Herman Au Photography Reviews

45 | Pasadena, CA
See photos, pricing and details

45 Reviews for Herman Au Photography

Recommended by 99%

45
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

5 User photos

Herman Au Photography 1
Herman Au Photography 2
Herman Au Photography 3
Herman Au Photography 4
Herman Au Photography 5
Sort by:
  • B

    Betsy · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Photographer Ever!

    Herman Au Photography was the photographer I chose for my wedding in June of 2019. This decision was by far one of the best and easiest decisions of my entire wedding planning. Herman is such a professional in his business dealings, but warm and gentle at the same time. He answered every email, text, phone call promptly and with patience. He handled his photography the same way. Each photo he captured was of beautiful quality and selection. Most of the time, I wasn't even aware he was snapping photos, so I never felt nervous or awkward. His choices of what to capture showed elegance and class without being too stiff and formal. He is a photographic magician! He can make anything and anyone look stunning and classy through his lens! What a blessing to have found Herman and it is because of his grace and talent that I will have beautiful reminders of the memories my husband and I made on our wedding day. We love you, Herman!

    Sent on 06/19/2019
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Herman is thoughtful and has his client’s best interest at heart. Of the 10 different vendors we hired for our wedding, he easily ranks at the top.
    His photography and videography style is relatable, genuine, and timeless. I wanted a one-stop shop and he offered everything we needed - photography, cinematography, and photo booth.
    Not only is he an extremely talented photographer, but he also listens attentively, gave great creative suggestions, and always got back to me promptly. Herman's even keel personal makes him very approachable and makes you feel comfortable. I think it's crucial that the photographer makes you feel this way, since you're spending more than half of the wedding day with the team taking photos. We feel our best when at ease, so naturally you want to feel this way on one of the most important days.
    One of my biggest pain points from the wedding was the slideshow. I ran into issues trying to convert the file and ended up letting one of the groomsmen take over. He and Herman's team were still working on it hours before our reception! In the end, it played just fine. He saved the day! I would've been heartbroken if the slideshow never played. It's moments like these when once everything is over and done with, I reflect back and can truly appreciate everything that happened behind the scenes. And how well they kept those details behind the scenes so I could enjoy a stress-free day.
    On our wedding day, I met Herman’s team. Peter the head videographer, Grace the assistant videographer, and Li the assistant photographer. We really gave them a run for their money by having an aggressive timeline filled with non-stop activities. They worked through everything patiently while engaging in conversation and cracking jokes. Herman is full of surprises and consistently exceeded my expectations. So when it came to the big day, it wasn’t any different. That day he and his team went above and beyond!!! We really lucked out with Herman.

    Sent on 08/14/2018
    Herman Au Photography 6
    Herman Au Photography 7
    Herman Au Photography 8
    Herman Au Photography 9
    Herman Au Photography 10
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really appreciated Herman's professionalism, communication and the quality of his work. We chose Herman because he was familiar with our venue and our coordinators. He was always available to answer our questions, and worked with us to create a package that worked for our budget. The day of, Herman and his assistant made us feel comfortable and they did a great job capturing the beauty of our venue and the spirit of the day. He took our direction and provided a good balance of posed pictures and action shots. I would definitely recommend Herman for anyone looking for a photographer.

    Sent on 08/15/2018
  • J

    Jimmy · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were referred to Herman because a close friend of mine had used him for his engagement photos, and we had loved how their photos came out. After meeting with Herman for the first time, we walked away trusting 100% that Herman was the right photographer for us. We loved how personable he was, his passion for his work, and also his care for his clients. We could tell it was more important we see the value in his work than finding the best package.

    Engagement Shoot:
    I highly recommend doing the engagement shoot with Herman if you are hiring him for the wedding day. Doing so really allows you to get to know Herman and feel like a friend is there with you on your wedding day. Most importantly, Herman coaches and guides you through how to smile and position your body in photographs. The engagement shoot came out amazing and was everything we had hoped for. We really loved how dramatic some of the shots came out. He really takes note of what kind of style you are looking for and also works closely with your own personalities.

