Halekulani Hotel Reviews

67 | Honolulu, HI
See photos, pricing and details

67 Reviews for Halekulani Hotel

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

67

29 User photos

Order by:
  • Tyler

    Tyler Martin · Married on 03/07/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing and very accommodating

    Eat venue and the best food with the best staff

    Sent on 03/18/2020
  • Zeth

    Zeth · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend Wedding Venue

    Joel and Tina, of the catering department at the Halekulani Hotel, are the best! From our intial inquiry, to our site visit, all the way up to our wedding day, they answered all our questions, addressed all our concerns and were extremely flexible at times. We had both our ceremony and reception at their beautiful Hau Terrace lanai. All staff were very friendly, accommodating, and attentive. We truly felt pampered and cared for. We can't say enough about Steven, our banquet captain on the day of. He and his staff went above and beyond for our friends and family! We are blessed to have been cared for so much by this team at the Halekulani! We look forward to spending our anniversaries with them for years to come!

    Sent on 06/18/2019
  • Campbell

    Campbell Foley · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Halekulani Hotel

    Working with The Halekulani Hotel will make your event memorable with the care and professionalism you’ll receive!

    Sent on 10/19/2018
  • J

    Jordan · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you to Sayaka the Catering Sales Manager for keeping up correspondence with me in our almost daily e-mails. She really helped make this reception go so smoothly. We selected the garden terrace that holds max 80 guests. We maxed out. The mural of vintage Hawaii in the room and the grassy courtyard outside was a beautiful backdrop. We got 1 free night stay in a beautiful room in addition to the 2 we already booked there with the silver package. We also got a free 3-tiered cake so we literally saved a thousand dollars. Our stay was loved especially by my husband Damien who couldn't stop raving about their top knotch customer service. He even got his shoes shined! The real reason my husband wanted Halekulani was for the 5-star food. The reception food turned out to be phenomenal. We had a the highest priced buffet. My favorite was the pork chop and the desserts. We are still eating our wedding cake in the fridge. ;) Our guests still rave about the food. The staff also served us our food which made us feel more spoiled than we already were. Thank you all so much. We don't regret a thing. We have made memories to last a lifetime. Thank you.

    Sent on 06/09/2018
  • J

    Josephine · Married on 10/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I get the chills when I think of how perfect Halekulani experience was. We had our ceremony and reception on the Hau Terrace. The hotel, service, atmosphere, and food was five star and above. I was so proud to our guests on the service and food that was provided. The atmosphere was beautiful. We could not have imagined it happening any better. Thank you so much for making our day special!!. I highly recommend Halekulani for anyone looking for their special day to be a dream come true.

    Sent on 10/29/2017
  • L

    Louise-Margaret · Married on 10/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We came to Hawaii a little over a year before our wedding to find the prefect venue, and our search ended the moment we stepped into the Hau Terrace at Halekulani. We knew we had found the "one". 99% of our guests are from NYC and each one could not get over how beautiful our venue was!

    Even a month later, our guests still talk excitedly about how amazing the food was, and impeccable the service was. I've never heard of guests "Thanking" the couple for being invited, but we get thanked every time! The food is so good, it may just spoil you for regular food! Thank you Halekulani, and THANK YOU to Mr Nishimoto, and his people. It was perfect and a night we'll never forget!

    Sent on 11/11/2017
  • M

    Mimi · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have absolutely no regrets on choosing the Halekulani for my wedding. Starting with the even planning staff, Dayna and Sayaka were amazing and helpful. They answered my emails promptly and made sure everything was ready for my special day. The catering manager on the day of my wedding was awesome. She was helpful, organized and professional. I owe her many thanks for making sure everything ran smoothly. Now lets talk about food. THE FOOD WAS SO FREAKING AMAZING!!! My guests could not stop talking about the food after the wedding. We did the buffet and my guests really appreciated it. The highlights were the watermelon salad, poke, prime rib, bread pudding, and sea bass. Seriously, the food at my wedding will be talked about for years. Everyone said it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding. The venue was also nice enough to pack to go boxes for me and my hubby and have it delivered to our suite. The wedding cake was also provided by the hotel and that was the other thing my guests could not stop raving about. IT WAS SOOOO GOOD. Everything from the staff, service, absolute amazing oceanfront view, food, reception venue, hotel WAS AMAZING!!! You should definitely check this place out. Also, it's conveniently located for all your guests staying in Waikiki.

