Weddings

Helene's Bridal Shoppe Reviews

Helene's Bridal Shoppe

Helene's Bridal Shoppe

East Providence, RI
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 36 Reviews
View more information

36 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 36
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
Sort by:
  • K
    Kimberly Married on 06/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I highly recommend going to Helene’s Bridal Shoppe in East Providence for your wedding dress and bridesmaids dresses. I am so happy that I choice this Bridal Shoppe to be my first and last place to look for a wedding dress. I was really nervous about trying on dresses because I don’t usually like the way dresses look on me and wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted. Ana was so amazing made me feel comfortable and new exactly what dresses would look good with my body shape. I ended up having so much fun and found my dress that day! I am in love with my dress and was so impressed I took my bridesmaids there for their dresses. Again Helene’s Bridal did not disappoint and Ana went out of her way to schedule an appointment around everyone’s crazy schedules. All my bridesmaids found beautiful dresses that compliments my dress and them as well. Can’t thank Ana enough for all of her help as well as all of her patience. So thankful for my experience and will highly encourage everyone to go there.
  • C
    Crystal Married on 11/19/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Helene's was recommended to me by a friend. They were great! Had me try on different styles to make sure I knew exactly what I wanted. Let me stay in the dress for a bit and try sitting, I even danced in it. Great quality and pricing. Couldn't be happier with my dress and where I got it from!
  • L
    Liz Married on 09/15/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After shopping at 7 other bridal stores, I found Helene's to be the best all around. The service from Ana was excellent, the dress was just what I was looking for and price was more reasonable than other places. The recommended seamstress did a nice job and was priced fairly. An all around positive experience! Highly recommend Helene's!

    Helene's Bridal Shoppe's reply:

    Liz ,
    Thank you and We wish you Happy Holidays.

    Ana.
  • L
    Lyndsey Married on 08/15/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They had a great selection and Anna made me feel like she really valued my time. I didn't feel rushed as I did at some other places and she was willing to show me as many dresses as I wanted to see until I found the one that was my dress.

    Helene's Bridal Shoppe's reply:

    Thank you so much for reviewing us, Lyndsey. We are very glad to hear that you had such a positive experience at our shop!
    Thank you,
    Ana
  • L
    Louisa Married on 03/21/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Due to our quick time line, the very first thing I had to do was order bridesmaid dresses. I bought my bridal gown later at home, but Helene's Bridal Shop was the perfect place to dress my bridesmaids. I let my girls choose different styles in the same color and fabric from Alfred Sung. Helene's let all five of us come in at once and try them all on. I am so grateful that they had so many of the styles available, not just a few. They were great with the ordering and billing and Anna even helped me pick out the final dress color in a last minute panic! The dresses were delivered right on time. I had an excellent experience with Helene's and they were friendly and pleasant to work with.
  • User1738560 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My mom recently purchased her mother of the bride dress here for my wedding coming up in September. She went in alone the first time and was very indecisive (as she usually is). She said the women there were very good at giving her opinions. I then went back with her to see her in the top two contenders. I swear we were there for an hour and a half- trying this one on, then that one, then back to the first one, and over, and over... Both women were extremely helpful in giving their honest opinions on which dress they liked better, which was more flattering, which was more elegant... My mom finally decided on one and they were so helpful in showing her what pleated cap sleeves would look like if they were added since she was considering that. They were also extremely helpful when picking the color. They even went upstairs to try and find other dresses from the same designer in the colors she was considering! When she picked up her dress, she tried on some jewelry we had purchased elsewhere that we weren't sure we loved. They found us the perfect necklace and earrings that matched the bracelet we had already purchased to totally complete my mom's look. On my way out, I saw a hairpiece that basically fit all my criteria- something I had searched high and low to find. They looked at pictures of my hair trial (15 minutes after they had already "closed") to give me their honest opinions. I ended up getting it! These women are just so incredibly thoughtful, kind, accommodating, honest, friendly, patient, all the things you look for at a bridal shoppe. They even asked me to come back and show them pictures of wedding day, even though I hadn't purchased my gown there! (I just hadn't gotten that far on my gown finding journey before I found THE dress. I totally would've purchased from them!) Bottom line, they are amazing people who really love what they do and make your experience great. I would recommend them to anyone!
  • S
    Sara Married on 06/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I always knew I'd be getting my dress at Helene's, as my sister purchased her gown there 7 years ago. Everyone there is more than amazing, especially Ana and Ashlee. My first appointment was so amazing. I tried on 9 dresses and found my dream dress that first day! The level of service they give you is beyond exceptional. They are always so flexible, and even let me come back one day just to try on the dress again! I ended up purchasing my veil, earring and hairpiece with them, too.

