Skip to main content
Weddings

Hackberry Creek Country Club Reviews

Hackberry Creek Country Club

Hackberry Creek Country Club

Irving, TX
4.4 out of 5 rating, 17 Reviews
View more information

17 Reviews

Rated
4.4
out of 5.0
Recommended by 89% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.2 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 17
  • I
    Ilka Married on 06/23/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff is great, from the cooks to the management staff. Our wedding was June 23rd, Van, the event coordinator, was so patient and flexible while planning our wedding! She took care of everything for us, room set up was perfect! The food choices is very good and the quality even better. Everything in our menu was delicious and my guest loved it. This venue is very affordable, the packages are great. I couldn't have asked for a better place to have had my wedding, it was gorgeous! Thank you to everyone at Hackberry!!! Awesome place!
  • L
    Linda Married on 09/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We celebrated our wedding and reception at Hackberry Creek Country Club with 100 of our friends and family. I am thrilled that we did! Great interior lighting, a high quality staff and customer service, the value added with chairs and tables, and a fantastic menu choices for the reception. The little extras like beautful outdoor wedding and seating, table decor, centerpieces, adding our photobooth, cleanup, open bar, and professionalism was so much more than we expected. Weddings are stressful enough and I always expect there might be something that would be missed. But not here! Our guests let us know it was the best wedding they attended. The food was superb and people continued to rave about it all weekend. My new sister-in-law says she gained ten pounds just from the event but said it was worth it. Dancing the night away and having a wonderful bartender certainly made our night extra special. We had nothing to worry about during the planning and execution phase. The Special Events Planner, Jessica Anderson, was top notch. She was calm and thorough. I think Hackberry Creek Country Club is an ideal place for a wedding venue and is one of the best kept secrets in the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex. Thank you HCCC for making our special days that much extra special!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 08/27/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Oh my goodness! Our experience with Hackberry was incredible! We used them for our wedding reception and worked very closely with Jessica, the wedding coordinator, and we could not have been more pleased. We must have emailed her a thousand times and called to set up multiple appointments as we planned, and she always responded quickly. She also was extremely accommodating to ensure that this day was exactly as we imagined it. We are so thankful for our experience and would recommend them to anyone.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • User1565489 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    After considering several sites for our wedding, we decided on Hackberry Creek, and I am so glad that we did. I had attended a few private events at Hackberry in the past, and I fell in love with the club. The ambiance outside is beautiful, the staff is attentive, and the venue itself is gorgeous. In our initial planning phase, I felt like a lot of places were "boxy" and essentially a room with four walls. There would be a need for a lighting package, extra décor, etc. just to make the room appealing. I love that the ballroom at Hackberry has floor to ceiling windows, and I liked the option that if we had to move the wedding inside due to rain (which we did) it would still be a beautiful wedding. We also had access to several private rooms the entire day, which we designated as a bridal suite, a receiving room, and set-up room for some of our vendors. Although I went through three wedding coordinators (two were promoted at different phases of our planning process) the transition was seamless, and we ended up working with one of the "experts" in the field, Nicky Crowley. Nicky did a phenomenal job with all the operations, was quick and attentive, offered great ideas and helped us with the overall "flow" of the day. She is extremely organized and talented and made our day seamless and smooth. I couldn't have asked for a better coordinator for our wedding day. Thank you Hackberry for making our day so memorable!
  • User1235484 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kelly and Jordan helped me pull off an amazing and beautiful wedding! They are phenomenal wedding coordinators for Hackberry and helped lesson my stress, and also provided some great vendors for me to use for flowers and so forth. Thanks to them...my wedding day was literally flawless!
  • K
    Kristen Married on 10/05/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kelly and Cathy were great to work with. It was a little frustrating through some of the planning process but in the end it was worth it. The frustrations came from changing contact people not once but twice. The two people we initially spoke to are no longer w hackberry and the third is no longer an event planner. It was frustrating for sure but in the end Kelly and Cathy are definitely the best. My wedding was flawless and they were both there to check in and make sure it ran smoothly. Can't say enough good things. Thank you girls.
  • User2562119 2+ years ago