    Sent on 08/21/2017
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were SO pleased with halekulani!! Joel, the catering director was amazing!! He sat down with us about a mobtbe before the wedding to make sure everything would run smoothly. On the day of john, the banquet captain was pretty much at our beck and call!! He made sure we were being fed and was constantly bringing us ice cold water to sip on during down times . Words cannot express the deep gratitude we feel.

    If you're contemplating halekulani, just do ir!! It's so worth it! The staff is incredible!!! You have my word that you won't regret o!!

    Sent on 11/11/2016
  • I

    I. · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a dream it is to get married in Hawaii AND to get married at one of the most prestigious hotels on Oahu~! To be honest, I didn't even visit the venue before we booked it - it's so highly regarded and recommended that I felt totally comfortable just going for it :) Planning a wedding from Seattle, I wanted to make sure that I had a team of vendors that I could trust that would make my life easier and THAT was definitely the Halekulani.

    Some details - we had 150 guests, opted for the nicer buffet, and had our ceremony in the garden courtyard and the reception in the ballroom. All of our guests were impressed with the 5-star service, and everyone was looking forward to the food. Just an FYI - their buffet is not necessarily the "cheaper" choice...it's actually more expensive than manyof their plated meals, so we were actually upgrading to the nicer of the two offered buffets). For our chafing dishes, we chose the steamed onaga (a signature dish), london broil, and the seafood curry (with scallops and sea bass - THIS was the surprise hit of the evening. I would have never imagined serving curry at a wedding, but it was just so flavorful and delicious that I had to go for it and everyone thanked me for that~!). We also had the prime rib as another main dish. The salads, appetizers, and desserts are to die for....the poke is DELISH, and the bread pudding..WOW...WOW..WOW~! SO GOOD!!

    Though the Halekulani is a more expensive venue, if it's important to you to have top-knotch service, excellent communication, and impeccable execution of details - then I would highly recommend Halekulani. It's actually more affordable than I thought, so make sure you at least check it out!! I felt Loren went above and beyond for us, and we were exceptionally pleased every step of the way~! Every detail at Halekulani is just so impressive...my heart was full of appreciation~!!!

    Sent on 11/22/2012
  • D

    Deanne · Married on 09/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is no other place I could recommend with absolute confidence. Halekulani provided exceptional service to us on all levels. Their wedding menus may be a little higher than other venues, but once you sit down and look at the extra inclusions they provide, it really is worth it. I can't put into words how amazing our whole experience has been. You will not be disappointed! A+++ for a wedding venue. The Hau Terrace was a great choice for us for our ceremony & reception for 100 pax. Perfection on all fronts. Recommend without hesitation.

    Sent on 09/16/2016
  • A

    Angelyne · Married on 08/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a destination wedding is extremely daunting - especially when you have to do everything online and cannot see things (like the venue) for yourself before picking it. I chose the Halekulani based on photos on their website and reviews - and I am so glad I did. We had 60 people at our wedding and had both our ceremony and reception at the Hau Terrace. I wanted an indoor/outdoor venue and the Hau Terrace was perfect for that. Leading up to the wedding, Tom and his team were super helpful and very responsive to emails. On the day of the wedding itself, their banquet captain John, took care of everything.. and I mean EVERYTHING. He went over and beyond our expectations.. he made sure all the guests were okay during cocktail hour, then he would check on us (bride/groom) as we were having our photos taken at the beach. He even brought us food and provided us with towels and slippers so we could clean ourselves off after the beach photos. During the reception, he was constantly checking with us to see if we were okay, had enough food, drinks. Couldn't say enough good things about this venue. You will not regret choosing the Halekulani!

    Sent on 09/08/2016
  • M

    Michael · Married on 06/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, that's really all there is to say about the Halekulani. The service is impeccable and the staff just amazing. If you are considering Honolulu for a destination wedding this is the spot especially the Hau Terrace location for any wedding of 80 or less guests you get a great location with Diamond Head and the ocean as your backdrop for your ceremony. The Hau Terrace room is beautiful with large folding glass doors that open up the space. We had a sit down dinner of filet mignon and Maine lobster tail that was simply delicious with a beautiful presentation. My brother is a chef and he could not believe the flavorfulness and tenderness of all of the courses. We also had their signature haupia cake for our wedding cake and again everyone commented on how it was the best cake they had ever had at a wedding. If you spend just $6,000 for your food ( not hard to do) you get the terrace for your ceremony for free ($1,800 otherwise) and a beautiful suite for your wedding night with champagne and delicious chocolate dipped strawberries.

