Happy Heart Photography, LLC Reviews

30 | Warrenton, VA
See photos, pricing and details

30 Reviews for Happy Heart Photography, LLC

Recommended by 96%

30
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • N

    nicole · Married on 11/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley of Happy Heart Photography is Amazing! She is such a wonderful person and a true professional. My husband and I were an out of town couple. I was deployed during most of the wedding planning and my husband moved from our home in the carolinas to California. We reviewed her website and new her journalistic and creative style was in keeping with what we expected for our wedding photos. My husband spoke with her on the phone and she and I emailed back and forth. On the first day we were to meet her 1 month before the wedding, I had rescheduled that meeting a dozen times during that week and even the night before, as my husband and I were tring to fit many many wedding appts into our short time in DC, oh and it happened to be the first time we saw eachother in 10 months while I was deployed.

    Throughout the whole process she gave us advice and her thoughts on the looks, where we should do the pictures, the use of props and the timeline. She was very honest and very caring the whole time. the day of the wedding she truly blended into the background. Her and her partner Emily were incredible. We had a very large wedding party of mostly outspoken military leaders so I am sure we were a hard bunch of people to command and direct when taking photos, but she handled everything with professional ease. She is truly a joy to work with and her photos are amazing. My husband and I will continue to work with her on future family photo opportunitues and will highly recommend her to everyone we know. We can't wait to see her again not only professionally but even as friends.

  • User2378867 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was fantastic. She is incredibly sweet, accommodating, and flexible. When the festivities ran behind schedule, she just went with the flow and continued to capture every moment of our day. She was even willing to sneak off to get special shots of my immediate family that turned out to be very special to us and all of the other photos are wonderful. I wholeheartedly recommend her to everyone I know. If you hire her for your wedding, or any other event for that matter, you will not regret it.

  • J

    John · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where to begin? Let's start with the obvious: We just received our photos, and they are stunning. We chose Happy Heart for their photojournalistic style of wedding photography, and they delivered--telling the story of our day through photos, with warmth as well as beauty. They captured moments that both of us recall fondly, as well as some we would have otherwise missed. The portraits, for what it's worth, were also very well done: a perfect blend of "formal" and "fun."

    But our praise doesn't stop there! Ashley and Aaron were able to capture these moments while being completely unobtrusive. I don't actually know where they were standing during the ceremony...because, unlike some wedding photographers I've witnessed, they were not up in anyone's face! Just quietly, diligently working their art.

    That covers quality and professionalism (and that alone would merit a 5-star review). But Happy Heart went above and beyond for us. Originally, we'd planned for a limo to take us, the happily wedded couple, from the venue to downtown DC where we'd meet our photographers for an additional photo shoot. However, our limo rental fell through at the last minute (that's a whole other story). Happy Heart to the rescue! Ashley and Aaron chauffeured us from the venue (even indulging us by driving a couple of farewell "donuts" in the parking lot on the way out) to downtown, where we finished our shoot, and finally to our hotel.

    When we tried to pay extra for all of the wonderful things they did for us, Ashley told us to keep it and "spend it on the honeymoon." I really can't overstate how warm and wonderful these folks are.

  • User2650739 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley and her husband were so wonderful during the wedding. Ashley quietly takes the photos, behind the scenes but capturing all the most important moments. We are so excited to see the photos.

  • User1508046 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley is amazing to work with. I just got all of my pictures and I am in love with them, I have gone through them about 10 times now :) Beautiful, unique, creative pictures that captured every moment. Ashley is fun and easy to work with and I got my photos back VERY quickly!!!!! :)

  • User1496218 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley I can't begin to thank you enough for Chad's and I beautiful pictures!!! Thank you!! You're truly amazing at what you do!!!

  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so impressed with Ashley and Aaron....they were absolutely wonderful to work with and we LOVE our wedding photos!!! Ashley is so talented and really has an eye for capturing beautiful moments while adding her own creative touch. Both Ashley and Aaron were very easy to work with and at times I barely noticed that they were there.