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I recently had our wedding reception at Hackberry Creek and I can't imagine a more smoothly-run event. Other than dropping off the items for decoration the day before, we had no responsibilities and were able to just enjoy our special day. Jessica, the coordinator provided by Hackberry, met with us several times to go over all the necessary details and was flexible up until the day of the wedding to accommodate any changes. Besides setting up the tables and lobby area with the items we brought, they also added a few beautiful touches to make it look like an elegant event. The food was delicious, we opted for cheese/cracker/fruit hors d'oeuvres and a beef and chicken option on the buffet. The Hackberry staff was very professional and attentive in guiding guests to food and clearing the tables. All of Jessica's vendor recommendations for florist, cake bakery and DJ were easy to work with and a great value. All of our guests were impressed that we had grabbed a quick bite to eat as a new couple before joining our guests in the reception area, one of Jessica's great suggestions. She was easily available throughout the evening and made sure the everything flowed nicely. We were initially overwhelmed by the prices of a country club reception within the metroplex and found Hackberry to be a perfect fit with our budget.
  • J
    Jill Married on 10/09/2010
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was a perfect place to have a glamorous wedding with an outdoor ceremony overlooking the water and then a very spacious ballroom to fit 200 of my guests with a fall glamour flare reception! It was the best day of our lives. THe Chef was amazing and he completely nailed making a south american appetizer for my half of the guests!!
  • V
    Vicki Married on 06/05/2010
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hackberry was the perfect venue for the reception that I had always pictured. The windows in the ballroom are gorgeous and the room perfectly housed the number of guests we had attending. For the most part they were very clear about what was and what was not included in their prices and, by far, offered the best price for the amount of items and services included. Both Paige and Shannon worked closely with me for several months preceding the wedding to finalize the details and answer my every last question! I could not have been happier with Hackberry!
  • L
    Leslie Married on 10/01/2011
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    All in all, Hackberry Creek was a great place to have our reception. The ballroom is beautiful (and big enough to hold 200 people), the grounds are gorgeous and allow you to have some outdoor space even if, like me, you are too nervous to plan a completely outdoor event, the food is great (we still get compliments) and the prices are more reasonable that lots of venues. I did get frustrated a few times during the planning process because there was some lack of communication (slow or no email response time, showed up for meetings and they had been cancelled), but there is a new event coordinator now and I think it might have been more of a problem with the old coordinator, not the facility. The event coordinator was replaced three weeks before our wedding (which we found out when we showed up for our final meeting only to find out that she wasn't there anymore and our meeting had been cancelled) but the chef, general manager, and new coordinator were awesome, courteous, and very accommodating. They did everything they could to make sure that we were happy with our reception. We were able to finalize details without any problem and our wedding reception went off without a compliant. Everything was set up just as I had requested (which included some special requests and changes), the food was delicious, there was plenty of staff, and the night flowed just as we had planned. I'm more than happy with my reception and would gladly recommend the venue.
  • K
    Kallie Married on 11/25/2006
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I only say ok service becasue I had to wedding coordinators because they were in the middle of a change. I feel like the service would be great other then that. the place is great i would not have had my wedding anyway else. It offers a great reception room, amazingly good food and they can work your cake into the price you have to spend which is a nice bonus. I totally recommand this location for you reception and wedding (but only if it is a smaller one)
  • M
    Meagen Married on 01/22/2011
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Hackberry is a great place to get married! I was able to get all the small details I wanted in one of their packages without being charged a bunch of extras. I feel they were very organized and obviously do a lot of weddings. Wedding day went smoothly. I did notice another review mentioning the venue music was on at the beginning of the ceremony and the same thing happened to me. Also, Hackberry pamphlets were left out on the counters for everyone to see on their way in. Other than that, staff and event coordinators were helpful.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 07/16/2011
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    On the day of the wedding it was very HOT in the room. The only thing to consider is how many guests and whether or not the AC is working in the middle of the summer......
  • M
    Matthew Married on 08/12/2006
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    If you book with Hackberry you must request having VC as the head of your event. This man had seemingly no end to his energy and took care of me and my bride. My beer was never empty, and we were always treated like the star of the show. VC was a wonderful individual.