    Sent on 07/11/2016
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 08/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at the Hau Terrace. Gorgeous ocean and diamond head view, delicious food, all staff from the valet to servers went above and beyond! Despite a 5 hour time difference in Iowa, Joel was always available and prompt in answering my questions. Even with the volume limit, music was perfect for dancing! Couldn't have dreamed of a more perfect venue for our reception! Pleasure to work with and highly recommended!

    Sent on 09/05/2015
  • M

    michelle · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the best 5-star hotel on the island. service is extraordinary. quality of products is great. food is amazing. staff are welcoming and very accommodating. working with Loren in the the catering services department was good, she is very efficient.

    Sent on 07/02/2015
  • J

    johnny · Married on 05/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the day we heard about Halekulani, till the end, we were absolutely amazed by the hotel itself, the food, and especially staff. We were greeted everywhere and helped in anyway possible. Me and my wife had our wedding at Hau Terrace. Upon our first visit, we met Loren Petrowski and saw the venue, we were taken away from the sights and view they had to offer. Loren was able to answer any questions we had in a timing manner and suggest things that would work within our budget and guest preferences. We can't say enough good things about them. Keep up the great work and we will be sure to come back and visit. Those who are thinking about coming here don't need to worry about a thing when these people are looking after you. Thank you so much!!!!

    Sent on 07/28/2015
  • J

    Jocelyn · Married on 09/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Halekulani was hands down the best decision for our wedding day. From the first emails, they made me feel so special and really set my mind at ease with how organized and professional they are. Their level of service is really unmatched. My catering manager, Tom, was amazing. I'e sure he does this for every couple he works with, but I really felt like I was getting star treatment from him. He answered my emails very quickly (I made many) and really went above and beyond to make us happy. I always knew I was in good hands with them. The hotel is just so beautiful, considering it is in Waikiki; it makes from amazing wedding photos. Our ceremony and reception site, the Hau Terrace, was perfect for creating an intimate and picturesque setting. The food was amazing! Our friends and family are still talking about it! They also did our cake, which they customized a little for us and it came out absolutely amazing and delicious. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone getting married.

    Sent on 11/01/2014
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Halekulani is by far the most beautiful hotel on the island of Oahu. The bridal party prepared for the wedding in a Diamond Head Suite with a picture perfect view and the men got ready in a Jr. Suite. Both rooms were amazing and perfect for wedding prep picture taking. All of my wedding guest loved the ceremony set up and could not stop talking about how amazing the food tasted to include the cake! I'm so happy we chose to get married there.

    Sent on 09/09/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Five star venue. Wonderful place to have a wedding. It felt like a fairy tale.

    Sent on 08/19/2014
  • C

    Christina · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not thank Loren and Halekulani enough for making our wedding absolutely perfect! We had our ceremony and reception at the Hau Terrace. We had about 80 guests.The setting and view was so beautiful. Loren was the coordinator at Halekulani she always respond nearly immediately after i hit the send button on my email! She is so organized and efficient.The staff treat you like royalty there. I highly recommend having your wedding at Halekulani. It's worth every penny!

    Sent on 05/27/2014
  • J

    Joshua · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This hotel did so much for me! The room that we were provided was AMAZING!!! Also, the service provided to our room was outstanding. Almost anything we could ask for, the hotel was able to provide. We even needed a last minute steam on my wife's dress because it had gotten wrinkled in transit and they were able to take care of it no problem. The utmost professionalism was always provided. We felt like we were treated like royalty the entire weekend which was very comforting. Also, coordinating with our contact from this hotel was very pleasant and she was always helpful in providing us with whatever information we needed. I am more than happy that we chose this hotel.

