Gus & Ruby Letterpress Reviews

55 | Portsmouth, NH
See photos, pricing and details

55 Reviews for Gus & Ruby Letterpress

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

55

8 User photos

Order by:
  • Madeleine

    Madeleine Parsigian · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gus & Ruby Wedding Invitations

    We had a truly fabulous experience with the custom invitation team at Gus and Ruby. Laura was very attentive throughout the whole process and is generally a joy to work with. She struck the perfect balance of offering professional expertise and getting us what we wanted. While it is a pricier venture than minted, Zola or the like, it is totally personalized and the quality difference shows both during the design process and in the final product. In fact, several of our guests framed their wedding invitations!!

    Would HIGHLY recommend going this route and supporting a small business if you can swing it.

    Sent on 10/17/2019
  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply the best.

    The paper products were one of the aspects of wedding planning I was most looking forward to working on - and whether or not you feel that way, I promise you that Gus & Ruby will blow you away with their friendliness, professionalism, level of service, and quality of their work. I seriously cannot say enough good things about them, and will always cherish their beautiful work as mementos of our wedding. I had several ideas about what I wanted for our save the dates, invitations, and other paper goods, and they went above and beyond bringing my ideas to life. For the pieces that I wasn’t so sure about, they were creative and thoughtful in creating pieces that would complement and enhance our day. The Gus and Ruby team are detail-oriented, fun to work with, and create gorgeous work. They are responsive to ideas and questions, are great at coming up with alternatives if something doesn’t work, and will work with you until everything is just as you want it to be. They want everything to be perfect for you...They even hand delivered our table numbers to my parents’ house the day before our wedding because the color wasn’t just right. Sam, Laura, and everyone on your team, thank you so much for all your hard work - Everything you created was truly a highlight of our engagement and wedding.

    Sent on 07/01/2019

    Gus & Ruby Letterpress's reply:

    Emily - what a joy it was to work with you. Thank you for letting us play a small part in your big day. It was truly an honor and our pleasure. XO
  • A

    Ali · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic design & service!

    As a self-professed paper geek (bride), it was important that we work with a great stationer for our wedding invitation. And, we couldn't have been happier with the beautiful wedding suite that Samantha at Gus & Ruby helped us design! Samantha was very patient with all of our questions, changes and, at times, in-decision about what we wanted the invitations to look like.

    We landed on a classic invitation and Samantha helped us personalize it with a custom envelope liner, and formatting the text with italics, capitalization, and more. We would have loved to do more custom work with G&R (budget restraints kept us from doing so), but Samantha made our suite feel custom just through the great advice and customer service she provided.

    We can't wait to work with G&R again. Thank you Samantha & team!

    Sent on 02/12/2019
  • J

    jenna · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would recommend Gus & Ruby Letterpress to anyone! We ordered save the dates, invitations and RSVP cards and they all came out beautifully. We worked with Laura; she was an absolute pleasure! She made sure the wedding stationery came out exactly as we had envisioned. The experience is worth every penny. The services and products they offer are personalized and a little more special than some of the online companies. If you want something truly unique spend the little extra and visit Gus & Ruby Letterpress. If I ever have a big event again I will be sure to order from them again.
    -Jenna :)

    Sent on 06/06/2018
  • B

    Barrie Levine · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved gus & ruby

    We had an incredible experience with Gus & Ruby Letterpress. Working with Samantha, who designed our save the date, invitation, and day-of materials for our wedding was an absolute pleasure. Samantha was responsive, upheld our outlined timeline, and provided us with creative ideas that stayed true to our vision and budget. Not to mention, we live in Philadelphia and were getting married on Martha's Vineyard - and the team worked with us remotely to accomplish everything! We received so many compliments on how beautiful and unique our save-the-dates, invitations, welcome letters, and programs were. I have told all my engaged friends to use Gus & Ruby Letterpress.

    Sent on 01/28/2019
  • L

    Lauren Daugherty · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They are fantastic

    Sam was amazing and absolutely great to work with. It was wonderful being able to customize our invitations. She was able to turn an idea into reality and help guide and tweak our vision into the perfect invite!