    When we first met, Ashley traveled to where we live to meet with us, brought all her information, samples of her work, and really made us feel special and that she was going to "tell our story" through her photographs. And did she ever! :)

    She was so helpful throughout the whole prep process. I would send her emails about timing, certain pics I wanted, and questions about the day/plan and she would get right back to me answering all my questions and concerns. I was fully confident in her prior to the wedding and she and her husband really delivered!

    Ashley worked with our budget and planned a package for us that met our needs but still stayed close to our budget. :) Wedding photography is expensive, but she was willing to work with us and the quality of her work is, in my opinion, much better than some other photographers who charge more.

    We got home from our honeymoon 2 days ago (a couple weeks after our wedding) and she had our photos ready and online! This was extremely fast and such a nice surprise as we returned from our honeymoon.

    We were overly happy with our wedding pictures and the services provided by Happy Heart Photography. We would highly recommend Ashley to anyone as a wedding photographer!

  • M

    Megan · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was actually for my best friends wedding and Ashley was wonderful. She was very professional when taking the pictures which turned out beautiful. She was also very accommodating. I messed up when I was ordering photos and when I emailed her to explain my mistake she responded right away and was extremely helpful. She is a great person to do business with.

  • A

    Allison · Married on 04/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was wonderful to work with and our photographs look amazing! Ashley really went the extra mile and visited the site before the wedding to plan out good locations for photos even though we got married in Baltimore! She also did a very thoughtful design for our album and we were really impressed with how it turned out. We highly recommend Happy Heart Photography!!

  • C

    Camille · Married on 12/31/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley and Aaron were excellent the whole day through! I was pleased with how easy and relaxed they were to work with. During the ceremony, I barely noticed them there - which I heard had been a problem with some bride's photographers "being in their face" all in all it was great working with them. Also, they were flexible with it being a new years eve wedding going until 12. We adore our pictures, some classic shots and lots of artsy ones - perfect! Thank you guys!!!!

  • M

    mike · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We searched very hard to find the right photographer and were so impressed by Ashley and her professionalism that we moved money in our budget to make sure that we got her. Every aspect of the experience was fantastic.

    --Introduction: We met mid-way between our locations and she came prepared. Package and pricing was clearly outlined on very professional stationary. It was immediately clear that she was able to read individuals and adapt her style on the fly. She is really easy to get along with, fun in conversation, and asked really good questions to help get a sense of our interests.

    --Package: We were more interested in getting lots of photos on a CD than a custom made album (we figure we’ll make one later if we wanted). Ashley was prepared with example of albums made from her photos, and was more than willing to provide us the CD that we wanted.

    --Engagement Session: Ashley picked up on my inexperience in front of the camera and suggested an engagement session to get to know one another. I highly recommend this - we had lots of contact before our big day, meaning that we were used to being around her. That was a great way to meet her and the assistant photographer - both of whom we were very comfortable with. We also got to select from a field of engagement photos, enabling her to get a better sense of what our preference is.

    --Price: We had a set limit for photography that we broke once we saw what we could get for a little more money (and I mean a little – the price was far less than most photographers that we met). I came prepared to bargain and she was more than willing to give and take on price, list items, and contract terms. After just a few emails, we agreed on a package that worked for all of us.

    --Day of: I barely noticed getting photographed at our wedding - both Ashley and her assistant were fantastic at moving around behind the scenes and getting lots of shots from different angles. Guests have commented even to this day at how hard working they were - on chairs, lying on the ground, they did whatever it took to get great shots. They set up a laptop by the bar during the reception with a loop of photos from the ceremony, bridal party shoot, and cocktail hour. It was a total surprise and guests (including us) loved it and were crowded around it throughout the night.

