Great Performances Reviews

14 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for Great Performances

Recommended by 90%

14
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • D

    David Shevlin · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Food

    I can’t say enough how perfect the food at our reception was — the passed food during cocktails, the dinner itself, and the dessert. The team was also fully and well staffed, incredibly professional and friendly, and flexible. And we planned our wedding in a bit of a hurry, and they were not phased at all by the short amount of time we gave them to prepare. Worth every penny!

    Sent on 11/23/2018
  • Alexis

    Alexis Kipper · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing -- 5 stars!!!!!

    Carly and Emily and their team were absolutely amazing to work with and were extremely helpful throughout the entire planning phase. They were always responsive and flexible and went above across the board. We can't thank the enough for helping to make our special day everything we could have dreamed of and more! The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. I highly recommend them!

    Sent on 12/03/2018
  • V

    Vivian · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I hired Great Performances as our wedding caterer and they were phenomenal to say the least!! From the initial conversation to the actual wedding itself, the planning process was seamless. I worked with Carly and Emily and those ladies are top notch! All of our wedding guests RAVED about the food, even including a successful NYC restaurateur! GP's food is creative, beautiful and delicious. The service was immaculate. Carly and Emily went ABOVE AND BEYOND their catering duties to make sure I was enjoying the wedding planing process as a whole. GP also provided a bridal attendant on the wedding day who was so lovely and sweet - she made sure my husband and I both had the drinks of our choice, kept hydrated, was eating, and even helped me with my shoe change! Seriously fantastic! Don't hesitate to hire Great Performances! They made my wedding so classy, spectacular and memorable! A++++

    Sent on 10/11/2018
  • Chris

    Chris · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used GREAT PERFORMANCES as our caterer for our August 2018 wedding at Housing Works Bookstore in Soho, New York City. The entire process was handled with great care (Ali and Kelsey were incredibly helpful) and the final product - the food - was exquisite. So many of our guests said that it was the best wedding food they have had. We recommend them very highly!

    Sent on 09/23/2018
  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I work with GP on a regular basis so it was nice having a familiar face to work with for my wedding pastries. They provided Italian pastries as a dessert option for all my tables and my guests loved them!

    Sent on 12/08/2016
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was perfect! Food was amazing and elthet took care of everything!

    Sent on 07/09/2017
  • L

    LAM · Married on 10/03/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These are unusual caterers. First off, everyone (and I mean everyone) raved about the food at my wedding. They are still talking about it 1 month later. But more so, they were a wonderful peace of mind. They handled hiccups in the most smooth and professional manner. I highly recommend Great Performances.

    Sent on 10/22/2009
  • M

    monisha · Married on 09/03/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Performances was absolutely flawless in helping us to plan and execute our wedding. Carly and Emily were so attentive and really listened to what we were going for, giving us awesome advice and helping to guide us throughout the process from renting dinnerware and linens to trying custom recipes for our dinner. Our wedding day was phenomenal and our guests are still RAVING about the food saying it's the best from a wedding, and better than many restaurants they've been to, which is not easy when you're serving 130 people. Thank you so much for the whole team for making our dream day magical!!

    Sent on 10/09/2016
  • User3505309 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Performances is the only caterer that provides food for weddings at Wave Hill, where our son's wedding took place. Amazing food, beautifully prepared and served. Amazing open bar as well.

    Sent on 09/02/2013
  • D

    Debra · Married on 05/31/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The quality of food was outstanding, and the plates were original.

    An example of one of the three cocktail stations we chose that went over particularly well:

    Jewels of the Deep Station
    Thai Lobster Martini
    Medallions of Lobster Tail with Confetti of Mango, Corn, and Tomato, Lemon Grass Spear to Accent
    Fried Oysters on the Half Shell with Caviar
    Chilled Jumbo Prawns over Shaved Ice, Spicy Horseradish Cocktail Sauce and Lemon

    In addition, Great Performances, in my opinion, went above and beyond their role as 'caterer', providing me with additional insight on how to set up the room, timeline of the day's events, worked together with florist to make everything look absolutely beautiful and perfect

    Sent on 10/01/2008
  • J

    Justine · Married on 06/30/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We worked with Great Performances to execute our wedding at Wave Hill in June. Carly and Emily were fantastic to work with! They were incredibly professional, responsive to all our emails and questions and helped execute our wedding vision perfectly. Carly and Emily worked with us every step of the way and we got to know them well and felt so comfortable in their hands come the big day. Carly and Emily were respectful of our budget and helped us find solutions so that we could still get the dream wedding we imagined. The service on the wedding was spectacular and guests noted how well cared for they felt. We are still getting compliments on the food - some people said it was the best wedding food they’ve ever had! I cannot recommend the Great Performances team, Carly or Emily enough!

