Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering Reviews

18 | Guilford, CT
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering

Recommended by 97%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

10 User photos

Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 1
Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 2
Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 3
Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 4
Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 5
Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 6
Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 7
+ 4
Sort by:
  • A

    Alexa Pazniokas · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect venue and caterer!

    We loved everything about our wedding at the Guilford Yacht Club and working with Gourmet Galley. Marissa McCue was our wedding coordinator and day-of-event planner. She was responsive, did not hesitate to accommodate our special requests and all of the questions back and forth. Her staff on the day of the event were also amazing- Kyle was able to take over once Marissa left for the night and continued to make sure all of our needs were met and that the night continued smoothly. We ended up with 145 guests, which was the perfect fit for the room and our guests continue to say how amazing our wedding was- from the setting, to the food to our speciality cocktails- I wouldn't have changed a thing!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing from the first chat with Marissa. She is an amazing person and cares deeply about making you happy and getting your wedding to be exactly what you want. The food was incredible (get the lobster roll apps) and everyone is still raving about it. The wait staff was also so kind and accommodating. On my wedding day some of the staff was assigned just to my husband and I and they made sure we didnt miss any of the food being passed at cocktail hour. They came to us during our pictures with trays of apps and made sure our drinks were full. Can't say enough great things, our wedding day was amazing thank you to Gourmet Galley and Marissa:)

  • M

    Meredith · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have been happier with this venue and the catering company, Gourmet Galley! We had our wedding here on 8/5/17. We held the ceremony out over the lawn. It is 3 months later and our guests are still raving about the gorgeous views. Marissa McCue was our coordinator and event planner on the day. I cannot say enough about Marissa. She made sure that every small detail was planned perfectly. The day could not have been smoother due to her planning and organization. She was wonderful to work with through out the entire process. She made sure to take the time to meet as many times as I needed before the big day. We had 200 guests and used the tented patio as an extension of the indoor venue to accommodate all of our guests. I was concerned that this may make the guests outside feel disconnected from the venue, but this was 100% not the case! The large windows made the tented patio feel part of the actual indoor room. It was a beautiful night and many guests ended up walking outside later in the evening. Everyone says "something will go wrong on your day and you just have to let it go", for us we can honestly say that not one thing went wrong! I attribute this to the venue, the catering company, Marissa specifically and all of our wonderful vendors. If you choose to go with the GYC and Gourmet Galley you will not be disappointed!

    Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 8
    Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 9
    Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 10
    Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 11
    Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 12
    Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 13
    Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 14
    Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 15
    Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 16
    Guilford Yacht Club Events by Gourmet Galley Catering 17
  • A

    Ally · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marissa is such an amazing person to work with. She made the planning of our special day so easy and fun. She is organized, responsive, friendly and supportive. The Gourmet Gallery is lucky to have her on their team! We had the ceremony and reception at the Guilford Yacht club and Gourmet Gallery Catering did a fantastic job with the food/preparations and decor. I love that we were able to make our menu unique to us and it tasted amazing. Couldn't have ask for a better day. Thank you GGC and most importantly Marissa!

  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Dear Marissa,
    We can't say enough about your staff and their attention to detail at Lauren's wedding.
    They made us feel very comfortable and secure knowing that we were in good hands. For a young wait staff, they were very mature and accommodating. Katherine was wonderful.
    Jewel was indispensable, and she kept everything running like clockwork. She took all the worry out of the day.
    The bartenders were amazing; we kept them busy!

    Please let them know that we appreciate their professionalism and all of their help on Lauren and Austin's very special day.

    Thanks,
    Jack and Liz

  • J

    jody · Married on 05/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Gourmet Galley for my daughters wedding at Harkness and every aspect from start to finish could not have been more perfect...The food was beautiful and delicious, the staff incredible...Wonderful experience

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful location with excellent services! Marissa was so easy to work with and ensured everything was perfect for our wedding reception. Gourmet Galley food was delicious as well! We received many compliments from our guests about the location and service. We would highly recommend!

  • A

    Anastasia · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot begin to express how happy we are with how our wedding turned out at the GYC. From the moment I first spoke with Marissa on the phone to learn about the venue and the services Gourmet Galley Catering provides, to her staff packing up all of our decor and left over food at the end of the night into our cars, I was constantly left impressed with everyone and everything. The venue is absolutely stunning and private, with a beautiful outdoor and indoor space. All of our guests couldn't stop commenting about the beauty of the venue, the service, and the quality of the food. Marissa was an absolute pleasure to work with. In the one year that we had from signing the contract to the wedding day, Marissa and I communicated through email and phone almost on a weekly basis. Marissa answered every single question in a quick fashion, provided suggestions, and constantly put my mind at ease. I couldn't help but tear up when I arrived the day of the wedding to see how beautifully her staff had set up all of our decorations and made my vision come true. I cannot thank them enough for a beautiful wedding day - we will cherish the memories of celebrating with our friends and family at the GYC forever! I highly recommend the GYC and Gourmet Galley Catering for anyone's wedding day. Thank you!!!!