    Sent on 06/02/2014
  • User3461367 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing and Exceptional quality with excellent service. Our Catering Manager/s and Banquet chief made entire flow of Ceremony on Hau Terrace to the reception dinner Hau Terrace seamless! We created our own atmosphere with never been done before decor and it was approved with great flexibility and professionalism. The entire Wedding day and night was beyond my wildest dreams and went flawless. The fairytale ending was a surprise upgrade to their gorgeous suite with Champagne and chocolate strawberries and a gift!! Truly outstanding service in every detail. My pointer is to review all contract charges thoroughly!
    With Gratitude and Aloha, The Steele's

    Sent on 05/15/2014
  • M

    Rosa · Married on 08/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and looked at every wedding location on Oahu and Maui. We fell in love with two spots Halekulani and Lanikuhonua, both on Oahu.

    We did our pros/cons and Halekulani came on top for these reasons:
    1) There was a chance of rain on our wedding day
    2) With older guest, easy access and clean bathrooms was a major priority
    3) Transportation to and from wedding site --- most of our guest stayed in Waikiki, so Halekulani
    4) The beauty and convenience for us + the free wedding cake, honeymoon suite, and a lot of other goodies Halekulani provided sealed the deal

    Also, having an onsite wedding coordinator at Halekulani, Joel Nishimoto, made all the difference. He is absolutely the most patient and understanding man. I made many changes to our reception setup up (last minute), and I aslo forgot many other details, which Joel reminded me and was on top of. Thank you Joel if you are reading this review.

    The venue, the service, the SPECTACULAR HONEYMOON SUITE with ocean view was to die for. Classy! classy! classy! I am beyond thrilled we chose Halekulani for our wedding and reception site.

    Sent on 08/29/2014
  • User2760085 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    While Halekulani may not seem to be the most affordable upfront, may we encourage you to take the time to evaluate their value. You receive exceptional service for you and your guests, excellent FOOD (that was our number one priority), free valet parking for everyone, delicious and beautiful wedding cake, complementary stay(s) at the hotel, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, your own Halekulani champagne glasses... They constantly strive to go above and beyond for you. If you looked once, look again!

    Sent on 07/07/2013
  • J

    J · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What else is there to say about this place?
    Everyone in Hawaii knows its the best hotel for a reason. The service is absolutely impeccable, the hotel is beautiful and did I mention the service?

    I have been to Halekulani on multiple occasions over the years to eat at the restaurants or for weddings and I knew that when we decided to get married on Oahu that there were only a couple of choices. After looking over the options we easily decided on Halekulani.

    Our catering director was Loren Petrowski and she is just insane. She replies to emails so quickly and with such detail and clarity that it instantly puts you at ease. She coordinated our tasting and we met with her a couple of times before the wedding and asked a bunch of silly questions which she answered with a smile on her face.

    She was there for our rehearsal and on the day of to make sure everything was running smoothly. Our banquet captain Alan was just awesome. He kept checking on us to make sure everything was going smoothly and sent extra food and cake to our room since we were too busy to eat.

    The Hau Terrace as a wedding venue is pretty hard to beat on the island. Especially if you are getting married in a hotel. The problem is that Hawaii weddings are large and it only holds 120 people max, otherwise that room would be booked out for years.

    Again the service from the time we stepped foot on the grounds to the time we departed after our stay was just outstanding. People bent over backwards to help us and go the extra mile for us. We left on our honeymoon to Japan and Bali and even though we stayed at hotels w/ personal butlers, they didn't match the Halekulani. If you are from out of town researching wedding venues, just do it. It's soooo worth it. If you have less than 120 people BONUS!.....because you can do the Hau Terrace. Months later people are saying how great the wedding was, how awesome the venue was, and how great the food was. By the way, I used to DJ weddings when I was in college

    Sent on 08/09/2013
  • User3286062 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at the Halekulani in May, 2013. The service, from start to end, was beyond amazing. We actually had two ceremonies on our wedding day. There is absolutely no comparison between the service received between the two - the staff at the Halekulani is amazing. Loren, the catering manager, in particular is responsive, patient and incredibly helpful. Though they recommend a wedding planner, with Loren on board, that almost felt like an extra. She's so incredibly helpful. Unlike many other vendors, she's responsive and timely also. Then of course, the setting (Hau Terrace) is just beautiful. We loved it, and our guests are still raving about it. The food was amazing, the service impeccable. Our wedding day was so perfect and beyond what we'd hoped for. The cherry on top is all the little 'extras' that come with the wedding package. It ends up being a really great value at an amazing venue. I have absolutely no reservations about recommending this venue to future brides and couples.

    Sent on 06/16/2013