    On our wedding day, Herman and his team were there with us the entire day. We felt totally at ease, and were able to be ourselves. We appreciated how patient he was in making sure we were able to capture all the important moments throughout our wedding day.

    Sent on 07/04/2017
  • Y

    Yin · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I booked Herman (and his photobooth service, separate review on LA Portrait Booth) for our wedding reception on 8/6/16. Our package also included 3 hours of engagement photo shoot. Ever since our consultation we were impressed with Herman's professionalism but he is also very approachable.

    Engagement photoshoot:
    * We did this at UCLA, which Herman has has experience doing in the past. This meant that he knew which areas made for good pictures, so his extensive experience definitely helps!
    * My husband is extremely awkward in front of the camera, and Herman did a great job making him feel comfortable and gave us lots of tips for posed photos.
    * Herman got a great mixed of candid and posed photos, close-ups and ones that captures the environment. This is actually why we decided to pick Herman over another photographer, we loved how he captures the environment and landscapes and beautiful incorporates that into the photos with the people.

    Wedding Reception:
    * Herman and his assistant showed up promptly to our venue even earlier than we had asked him. They surveyed the area before we're even ready for any photos to make sure they knew what areas makes good photos. They made sure they knew what pictures we wanted, and got plenty of photos of the wedding details, so those are going to be great memories for us to look back onto.
    * Before our event started we were able to get some couple photos around the venue, and also posed photos with family and friends. Herman was very patient with our family and it was a plus he spoke cantonese to our families!
    * During the event, Herman and his assistant never made themselves visible but they got plenty of great candid photos throughout the night. They were aware of all of the happenings and captured every moment of the night (dances, toasts, games, bouquet & garter toss, cake cutting, etc).

    Overall we were very happy with the quality of the photos we got from Herman and he was very-very gr

    Sent on 12/25/2016
  • J

    Jessie · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We actually found Herman through Yelp! and after our first meeting with him, we knew we wanted to book him. Our only hesitation was the cost, but Herman was very willing to help us find a package that included everything we wanted and fit within our budget.

    One of the things that made working with Herman so enjoyable is that he's friendly, approachable, and easy to talk to. Having someone follow you around with a camera can be quite awkward at times so it helps to find a photographer that you're comfortable with. Luckily we had an engagement session included in our package so we had the chance to get to know Herman a little better during that shoot. I'll be honest, I was terrified that the pictures were going to turn out horrible because I was so nervous! But all the pictures turned out amazing!! That definitely put me at ease for the wedding day.

    On the big day, Herman and his team arrived bright and early. They were so friendly and it was like they weren't even there. I figured it was probably going to take several weeks before we'd get to see any of the pictures from the wedding day, but to my surprise, Herman sent us a link a coupe days after the wedding so that we could take a sneak peak! I was SO happy with them!! Herman and his team captured all the important moments, but they also took pictures of all the small details (like our dessert table teapots/teacups, our table numbers, all the flower arrangements). The wedding day was so hectic that I didn't even get a chance to see a lot of the detailed decorations that I had picked out myself so I couldn't be more thankful that everything is captured in the pictures.

    In the end, we ended up booking Herman and his team for our photography, videography, and photo booth services and everything turned out amazing! Both Herman and his entire team are super friendly and easy to work with and we couldn't have made a better choice!

    Sent on 07/23/2015
  • User4083507 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Of all the items on my wedding to do list, finding the right photographer was one of THE most important things for me. I wanted a photographer who can capture all those special moments perfectly, and naturally, and fit me and my husband's personality and style. I looked at a few photographers and some were too edgy for me, too contrived, or too stylized. I wanted someone who was more about bringing out the moment and the couple, as opposed to about merely just style, and Herman was the perfect person for that. He took our engagement pics in April 2014 and they came out absolutely amazing! My friends and family were very impressed as well. Herman displayed very good camera techniques and created some exquisite pictures that looked like a dream! He made the roses in the rose garden look like clouds surrounding my husband and I :). He then took our wedding pics in September 2014 and once again did an amazing job! My favorite pics were of the candid pics -- those moments were so special and so real. Our wedding portraits in the garden also came out amazing thanks to Herman's skills. Herman will not make you pose, there is no formula -- your pictures are yours truly and will not be the same as anyone else's. I've looked at some other photographers and in their website gallery ALL their pictures of every couple look the same, and follow the same formula, same poses, same backgrounds. But with Herman, if you look at his gallery, all his pictures are unique to each couple. That is what makes Herman stand out from the rest. If you want one of a kind photos that speak to your personality and relationship with your significant other, he is the person to go to.

