Weddings

Havana 59 Reviews

Havana 59 View more information

14 Reviews

Rated
4.1
out of 5.0
Recommended by 81% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 3.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.4 out of 5

Awards

  • 14

12 User photos

Sort by:
  • M
    Monet W. Married on 08/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our Engagement Party at Havana was magical

    If you're reading reviews deciding whether or not to have your event at Havana 59.. the answer is to do it ! I couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to host our intimate engagement party. The best part is that it's a one stop shop everything from drinks , food and decor. Katherine the event coordinator was on top of it! Let me tell you. I am an event planner and at the end of the day I fully trust Katherine because I knew she knew exactly what I was visioning for my event and made it happen . I'm especially thankful for her patience, understanding and professionalism. The space is perfect for a small intimate feel, the food and drinks were so delicious. My guest especially loved the cigar bar on roof top. The only sad part is that it only happens once because I wish I could do it again ! Thank you Katherine and all the staff at Havana 59
  • A
    Abigail C. Married on 02/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Unbelievably Exceptional Experience

    Katherine, the event coordinator, was absolutely amazing during the entire process. She was so friendly and knowledgeable, but most importantly incredibly responsive and so fun to work with. She was so flexible with us and helped to make our Big Day the ultimate dream. From helping us select the appropriate amount of food, to being flexible about our bar options, to being so responsible about the gift table, to helping coordinate and communicate with our DJ, to - most importantly - helping us feel so taken care of and celebrated, Katherine helped to craft our day and made it a moment we'll remember and cherish forever.

    I could not recommend Havana '59 for your event, or your wedding, more!
  • K
    Krystal Married on 03/31/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had an amazing experience with Havana '59 and the coordinator, Jessica! We cannot say enough great things about Jessica. She was responsive, flexible, and so easy to work with. We had both our ceremony and reception there and she did a perfect job assisting us in achieving our vision. Our guests raved about the food, the bartenders and servers on staff were on-point and they all took care of every little detail. As bride and groom, we did not go unfed and even left at the end of the night with dozens of boxes of food, thanks to the incredible staff!! The value for the price you pay simply cannot be beat. They provided table covers, runners, and even centerpieces. We were so impressed with the attention to detail and quality of service we received. Everything about our wedding day came together exactly as we imagined!
  • E
    Emily Married on 02/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough great things about our wedding at Havana ‘59. From planning to the actual day, it was completely perfect! The space itself is gorgeous. You get the entire 2nd floor and 3rd floor open air patio for your event. There was no room rental fee, just a food and beverage minimum. Tip: minimums are lower in the “off season”. They provide tables, chairs, linens, and even have a good supply of table decor and runners which we used. The place is so beautiful you don’t need much additional decor. Food and beverage options are really flexible. We opted to host beer, wine and mojitos for our guests. The bar in the space is fully stocked so guests who wanted liquor could start their own tab if they wanted. The mojitos are THE BEST. All of the food was amazing too. Tres leches cake and mini key lime desserts highly recommended.

    Jessica, the event coordinator, made the planning so easy. She was available any time I needed to chat with her and she was ultra accommodating and helpful with our multiple layouts.

    We had our ceremony and reception at Havana. We had 30 guests and were very comfortable. It was cold and rainy on our wedding night so we didn’t utilize the covered outdoor area on the 2nd floor as much as we wanted during/after dinner, but it was the perfect setting for our ceremony. There are 2 heaters outside and plastic walls that come down to keep the space warm. The 2nd floor would accommodate twice as many guests or more if you are planning to use the entire space for dining tables. It was the perfect size for our ceremony and reception.

    If you’re looking for a cozy, laid back and stress free wedding, do yourself a favor and check out Havana ‘59.
  • K
    Kj Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue was the perfect choice! The best part was not having to do any set up or clean up. We just showed up and enjoyed ourselves. It was easy to plan and the food was phenomenal. You can do as a little or as much of the planning as you want too. All of our guests keep telling us how much fun they had and we couldn't have been more pleased.
  • K
    Kayla Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband I used Havana 59 as our wedding reception location and we absolutely loved it. We got tons of compliments on the food and the space and all of the staff including Cheryl who helped us organize and plan were great. It truly looked and felt magical and we are so happy we chose them for our wedding.
  • R
    Ryan W. Married on 09/07/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    All in one wedding vendor

    Finding a vendor is stressful, and all we wanted was a party with good food, alcohol, and music. Working with Havana was perfect for us as we didn't have to rent any furniture, linens, glassware, etc. The crew was flexible and super helpful with decorating and set up. Everything was put together perfectly in a fun environment, which is exactly what we wanted.
  • Kendall
    Kendall Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful and One Stop Shop

    Havana ended up being our choice because it's more of an all inclusive vendor. We were able to book the space and include food and alcohol all in one-- very helpful! They actually do not charge for the space, but instead have a F&B minimum to meet in order to use the space. Being on a budget definitely limited our options with venues but we were able to do so much by booking Havana for our reception. Things were a little bumpy in the beginning-- there was a lack of communication and it was difficult to get responses via email, there were several changes in staffing that caused some delay with planning but we were able to bring things together with a little time to spare. Katherine ended up carrying us through our wedding day and despite meeting her only a couple of weeks prior to our date, she executed my vision perfectly. Everything was beautifully decorated exactly as planned and I couldn't have been more pleased. We got so many compliments on the food and service received! A few things to keep in mind: 1) if you plan to have a DJ, make sure you cover this in depth with Havana - we had the police called on us twice for the noise level during the reception. If I had known that they tend to have this issue at Havana, I would have coordinated with my DJ about it to avoid any problems. 2) there is NO elevator to the second/third floor so if you have a lot of older guest or people who can't do stairs, keep this in mind. 3) the space is a little small and I wouldn't recommend anything over 100 guests, just to keep people comfortable. Overall we had a great night and I appreciate all of the little things that were done in order to keep things running smoothly!
  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Married on 06/29/2019
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Hot night, hotter drinks!

    It's hard to beat the value of Havana. We had a great wedding reception with amazing food, drinks, and service. There was some changing of event coordinators between our booking and our event but Kathrine, the one who planned our day, was responsive and flexible with planning and set up.
  • Sara
    Sara S. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Great wedding!

    While the wedding turned out fantastic, we did have some communication issues throughout the process. Havana had some turn over with their event coordinators and many emails and phone calls were left unanswered. A week or so before the wedding, we were finally able to speak with the current event coordinator and she was on top of her game. She managed to get all of the details in a short amount of time. Overall, the food was delicious and everything was great. If Kristin stays as the coordinator, you’ll be in good hands!
  • C
    Caly Married on 10/20/2018
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Cannot Recommend this Venue for Events

    If you're looking for an intimate, delicious Cuban restaurant for a date or happy hour, you've chosen the right place. The food, atmosphere and service are great. If you're looking for somewhere to host a large event or party, look elsewhere.
    My husband & I love Havana 59 and have dined here several times. We knew they hosted private parties & events and felt as though it was the perfect spot to host our wedding reception. We booked our event & paid our deposit well in advance. I was told by the event coordinator, Jessica, that we should wait until Spring or early Summer to come in and discuss set up, food, etc. After not hearing from her, I reached out & scheduled our consultation in June.
    My mother was coming in from out of town to attend our meeting. Three hours before our scheduled appointment, I receive an email from Jessica notifying me that she would be unable to make it to our meeting. Because I had someone traveling in from out of town & because of the late notice, I told her this was unacceptable. She said she would be able to come in. She told a family member, who arrived prior to myself, that she had been at the river with friends. She was going to cancel a meeting with an event client 3 hours prior in order continue hanging out with her friends at the river. Mind blown.
    Jessica was helpful, for the most part. She is dry & doesn't show much emotion, which would be absolutely fine, except for the part where she's an event coordinator who should be excited to interact with her clients & show enthusiasm for their booked events.
    The Monday before our reception at Havana, I realized I had not heard from Jessica in regard to final head count for food. Upon calling her, we got the headcount straight and arranged a time for me to come in, drop off decor, & explain how I would like the decor set up. This was a TOTAL WASTE OF MY TIME. She barely took any notes & upon arriving to our reception I noticed several decorations were missing & a lot of decor in the wrong places.
    Aside from decor, the night was magical. The serving staff was phenomenal (Shoutout to Kat & Daniel) & everyone had a lovely evening.
    Everything was going great until it was time to for my husband & I to head to our wedding night. As I was trying to leave, I was asked by a server what I wanted to do with all of my decor, the food, & remaining cake. I wanted to know where Jessica was & remember her leaving our event around 10 pm, even though our event was scheduled to end at midnight. I was told Jessica was gone for the evening. There was absolutely no coordination for the end of the night. Most of my family & close friends had left already, & with my husband & I leaving for our honeymoon at 7 am the following morning, I panicked. I was told there would be a holding fee to hold my decor until I arranged for a friend or family member to pick it up. I was just trying to get to my wedding night & was bombarded with a lack of planning & a lack of attention to detail.
    This is where things go from bad to worse.
    When we arrived back from our honeymoon, I asked the family member in charge of retrieving our things from Havana where my cake topper and my bouquet was. I was told to call Jessica. She told me that there was a "mishap" with my cake & knew nothing of my bouquet. Insider sources told me that the morning following my reception, a chef came in, cut up our cake, & served it to staff. To this day, no one has stepped up to take the blame for our lost cake & misplaced bouquet. No one seemed to "know" exactly what happened. I've been told it was accidentally tossed out, dropped, smashed, etc.
    We decided to heat up some of the food (that had been frozen) from our reception since I wasn't able to grab a plate on our big night. I noticed that the meat that had been saved was pork. Our wedding menu included Prime Rib & Honey Glazed bone-in Ham. I was confused as to why I had pork in front of me. I inquired with Jessica about the ham & she explained to me that it was a fresh ham, which is why it was not pink and more reminiscent of pork. Regardless, it did not meet my expectations. When someone says bone-in, honey glazed ham- I expect what we all know as ham- a pink, spiral ham. It was not explained to me that it would be a fresh ham & I feel as though that should have been a disclaimer upon choosing this as one of our meat options. We don't eat pork & would have never chosen this for our guests.
    I took my concerns and complaints to Jessica, who, while apologetic, acted as though this was no big deal. She agreed to have the cake remade & had my bouquet remade (though, it wasn't the one I walked down the aisle with). I also requested a refund for the pork, which was insisted to be ham. I was told they had done everything to rectify the situation & would not be refunding me for the pork. Total lack of interest in pleasing their guests & I'm left completely disappointed with our experience at Havana and our coordinating experience with Jessica.