    We also went with Helene's for my bridesmaids. Two of them were planning on having a baby and we weren't sure what would happen around the time of our wedding for them. Ana was so great when measuring them and helped them pick the correct size. We found the perfect dress that looked gorgeous on 6 girls with 6 different body types! My mother also purchased her gown there, too!

    If you're also looking for great tuxes for the groom and men, definitely consider Anthony's House of Formals associated with Helene's. They even have 2 locations for us Rhode Islanders who don't want to go on 195 ;-)

    Helene's no longer has an in house seamstress but they do recommend a few. Definitely go with Eugenia! I thought my dress was already gorgeous but she is so meticulous and has an eye for things I never would have ever noticed. She even gave me quite the shape in my mermaid gown!
  • User1382998 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Loved my experience at Helene's and Anthony's House of Formals! Professional and got right to the point. Very helpful, I am so glad I found my dream dress at Helene's !
  • User1296491 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ana was great and i absolutely loved my Dress!
  • User1257905 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I found and purchased my dream dress in two hours! I worked with Ana; she was sweet, sincere, and competent. I walked into Helene's with a picture of one dress, but Ana made sure I tried on several dresses along with that one so I could have a feel for different styles. She never coaxed me or told me only what I wanted to hear; instead, she acted as a guide. She was never pushy and had exceptional taste and input. In the end, I purchased a different dress than the one from my picture; it was perfect! Ana made sure all details were accounted for, and my dress came in when she said it would. When I met with Ana, again, she was still that wonderful, sweet woman. I cannot be more thankful to her and the staff. They guided me towards a wonderful seamstress (see review for Sewing Creations by Rose), and we rented tuxes downstairs at Anthony's House of Formals (see review). Again, thank you to everyone at Helene's and Anthony's!
  • A
    Allie Married on 06/14/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had a wonderful experience finding my perfect wedding dress at Helene's! I went shopping with my mom, wedding planner and MOH, and everyone at Helene's made us feel welcome. They did not push me in any direction, didn't make me feel like we were on a time crunch, and just generally made the experience one I will remember forever. They were also super flexible and willing to make appointments with me outside of their typical hours to accommodate my own crazy work schedule. Thanks Helene's!
  • Lindsay
    Lindsay Married on 06/04/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ana was amazing. Very helpful. The dress came in early and was just what I expected.
  • C
    C Married on 04/20/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Purchased my wedding dress and got the bridesmaid dresses from Helene's. Finding a wedding dress was a great experience here, not like at those chain stores. My bridal consultant Ashley made sure I found the perfect dress and veil that I envisioned!
  • Shaina
    Shaina Married on 09/13/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Love, love, love this place! I got a gorgeous dress that looked like it would have cost twice of what I paid for it. They are so helpful here and they really know what they are doing. I very highly recommend this store!
  • A
    Alice Married on 08/12/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved Helene's! Working with Ashley was a true pleasure! She listened to everything I wanted and found my dream dress! I would highly recommend looking for your wedding dress here!!!
  • M
    Meagan Married on 02/19/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ashle and Ana were so helpful when it came to my gown. I was crunched for time because of an issue with my original gown and they went over the top to help me pick out my dream dress. My bridesmaids had gotten their dresses here too and I loved their dresses so much I cant wait to borrow one! Great service all around with finding the perfect dress, fittings, reminding me of deadlines, and tips and suggestions. They took wonderful care of me and my girls, highly recommend!!
  • F
    Felecia Married on 12/03/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ashley at Helene's Bridal was a pleasure to work with. Walking in for the first time, only after trying on the first couple of gowns, she realized what I was looking for without directly pointing out what it was I wanted. Whenever I needed anything or had a question, or even at the last minute needed to schedule an appointment or stop in, she responded immediately to work around my schedule, and went above and beyond to see that I was not kept waiting. I also would like to compliment her taste as a professional. She found the prettiest bridesmaid dresses and added just the right touch of color with her creativity. I truly appreciate her efforts and honesty to making sure that I had everything I needed to perfect my dress and attire for my wedding day (along with the girls)! Thank you Helene's Bridal!!!!!!!!!!
  • C
    Courtney Married on 11/12/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Got the Mother of the Bride dress and Bridesmaid Dresses here - ask for Ashley she is the BEST
  • S
    Sarah Married on 10/08/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I got my dress and we rented tuxes from Helene's and everything was perfect. They were able to special order my dress even though they didn't carry a sample in the store and helped me with everything I needed. The tuxes were great and the guys working in the tux shop were awesome! A big shout out to Ashlee upstairs too, she was wonderful!