    Sent on 02/18/2015
  • H

    Helen · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Herman was introduced to us by a friend. He was the first vendor we hired. We are very happy with his professionalism during the process, on the big day, and after the wedding. When we met with Herman for the first time in his office in Monrovia, we instantly loved his work. He specializes in candid shots that show the relationships of people he photographed. He is also great at capturing the amazing backdrop and landscapes. Our wedding was on the beach, and we fell in love with all of his beach wedding pictures. Our pictures also turned out absolutely beautiful. We are so happy with his work.

    On the wedding day, Herman and his assistant arrived on time for the getting-ready shots. Herman made my bridal party and parents felt very comfortable like he was one of our friends. No one felt awkward that there were actually at least 2 cameras in the room. Herman was familiar with our venue and was perfect at guiding us through our "first look" pictures. These photos are some of my favorites from the wedding, which reminded me of how we felt at that exact moment when we saw each other for the first time :) While we were waiting for the ceremony to begin, Herman presented me a small pack of almonds from his camera bag. My bridal party wanted to make sure I wouldn't become hungry before all the festivities (which required a lot of energy!), and Herman was the only one who remembered and asked! I felt great after snacking on a couple of raw almonds before saying " I do!"

    I would definitely recommend Herman as your wedding photographer, especially if you have a beautiful venue. He takes stunning pictures, incorporating the background perfectly and showing relationships & emotions. "A picture is worth a thousand words!"

    Sent on 11/16/2014
  • K

    Karen · Married on 11/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Herman was great throughout the whole process. He has been recommended to us by multiple friends. He was very professional and thorough. He is very easy to work with and he captures the best moments. I don't really like taking pictures but he made it so easy and natural. He customizes each session with each couple. He must have done a thousand weddings already, yet each of them seem different. Love his work!

    Sent on 02/19/2014
  • D

    Deborah · Married on 06/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I worked with Herman a couple of months ago for our beach wedding, and we really had a fantastic experience! It was just us and our kids, and Herman was able to capture a truly magical day for us with a combination of fun snapshots, candid moments, and posed portraits - all on the beach - working around a tide that was quickly coming in and two restless kids who couldn't stay out of the water. The end result was a collection of fun and beautiful photos that we will treasure for the rest of our lives. We've had several people comment that our photos look like they could have been straight out of a bridal magazine, and everyone comments on what a fantastic photographer we had!

    Sent on 08/19/2013
  • M

    Misi · Married on 04/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are so many wonderful things I can say about my experience with Herman that I don't know where to begin. My wedding was planned at the last minute (we didn't want to wait) and my biggest priority was finding an *excellent* photographer that shot in the style and quality that we wanted, with the flexibility we needed. Herman was our man! Not only did he offer us a perfect photography package for our tiny, private wedding; he was also able to squeeze in a last minute engagement shoot.

    Beyond the fact that he shoots beautiful photography, Herman was also very attentive about shooting a few pictures in a specific style that I wanted. It was clear that his goal was to make sure we were totally happy with our pictures and he accomplished that and more. Herman was able to help my husband (who *hates* being in front of the camera) relax and smile during both shoots -- I couldn't believe it. An even better surprise was that he was capturing moments during our wedding day when we weren't even aware he was taking pictures -- and some of those moments are my favorites. We've only seen half the photos so far but the pictures are so wonderful that they bring a happy tear to my eye.

