Heidi Ryder Photography Reviews

38 | North Hollywood, CA
See photos, pricing and details

38 Reviews for Heidi Ryder Photography

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

38
Order by:
  • User6458665 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVE Heidi! From our engagement photos to the wedding day, all the photos exceeded our expectations. Heidi was able to capture the love and emotions of the ceremony and the fun at the reception. I'm so glad all the detail shots were taken, because I feel like I missed it all with the whirlwind wedding we had. Before we even got the photos from our day back, my husband was already saying we need to hire Heidi for our shoot when we have a baby!

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi was amazing from start to finish. For our engagement shoot, she staked out our two locations beforehand so she had plenty of ideas of what to shoot. The photos turned out so beautiful that we used them for our wedding invitations and everyone raved about them. For the wedding, we had an indoor venue with tricky lighting and Heidi and her assistant were total pros and adjusted to get the right light so all the pics would come out. I cannot recommend Heidi enough because not only is she crazy talented, she's super cool and a very calm and reassuring presence, which is essential on the big day. My husband and I are so glad we found Heidi and that we have a lifetime of amazing photos that captured the love and happiness of the day.

    Sent on 12/28/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not be happier with having Heidi be the photographer for my wedding at Lombardi House in Los Angeles. It was hands-down one of the best decisions I made for my wedding. When I got my wedding pictures back, my mind was blown. They were more beautiful than I could ever have imagined. Heidi is so good at her job in every respect-- most importantly though, she has a great eye. She chose the BEST backdrops for posed photographs at our church (pictures after the ceremony) as well as at the venue (for first look, romantics, etc)-- that I could never have come up with on my own. She photographed details at my wedding in the most elegant way, from the tables, to the hanging garlands. She captured my wedding guests in the best of moments. She is also incredibly efficient without sacrificing any important details. She immediately set my husband and I at ease at our engagement shoot, and when the wedding came along, we had no nerves regarding Heidi showing up! I highly recommend Heidi Ryder!

    Sent on 07/20/2016
  • T

    Taryn · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi is a fantastic photographer and the best to work with! She was the first photographer my (now) husband and I met with and there is no comparison. Our engagement photos were phenomenal and really gave us a great trial run for the actual wedding. Heidi is very communicative and on top of it! She was really easy to work with on the day of, never got in the way and never bossed us around. She was great during family photos - the hardest part! That was smooth, quick and painless. She was super quick in getting us the photos within 2 weeks after the wedding and ALL were perfect. She's an amazing photographer and captured everything we wanted and needed. When I say EVERY photo was AMAZING, I truly mean it! No need to look any further - Heidi is your girl!!

    Sent on 12/15/2015
  • S

    Shelby · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where to even begin. I feel so lucky to have stumbled upon Heidi after my original photographer became pregnant and could no longer shoot our wedding. This was a blessing in disguise because I'm absolutely obsessed with every single photo Heidi and her amazing assistant shot at our wedding. I'll start by commenting on her personal touch. She requires you meet with her via Skype or in person to chat about the vision of your day, which I really liked. She's organized, timely, and makes the business side of the process painless. She also allows payments, which was nice as we were able to pay for it over the span of 4 months. Her prices were amongst the most reasonable I've found for the quality of work. You truly get more than you pay for and quick. We received all of our images on our honeymoon abroad, which was so special. In regards to the actual event, Heidi was early, professional, organized, and didn't miss a beat. Looking at the pictures, we were in disbelief and the amount of moments she captured, not only of my husband and I but ALL of our family and friends. It was like she was everywhere all night. Her work speaks for itself, I was instantly gravitated towards her natural light approach and her work for me far exceeded all expectations I had for my wedding pictures. Heidi, thank you for giving me the ultimate keepsake and allowing us to relive our best day for years to come. We so love our pictures and wish you the best
    xo
    Shelby & Steve

    Sent on 12/11/2015
  • T

    Tim · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi was more than we could have ever hoped for! Not only did she spend time getting to know us before our wedding, she ensured that she understood every aspect of our wedding before the day so she wouldn't miss a beat.
    If you're looking for a wedding photographer, no need to look any further than Heidi. Her photos are beautiful, she captured everyone, everything, and every moment of our wedding. I'm just waiting for another fun event that I can hire Heidi to come and take photos again. Go right now and call Heidi! Best decision you'll make in preparing for your wedding.

