Skip to main content
Weddings

Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering Reviews

Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering

Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering

Charlevoix, MI
4.7 out of 5 rating, 40 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.7 out of 5 rating
40 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating
94% Recommended by couples

Awards

40

1 User photo

  • B
    Becky W. Sent on 08/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience on our Special Day!

    Grey Gables provided wonderful service for our wedding on 8/26/2023 at Castle Farms in Charlevoix!
    Katie was responsive and helpful with all our questions and adjustments.
    The staff made sure our guests were well attended to, they were courteous and friendly, and our guests loved the food.
    Thank you so much!
    -Becky & Caleb
  • Hannah
    Hannah D. Sent on 08/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Service!

    We highly recommend Grey Gables and their amazing service! Our servers were super kind and accommodating. The food was amazing and our guests loved the late night pizza!
  • Theresa
    Theresa C. Sent on 07/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Experience

    We hired Grey Gables for both the rehearsal dinner and the reception at Castle Farms for our daughter's wedding June, 2023. We opted for an entirely gluten-free menu, which was delicious, and Grey Gables was very accommodating. We changed the menu twice, and Katie was probably getting annoyed with me, but you would have never known it! Every call was answered with a smile, and a new proposal sent over promptly.
    The smoked fish was raved about by our guests, and the bar service was top notch. When we started to run out of tequila, they quickly notified us and never missed a beat delivering more!
    We also held a wine tasting on the balcony that both Castle Farms and Grey Gables made incredibly easy and special, which all added to the ambiance and magic of the evening.
    The food was presented beautifully, and was very good!
    Thank you for making our daughter's wedding & rehearsal so special :)
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kaila S. Sent on 06/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Would highly recommend Grey Gables to anyone!

    We used Grey Gables to cater our wedding and I cannot say enough good things about their service, staff and food. Katie was incredible to work with and responded promptly to all questions we had. She was wonderful the day of our event and even offered to get us new plates of hot food when we got distracted talking to guests at dinnertime. We also heard from our guests how delicious their meal was and we almost never had a line at the bar (which is pretty incredible for a 200 person event). So glad we worked with them!
  • Rachel
    Rachel C. Sent on 06/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful food and service!

    I had the pleasure of working with Grey Gables for my wedding and it was a WONDERFUL decision. The food tasted amazing and Katie was so wonderful with communication and making sure everything was the way I wanted it to be. She went the extra mile and picked up my rental napkins and folded them! 10/10 recommend working this them.
  • S
    Samantha Z. Sent on 11/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Yes! Yes! Look No Further!

    Where to begin?! We had Grey Gables cater our wedding in October 2021 and we are so glad we decided to go with them! Katie was absolutely amazing with communication leading up to the event and on our wedding day. She and the entire staff went above and beyond the entire night! We had Grey Gables handle the bar, appetizers, and food. Everything was delicious and the service was perfect. We are so glad we chose GG! Thank you all again so much!
  • H
    Haley S. Sent on 11/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding food!

    Grey Gables was fantastic!! Everyone has been raving about their food and how it was the best wedding food they've had! Everything was so fresh and everyone was so easy to work with! Their bartenders were fantastic and they were so reasonably priced! 10/10 from us!
  • Stacy
    Stacy Sent on 07/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Food and Service

    Absolutely amazing food, not a lot of people can say that about their wedding meals. Also, the wait staff and bartenders were phenomenal!

    Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering's reply:

    Oh, Stacy! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a sweet review! You were stunning. We hope you are enjoying married life and hope you visit our restaurant whenever you are in Charlevoix!

    Best Regards,
    Katie Bryan
  • R
    Rob S. Sent on 06/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding food you have ever had

    Wow, wow, WOW. From the get-go, Grey Gables was prompt to return my emails and accommodate my every request (I was very particular about a lot of items). The steak for 170 guests was cooked Medium-rare to perfection (exactly as requested). The food was warm as they used warmed plates, the service was impeccable and their bartending service was surely some of the best of Northern Michigan wedding caterers. We had a "His" and "Hers" cocktail both with specific ingredients as well as recipes. Grey Gables was able to make these with ease along with an extensive cocktail menu that we provided beforehand that we wanted guests to be able to order. They showed up on time and were setup early, ready to go with restaurant level service and bartending. If you want the best wedding food and bartending you can get, this is it. They are able to execute on specific requests and for their service, the price gives you great value. I expected a lot from them, and they exceeded my expectations. It's difficult to serve 170 people in a timely manner with delicious food and drinks, but Grey Gables is definitely a team you can trust to get it done!

    Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering's reply:

    Oh Rob! This review has made our entire season! Thank you for taking the time to write, we really wanted everything to be perfect for you and your bride and we are thrilled that we succeeded. Congratulations and thank you!
    -Katie B
  • Holly
    Holly Sent on 02/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food and service

    Katie was just the most amazing person to work with for our catering. She made everything easy, was so friendly and kind, and had a good sense of humor even when my husband was making bad jokes.
    The food was delicious, the servers were great and they were so helpful. They even accomadated for a vegan guest with tree nut allergies and she raved about the meal she received saying she's never been able to eat at a wedding.
    The price was affordable and well worth every penny.
    I actually do have a photo someones plate because one of my close friends enjoyed it so much she took a picture of "the best wedding food she's had" and sent it to her sister. It has the chicken and pork options. (Plastic cup was from our bar the glass from GG)

    Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering's reply:

    Holly! How are we just seeing this review! We had so much fun with your wedding, it was super original and at one of my favorite Charlevoix homes! Thank you for letting us be a part of your special day and we hope you are enjoying married life!