    If you're looking for a high end photographer who shoots beautifully, is a pleasure to work with, AND aims to understand what you want out of your pictures... look no further. Call Herman!!!

    Sent on 05/03/2013
  • W

    William · Married on 01/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Herman is simply one of the best and nicest photographers, and people, you will ever meet. He is very accommodating, but when left to his own devices he turns out wonderful work. The saying goes, "You get what you pay for"; with Herman, you definitely get that and more. Thanks, Herman, for photographing one of the most special moments in our lives!

    Sent on 01/23/2013
  • N

    Nicole & Mike · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Herman and his team photographed both our engagement and wedding day and we would highly recommend him and his team to any future bride and groom :) Herman's style definitely shines through in every picture he takes and we are very happy with our choice to have him shoot us. Herman was able to capture many views of our relationship through his photography and we felt the emotion in each image. Thanks Herman you are truly the BEST in the business!

    Sent on 08/19/2012
  • M

    M · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It’s been over 4 years since I met Herman Au. I discovered his services through researching photographers for my sister and friend’s wedding. There is an overwhelming number of wedding photographers in the industry, but what was key to me was the sense of trust and peace of mind in his work from the initial meeting with Herman. Ever since that meeting, he has been part of numerous weddings for friends and family.
    I knew from that moment he would be my wedding photographer when it was my turn. He has a great balance of artistry with the practicality of capturing key moments.
    From the minute we started planning our wedding, our first thought was to inquire on Herman’s availability in order to determine our wedding date. Herman was flexible with our overall needs, since our goal was to keep the planning process simple within a short timeline.
    During the e-session, he made it a point to be comfortable and after we warmed up, it definitely became easier to feel relaxed in front of the camera. We were able to go to multiple locations to get a good representation of us.
    As for the wedding, he was able to capture all of the happy moments we shared with our family and friends during our special day. Also, it was a great benefit that he collaborated well with our videographer and DJ. It was a long day, but the Herman and team was there from beginning to end. We highly recommend Herman and team as a key partner for your special event.

    Sent on 06/03/2013
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 03/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Herman Au Photography to any couple who is looking for outstanding photos to cherish for years to come. Herman is not only a talented photographer, but he is also a pleasure to work with. He takes his time to listen to what you like/dislike and delivers just that plus much more. My fiance and I had our engagement session and our wedding pictures taken by Herman, we've only had a sneak peek of 29 pictures of my wedding day, but we already had no doubt that he will capture our big day the way we wanted to remember it. Both of us are not very good at being photographed, but Herman puts us at ease and he was also extremely patient with us. All our friends raved about our engagement photos already, and they are already asking me to be sure to let them look at my wedding pictures! As a very detail-oriented bride-to-be, there are a lot of things that I worried about as I was planning my wedding. However, by hiring Herman as our photographer, My fiance and I could at least have this very important part (photography will take up a good portion of your wedding budget) of the wedding be stress-free. Thanks Herman!

    Sent on 03/16/2012
  • J

    Josephine · Married on 02/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Herman Au Photography was such a joy to have as our photographer and videographer for our engagement and wedding! Herman and his crew were extremely professional, one-time, and blended in with the whole wedding crowd! Our Photo booth was a hit and was enjoyed immensely! Our sign-in book filled with our engagement session photos was so beautiful! Herman's got a client for life! Highly recommend.

    Sent on 03/14/2012
  • User2438565 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Herman was an amazing photographer. We were impressed by his website and we booked him for our wedding this November. We met with him several times before the event. Each time we saw him, we were impressed by his courtesy and professionalism. He helped us work within our budget, gave useful input for the day-of schedule, and went above and beyond in his advice for organizing our day. On the day of the wedding, he arrived early, stayed on schedule (incredibly with the amount of pictures he took!), and was a calming presence leading up to the ceremony and omnipresent once things got going (when we were on the dance floor, every time I turned around I saw him in a different location!). We've only seen a few of the photos so far since Herman posted some to his blog online (only a few days after our wedding), but they look absolutely beautiful. Herman is a true artist, and we would recommend him wholeheartedly to anyone looking for a photographer to capture their special moments!

