Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering Reviews

30 | Charlevoix, MI
See photos, pricing and details

30 Reviews for Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering

Recommended by 92%

30

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6
30 Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering Reviews
Sort by:
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience working with Grey Gables as our caterer. Katie was one of the most readily available vendors we had for my 10,000 questions leading up to the wedding. The food was EXCELLENT and very well priced. Would recommend to anyone looking for a caterer!

  • L

    Linda · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Grey Gables for our rehearsal dinner AND wedding reception (at Castle Farms), and could not be happier with our choice! Everyone at both events raved about how delicious their food is, as well as their service. Their fee includes everything from plates and glassware to gratuity, which is hard to find in vendors! The site manager (Katie) was super helpful throughout the planning process, we met her at the tasting (DELICIOUS) and continued to communicate via phone and email; she always had a great answer to my questions. We also used their bartender, who was really nice and welcoming, and followed our instructions for serving alcohol. I highly recommend Grey Gables for your event, go schedule a tasting and you will be sold too!

  • T

    Traci · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Grey Gables to cater our wedding at Castle Farms. We went with the combination plate of beef and chicken. All of our guests said the food was wonderful (and we thought so too!).

    Leading up to the wedding communication was prompt, clear, and helpful. Katie answered all of our questions well and was willing to work with us to make small changes to the contract close to the wedding (updated guest count, removal of services, adding of others, etc.). We live about 4 hours away so email contact worked best for us and they always responded with what we needed.

    During the event the staff was efficient and nearly invisible (in the good way). The only time they asked for any of our attention on the day of was when they were floating to make sure everything was going smoothly and happened to catch the glance of the groom. They thought the glance meant we needed something and immediately came over to the head table to check. It turned out that we didn't but it demonstrates just how on top of the event they were. During last call the bartender came up to us and made sure that we didn't need anything before they left, which was also a great demonstration of how hard they were working to make sure we were taken care of.

    We would happily recommend Grey Gables to anyone looking for a caterer with great food and service! (Especially at Castle Farms because they seem to know the venue inside and out.)

    Sent on 06/23/2016

    Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering's reply:

    Traci & Zach, Thank you so much for those awesome comments. We wish you lots of love! Darren, Kelly & Katie
  • User5052185 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food and service were great!! They were so amazing they knew which of their dishes were gluten free for one of my new cousins, and even went to the kitchen and made her a new salad without the croutons....above and beyond!

  • J

    Jim · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Grey Gables catering for our wedding at Castle Farms and everything about their service was excellent. Our guests raved about both the food and the service all evening. The food was outstanding, the waiters and bartenders were polite and on point - it was everything we could have asked for. We even had a request for a specialty cocktail that the bartenders knocked out of the park - one of the highlights of the night for our guests. Darren was great to work with - very laid back, responsive and flexible. I would HIGHLY recommend for anyone planning a wedding in the area.

  • User5417055 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Grey Gables Inn is the best caterer in Northern Michigan. The food was spectacular and their staff is amazing! We couldn't have asked for a better team to provide the food and service at our wedding.

  • C

    Chastity · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food was just as good at event as it was during tasting. Delicious!

  • K

    Karissa · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Their food was amazing and has been the talk amongst our family and friends as the best wedding food. They were so accommodating to us and even was willing to set aside options for the gluten free people in my family.

  • User3139591 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was fantastic and we loved the options they offer! We also used them for our rehearsal dinner and we were able to customize the menu options so the rehearsal meal was completely different than the wedding meal.

  • P

    Pam · Married on 10/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    People kept coming up and complimenting me on the food. My daughter researched the caterer through reviews which is why I wanted to write this one. Grey Gables' food was excellent. They made the food fresh on site. The plate was beautiful when presented, was delicious to eat, and you weren't too bloated to get up and move to the dance floor.

    We also opted for the pizza at 9:30 which was a huge hit. Also made fresh, people gobbled it right up. The beef just melted in your mouth, the chicken was very tender and the whole thing was so pretty on the plate, you hated to destroy it by eating it but I didn't see many plates returning with anything on them.

  • Sarabrooke

    Sarabrooke · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grey Gables is very flexible and afforordable. The food was delicious. The services were excellent with the wait staff, bar tenders, and etc. were amazing. Peter was awesome with everything.

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food and service. I couldn't have asked for more on my wedding day -- and at such a value!!!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grey Gables was excellent to work with! They were easy to communicate with prior to the wedding and provided outstanding food and service onsite. Guests from our wedding said the food was some of the best they'd had. I can't give enough positive feedback! Thank you for making our day run so smoothly!!

