30 Reviews for Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering

4.6
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Clean Up (3)
Set Up (3)
Buffet (3)
Bartender(s) (3)
Delivery (2)
Cake Cutting (2)
Cocktail Reception (2)
Hors d'oeuvres (2)
Plated (2)
Server(s) (2)
Stations (2)
Tastings (2)
American (2)
Outside Alcohol (2)
Champagne Toast (2)
Cake (1)
Dessert (1)
Family Style (1)
Outside Cake (1)
Local (1)
Gluten Free (1)
Nut Free (1)
Premium Liquor (1)
Signature Drink (1)
Specialty Beer (1)
Specialty Wine (1)
30 Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

We had a great experience working with Grey Gables as our caterer. Katie was one of the most readily available vendors we had for my 10,000 questions leading up to the wedding. The food was EXCELLENT and very well priced. Would recommend to anyone looking for a caterer!

Profile Picture Taylor, 9/2/17, 13 Reviews
Category: Catering
Services Used: Buffet, Cake Cutting, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres, Outside Cake, Plated, Server(s), Stations, Tastings, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Outside Alcohol, Premium Liquor, Signature Drink, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Clean Up, Delivery, Set Up, Gluten Free, Nut Free, American, Local
1.3

On Thursday I had requested a proposal for my wedding in 3 months and was told that there were openings available. We received the prices and called them on Monday to discuss and as soon as we brought up wanting to work on the prices the owner became irritated and I was immediately told that there were no longer any availabilities. Darrin was not willing to work with us on anything and threw our business out the door as soon as we started questioning anything. He specifically told us that if he dropped the price on one thing that he would in the end tack it onto somewhere else so that he could get his money's worth out of it. He was very unprofessional and I personally would not recommend them to anyone!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jessica, 6/23/17, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

We had Grey Gables for our rehearsal dinner AND wedding reception (at Castle Farms), and could not be happier with our choice! Everyone at both events raved about how delicious their food is, as well as their service. Their fee includes everything from plates and glassware to gratuity, which is hard to find in vendors! The site manager (Katie) was super helpful throughout the planning process, we met her at the tasting (DELICIOUS) and continued to communicate via phone and email; she always had a great answer to my questions. We also used their bartender, who was really nice and welcoming, and followed our instructions for serving alcohol. I highly recommend Grey Gables for your event, go schedule a tasting and you will be sold too!

Profile Picture Linda, 5/27/17, 8 Reviews
Category: Catering
Services Used: Clean Up, Delivery, Set Up, Buffet, Cake Cutting, Cocktail Reception, Plated, Stations, Tastings, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Outside Alcohol, American
3.9

The Inn at Grey Gables handled our catering and cake for our big day. We tasted the food prior to the wedding and it was just as delicious both times. We had many comments from guests on how tasty the buffet was. The staff at the wedding was very attentive (servers & bartender) and we were happy to have them. Grey Gables also made our cake for us, which was equally as delicious. They did a 2-tier 'cutting' cake, as well as 2 sheet cakes to be served to guests, one vanilla w/buttercream and one chocolate w/mousse. Although most everything was perfect, communication from the catering manager could be slightly improved. There were a few items where a lack of communication caused confusion. Overall, if you want your guests to enjoy the day with a delicious meal & cake, Grey Gables is a fantastic choice!

Profile Picture Sierra, 9/16/16, 6 Reviews
Category: Catering
Services Used: Buffet, Cake, Hors d'oeuvres, Server(s), Clean Up, Set Up, Bartender(s)
5.0

We hired Grey Gables to cater our wedding at Castle Farms. We went with the combination plate of beef and chicken. All of our guests said the food was wonderful (and we thought so too!).

Leading up to the wedding communication was prompt, clear, and helpful. Katie answered all of our questions well and was willing to work with us to make small changes to the contract close to the wedding (updated guest count, removal of services, adding of others, etc.). We live about 4 hours away so email contact worked best for us and they always responded with what we needed.

During the event the staff was efficient and nearly invisible (in the good way). The only time they asked for any of our attention on the day of was when they were floating to make sure everything was going smoothly and happened to catch the glance of the groom. They thought the glance meant we needed something and immediately came over to the head table to check. It turned out that we didn't but it demonstrates just how on top of the event they were. During last call the bartender came up to us and made sure that we didn't need anything before they left, which was also a great demonstration of how hard they were working to make sure we were taken care of.

We would happily recommend Grey Gables to anyone looking for a caterer with great food and service! (Especially at Castle Farms because they seem to know the venue inside and out.)

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Traci, 6/11/16, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

The food and service were great!! They were so amazing they knew which of their dishes were gluten free for one of my new cousins, and even went to the kitchen and made her a new salad without the croutons....above and beyond!

Profile Picture User5052185, 2+ years ago, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

We used Grey Gables catering for our wedding at Castle Farms and everything about their service was excellent. Our guests raved about both the food and the service all evening. The food was outstanding, the waiters and bartenders were polite and on point - it was everything we could have asked for. We even had a request for a specialty cocktail that the bartenders knocked out of the park - one of the highlights of the night for our guests. Darren was great to work with - very laid back, responsive and flexible. I would HIGHLY recommend for anyone planning a wedding in the area.