    Sent on 11/24/2012
  • dumdumsun

    Sandy · Married on 12/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Photography is the very first thing I booked for our wedding. I started researching photographers even before I got engaged. After browsing through countless websites/blogs of many of the well known photographers I came across Herman's site and fell absolutely in love with his style of work. Like many of the reviewers have mentioned, photographs from one of the most important days of your lives will last forever, so this is something everyone should really splurge on! You can cut everywhere else, but to me, finding the right person to capture these precious moments is not something you want to skim on.

    It was easy to fall in love with his photography, it was even easier to fall in love with the person once you meet Herman. He is easy going, very attentive, and eager to learn about you as a couple. He doesn't do any cookie cutter poses and urges you to be yourselves and is able to capture all the right moments. Our engagement session was fun and casual, nothing too overwhelmingly pretentious. Although I was feeling awkward when we first started, Herman was very patient with me and worked his magic behind the camera. The photos came out beautiful! We couldn't have asked for a better session!

    Herman is one busy guy, but he is always quick to respond to emails/text/chat. Even if he doesn't respond right away, give him a couple of days, he will get back to you and answer all the questions and concerns!

    Our wedding was just this past Saturday (12/17/11), and some of our photos are already up on Herman's blog earlier this afternoon!!!!!! We feel so blessed to have the honor to be featured in his blog. The photos are to die for! Every single one that he posted on the blog tugged @ my heart. He captured all the right emotions and moments that every couple could dream of. I can't wait to see the rest of them!

    Sent on 12/20/2011
  • J

    JW · Married on 11/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely adore Herman Au photography! Herman did our engagement and wedding pictures and we are so thrilled that we hired him!!!! Photography is high on our list - after a year+ of planning, all the hard work and efforts, we felt that wedding pictures are so important,...it is our keepsakes for the big day.

    From the get go, Herman is already very accomadating, easy to work with! He traveled to Napa for our engagement pictures. I must admit that we are not the best models in front of a camera, Herman was so patient in coaching us and our engagement pictures turned out amazing!

    Our wedding day went by like a blizz, I can only remembr bits and pieces of it. We have looked at a sneak peek of our wedding photos and it felt like we were re-living the entire day through Herman's work of art! He captured EVERY single moments and details of our wedding, it INSTANTLY brings us to tears.....tears of joy that is!

    Aside from his artistic talent, Herman is just very easy to work with and make us feel very at ease. We didn't need to worry about him showing up late, cuz he is always early every time we meet. We didn't need to worry about must-do shots (like my friends have suggested me to come up with a list), cuz Herman is such an experienced photographer, his "must-do" list has already covered everything we thought of and poses/moments we didn't think of. He is always proactive in following up - like picking our pictures for canvas printing as we kept procrasinating in picking the pictures.

    He is patient and takes time to know us, listen to what we want, what we don't like, and make sure our wedding day is captured in still-frames just the way we want it, in every moments we could ever imagine or wish for! Even though we are probably one of the handful of couples he shoot that month, he certainly make sure we feel that we are THE ONLY one. He wants to make sure that our wedding is unique to us, and that the pictures reflect it! I love his work, I love the way he works...we are so thankful to have Herman as our photographer, we cannot imagine using anyone else!

    Sent on 12/09/2011
  • D

    David · Married on 08/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancee thought we should get the best possible photographer for our wedding. I got worried since I was was paying for it, but then she pointed out that the photographs and video are the only part of our wedding that we actually get to keep forever. So we juggled our budget a little and decided that we were going to get the best photographer we could find.

    Then we found Herman. Herman is well beyond anything we could have imagined for a wedding photographer! We knew immediately from the photos on his site/blog that we wanted him to be our photographer.

    Our initial consulation was great, but it was during our engagement session that we really got to know Herman. We spent a fun afternoon travelling around LA trying to find the perfect spots for our shots. Herman really went out of his way to make these *our* photos, and to find locations that really fit us. We love candy, so we went to a candy store! I'm betting any other photographer would have taken us to his spot and told us what to do, but Herman took the time to really get to know us!