    Havana 59's reply:

    Caly,

    I am terribly sorry we were not able to rectify things to your liking. Unfortunately, my hands are tied. I'd like you to know I personally paid for your bouquet and am deeply embarrassed about both the cake and bouquet.

    With regards to a few things you mentioned in your review:

    The meeting you spoke of was scheduled well before I received my work schedule. I was actually off that day and had no way of knowing someone had come to town for that meeting. Once you told me that I changed my plans for my day off to make the meeting work.

    The decor being in a different place than what we had discussed was because some of the decor was found to be too unstable to safely place a burning candle on the table and other things, such as your pumpkins you painted were rotting. Rather than having them near people while they were eating I decided to utilize them differently and spoke about this with one of your family members at the beginning of the event.

    With regard to leaving your event at 11PM. I work Sunday brunch at 9AM. I apologize that things felt scattered at the end and have since created a closing checklist for my staff so that does not happen in the future.

    Complimentary tastings are provided to all clients booked with Havana '59; unfortunately, you did not take advantage of that. While I understand the ham was not what you expected, we delivered the product ordered.

    Your decor and cake can be held for up to 3 days per the contract and your family members were to come pick up the cake and decor on the Sunday following your wedding. I was there from 9AM until 6PM that day and no one came to get the left overs, decor, or cake. In fact, no one came until Wednesday to pick anything up which was outside of our responsibility at that point. Regardless, we felt badly and as such had your cake topper and bouquet remade to the original specifications. I truly do not know what happened to your cake, but I do not believe the Chef would ever do something like that.

    I understand you are unhappy and no amount of apologizing will fix this. I do hope you remember that we went out of our way to make this work for you, with allowing you to hold the date without a deposit because you had family who had worked for us in the past, to borrowing chairs for your ceremony rather than renting them. We are deeply sorry, once again and wish you and Brandon all the happiness life has to offer.

    Best Regards,

    Jessica Halasz
    Event Coordinator
    Havana ’59
  • E
    Emily Married on 03/23/2019
    Rating 2.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    Wedding March 2019

    I'm not sure where to even begin here, mainly because this place is full of contradictions-- it is appealing because the venue is awesome and a great way to showcase downtown Richmond (esp with out of towners) and the food/mojitos/vibe are perfect to throw a unique, fun reception. I'm from Richmond and found this place after a year of searching...and wanted to find a venue that would fit us to a T. We went in for our consultation with Jessica (the coordinator at the time) and left feeling totally confident and assured that our event would be amazing.

    The first meeting with Jessica was about 10 months out and after we put down our deposit we didn't have to second guess Havana at all. Jessica was on top of it-- emailing about tastings, vendors, guest count, etc. We had one final meeting with Jessica 3 months out finalizing our preferences, layout, bar/food....she had produced an informal spreadsheet by the end for us to take home and we would have one more meeting before the event to nail everything down. Two weeks later, we find out that Jessica will not be returning and that Cheryl would be taking over as our event coordinator-- and this is literally when the problems began. I am not exaggerating when I say that upper level management here is the thing that is holding this venue back. I was grappling with leaving a review for a couple of months after our wedding, but ultimately decided that our experience should be shared because it might spare another couple from going through hell and back...just to throw their wedding reception. We had like 5 meetings with Cheryl, ranging from 15 min to 45 min in length and NEVER could keep her on track-- we were treated the entire time like we were an inconvenience and wasting every manager's time (including the general restaurant manager).