Profile Picture Jim, 9/19/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

The Grey Gables Inn is the best caterer in Northern Michigan. The food was spectacular and their staff is amazing! We couldn't have asked for a better team to provide the food and service at our wedding.

Profile Picture User5417055, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Food was just as good at event as it was during tasting. Delicious!

Profile Picture Chastity, 4/18/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Their food was amazing and has been the talk amongst our family and friends as the best wedding food. They were so accommodating to us and even was willing to set aside options for the gluten free people in my family.

Profile Picture Karissa, 11/1/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

The food was fantastic and we loved the options they offer! We also used them for our rehearsal dinner and we were able to customize the menu options so the rehearsal meal was completely different than the wedding meal.

Profile Picture Tiffany, 10/11/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

People kept coming up and complimenting me on the food. My daughter researched the caterer through reviews which is why I wanted to write this one. Grey Gables' food was excellent. They made the food fresh on site. The plate was beautiful when presented, was delicious to eat, and you weren't too bloated to get up and move to the dance floor.

We also opted for the pizza at 9:30 which was a huge hit. Also made fresh, people gobbled it right up. The beef just melted in your mouth, the chicken was very tender and the whole thing was so pretty on the plate, you hated to destroy it by eating it but I didn't see many plates returning with anything on them.

Profile Picture Pam, 10/3/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Grey Gables is very flexible and afforordable. The food was delicious. The services were excellent with the wait staff, bar tenders, and etc. were amazing. Peter was awesome with everything.

Profile Picture Sarabrooke, 5/24/14, 7 Reviews
Category: Catering
4.1

Food was good for the price. The only reasons I didn't give it 5 stars: Sometimes it took days to get a response. I had asked if a special dish could be made that was not included on the menu and I was told yes then later talked out of it. I also had a few guests complain that their full plates of food were removed when they walked away from the table for a few seconds, so some guests did not even get to eat. The buffet was also cleared way to quickly. Overall they were a good choice. I had many compliments on the food.

Profile Picture Aimee, 10/12/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Amazing food and service. I couldn't have asked for more on my wedding day -- and at such a value!!!

Profile Picture Jennifer, 9/21/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering
3.4

Be sure you read the contract very carefully. We were duped when it came to alcohol and ended up paying a fortune.

Profile Picture User2646541, 2+ years ago, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering
4.0

We had bartenders and caterers from Grey Gables.
We did a tasting before hand and picked the chicken and pork with carrots, pasta, and potatoes.

It seemed the food had more flavor at the tasting, but could use a bit more flavor. Perhaps in future events i would ask them to bring some seasonings that people could put on their food if they wish.

Profile Picture Mel, 8/24/13, 12 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Grey Gables was excellent to work with! They were easy to communicate with prior to the wedding and provided outstanding food and service onsite. Guests from our wedding said the food was some of the best they'd had. I can't give enough positive feedback! Thank you for making our day run so smoothly!!

Profile Picture Katie, 7/6/13, 6 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

We selected the Knights Buffet Dinner option with Braised Beef & Roasted Tomato Chicken as the main entrees but we sampled their Wild Salmon & that is an excellent choice if you want a fish option. Many guests commented that the food was excellent. The food was served via buffet style except for the salad was plated & served to each guest. The buffet was set up so there were no delays in getting the guests through the buffet & we ended up getting though dinner much earlier than expected. Once the cake was cut the servers quickly sliced the cake and served it to the guests as well. The staff was very well organized and very efficient. We also used their Bartender services as well and the guests found them very friendly & customer service oriented. Darren Romano, Owner/Chef, was very professional to work with as well.

Profile Picture User2748021, 2+ years ago, 7 Reviews
Category: Catering
4.7

We loved our food from Grey Gables and had many compliments from our guests! We had varying levels of responsiveness throughout the planning process.. sometimes hearing back the same day and other times having to call and email several times before getting a response. Although it was a little stressful at time, planning a wedding from a distance, I would do it all over again and choose Grey Gables! We had excellent service and food and were able to customize what we wanted - they made our cake (no display cake, but absolutely delicious, they worked with an ice cream vendor to serve ice cream with our cake, we served sparkling juice as well as champagne for a toast option, and we were able to choose which wines we wanted served).

Profile Picture Jillian, 5/11/13, 10 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Darren and Kelly are AMAZING! The food and service at our wedding was brilliant - we received a million compliments from a wide variety of picky foodies. Grey Gables was flexible, creative, original, and professional. Our passed appetizers were hot and delicious, and our whitefish/filet entree plate was served promptly and tasted like something you would eat in an excellent restaurant - not traditional "wedding food" with its negative implications. We also went with the late night pizza, which was also a massive hit. 1000% recommended.

Profile Picture Katherine, 9/8/12, 7 Reviews
Category: Catering
4.8

Great food and great staff to work with!!

Profile Picture Amy, 9/10/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Everything was soooo good! All my guests commented on how good the food was, even months after our wedding!

Profile Picture Courtney, 9/3/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Amazing food and great service. As a bride, it was great not to have to worry about thing! They take care of everything. Worth the money and the extra money for bartending service.

Profile Picture Danielle, 10/30/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
4.8

Grey Gables did an amazing job catering and bartending at my reception. Everything went very smoothly. I also recieved a number of compliments on the taste of the food as well....very delicous!! They know what theyre doing!!

Profile Picture Kristen , 9/11/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering