Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort Reviews

25 | Santa Barbara, CA
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort

Recommended by 91% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

25

6 User photos

Order by:
  • Susy

    Susana Trujillo · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beachfront wedding

    The Hilton has absolutely gorgeous gardens and beachfront options. The catering options were great as well.

    Sent on 02/26/2019
  • Nicole

    Nicole Stocker · Married on 04/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing quality, value, and packages for our destination wedding!

    Having our intimate destination wedding at the Hilton Santa Barbara, Beachfront Resort was the perfect venue for my husband and I. We wanted a high quality, romantic event, without a ridiculous price tag or an overly up-tight feel. Having all of our 65 guests join us from out of town or out of state, the resort was perfectly placed to host most of them - and for other guests to choose alternate accommodations within walking distance as well. Some of the things that stand out the most include how much we got within the one wedding package (food, drinks, equipment, location and more), and the high quality/attention to detail that was given to every aspect - even though it was a package. In addition the staff and service the day and night of the wedding was incredible, and our guests raved about the dinner quality and flavors of the food. The facilities having been recently updated provide a modern, clean, coastal feel which we loved. Proximity to the beach and the funk zone/downtown allowed us to have additional nights with our guests to host additional events off site with ease. The valet and rooms staff were also exceptional, offering to haul the many decorations and supplies we had needed to bring with us (being from out of town) for the week. They always had a smile on their faces and were happy to help us and just plain see us the week of our wedding. The event staff and accommodations staff were extremely helpful in the planning process as well - staying in touch, keeping me organized, and communicating clearly. They offered additional support, perks, and flexibility than is promised and were so lovely to work with as people. We could not have imagined our wedding at a different venue and it was more than we could have dreamed at the beginning of the selection process.

    Sent on 06/03/2019
  • J

    Jason · Married on 03/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Accommodating Staff and Great Location

    We went through the Hilton for our room block and for the day after brunch. All of the staff who worked with either me or my wife were fantastic, thorough, and exceeded our expectations even when another large event was also booked on the same day, limiting some of our options. The booking process was easy and they were able to expand the room block as needed. The day after brunch was great and the placement of everything allowed for plenty of room and outdoor seating.

    Sent on 04/11/2019
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our dream wedding and The Fess Parker Resort made it come true!!!!

    Sent on 10/09/2014
  • User2223206 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the reasons we chose the Doubletree was because of the easy access to the beach and reception. We researched other locations, but found most venues lacking on beach access, or access would have been difficult on older guests. Plus,, with Doubletree providing all the food and tables, chairs, etc. it was one less separate vendor I needed to engage. Doubletree was definitely a winner for our beach wedding with around 100 guests. It was a gorgeous day at this beautiful location. The Reagan Room's (reception) large windows let in lots of light and gave us a gorgeous view of the beach. Our catering manager, Paige, was easy to work with, professional, knowledgeable and had good suggestions for my questions. I was impressed with how the serving staff seemed to move around almost invisibly. They were very professional and quick. The chicken was delicious! It was moist and had a great flavor to it. Definitely the best choice for us.





    Sent on 08/14/2012

    Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort's reply:

    Thank you so much for the 5 Star Review! We recently underwent a hotel renovation and are now Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort. Please come back and visit us and experience Hilton!
  • N

    nikki · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was spectacular. We had the celebrations of stations buffet and the food was delicious, so unlike normal wedding food. We didn't like the appetizers a our tastings so we had 3 tastings and they even made some off menu items for us like lamb pops. Our wedding was in the plaza with the overhead string lights and it looked gorgeous. They set up our ceremony across the street at the beach. Everything was perfectly done to my specifications. I got a great deal on our wedding suite. We got an early check in and a late check out, they moved our entire wedding block into the main building when i asked even upgrading some guests, gave out our welcome bags for us, they sent us champagne when we checked in and champagne and strawberries on our wedding night. The service exceeded our expectations.

    Sent on 09/05/2011
  • E

    Erika · Married on 04/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Paige and the whole team were wonderful @ the doubletree. They accomodated my 30 person destination wedding just as they did the much larger weddings they had that weekend. We could not have been happier. Thank you for hosting my dream wedding!