    -Katie B
  • T
    Taylor Sent on 02/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a great experience working with Grey Gables as our caterer. Katie was one of the most readily available vendors we had for my 10,000 questions leading up to the wedding. The food was EXCELLENT and very well priced. Would recommend to anyone looking for a caterer!
  • L
    Linda Sent on 06/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had Grey Gables for our rehearsal dinner AND wedding reception (at Castle Farms), and could not be happier with our choice! Everyone at both events raved about how delicious their food is, as well as their service. Their fee includes everything from plates and glassware to gratuity, which is hard to find in vendors! The site manager (Katie) was super helpful throughout the planning process, we met her at the tasting (DELICIOUS) and continued to communicate via phone and email; she always had a great answer to my questions. We also used their bartender, who was really nice and welcoming, and followed our instructions for serving alcohol. I highly recommend Grey Gables for your event, go schedule a tasting and you will be sold too!
  • T
    Traci Sent on 06/23/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired Grey Gables to cater our wedding at Castle Farms. We went with the combination plate of beef and chicken. All of our guests said the food was wonderful (and we thought so too!).

    Leading up to the wedding communication was prompt, clear, and helpful. Katie answered all of our questions well and was willing to work with us to make small changes to the contract close to the wedding (updated guest count, removal of services, adding of others, etc.). We live about 4 hours away so email contact worked best for us and they always responded with what we needed.

    During the event the staff was efficient and nearly invisible (in the good way). The only time they asked for any of our attention on the day of was when they were floating to make sure everything was going smoothly and happened to catch the glance of the groom. They thought the glance meant we needed something and immediately came over to the head table to check. It turned out that we didn't but it demonstrates just how on top of the event they were. During last call the bartender came up to us and made sure that we didn't need anything before they left, which was also a great demonstration of how hard they were working to make sure we were taken care of.

    We would happily recommend Grey Gables to anyone looking for a caterer with great food and service! (Especially at Castle Farms because they seem to know the venue inside and out.)

    Grey Gables Restaurant & Catering's reply:

    Traci & Zach,
    Thank you so much for those awesome comments. We wish you lots of love!
    Darren, Kelly & Katie
  • User2595482 Sent on 05/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The food and service were great!! They were so amazing they knew which of their dishes were gluten free for one of my new cousins, and even went to the kitchen and made her a new salad without the croutons....above and beyond!
  • J
    Jim Sent on 09/27/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used Grey Gables catering for our wedding at Castle Farms and everything about their service was excellent. Our guests raved about both the food and the service all evening. The food was outstanding, the waiters and bartenders were polite and on point - it was everything we could have asked for. We even had a request for a specialty cocktail that the bartenders knocked out of the park - one of the highlights of the night for our guests. Darren was great to work with - very laid back, responsive and flexible. I would HIGHLY recommend for anyone planning a wedding in the area.
  • User2304839 Sent on 09/08/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Grey Gables Inn is the best caterer in Northern Michigan. The food was spectacular and their staff is amazing! We couldn't have asked for a better team to provide the food and service at our wedding.
  • C
    Chastity Sent on 06/04/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Food was just as good at event as it was during tasting. Delicious!
  • K
    Karissa Sent on 11/12/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Their food was amazing and has been the talk amongst our family and friends as the best wedding food. They were so accommodating to us and even was willing to set aside options for the gluten free people in my family.
  • User1860475 Sent on 10/13/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The food was fantastic and we loved the options they offer! We also used them for our rehearsal dinner and we were able to customize the menu options so the rehearsal meal was completely different than the wedding meal.
  • P
    Pam Sent on 10/12/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    People kept coming up and complimenting me on the food. My daughter researched the caterer through reviews which is why I wanted to write this one. Grey Gables' food was excellent. They made the food fresh on site. The plate was beautiful when presented, was delicious to eat, and you weren't too bloated to get up and move to the dance floor.

    We also opted for the pizza at 9:30 which was a huge hit. Also made fresh, people gobbled it right up. The beef just melted in your mouth, the chicken was very tender and the whole thing was so pretty on the plate, you hated to destroy it by eating it but I didn't see many plates returning with anything on them.

  • Sarabrooke
    Sarabrooke Sent on 06/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Grey Gables is very flexible and afforordable. The food was delicious. The services were excellent with the wait staff, bar tenders, and etc. were amazing. Peter was awesome with everything.
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 01/16/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing food and service. I couldn't have asked for more on my wedding day -- and at such a value!!!
  • K
    Katie Sent on 07/21/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Grey Gables was excellent to work with! They were easy to communicate with prior to the wedding and provided outstanding food and service onsite. Guests from our wedding said the food was some of the best they'd had. I can't give enough positive feedback! Thank you for making our day run so smoothly!!
  • User1235680 Sent on 07/10/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We selected the Knights Buffet Dinner option with Braised Beef & Roasted Tomato Chicken as the main entrees but we sampled their Wild Salmon & that is an excellent choice if you want a fish option. Many guests commented that the food was excellent. The food was served via buffet style except for the salad was plated & served to each guest. The buffet was set up so there were no delays in getting the guests through the buffet & we ended up getting though dinner much earlier than expected. Once the cake was cut the servers quickly sliced the cake and served it to the guests as well. The staff was very well organized and very efficient. We also used their Bartender services as well and the guests found them very friendly & customer service oriented. Darren Romano, Owner/Chef, was very professional to work with as well.
  • K
    Katherine Sent on 10/01/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Darren and Kelly are AMAZING! The food and service at our wedding was brilliant - we received a million compliments from a wide variety of picky foodies. Grey Gables was flexible, creative, original, and professional. Our passed appetizers were hot and delicious, and our whitefish/filet entree plate was served promptly and tasted like something you would eat in an excellent restaurant - not traditional "wedding food" with its negative implications. We also went with the late night pizza, which was also a massive hit. 1000% recommended.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message