    Helene's Bridal Shoppe's reply:

    Hello Sarah!

    Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy about your wonderful experience! Please send a picture!

    Also, Anthony's House of Formals has a wedding wire too! Please review them!!!!

    Thanks alot!
    Ashle
  • User705998 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Helene's is the best! Everyone who works here is amazing and makes you feel right at home. Helene's has the best customer service out of any other place I've been to. They have a great selection of dresses with very affordable options. The seamstress is out of this world and makes magic happen. I got my wedding dress and bridesmaid dresses here and loved every visit. My husband also got his tux from Anthony's which is located downstairs and the tuxes were amazing! I love Helene's!

    Helene's Bridal Shoppe's reply:

    Hello Christine!

    Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy about your wonderful experience! Please send a picture!

    Also, Anthony's House of Formals has a wedding wire too! Please review them!!!!

    Thanks alot!
    Ashle
  • K
    Kayla Married on 07/22/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with all the ladies at Helene’s was amazing especially Ashley. I must say that my dress shopping experience was a quick one. I tried on a max of 7 dresses and found mine in there. Setting up fittings was easier than ever. And whenever we went in Ashley was there to chat and see how things were going. You can tell when someone enjoys what they do and it showed with her. I would recommend Helene’s bridal to my friends and family in an instant! Thank you for everything!

    Helene's Bridal Shoppe's reply:

    Kayla,

    Thank you so much for the nice words! You and your family were great to work with! and you were beautiful in your gown! Please send us a picture!

    Thank you again,
    Ashle
    Helene's Bridal Shoppe
  • M
    Miranda Married on 06/07/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ginina, my Taylor and Ashle, the sales assistant, were great to work with. I found my dress at another store in Florida, but they carried the designer, so were able to order my dress. When it came in, almost 1 year after last seeing it, I had a melt down because the dress looked so ugly. It turned out I was standing in the room with only flourescent light, which made my dress look hideous. Once I walked into the foyer with the mini chandelier, all was redeemed, and the dress I fell in love with was staring right back at me in a beautiful floor length mirror.

    I only had one issue with the this vendor. They said they would steam my dress, it had several obvious wrinkles. When I went to pick it up the day before the wedding, it was not steamed, and they kept saying they had done so. Ginina said that she steamed it but placed it back in the garment bag too soon so it wrinkled again. Regardless, they remedied the problem immediately and steamed the dress with in an hour.

    The day before your wedding is SOOO stressful, allow plenty of built in time for issues such as this. As this was happening, my then fiance said the tuxes were held up in Cape Cod, once they arrived, they discovered his jacket was damaged and they had to order another and in addition, one of the tuxes didn't fit the groomsman, as he is quite large, and they had to order another tux. All of this was happening while my dress issues were happening, the day before the wedding. Stressful.
  • M
    Stephanie Married on 05/15/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved Helenes, they were great! They kept you relaxed and enjoying the process! The prices were very competive and fair! The alteration process was easy! The dress selection was great! I highly recommend them to all brides!
  • O
    Rebecca Married on 04/02/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The women at Helene's were FANTASTIC to work with. Ana was such a doll! She was so honest and made me so comfortable during the process of finding "THE DRESS" The women know how special & important the gown is & they really listened to what I was looking for & helped guide me in the right direction. Their seamstress was a sweetheart. She custom made me a hair piece & a one shoulder strap of silk flowers. All my guests said my gown was to die for!!! Thank you ladies so much for making me feel like a princess!!!!
  • H
    Heidi Married on 02/19/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My mother and I both bought our dresses here. Ashle is a diamond in the rough. I made this appointment on a whim. Living in Baltimore, I fly into Providence to visit my family in CT. Helene's is very close to the airport and Ashle squeezed us in one evening for our initial appointment. She selected a few dresses within my price range. Once I tried on Maggie Sottero's Ella, I knew this was the dress.

    My mother bought the first dress she tried on. All of our fittings were included with our initial cost of our dresses. The seamstress was wonderful to work with. She even made my birdcage veil to go with the headpiece I bought there.

    I would go back, in a heartbeat, to buy another dress there again. Ask for Ashle!!! :)