    It says here that Herman serves Southern California but poking around on his blog you'll find that he travels all over the US for weddings and it's easy to see why. He came to Santa Barbara for our big day, which is quite the drive from Arcadia! Not only that, but he was there from the time the bride started her make-up to the time the reception ended! And he and his assistant captured every moment!

    We weren't initially interested in a videographer, but we changed our mind at the last minute and Herman's crew did an amazing job! So far we've only seen our "teaser", but it's beautifully shot and edited to match one of our favorite songs. They must have asked the DJ for our playlist - just another example of how they really put in the extra details!

    Herman is definitely the best in the business!

    Sent on 12/02/2011
  • J

    Jeannie · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Herman Au Photography is absolutely amazing. Herman is such a talented photographer and has such a beautiful personality. Herman was such a delight to work with and I will surely recommend him to all my friends and family.

    I fell in love with his work just by browsing his photos on his blog/website. My husband and I live in Tucson, AZ but wanted to have our wedding in our California, my home state. Herman accommodated us so well, knowing that we only had a weekend to meet with vendors. We didn't have the luxury of time and distance to fully research our vendors, but when we met Herman, it was "love at first sight." I fell in love with his work ethic, character, humor, kind demeanor and of course, his beautiful work! He provided us with samples of his work in his office, and we absolutely adored his canvas print. Go meet him at his office and you will see what I am talking about. :)

    We LOVED, LOVED, LOVED our engagement shoot. We had such a blast and the pictures turned out so beautifully and gorgeous! We are so happy with Herman as our photographer.

    Also, he always responds to your emails, calls and requests. We planned our wedding without a professional coordinator, so I did all the communicating with Herman. He always responds so promptly and answers all the questions so thoroughly, and is super friendly. I never once worried about our vendor relationship with Herman.

    And, he was AMAZING at our wedding! We asked for a same-day edit slideshow to play during our reception, and it was a hit with us and all the guests. Everything Herman does is amazing. We had a wonderful time with Herman and his team members at our wedding. I can't wait to relive our day through our photos. Our guests also complimented on the talent of Herman. We are so, so pleased with having Herman as our photographer. You have to feel comfortable with your photographer, and we surely did. I felt like we hired a friend to take our photos. :)

    Herman, you are the BEST!

    Sent on 08/19/2011
  • W

    Wesley · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Herman did an awesome job capturing everything that was happening during our wedding. Everytime we look at the pictures, it was almost like watching a video replay of the event. Not only were the pictures beautifully taken, each emotionally charged picture tells a story. As the groom I didn't get to see (or remember) every little detail that happened that day. Herman made it possible. You would think that with all the friends and family members taking so many pictures on that day, nothing would've been missed. When we got Herman's pictures, we were amazed.

    Herman posts enough of his work on his blog. Go see for yourself. :)

    Sent on 06/28/2011
  • A

    Annie · Married on 05/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Herman was our photographer for our wedding day. He was very easy to work with and gave us lots of tips on how to look our best while we posed for pre-ceremony photos. He put the entire wedding party at ease and the whole day just flow. I was very glad we hired him. Communication wise, he was always very responsive to our emails and we never had a problem trying to follow up with him and asking him any questions. He took care of capturing all the necessary details of our wedding ceremony and reception and we were very happy to have him as our photographer. I highly recommend him.

    Sent on 06/27/2011
  • S

    Shelley · Married on 03/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First off - My hubbie and I had decided since the first month of our engagement that photography is the most important thing to us on wedding day. We imagined that pictures will capture and remind us the day after the wedding as well as 50, 60 or more years down the road what our relationship, our wedding day, and the laughter and emotions of everyone on that day look like. These are things that we want look back and smile at.