    --Delivery: We landed from our honeymoon and checked our phones and had an email from Ashley wishing us well and providing a link to our photos. The viewing site is laser fast and included more than 700 edited photos for us to view. We laughed ourselves sick that night as we scrolled throughout photos of all the funny events that we did not notice.

    Bottom line - very pleased with the services provided by Happy Heart Photography. Would recommend to anyone as a wedding photographer. Meet Ashley and find out for yourself.
    Mike

  • yiheyuan

    Jessie · Married on 06/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley takes amazing photos, her and Aaron don't miss a thing! They are worth every penny. We had both wedding and engagement photos taken with them, and I was extremely pleased. Ashley also makes great albums, I can't wait to see mine!

  • J

    Joanna · Married on 04/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It has been a year since my wedding and I still cannot get over the gorgeous pictures I get to treasure forever! When I look back at my wedding album I feel like I'm reliving the whole day. I feel like I could go on and on. My husband and I are very happy with the results. You won't be disappointed!

  • A

    Anna · Married on 03/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very extremely pleased that we chose Happy Heart Photography, LLC and highly recommend them to all future brides. They do amazing work and exceeded our expectations. We interviewed various professional wedding photographers and most of them had impressive portfolios, as well as competitive pricing, but what got us sold on Happy Heart was their professional and caring personality and it seemed as though every picture in their portfolio captured a story which showed us that they are truly passionate about their work. Their attention to detail sets them apart from other wedding photographers. After seeing our actual pictures, some of our family members were inspired to renew their vows, just to hire Happy Heart Photography to do their pictures - THANK YOU SO MUCH HAPPY HEART for capturing beautiful lifetime memories for us.

  • C

    Colleen · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley photographed our October 2010 wedding and we couldn't be happier with the results. Not only did the photos turn out fantastic, but Ashley was able to efficiently handle anything the chaotic day brought. Even though our schedule ran way behind (due to another vendor), we were able to take comfort in Ashley's calm demeanor, and take care of all the shots we had planned in efficient fashion.

    Part of what attracted us most to Ashley was her amazing albums she was able to show us. When we received ours, we were amazed at the quality of the album and the artful eye with which it was designed.

    Ashley is very sweet, caring, and approachable. It is clear she takes her craft and her clients' special day very seriously. I highly recommend Ashley and her company, Happy Heart Photography!

  • R

    Ryan · Married on 10/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Though we do not write reviews very often, Ashley recently took our engagement photos for us and we felt compelled to do so. The pictures Ashley took were excellent. She obviously understands the technical aspects of photography and also had a great eye to direct us into a nice mix of shots, including more modern poses, candid moments, and simply portraits of the two of us smiling.

    Throughout the process, Ashley was extremely responsive and flexible to our requests, rescheduling, questions, etc, which was very important to us.

    Most importantly, the time spent with Ashley was just alot of fun. The experience felt very natural, which we think is reflected in the photos.

    As an aside, we really wanted to take a few photos while sailing out on the Potomac River, and Ashley was more then amenable for the adventure - she even had to sail the boat and take pictures at the same time!

    We are looking forward to Ashley doing our wedding in October and would absolutely recommend her to anyone.

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Happy Heart Photography. Ashley was (and still continues to be 4 months later) prompt in communications and easily available. We had so much fun during our engagement session. Ashley and Aaron were amazing; spending many hours with us at several different locations. By the time the wedding came around I felt that I knew Ashley very well and trusted in her that day. I also noticed how much I didn't notice her that day. She captured all the important moments and yet there never seemed to be a photgrapher in our faces. We would work with Happy Heart Photography again in a heartbeat!!!!

  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 09/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Happy Heart Photography was excellent! She was extremely responsive and any request that she had she was always happy to do it. Even when my photo album came in, she made sure to drive to my work the day before Christmas (right after it came in) to deliver it because she knew I would want to show my family. She didn't have to do that, but she did. I would recommend Happy Heart to anyone needing photography services. They are fabulous!

