    All love from The Mason’s
  • N
    Nicole Married on 10/13/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough great things about the Christiana Hilton! We had our wedding there on Friday, October 13, 2017. It was a raging success! We had a fairly large wedding of 185 people. Initially I was concerned with the spacing but the Hilton was able to accommodate us beautifully. They have the most amazing team of people working behind the scenes to make all your wedding dreams come true. We absolutely LOVED working with Leah. She was very hands on and attentive from our initial meeting all the way to the day of our wedding. She was never too busy to take my calls or emails. Leah always seemed very invested in our big day and never disregarded us as just another wedding. Our butler was Alfredo and he worked incredibly hard to make sure our wedding went off without a hitch. Everything was perfect! The food was a delight. The liquor was all top shelf. The ballroom and hotel look fabulous with all of the recent renovations that have been done. The wait staff and bartenders were incredibly efficient especially dealing with that large of a wedding. Weeks have passed and people are still gushing to me about how fantastic our wedding was and I have to agree with them! We are beyond pleased with everything. So if you’re in the market for a place to hold your reception, please stop in and check out the Hilton. You’ll be glad you did!
  • H
    Helen Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the most beautiful wedding at the Hilton and Leah was wonderful. We had everything we wanted in our wedding and the food was delicious. Our guests even remarked how much food we had and that it was so good.
  • Vanessa
    Vanessa Married on 09/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had my wedding on 09/09/17 at the Hilton Wilm/Christiana and it was everything I envisioned and wanted for my wedding day! The sales manager Leah was so helpful, flexible and kept me on track during my planning. I just absolutely enjoyed working with her. The day of my wedding Alfredo was there to keep everything running smoothly without any mishaps. It was the perfect day! Their wedding packages are super convenient and affordable and the food is delicious!! . I would recommend everyone get married at there!
  • A
    Alexandria Married on 08/12/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hilton has amazing staff, especially Leah and Alfredo. Leah helped me with everything I needed and more leading up the wedding and on the wedding weekend Leah and Alfredo were outstanding. They were such a huge help and did everything we needed and more. I could not have imagined the wedding going so smoothly without their help. Not a single thing went wrong, it was such a relief on our big day.
  • A
    Amber Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Leah and the Hilton staff were amazing. We could not have had a smoother wedding reception. Everything went off perfectly. Leah answered all our questions and helped us make sure we thought of everything ahead of time. We had 2 personal day of event coordinators that made sure everything was going exactly as we wanted. The room was perfect size for us and the food was fantastic. Even though the original spaces for getting ready were under renovations they were very accommodating in making sure we had our own spaces and would not see each other ahead of time. We would definitely recommend the Hilton to anyone doing any event.
  • K
    Kiesha Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I looked at several venues prior to going to the Hilton and while they all were nice whe we walked into the Hilton we immediately knew (prior to speaking with Leah the sales coordinator) that this would be our venue. After speaking with Leah who gave us a tour of the hotel. Although the hotel was under construction and we couldn't see The reception room my husband and I Still felt this was the place to share our union. Leah, Jessica, Alfredo made my wedding day a day to remember. I've received nothing but compliments from my family and friends not only mentioning how nice the wedding was but how professional and friendly the Hilton staff was. I'm happy we choose the Hilton.
  • C
    Christie Married on 07/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hilton Wilmington/Christiana honeymoon suite was great! We received free accommodations through Cavaliers Country Club and it was just what we needed. The shuttle transportation was great and was awesome for our guests who didn't want to drive. I was so pleased with everything, including the breakfast buffet.
  • M
    Matthew Married on 06/24/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Would like to thank all who made our special day so special. Leah you deserve all your rewards you have gotten and many many more. Leah was instrumental in helping us plan for our great day. Alfredo and his servers where outstanding. Leah and Alfredo are great to work with. Chef James and staff did an outstanding job on the food. The place is beautiful. All our guest raved about everything. Front desk always helpful. Love this place. Highly recommend.
  • J
    Josh Married on 06/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Such a great place to have a reception! Leah was amazing!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 06/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We are beyond happy that we booked the Hilton for our wedding reception! From the moment we met Leah and saw the venue, we knew it was the right match for us! Everything went so smoothly the entire time. Leah was very responsive and answered all our questions. She made it so "easy" for us! The food was great, the room looked fantastic and all our guests were happy. We still talk about it to this day!