    They did, despite telling us otherwise, double book the facility, however, we never knew it. The venue was fabulous and was the perfect combination of spacious and intimate that we were looking for. The food was wonderful and the staff was amazing. We wish we would have had more daylight to take advantage of the beautiful picture opportunities within the grounds, but it was an awesome party!

  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 03/20/2020
    3.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Facility tour

    This place was ok. It wasn’t awful but it wasn’t great. It could use a few updates to the decor such as chipped paint. The ceremony room was set up nicely and it could be used for an intimate space.
  • B
    Bianca Married on 07/24/2010
    3.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    On the actual wedding day, things were great and set up as they should have been. However, one thing happened that is absolutely inexcusable. As the bridal party was lined up outside of the ceremony room, we noticed that the club's music was still being pumped into the entry way. We were concerned that it could be heard in the ceremony room. After my outside coordinator notified Shannon (the venue coordinator), it was turned off in the entry way. We then proceeded into the ceremony room and I was escorted by my dad. We only heard the string trio at that time. However, when the string trio concluded, and the minister began to talk, we STILL heard the top 40's music being pumped into the room. I was absolutely APPALLED, and almost started to cry when my minister's words were overshadowed by a Michelle Branch song. It finally was turned off after what seemed like an eternity. This club should be aware of things like this, and it should have never happened. I am disgusted by the fact that the first words of our wedding video will be overshadowed by music that should not have been there in the first place. And on top of that, I NEVER received an apology from anyone at the club. An occasional mess up in the food or decor can be understood, but ruining the first moments of our ceremony cannot be forgiven.

    The venue was beautiful. However, I wish that it was maintained a little better than it was. The furniture and fixtures were nice, but the paint and restrooms need some updating.

    The coordinators were helpful for the most part, but when I had an issue or suggestion, I often heard, "no". It seemed that they took my dad more seriously, and got things accomplished for him; I suppose since he footed the bill. As the bride, I wish that I was taken more seriously, and they should have been more responsive to me.

    They were very adamant that they would discard any items left behind, and they kept their promise. We only had 4 disposable cameras given out to certain tables, and they were all left by mistake at the end of the night. We went to the venue early the following day, and they were nowhere to be found. We asked the club and they couldn't find them-not even in the lost and found. They actually discarded our memories. I was and am still disgusted by that.

    You can have a very nice, inexpensive wedding at this venue. They have a lot of different packages to choose from. We opted to get the most expensive, platinum package. If I knew that all of these other horrible things were going to happen, I would have opted for a lesser package, and saved my family a lot of money. I urge you to hire a wedding coordinator and view their list of recommended venues before booking this one.
  • T
    Teresa Married on 03/10/2012
    2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding March 2012 and had originally worked with a wedding coordinator who was responsible, professional, and very prompt. A few months before our wedding, she stopped being responsive and we later found out that she had quit the country club for another job. After this, we worked with an overall events coordinator who was fine. Then we had to work with another wedding coordinator...at this point it was already confusing. The venue is beautiful and the prices are very reasonable. The food was tasty, and they were flexible with our dietary restrictions/requests. However, it was a very frustrating process during the planning process, the wedding day, and even after the event was over. During the planning process, we had to repeat ourselves multiple times (due to working with several points of contact). Also, it took constant follow up reminders for any of our contacts to respond to our e-mails and voice mails. They always seemed to be on vacation or out of office for various reasons. On the wedding day, several things happened that really made us question if they had ever held a wedding before. There was a grooms cake table brought out even though we told them we did NOT have one. Toasts were passed out to the guests well into our third speech even though we provided our agenda. The staff only wanted to set up 14 tables even though we had already provided them a layout of 15 tables with seating assignments. If they eliminated our table, our seating assignments would have been messed up and it was completely ridiculous how they kept arguing. We were paying for the extra set up. Staff was eating from from our wedding cake AND chocolate fountain in front of our guests. We are not paying them a 20% service charge to eat our cake in front of our guests. Potatoes were served instead of rice. The guaranteed "ceremony to reception" conversion time of 45 minute was not upheld - it took a 1 hour and 15 minutes WITH the help of OUR guests. It was a little ridiculous watching our guests walk across the venue with flower centerpieces in their hand. Water and food was not refilled. Staff started to set up our tables without the runners. Even after the wedding, the country club charged our credit card WITHOUT proper authorization. We already told them we wanted to review the final invoice first and then pay them by check. They did credit us some money and the wedding turned out to be great. But dealing with them added an unnecessary level of stress throughout the whole planning process and wedding day. It would have been a disaster without my friends. My husband even had to help set up the reception when he should have been mingling with the guests. And my friends should have been enjoying the event as well.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message