  • J

    Josie · Married on 08/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley did our engagement pictures and was wonderful! My fiance and I both had a great experience dealing with her. She was flexible and super responsive. Due to weather, work and illness, we had to reschedule our consultation for our engagement pictures five times-but Ashley was super flexible and never got frustrate with us. She gives you an amazing value for the money, and she did enough conservative traditional photos to keep our parents happy but enough fun candid ones to capture our attitude as a couple. I'm getting married in another time zone, but I wish I could fly Ashley there to shoot our wedding! We will treasure her engagement shots long into our gray years.

  • 2

    Kelly · Married on 08/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley Davis was wonderful! She felt like an old friend, not someone we barely knew. She was flexible, professional, supportive, and fun, though she was also unobtrusive, slipping seemlessly into the background at times. The photographs truly captured the feel of the day and turned out beautifully! I highly recommend Ashley Davis and Happy Heart Photography!

  • M

    Michelle · Married on 06/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I actually researched Ashley under the prerequisite that I didn't want just the traditional posed wedding pictures...I wanted my wedding pictures to be a reflection of our wedding story. Seeking out a wedding photojournalist was just perfect for us. Ashley was so accommodating during our meetings, especially since we lived out of state. Her packages can't be beat for the value. She found so many different ways to capture the elegance of the venue, the colorfulness of our culture (we are west african and our guests and bridesmaids wore traditional clothing) and the joy of our day. We have so many good pictures-they fit together like telling a story. So many people to this day (4 months later) remark how beautiful our pictures were and great our wedding day was. Those who were unable to attend felt like they were there...some even moved to tears. I couldn't say enough to urge you to find that "right fit" and ours definitely was with Ashley. I HIGHLY recommend Happy Heart Photography to capture your special event!

  • J

    colleen · Married on 05/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley of Happy Heart Photography was great to work with throughout all of the wedding planning. Throughout the entire day Ashley made herself invisible and yet was able to take so many pictures. The pictures that we received after the wedding were everything we wanted and more! The pictures captured every moment as they happened and it was so fun to look back at them and watch the day progress.
    If you have any hesitations or worries about how your big day will be portrayed Happy heart Photography is who you want to photograph your big day!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 11/21/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley did both my engagement and wedding photos. The pictures and book she created look fantastic. My wedding journey with Ashley was not perfect but she did everything in her power and went beyond the call of duty to ensure that my husband and I were happy with all of her work. (Thank you!)

    She is very personable and easy to work with. We enjoyed having her apart of our wedding day. We spend the whole day with her but yet we didn't notice her at the same time (if that makes sense). She got through our family formals very quickly. She worked her butt off.

    I highly recommend getting an engagement session as it allows you to get used to being photographed, allows Ashley to get used to you and helps you develop a relationship between you and your photographer.

    Our wedding day was fantastic and Ashley was a contributor of this.

  • J

    Cherie · Married on 10/10/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Although we have actually yet to see our photos (the wedding was just last weekend and the photos will be available 2 weeks after the wedding date), I am eager and pleased to write a raving review for Ashley Davis, the owner and photographer of Happy Heart, LLC.

    Ashley's unique website immediately stood out from the others. And her introductory line of "So tell me about yourselves ... as a couple" during our initial meeting immediately let me know that this was the person who would and could "capture us".

    From the moment she arrived at the hotel to take pictures of my getting ready, until the end of the evening, Ashley was unobtrusively all-over-the-place!!!! The twists, turns and angles that I saw her position herself into in order "to capture the moment" were impressive. She worked it like no one could even imagine!!!!

    My mother noticed this and said to her, "You are really working hard tonight, aren't you?" Ashley's response was:

    "I love my job!"

    Need I say more???

  • User2095235 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley from Happy Heart was wonderful! She was warm and kind. Responsive and helpful. On the day of, she was on time, unobtrusive, and caught some great moments. Thank you so much!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review