    Sent on 12/12/2015
  • User4394800 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi was such a delight to work with from start to finish. Because we were getting ready at one location, doing first look and bridal party photos at another location, having a church ceremony, and then another location for the reception, we knew we wanted more coverage than what other photographers provided in their "standard" package. Heidi met with us and let us know that the most important thing to her was to capture our day, and that she wouldn't nickel and dime us, nor risk missing something important to us if it didn't happen in the contracted time. Her attitude and flexibility left me 100% confident going into the wedding day. We just got our photos back and she (and the second photographer) captured absolutely everything and managed to be all the places I didn't get to experience myself. It's so true that the day flies by and you'll be so happy if you invest in a great photographer and second shooter so that you can relive it when it's over! We certainly think she was worth EVERY penny! (Even though we didn't really want or need engagement pictures, we followed Heidi's advice to use them time to get more comfortable with her and the camera -- really great advice and happy she got to know us before the wedding day too. Seeing her on the day of felt like seeing a friend, not a stiff vendor.)

    Sent on 06/21/2015
  • D

    Donna · Married on 04/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi was our photographer for our wedding. When I first met Heidi, I instantly liked her. She was so pleasant, easy going and very patient when I was asking her millions of questions. And I asked a lot of questions!! I had told Heidi that I usually don't feel comfortable being in front of a camera and even more awkward, posing for pictures. She flashed her assuring smile and said, "not to worry. The main thing was to enjoy the moment and have fun at it." I definitely felt more at ease after meeting Heidi and I knew she was the photographer I wanted at my wedding. We scheduled an engagement photo session with Heidi and it was fantastic! It gave us an opportunity to work with each other for the first time and be comfortable with one another, so on the wedding day, it wouldn't feel so foreign. I highly recommend engagement photo sessions!!!
    Heidi and Mary (second photographer) arrived on the wedding day early. She's punctual that way! ;-) Throughout the ceremony and wedding luncheon, Heidi was able to capture so many sentimental emotions on film, all which are so priceless to me and my husband. Now looking back at the wedding pictures, I am still amazed how talented she is! Heidi has a creative vision and I'm so grateful that she was the one who helped expressed our wedding memories on film. Not only is Heidi the best photographer ever, she has become my friend as well. Also, she likes to give hugs, which is a plus for me ;-)

    Sent on 06/25/2015
  • C

    Candice · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so lucky we found Heidi! In a sea of wedding photographers, her personality and perfect blend of traditional with a twist of quirky photo style suited us perfectly. Heidi is patient and allowed us to have our space on the wedding day, and I was pleasantly surprised by the great shots that I didn't even realize that she was able to capture on the day of. Our friends from out of town first mentioned the great time they had at the wedding, and then they went on and on about the pictures and how fantastic they came out!!! We will absolutely hire her again for our next life event!! Ps. Get the photo booth: it was a highlight of the night!!

    Sent on 09/19/2014
  • M

    Megan · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi Ryder Photography is the absolute best!! My husband and I first met with Heidi when we were engaged (and expecting our first child). I had become familiar with her work after pouring over her blog and many featured weddings on Style Me Pretty and Wedding Wire. I was immediately drawn to her use of natural light and her simple, elegant style. Since I was already a fan of her work, it was a wonderful surprise upon meeting her to find that she was also such a sweet person. We immediately knew she was the photographer we wanted to trust with both our wedding and our baby’s newborn pictures, two of the most important events in our lives.
    For our rustic, summer, vineyard nuptials, Heidi took the most beautiful pictures I have ever seen for any wedding. She captured our special day in every detail without me worrying about a thing. She somehow dealt with and effortlessly corralled our 22 person wedding party into pictures without ever seeming annoyed. She was discretely everywhere during the reception capturing every moment. I never had to worry, look for her, or to check to see if she was getting everything. It was so nice to be able to trust her completely so I could just have fun. She got pictures of our guests laughing, our surprise choreographed dance, sweet moments between our families that I didn’t even see, and everything in between. It was perfect. Our pictures are so amazing that they were featured in Style Me Pretty. I cannot tell you how many of my friends have commented that they wish Heidi had done their wedding. We received our picture proofs very quickly, and were thrilled with every one of them. We have pictures Heidi has taken all over our house. Heidi is punctual, respectful, kind, creative, organized and talented. She is an amazing photographer, a joy to work with, anand I cannot recommend her highly enough.