    Herman - We love working with Herman! He was able to quickly grasp the essence of our personalities (and our goofiness) during the engagement session. He quickly understood our inside jokes, weather he wanted to or not ^_~, and created new ones with us throughout the E-session. His assistant, Henry, and him were exceptional on our wedding day! They were professional, creative and super sweet! Herman helped put together our wedding slide show, which took a big load off our shoulders during crunch time. He also surprised us with a slide show of photos from the engagement session from two days prior! Both the slide show and e-session slide shows (and song choices) expressed our personalities and our relationship perfectly w/o much instructions or song preferences from us. Herman is so easy and such a pleasure to work with. With a sneak peak of some of the pictures from wedding day in a slide show, we can't wait to see the rest of the day's photos. Herman has an awesome way & eyes for capturing personal & emotional moments throughout the day that one would likely have missed as a bride or a groom. If photos are important to you and your love one, then we'd recommend going with Herman! And – Herman is bilingual. This was a plus for us since the first language on my side of the family is Cantonese. This helped my family member feel much more at ease, purely a cherry on top of a wedding cupcake! :D

    Details - Herman’s studio is based out of Arcadia in CA and is very convenient to get to. He’s flexible (he worked with our out-of-town & busy schedules as well as his own), and is willing to travel for wedding (and E-session) shoots. He’s super professional (and fun!) and works very well with other vendors to make sure your special day goes smoothly. We'd give him a 6 out of 5 for flexibility if we could!

    Sent on 03/24/2011
  • K

    Krystle · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Last year my husband and I decided to elope on the beach in Malibu. Since we live in Vegas I put an ad on craigslist looking for a photographer. Within 30 minutes I had over 200 responses and quickly took the ad down. I went through all 200 emails and narrowed it down to 3, even though Hermans stood out the most, I sent the links to my fiance and told him to choose ( hopeing he would like Herman best too) and he did! His work stood out as FAR best among the over 200+ responses. We hired Herman and later found out that he RARELY goes on Craigslist and it was a fluke he responded to my ad. Im so glad he did!

    It was a simple wedding, just me, my groom, and an officiant ( Loreli Starbuck www.sacredaffairs.com- AMAZING) Herman came to our hotel room in Santa Monica with his friendly wife, and 2nd shooter, Shirley. They took a few pictures there and then followed me across to the Santa Monica pier where my groom was anxiously awaiting. Herman and Shirley captured such amazing and special moments of him seeing me for the first time in my dress. With 2 angles they got every expression and happy moment. We then go in our cars and went to Malibu for the ceremony. Again- 2 angles capturing every moment. Then after the ceremony we did about an hour long photo session. Herman has such great ideas on posing, locations, and just capturing natural moments as well. When we got the pictures back after our secret wedding we cried the whole time looking at them because they were so amazing. They captured feelings and emotions while showcasing a beautiful backdrop of the Malibu beach. They were just amazing. Its because of his amazing pictures and our anxiousness to show them to people that we decided to tell most of our friends and family about the secret wedding because we could not keep these pictures a secret.

    One year later, we had our HUGE wedding for family and friends in Tucson, AZ. After checking out websites and prices of a few local photographers, I decided I could not imagine our day without Herman and Shirley there to capture it so I flew them in from California to spend our wedding weekend with us. Even with the cost of the flight and hotel room, They were more than affordable and even competitive with local photographers prices. For the time they give us and as hard as they work running around capturing every detail. They are well worth the cost! They are a friendly couple and work really hard to capture your special day. The pictures are so amazing from this wedding too and we cant wait to see our professional coffee table book he is putting together for us. Everyone enjoyed their company as well as their professional ways going around and about at our ceremony and reception. The pictures are just stunning. The way he captures lighting, backdrops and most importantly moments of the evening. Any time I turned around he was snapping away over my shoulder, and there to take pictures of every little moment! Herman is not an average wedding photographer. His photo journalistic style makes each and every picture look like it could be in a magazine. He does not focus on boring posed shots, he captures precious moments, laughter, exchanged looks, angles, ect in such a beautiful and unique way. I recommended Herman Au to anyone who asks no matter where they are located. I already have 1 friend in Vegas, and a bridesmaid from my wedding in Tucson planning on flying him out for their weddings too!


    You will no be disappointed with Herman Au!!

    Sent on 11/08/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review