  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After looking at many venues all over Connecticut, my husband and I chose to have our reception at GYC and we could not be happier with our decision. Marissa and the Gourmet Galley staff worked with us to create a night that was unique and fit our individual style. I appreciated Marissa's responsiveness to email and her flexibility with meeting dates, as I was trying to plan our wedding from across the country.

  • S

    Suzy · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful setting. Great service during event. Delicious food. Marisa was fun to work with and very helpful. All of our guests LOVED it.

  • User4817391 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Venue - it is private (no other events going on). Nice indoor and outdoor location. Marissa is beyond a pleasure to work with! DEFINITELY recommend Guilford Yacht Club & Marissa!

  • M

    Marissa · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at Guilford Yacht Club on June, 28, 2014, and we couldn't have been happier with the way our wedding turned out. After many months of planning and countless emails with Marissa (the most amazing event planner), our special day was everything we could have hoped for and more.

    Guilford Yacht Club is a breath taking venue on a beautiful summer day. The food was absolutely delicious, from the mini tacos to the seared tuna to the prime rib, I could honestly go on and on. The attention to detail throughout the entire process from the catering staff and Marissa was something that really sets apart Gourmet Galley and the Guilford Yacht Club. Everything was so personalized to our likes and wishes, and that definitely made our wedding a true reflection of who we are as a couple.

    My husband and I have wonderful memories of our wedding day and nothing but good things to say about Gourmet Galley Catering, Marissa, and the Guilford Yacht Club. They are professional, knowledgeable, and fun to work alongside with. Our remarkable experience wouldn't have been possible without all of their efforts. We would highly recommend their services!

  • User2692882 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing! Marissa was so patient with me and made sure that everything was perfect. She was also very mindful that we were on a budget and worked with us until we came to the cost that fit within our means. It truly couldn't have been any better - just gorgeous. Book with GYC!...You WON'T regret it!

  • T

    Tessa · Married on 08/12/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say enough about the excellent experience that my husband and I had working with Gourmet Galley and Marissa in particular. We had a stressful 45 minute delay of our ceremony but Marissa made sure that everything was coordinated perfectly and her staff in the kitchen worked furiously to adjust the food to the time change. It could have been an extremely chaotic time however we and our guests hardly noticed the bump in the road. You can never be fully prepared for what might happen on your wedding day, but be sure that if you choose Gourmet Galley and work with Marissa things are sure to go off without a hitch!

  • E

    Erin · Married on 08/11/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding at the Guilford Yacht Club this past summer and would highly recommend the venue, Gourmet Galley and Marissa McCue as a day-of coordinator!

    GYC is the perfect place for a classic, coastal Connecticut wedding. With breath taking views of Long Island Sound and a gorgeous outdoor patio for the cocktail hour, it is an incredible place to host guests and celebrate such a memorable occasion.

    The Gourmet Galley food was exceptional. Our guests loved the mini lobster rolls and my favorite were the bacon wrapped scallops!

    What really sets this venue apart is the incredible Gourmet Galley staff, including Marissa McCue. The servers made sure that the bride and groom actually ate, they brought plenty of appetizers to us and had champagne waiting for us once we walked out of the ceremony. Marissa makes the day go by seamlessly. Her positive, bubbly personality makes the planning process fun. She has a great attention to detail and thinks of all the little things I would have over looked.

    Thank you for making our day so magical!
    Erin

  • A

    Amy · Married on 09/16/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This venue is perfect for any nautical themed wedding or event! The venue is spacious but doesn't feel "too big". We used the lawn for our wedding ceremony - the flag pole and water make a great backdrop! The patio was where our cocktail hour was. It was nice to have everything in one spot! Beautiful location!

  • R

    roxana · Married on 05/15/2010

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    GYC coordinates all outside events through Jordan's Caterers (Cheshire, CT). The event coordinator, Marissa, came with glowing reviews and she lived up to the reputation! She is professional, extremely knowledgeable and had great ideas about decorations, vendors, color schemes and menu ideas. The GYC was a great location- we lucked out with a flawless May day so we could enjoy the expansive yard and great view of LI Sound. I only wish we had the date set later in the summer so we could have enjoyed the view for longer. also, the small logistical details are great- plenty of parking, convenient wash rooms, nice bridal suite and I love the second floor that looks out over the dance floor- made for some great photos!
    we had so much positive feedback on the venue location, which was nice because a) we got a small discount on the price, maybe due to the economy? and b) other yacht clubs in the area require that you are a member to hold an event at the location. bottom line- we would highly recommend GYC, and Jordans Caterers in particular.


    note: we only held the reception here: ceremony was held at our church.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review