    This was the worst part about planning (I did not have a day of coordinator) and I was an extremely laid back bride-- simple questions like-- we are spotifying our reception, where is the cable plug in? Are there parking options for guests? When can we discuss table set up/bar options? went unanswered and unaddressed. My husband and I even talked about switching the venue 4 weeks out, after our invites because the communication was so bad. I was literally unable to reach the Cheryl after texting, calling for a week before the wedding-- and only after I got the owner's number and left a voicemail did I get a call back. This was when I literally had to bully the coordinator into doing her job-- and 2 days out from my own wedding at that. She asked me if I'd consider coming downtown to finalize options the THURSDAY night before my wedding on Saturday. I never feel obligated to leave reviews, but honestly-- I completely resent being treated like I was buying an appetizer at this place when my husband and I were going to pay (not a small amount of money) to have our reception at this restaurant.

    The contradiction comes in because our wedding reception was beautiful. The food was great, the drinks were even better, the actual staff (shout out to the wait staff, seriously) did a phenomenal job serving guests and catering to everyone-- the only downside was the complete and total chaos that led up to Saturday. Unless this place gets new management and an attitude check...you might need to go somewhere else. What a shame because Havana was memorable and a truly unique venue that made an impression with my guests and family. I hope they get it together in the future, and for the next couple who decides to get married/host their reception.
  • L
    Laura H. Married on 04/17/2021
    Rating 2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    Very Poor Customer Service

    We held our rehearsal diner at Havana 59. To preface, this restaurant had amazing food and beautiful aesthetics. However, the event coordinator led us to have a very sub-par experience. I was stood up for multiple meetings prior to our event. She had forgotten many of the decisions we had already made and I needed to remind her of the event form she already filled out. One very important decision was to have a full open bar. Yet after a ways into the event I hear of guests being restricted to well alcohol only, forcing my father to pay for his drink of choice. I couldn't believe it considering the price tag we had already paid for. To top it off, they had two staff to cover an event of 40 people - to bartend, serve food, and run the event. Two people total. We were told they were low staffed, which just admitted to me that they really can't coordinate since they had 2 months to plan for the event.
  • C
    Cassandra Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    Poor ownership and coordination!

    We had booked our wedding Havana 59 over a year and half ago! We had fallen in love with the atmosphere and the original event coordinator Jessica. About 4 months before our wedding we were told that our event coordinator Jessica that we had paid as a part of our booking fee had quit! They then introduced us to the other coordinator Cheryl. She was extremely hard to get in contact with and it was extremely challenging to meet with her face to face due to her coordinating events at the broad street and downtown locations. About 2 weeks before our wedding we had met with her to discuss our final plans and left feeling confident. When it came down to the week of the wedding she was not responding to any of our messages or calls! When it came down to the going over set up I had no one to talk to or go over things with because she was MIA! At this point my fiance and I felt that we needed to spend more money to hire a 2nd coordinator! Our wedding cake vendor reached out to her the day before the wedding and day of to confirm the delivery time and got no response from her or any of the staff! The day of the wedding was HORRIBLE! When our new coordinator arrived at the venue no decorations had been set up so she jumped right in to help, the wait staff and bartenders had no idea how much money in alcohol that we had wanted when it was written down and kept with our contact. As the wedding party started to arrive the sound system had suddenly decided to die and stop working which put our timeline behind by 1 hour! Our groomsmen were scrambling to get it to work while THE OWNER of the restaurant sat on his ass eating his dinner and telling us that it was not his problem and that WE needed to fix it! After giving up we decided to proceed with the wedding with no sound and NO EVENT COORDINATOR FROM THE RESTAURANT! During our last meeting with Cheryl she had confirmed that we could sit in the office and eat our dinner in peace to ensure that we would have some privacy. Unfortunately we saw the owner of the restaurant lock the door to the office and walk away! We were so disgusted in how poorly he treated his guests! However after the wait staff and my newly hired coordinator talked they were amazing but the owner was still treating us poorly! At the end of the night it had come to our attention that the wedding planner for the venue Cheryl had suffered a heart attack a couple days before our wedding and the owner had thought that it was appropriate to not even mention it to the bride and groom of the upcoming wedding! I will strongly encourage people looking to do a wedding here to look elsewhere or hire their own coordinator and make sure everyone involved is on the same page!