    Sent on 10/20/2011
  • G

    Gladys · Married on 08/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fess Parker was the best choice for our wedding and I truly believe for any wedding because they can accomodate for your needs on your big day as long as the date is available. Not only do they have an amazing view of the beach but they have SO many options that at one point my husband and I had to really think about what we wanted to do, we didn't expect all the choices! We had a small wedding (40 guests) and that was hard to find in Santa Barbara because most beautiful venues can only accomodate large wedding parties. But Fess Parker offered us various places to have our small ceremony (on the beach, in the rose garden facing the ocean, or in another small garden) AND we had various options for the reception (we could use the back room in their Steakhouse restaurant Rodney's, have catered food above their beautiful rotunda, or rent out a room inside the resort). They have more options for bigger weddings. In the end we had our ceremony in their rose garden facing the beach and large palm trees and a dinner in their steakhouse restaurant. They let us choose the menu for the steakhouse and basically whatever we wanted and asked for their answer was 'sure we will do it.' We worked exclusively with Paige Reid who is their Senior Catering Manager and she is AWESOME. Their prices are great, their view is amazing, and it is a HUGE resort. Go for a tour, I promise you will be impressed.

    Sent on 01/10/2011
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 07/31/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing! All of our guests loved it! It had the "wow" factor that is for sure. The food was great, a little pricy but really good. It was everything and more that I could have ever dreamed of.

    Sent on 08/03/2010
  • T

    Eileen · Married on 06/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The employees at the Fess Parker were extremely helpful and professional. Ashley, who assisted with our plans could not have been more helpful. She was available at all times to answer questions or make suggestions. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and we highly recommend this facility for your wedding celebration.

    Sent on 09/16/2010
  • Ericka and Derek

    Ericka · Married on 09/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony and reception at the Fess Parker Doubeltree Hotel. Paige, the coordinator, was very professional and responsive. They were completely accomodating and truly made our wedding day very special.

    Sent on 01/21/2010
  • S

    Erin · Married on 07/10/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone was so accommodating and professional. The entire event surpassed my expectations. The catering side of the event was terrific. Guests are still talking about the food and service.

    Sent on 09/08/2009
  • Dana

    Dana · Married on 10/10/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The first time we checked out the Fess Parker Doubletree Resort as a potential venue for our wedding, we fell in love with it. And we're still convinced we couldn't have picked a better location. The plaza outside was so beautiful for the ceremony, with the ocean view right across the street. We kept the ceremony decorations simple, with only a decorated arch, and a ton of rose petals to put down along the center aisle. But unfortunately we were struck with Santa Ana winds, so the rose petals were not used. We provided cocktail hour on the rotunda, which was beautiful - and windy (darn Santa Ana winds!) And we chose the Reagan Room for the reception, that was the best part of it all. It was perfect for the size of our wedding, and it was so warm and romantic. Everyone has told us the venue was so beautiful, and they haven't been to a better wedding. Our Catering Manager, Paige Reid, really went above and beyond to help us make our wedding special. And the food, it was spectacular! We had various appetizers for cocktail hour like coconut shrimp, egg rolls, lamb chops, and stuffed mushrooms with crab. Our dinner consisted of three courses, shrimp cocktail, mozzarella and heirloom tomato salad, and a choice of filet mignon, roasted chicken with salmon, or vegetarian. I had the filet mignon, it was perfect, cooked just right. It was better than most filets I've had in chop houses in Southern CA. My mouth is still watering thinking about that steak! We're so sad the wedding is over, we had such a great time, it was perfect in every way (minus the wind!) We would definitely recommend this location for your wedding!

    Sent on 10/29/2008
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/31/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The rotunda at the Fess Parker is a beautiful venue, especially on a nice day (which is most of the year in Santa Barbara). The service staff were always happy to help with any last minute requests. The stations buffet was fantastic! I kept receiving compliments from the guests for weeks after the wedding.

    Sent on 11/11/2008
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 09/07/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    GREAT SERVICE!!!!! We got married in the middle of the week and it was great for us. Everything was perfect! We recommend them to everyone who tells us they are getting married.

    Sent on 04/03/2008
  • User4593712 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Fess Parker is a stunning venue. It dazzled our guests from back east.
    We loved working with Chuck Henderson and Aimie Lalas. Chuck helped us to find the perfect rooms for both our Wedding and Reception. He was very good at explaining all the intricate details, even multiple times. He's extremely patient and understand. Which helped take the stress out of planning such an important event.

    Sent on 12/07/2014
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 08/14/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All in all I think that the FPDT is the most beautiful place to get married in SB. Granted, I am exceptionally bias. Paige was exceptionally helpful and we really appreciated everything that she did for us. The wedding was great. The only bummer was that the servers broke a candle holder at the end of the night and lost some napkins and we got charged for it. i know it happens but that was frustrating.

    Overall, we had a great 10 months of planning with them and I would recommend them as a venue. The hotel as a separate entity has a lot of problems with booking and such.

    Sent on 08/30/2011
  • T

    Tiffany & Brandon · Married on 10/10/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Fess parker Vineyard was a beautiful location and we are so pleased that we choose this venue.

    Our ceremony was beautiful. We had a small intimate wedding with under 40 guests. The ceremony took place just before sunset on the front lawn with the vineyard behind us. We couldn't have asked for a better back drop. The lighting and weather was excellent. We just got married on October 10th.