    Sent on 10/20/2018
  • Mandy M.

    Amanda · Married on 06/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were really pleased with our experience at a Gus and Ruby! It was fun to visit their Portsmouth store with my mom for a consultation — the champagne was a nice touch and certainly made it feel special! Sam was so helpful, providing loads of tips and recommendations on how to approach our wedding invites. Communication was consistent and smooth throughout the process and I never doubted for a moment that we were in excellent hands! We’re so happy with the end result. The invitations are making their way out to guests now and we’re already getting loads of compliments. Love supporting a creative local business like this. If you’re looking for someone to partner with to create something beautiful and unique, look no further!

    Sent on 04/03/2018
  • G

    Gabrielle · Married on 02/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVE MY WEDDING INVITATIONS!!!! Laura did an amazing job making our invitations exactly fit our vision and uniquely match our winter wedding theme! Highly recommend getting your invitations done here!!

    Sent on 11/06/2017
  • M

    Marique · Married on 01/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I honestly cannot gush about Gus & Ruby enough. I worked closely with Laura out of their Portsmouth, NH shop, and from our first visit in August until our last emails in the days leading up to my wedding, Laura went above and beyond to help us create the most beautiful and personalized wedding invitation and stationary suite. She was helpful in providing guidance and professional insights, and she was a great creative partner every step of the way. Most of all, she was kind, warm, quick to respond, and very easy to work with via phone and email (given we live down in MA). Gus & Ruby does truly beautiful work, and we absolutely loved partnering with them for our wedding.

    Sent on 02/14/2018
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 12/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved working with Gus & Ruby - beautiful products and amazing service.

    Sent on 10/24/2017
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would absolutely recommend working with Gus & Ruby! My fiancee and I felt special and taken care of. The invitations we picked are beautiful. Laura helped us understand all of the different options in a way that was easy to grasp. She responded to email promptly. I always felt heard. We would use them again if we had to do it all over.

    Sent on 03/28/2017
  • J

    jane · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful, start to finish. Samantha walked us through the ins, outs, and iterations of our letterpress wedding invites. Now that the invites are out in the wild, our guests have gushed about how lovely, creative, unique they are. So many compliments! Throughout the process, Samantha offered superior service -- and patience, advice, and good cheer!

    Sent on 08/11/2017
  • A

    arielle · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend working with Gus and Ruby Letterpress. Laura created a wonderful overall experience from start to finish. She was prompt. creative, friendly and such a great resource in helping us find vintage stamps and a calligrapher. The attention to detail with the individual wrapped pieces and a hand written note was such a nice touch! We absolutely love our wedding invitation suite and can't wait to use them again in the future !

    Sent on 05/02/2017
  • A

    Alison · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how wonderful Gus&Ruby is. We made custom save the dates and wedding invitations with them and would use them again in a second. We got so many compliments on them! I think the quality of a service is truly shown when something doesn't go quite right. Our invitations were beautiful but there was a small printing error on one of our cards. The second the error was noticed, without question (and without charge), the team was on it...they had a new template made, sent it to be reprinted, and sent the new cards so fast (maybe within 2 days - it was so fast I can't even remember) they were on our doorstep ready to be sent out (well before we were ready to stuff them haha). Highly recommend this company not only for its quality work but for its outstanding customer service.

    Sent on 10/09/2017
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved working with Gus & Ruby for our wedding invitations! I wanted a semi custom design, I used ideas from two of their templates and was able to add my own touches. They coached me through the design process-- I loved how everything turned out !

    Sent on 02/20/2018
  • B

    Bre · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Gus and Ruby has been one of my favorite parts of the wedding planning process so far. From easily making an appointment, to arriving at the adorable store front, planning our invitations in the inspiring back room (and offered champagne!), to everything that followed. Through Gus and Ruby we worked with one of their recommended shops, I was so happy with their designs, options, quality, flexibility and responsiveness. I worked with Laura and she was awesome. She was incredibly responsive, detail oriented, helpful and so sweet! I enjoyed this experience so much, I would absolutely recommend Gus and Ruby to anyone!

    Sent on 06/23/2017
  • L

    leslie · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This team is amazing to work with! I am a big fan of the store and always knew I wanted my wedding invitations from them. From the consultation meeting through the last email after the invites were delivered, they were easy to work with, super responsive and always helpful when we had design questions or anything else. They made proactive suggestions to make our invitations and save the dates even more special. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Sent on 05/25/2017
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gus and Ruby made beautiful and unique save the dates and invitations for our wedding. We had a galaxy themed wedding and that did an absolutely amazing job making it classy, yet fun! Working with these ladies was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend them!!!! They are truly experts.

    Sent on 07/18/2017
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The team at Gus & Ruby Letterpress is truly amazing! From the beginning, I could tell that they were going to be a huge part of our wedding. Our first meeting with Laura opened our eyes to all of the creativity and hard work that goes into the design and printing of invitation suites. Laura listened to all of my dreams and wishes but was also honest and helpful in making our designs fit within our budget. Throughout the process, Laura was extremely responsive and the entire team worked diligently to have everything ready in time (and often even earlier than our original deadline!). All of our family and friends were beyond with our save the dates and I know they will fall in love with our invitations, just as we have!

    Sent on 03/25/2017
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ever since this shop opened 7 years ago, I've been dreaming of getting my wedding invitations from them. Not only have they exceeded my expectations on all levels they were so lovely to work with! My fiancé and I met and worked with Laura - she not only walked us through every step of the way but was patient, kind and extremely helpful (especially with the wording!!). When I picked up our invitations she had individually wrapped each piece, and hand wrote a card for us. I would highly recommend working with them. As a bride on a budget Laura was very conscious of this and was able to guide our expectations and made sure we stuck to our budget. I really can't say enough positive things about Gus & Ruby - they are a dream!

    Sent on 08/14/2016
  • B

    Barb · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura at Gus & Ruby was our contact person for our wedding invitation suite. She was friendly, professional, patient and responsive. The selection is outstanding and the quality control during the process was impressive. The final product exceeded our expectations in every way and was well worth the investment. It is so nice to have such a great resource within the Seacoast area. Thank you Laura - you're the best!!!!

    Sent on 07/16/2016
  • C

    Coleen · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I spent hours and hours researching the internet for the perfect invitations for our wedding. I was driving my fiance crazy with the samples I ordered in the mail and the pinterest boards. I was almost ready to give up and go with an NYC designer when I finally came across Gus & Ruby Letterpress - a local, women-owned and operated business in Portsmouth, NH. From our initial in-person meeting, Laura - our wedding specialist - was so hands on and responsive. She walked us through every single step and helped with critical advice about design and cost. They helped make our vision come to life with the most beautiful letterpress invitations. They were able to work within our proposed budget (although we couldn't say no to all the fun add-ons... that was on us though...). The invitations got absolutely rave reviews and made our guests so excited to attend our beach wedding! HIGHLY recommend. Make your life easy.

    Sent on 08/16/2016
  • B

    Brie · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely wonderful time working with Gus and Ruby. I was planning this wedding from Colorado, they made the whole process very easy! My invitations turned out perfect and came right on time!

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gus & Ruby is a fantastic choice for wedding invitations. Sam was wonderful to work with and extremely client-service driven. They will work with you in a lot of different budget ranges and are fully transparent with all costs. I had a lot of creative ideas in my mind (but completely lacked execution) and they were able to deliver a custom suite that is absolutely perfect for our wedding.

    Sent on 04/12/2016
  • User6548606 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gus and Ruby Letterpress provided us with impeccable paper goods for our wedding - we fell in love with the design options they had and chic suggestions to make our picks a cut above! Everyone gave us rave reviews when they opened our invites and we were thrilled because the process was simple and painless! Samantha and Whitney were speedy with their response time and worked with us on a crazy quick turnaround for our wedding date! HIGHLY RECCO G&R for all things wedding paper goods, best in New England!

    Sent on 04/02/2016