    Sent on 02/27/2015
  • User4289174 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would say Heidi's strongest skill set is making you feel comfortable during the day, particularly during the planned shots (e.g. romantic photos). I can't overstate the importance of that - it's a huge differentiator between you looking stale and you looking like how you actually feel.

    It's easy enough to look at her blog/website to see the quality of her shots. It's not a simple skill even among professional wedding photographers. She's very good at working with the light and adapting to the environment to get the best quality picture she can. Usually weddings are either indoors and/or outdoors in the mid-day sun, so I was very impressed with her ability to get such quality wedding portraits. My bride and I had her take some sunset pictures during the wedding just to take advantage of the best light possible - I think it was a good choice and she was extremely amenable to those kind of requests.

    Stylistically, she gets very good subject isolation in the photos, partly because she uses a full-frame camera and fast lenses. And when the wedding moved indoors, I was very impressed with the quality of the shots there too. In the toughest environment to work - poorly lit, indoors, with tons of movement - her shots came out perfectly.

    It's hard for me to judge value because it's not like I've hired a bunch of wedding photographers and compared them. It's possible to find someone just as good for less, but it's a risk because they're often less experienced. What I can say is that I am very happy with the results. I've seen a ton of wedding photos on Facebook from friends who recently got married and the honest truth is not a single one I saw compared in quality to those that Heidi took.

    Sent on 07/31/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 03/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi is AWESOME! Not only does Heidi produce the most beautiful photos (really they are unbelievably gorgeous), but she is so nice to be around and really easy to work with. For our engagement shoot we spent an afternoon hiking around Lands End and the Sutro Baths in San Francisco on a pretty cold and very windy fall day, she was beyond professional and so easy going.

    On our wedding day she brought along a second photographer and together they captured the day perfectly - it's been so much fun looking back on the special moments from our wedding day, especially the ones we missed because we were caught up in the moment. My friends and family are still gushing about how great the photos turned out. I would recommend Heidi to anyone, she's a total GEM!

    Sent on 04/22/2014
  • A

    Annika · Married on 01/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi is one of the best things that happened to our wedding. Not only is she friendly, kind, hilarious, and warm, her photographs are stunning and she made us feel right at home in front of her camera. Meeting with her for the first time in her home office was such a pleasure! Not only were we greeted with cookies, but chatting with her calmed all of our worries about expense, delivery dates, engagement photos, first look, timelines, etc etc etc. She was early to both our engagement shoot and to the day of our wedding, so she didn't miss a single thing! She is very knowledgable and I would recommend her to anyone looking not just for wedding photography, but to capture any of life's small but amazing moments.

    Sent on 12/12/2014
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 11/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Went above and beyond to provide us with the best service. Her quality of photos are unbelievably good and are exactly the look and feel we wanted. Timely and professional, Heidi was a dream to work with and we look forward to many more family photoshoots with her!

    Sent on 11/18/2014
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi was such a pleasure to work with. She photographed my wedding and did a fantastic job! All my photos turned out absolutely amazing and because of that have the best memories to look back on.

    Sent on 12/20/2013
  • R

    Renee · Married on 07/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi Ryder is an excellent wedding photographer! We felt very relaxed around her and noticed that she never interrupted any moments of the weddin or ceremoy but managed to intimately capture all of them. We really enjoyed working with her during all of the planning and were very happy with the photos!

    Sent on 11/15/2013
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 03/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi was an absolute pleasure to work with! She is so sweet and professional and really makes an afford to get to know the couple before the wedding day! She captured so many unique and candid moments from the day that truly illustrated the emotion and beauty of our special day!

    Sent on 10/28/2013
  • D

    diana · Married on 01/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi was everything I was looking for in a wedding photographer for our big day! In the meetings leading up to our wedding and on our special day, I found her warm, caring, friendly, open to my ideas (I'm also an artist), calming, and funny. She laughed with my family and friends and made it seem as if she belonged there - not a stuffy photographer in our faces. She made sure my husband and I had our special moments and captured them beautifully!
    I also love that she has a collaborative relationship with other photographers in Los Angeles. Our second photographer, Jen, was equally amazing and they both worked together as if part of the same business. Neither skipped a beat!
    I highly recommend Heidi Ryder Photography and cannot wait to have another shoot with her in the future!