    The reception was actually held at the Fess Parker Inn in the back garden area. It was perfect. And great for the intimate group that we had. Tables were on the grass and we used the cement patio as the dance floor.

    Food was done by Petros who just opened up at the Inn. We were very excited about the food as we had at at Petros in Manhattan Beach.

    Overall the service was great however there were a few bumps in the road due to change of hands of the restaurant & our consultants through Fess Parker changing hands as well. But in the end all was worked out and everything went smoothly. We are very satisfied with the service and how our wedding turned out. Everything was wonderful!



    Sent on 12/08/2009
  • User5640492 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We are so glad we chose the Fess Parker as our wedding venue. They set up our beach ceremony beautifully and our guests all had amazing panoramic views of the ocean during our reception in the Reagan Room. We received many comments from our guests about the delicious food as well! We had envisioned a fairy tale beach wedding, and the Fess Parker fulfilled that vision beautifully.

    Sent on 11/25/2015
  • S

    Shelby Swanson · Married on 05/04/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beach Wedding

    We booked this venue in March 2018. We scheduled an appointment with the coordinator- at the time it was Amy. The venue was the Fess Parker Doubletree, but about two months later it turned into the Hilton Santa Barbara. They were very upfront about the remodel and name change, and even allowed us to pick from their prior pricing (which was cheaper) when making decisions about food and lighting. We were given an estimate of room block rates around $299/night for our guests. That was a huge selling point for us because we’d have so many guests coming from out of town. Once finalizing our room block rate, the venue told us our guests would have $499/night. We were shocked and disappointed. We fought about this for a month or so and the hotel came down to $349/night, but could only offer us 10 rooms at that rate. Apparently the hotel had a conference already pre-determined for that weekend and was pretty booked up. The venue is popular and even we had a hard time securing a date 15 months out. Amy moved out of her role as the coordinator and a new woman came on to help us, Amanda. I don’t know if turnover is high for the events and marketing, but this was a change for us. We hadn’t done much work at that time with Amy, so we were totally good with having a new person. However, we were contacted about 7 months out regarding our second payment and told that we needed to pay, but my parents had already made this payment and the hotel was not keeping track. They told us they had the payment in a different account. It was really concerning and alarming for how much money the payment was for. They remedied this situation and we didn’t have any other payment issue. About 6 months out we scheduled our tasting and ended up changing the date we originally settled on, but Hilton wasn’t keeping track of the changed date and called us one day saying we hadn’t shown up for our tasting. This was also upsetting because they assumed we just flaked on our tasting. I think a better approach would have been, “we had you on the calendar, hope everything is alright. We don’t see you here.” Assuming we just didn’t show made it seem like we somehow did something wrong, but they had the wrong date for our tasting. I had to screenshot the email and send it to them showing we had picked a different date. Once having the tasting, it was incredible. We felt like royalty. The food was amazing and the presentation was spectacular. We were even able to pick out our napkin folding. We didn’t ask for a particular option to be at the tasting and Amanda offered to have it served at a meeting we would have with her a few weeks later. That was really nice. Getting closer to the date, we had a meeting with our wedding planner (venue requires you have a month-of planner, so prepare for that cost- I think it’s worth it because there is a lot to prepare for day of, though). The wedding planner, not at all associated with the hotel, shares that the venue booked another event the exact same day as ours, up until 2pm in the same space we would be using. Had the hotel of told us this and assured us they do it all the time, we wouldn’t have been concerned. Hearing it from our planner, though, was anxiety producing. We felt like the hotel was just keeping a secret and not being honest. However, day of there was nothing to worry about and none of our guests even knew another event had just taken place. The plaza del sol, where our wedding was at, is so beautiful. You have the beach setting without having to be on the sand. Our ceremony took place in the plaza and cocktail hour was just up from there on the rotunda, and the hotel flipped the ceremony space into our reception and guests went right back downstairs. It was so convenient. Our officiant did not have a microphone and our guests definitely had a hard time hearing us, which was upsetting because the venue should have suggested we rent a microphone from them. We had a microphone for our music player, so it would’ve been nice to have them point out how large the space is and encourage us to rent one. The venue recommended an umbrella for shade for our music player during the ceremony and cocktail hour, however they wouldn’t move the umbrella up on the rotunda for cocktail hour, so we had to rent two. That seemed silly and unnecessary. Having the food, linens, and tables/chairs all provided was great, because it’s one less thing you have to think about with vendors. We wanted string lights and because they were attached to the building, the venue required we use their lighting company. Be prepared, it’s astronomically expensive for the 5-6 hours it’s displayed. One of the lights was out during our event and this was upsetting because of how much we paid for them. However, the venue totally reimbursed some of the cost, after the fact, which was nice. They also reimbursed money for fewer meals having been served night of. Totally respect and appreciate them for doing that. I’m sure many venues wouldn’t. Upon arrival, our hotel room had wine and cheese/crackers waiting for us. Loved that touch. Then, day of, they had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our hotel room, which was so sweet. Really nice touch. Amanda is really nice and definitely made us feel important. Her assistant, Shannon, is also great. We liked both of them and even though we had hiccups, they made up for it and acknowledged any mistakes. Couple notes- the venue requires each vendor to have day of liability insurance. One of our vendors required we pay for their day of policy. We also had to take out a million dollar insurance policy for day of. Those are costs we didn’t even think we’d need to consider. Also, the venue required everything be removed from the event space same night, so make sure you come up with a plan. Our wedding planner handled that, so it’s another good reason to have the planner. The venue doesn’t offer any fridge space night of, so make sure your dessert is good to be out for however long.