  • User2748021 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We selected the Knights Buffet Dinner option with Braised Beef & Roasted Tomato Chicken as the main entrees but we sampled their Wild Salmon & that is an excellent choice if you want a fish option. Many guests commented that the food was excellent. The food was served via buffet style except for the salad was plated & served to each guest. The buffet was set up so there were no delays in getting the guests through the buffet & we ended up getting though dinner much earlier than expected. Once the cake was cut the servers quickly sliced the cake and served it to the guests as well. The staff was very well organized and very efficient. We also used their Bartender services as well and the guests found them very friendly & customer service oriented. Darren Romano, Owner/Chef, was very professional to work with as well.

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren and Kelly are AMAZING! The food and service at our wedding was brilliant - we received a million compliments from a wide variety of picky foodies. Grey Gables was flexible, creative, original, and professional. Our passed appetizers were hot and delicious, and our whitefish/filet entree plate was served promptly and tasted like something you would eat in an excellent restaurant - not traditional "wedding food" with its negative implications. We also went with the late night pizza, which was also a massive hit. 1000% recommended.

  • C

    Courtney · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was soooo good! All my guests commented on how good the food was, even months after our wedding!

  • D

    Danielle · Married on 10/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food and great service. As a bride, it was great not to have to worry about thing! They take care of everything. Worth the money and the extra money for bartending service.

  • M

    mikky · Married on 05/01/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys did an awesome job, we got a 17$ a plate buffet of the most amazing food I've ever had. They also had a licensed and insured bartender who could make anything and the include drinks, coffee, and basic mixers for 2$ a head which was great. They made our dinner look very professional and expensive with their wait staff serving salads and clearing plates and fetching things. It was wonderful. They even offered desert bars and were totally willing to attempt things they didn't have on the menu, they even made a vegetarian dish seperately just for my dad.

  • A

    Amy · Married on 09/10/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great food and great staff to work with!!

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 09/11/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grey Gables did an amazing job catering and bartending at my reception. Everything went very smoothly. I also recieved a number of compliments on the taste of the food as well....very delicous!! They know what theyre doing!!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 09/13/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Grey Gables went above and beyond to work with us when planning our dinner for our wedding. A month before the wedding, we did our tasting and realized we didn't want the food we had chosen, and Darren was very accomodating at switching the meals and even though he wasn't a fan of including pasta (he is big on presentation and taste and was worried that large quantities of tomato, pesto, basil pasta wouldn't come out just right), he did it for us and it turned out amazing. When we entered the hall, the place settings at the table and china were not at all what we had expected, and in a good way. They really wowed us. We also used their waitstaff and bartenders who, received many thumbs up from our guests.

  • M

    Martinique · Married on 05/11/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Many guests told us that ours was the best food they had ever had at a wedding. We had dinner stations that worked out much better than a buffet. Kids' food station was a big hit, even with the adults! All food was served hot; had only one pan of chicken that was not fully cooked - and the problem was quickly corrected (and nobody got sick). Staff very well coordinated.

  • The New Mrs. B

    Jillian · Married on 05/11/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We loved our food from Grey Gables and had many compliments from our guests! We had varying levels of responsiveness throughout the planning process.. sometimes hearing back the same day and other times having to call and email several times before getting a response. Although it was a little stressful at time, planning a wedding from a distance, I would do it all over again and choose Grey Gables! We had excellent service and food and were able to customize what we wanted - they made our cake (no display cake, but absolutely delicious, they worked with an ice cream vendor to serve ice cream with our cake, we served sparkling juice as well as champagne for a toast option, and we were able to choose which wines we wanted served).

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/02/2008

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    At first we where really scared that this buisness took our $$ and ran, but they just needed to make sure that they were very seperate from the B&B next door that did not pass on our messages!

    The food was really great, servers were a little slow, but all and all we got many compliments so we were just more critical as the bride and groom.

  • A

    Aimee · Married on 10/12/2013

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food was good for the price. The only reasons I didn't give it 5 stars: Sometimes it took days to get a response. I had asked if a special dish could be made that was not included on the menu and I was told yes then later talked out of it. I also had a few guests complain that their full plates of food were removed when they walked away from the table for a few seconds, so some guests did not even get to eat. The buffet was also cleared way to quickly. Overall they were a good choice. I had many compliments on the food.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review