    Sent on 05/01/2014
  • User2201984 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi captured not only our wedding day, but our engagement session as well. And let me tell you, our wedding pictures turned out beautiful!!! One of the reasons we chose her is because we found that her work captured everyone being extremely happy. Without a doubt, Heidi captured the happiness of our special day to a degree that my husband and I cannot even explain. We've had so many people tell us what great photos they are, but more importantly, Heidi made us feel comfortable in front of the camera, like we were just hanging out with an old friend. She was always super prompt at answering emails, and BEYOND friendly. Her assistant, Mary, was also a delight to work with. Thank you Heidi for such great pictures that captured the complete essence of our day!

    Sent on 09/16/2012
  • A

    Annie · Married on 07/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Heidi for our wedding! She offers a great value for her wedding package, although to be honest we chose to work with her because we felt so comfortable with her after our interview and we also loved how warm and alive her photos are. The package we chose included an engagement shoot and that is still one of the best memories from the wedding process. She was a very patient and very refreshing presence through the craziness of the wedding day itself. Aside from the great photos, we just liked having her around!

    Sent on 10/31/2013
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 02/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a pleasure Heidi has been to work with! She captures the formal photography, and the informal "moments" that you are sure to enjoy. Our engagement photos were outstanding, and we loved working with her. She and her assistant were spot on in everything that we did, and there were a lot of moving parts for our complicated family pictures, and she did not seem fazed. We are thrilled with everything that Heidi does. It is a delight to work with her!

    Sent on 02/22/2012
  • S

    Marcella · Married on 11/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am completely and overwhelmingly satisfied with the experience I received. The pictures came out even better than I expected and captured all the right moments. Something we will truly treasure forever. Best and most worth it expense of the wedding.

    Sent on 12/21/2011
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 08/13/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down the best photographer to work with. Plus, she's super positive and friendly which is always a good thing!

    Sent on 08/21/2011
  • D

    Desiree · Married on 07/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED working with Heidi! Everything about the process was stress free. Heidi is so talented and has such a great personality. Our pictures are gorgeous! Heidi is the best!

    Sent on 12/15/2011
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 03/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heidi is absolutely amazing. From the very beginning of my research for a wedding photographer, Heidi was my first choice based on her work alone. I was so relieved that when we met with her, she was as awesome of a person as she is a photographer. And I was extremely excited that she was available to work our wedding day! I knew I wanted great photos for our wedding, but I also knew that we would have to like the person we hired as we would be spending a good part of our day taking pictures.

    First, I want to say a bit about the nuts and bolts of doing business with Heidi--it was so incredibly easy. Her entire online system is automated and allows for online payment, so it could not have been simpler. Also, Heidi was very accommodating to help us get the services we wanted at a price we could afford. Out of all of the vendors we worked with for our wedding, Heidi's system was definitely the easiest. In addition to her online system, Heidi was always accessible by email and quick to respond, no matter how ridiculous my questions were. I know how busy she is, but she always made me feel like I was her only client, which is a wonderful feeling for any stressed out bride.

    It is clear from looking at Heidi's portfolio that her work is fantastic. As we learned during our wonderful engagement session (which Heidi traveled to San Diego to take), part of why Heidi's work is so amazing is because of how comfortable she makes her clients. It is a little weird to spend time in front of a camera when you are not used to it, but Heidi does a great job of making you feel comfortable and creating a fun atmosphere. We were so happy with how our engagement photos turned out, several are framed in our house, and we used them to create a photo-guest book for our wedding.

    Our wedding was just last weekend, and even though we haven't yet seen our pictures, I have no doubt that they will be amazing. We had so much fun with Heidi and Candice during our photos before the ceremony. It was great to have that time to have fun, relax, and get a ton of photos. During the ceremony and reception, it seemed as though Heidi and Candice were everywhere simultaneously (but unobtrusively), capturing every important moment. I can't wait to see how everything turns out.

    We can't thank Heidi enough for everything she did for us during the planning process and on our wedding day. I would absolutely recommend her services to anyone looking for a wedding photographer.

    Sent on 03/23/2011