    Sent on 06/16/2019
  • User3202015 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highlights:
    - the catering staff are amazing and pretty easy to work with. Chuck and Aimee were very good about responding to me via email, and I had a lot of questions. They were also very flexible with scheduling walk-throughs, tastings, and upfront about what would have otherwise been hidden costs.
    - the food (salmon, prime rib, risotto, salads, veggies) were actually really good. It's hard to make good-tasting food for a large group, but the hotel did a great job
    - we had a Sunday brunch the day after the wedding, which was Easter, and it poured down rain so we couldn't use the Los Arcos Patio as planned. The hotel moved us to another area and treated it like it was no problem.
    - if you do the wedding package, the bridal suite is included. We had a ground floor room facing the ocean - beautiful. We also came in with a LOT of wedding decor/supplies. The gentlemen at the valet were so nice helping us unpack and then repack the car - especially since it poured down rain when we had to repack to leave.
    - to my knowledge, my coordinator had no difficulties working and communicating with the catering staff and the hotel.

    Lowlights:
    - the reservation staff are terrible. TERRIBLE. One of the hardest things about planning the wedding was how terrible they were. We had multiple problems with our room block because they couldn't seem to put our information in right. At one point they told me I had a block for 30 rooms total, 12 rooms for Saturday night and 13 rooms for Friday night and I was like, not only was that wrong, but 12+13 DOES NOT EQUAL 30! Other friends who had hotel weddings told me they also had problems with reservation staff, so my feeling is that my experience was not unique, but it was so, SO frustrating. This is a Hilton property, after all.

    Sent on 04/16/2013
  • X

    Xenia · Married on 06/25/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This is a beautiful venue with lots of possibilities for where to have the ceremony and the reception. For $4000 (mid week price) we rented the whole vineyard from 430pm-1030pm. We had the ceremony in the garden, and the cocktail hour in a nice grassy area followed by a beautiful reception on the veranda and we even got to use tha barrel room for our cake! It is a great place with tons of possibilities. I would book them again.

    Sent on 08/15/2008
  • V

    Vida · Married on 08/08/2010

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Double Tree is absolutely beautiful! They have quite a few different options for your ceremony. We chose the beach ceremony which was amazing. There were also options for the rose garden and the rotunda which are equally beautiful.

    Sent on 08/28/2010
  • User3627808 · event on: 08/31/2013

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Had our bridal shower outdoors and although everything was reviewed with the head of staff the day before, the instructions were lost and no one even had a clue we were holding a shower. Very upsetting. Once we finally flagged someone down and they got everything in order all went very well. Wait staff was a little slow but very friendly and the food was good! Beautiful outdoor setting! We also stayed the weekend here and were very happy with our stay otherwise. The rest of the staff was very friendly and accomodating!

    Sent on 10/24/2013
  • L

    Latisha · Married on 09/27/2014

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    Not a good place to get married if you don't want to be overcharged and have them charge your credit card for things that you haven't authorized. Just because Paige has a credit card on file, the whole hotel thinks they can charge things on it when you didn't even authorize those charges. Very illegal if you ask me! I wouldn't recommend this venue at all because they'll tell you one thing and do another and they'll charge you for things at the last minute that they never discussed with you in the 9-10 months of planning until the day before your wedding you'll get BEOs of charges when you have no time to review them. You can discuss anything you want with Paige and then it'll all turn out the opposite especially alcohol charges and pre wedding events. Don't do any sort of pizza party or pool party here unless you want it to rack up to $2000 for maybe 50 guests! Very poor communication on her end. I was happy with her up until few days before the wedding and then even worse the day before when many things changed and weren't done as discussed or documented via emails and on the phone. I wouldn't recommend this vendor at all! It's pretty but the extra stress and money isn't fair nor needed!!

    Sent on 10/21/2014