    Sent on 09/09/2018
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 04/01/2017

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at GP that were responsible for our wedding were very responsive, professional, and knew what they were doing. We had an amazing wedding menu and cocktail menu and we are very happy with the food and outcome! That being said, we did have a hiccup with the rental situation that GP essentially owned with a preferred rental provider (Party Rentals). We had planned for a small wedding (under 75) and supplied the guest count months in advance of the wedding. After repeated requests for an estimate to see what the total cost of the rentals would be, we didn't receive the final invoice from GP until literally 3 days before the wedding and it ended up being 67% above our budget that we shared when we were picking out the rental equipment 3 months ahead of the wedding. As a result, we had to find ways to cut that budget that still ended up being higher than our estimated original. This was just really not necessary for the overall experience and caused added stress so close to the actual wedding. I love their food, their ability to customize the menu, but this left a bad taste in our mouths.

    Sent on 06/05/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/06/2010

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The food was absolutely incredible, and the room looked gorgeous. I have no complaints about Great Performances from the day of my wedding. They did a wonderful job.
    However, we did have difficulty with them along the way. Our Banquest Manager, Porfi, gave us a hard time about every minor change, and seemed to really be nickel and diming us. He originally gave us the impression that it would be $500 to extend the reception an hour (the normal time they do is 8:00-11:00, and that seemed too short for us). It turned out that it cost over $2500 to extend an hour.
    Also, he originally gave us a rental estimate of $6000. Although it wasn't Great Performances didn't provide the actual rentals, they had a "recommended vendor," except that they were required for anything food-related (plates, flatware, etc.) Then, when the rentals company gave us an invoice, it was for over $11,000. I thought that was outrageous, and we did get them to lower the price, but I didn’t understand how the estimate could have been so off considering that Great Performances does weddings at my venue every weekend. Shouldn't they have a better idea of how much things cost? I didn’t get anything that was extravagant or out of the ordinary.
    After the wedding, we had problems locating my husband's aunt’s camera, which she left at Wave Hill. She tried repeatedly to locate them and was told they were not there. My husband had to go over there and insist on speaking to Porfi, who continued to insist they were not there. Finally, he disappeared and returned with the camera.
    If they hadn’t been charging so much money, I probably wouldn’t complain about these issues. However, they charge a lot, and we really expected to get five-star service. This was our most extravagant investment in the wedding, and they were the ones who gave us the worst service.

    Sent on 07/08/2010
  • review_0618wedding

    E.M. · Married on 06/18/2016

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Review - Catering June Wedding

    We were celebrating our anniversary several days ago and we were looking at our wedding photos, and it reminded me to write a review for all our wedding vendors. The food/drinks was delicious and well presented. And the servers did a good job too. An important thing to note though is it was quite inconvenient and impractical to hire them for venues that do not have equipments and utencils ready to use. Based on my experience, the price they were charging is for the food, drinks, cooks, and servers only. Which means you had to pay the caterer, and separately the venue, and in addition - the rental company as well that rents out every single kitchen equipment and utencils that the caterer had to use. The fee for renting all the equipments and utencils was surprisingly very expensive as it depends on the number of utencils that are being priced there. You might for example get an invoice from the party rental company for hundreds of glasses or plates or forks, when you might only need way less than that. If you hire this catering company, don't be suprised too get invoices that shows something around $20,000 for catering, and receive a separate invoice of $10,000 for rentals alone, for just a small wedding of 70 to 75 people. Just know from the start what you will be signing up for and definitely do a thorough review of what items are being charged. It's only good to hire this caterer only for venues with built-in fully functioning kitchen that has all the equipments, utencils, chairs, tables, dinnerwares, silverwares, glasswares linens, etc available for use -- if you want a practical choice. Otherwise it is just too expensive.

    Sent on 06/27/2019

    Great Performances's reply:

    Hi E. M.,

    Happy anniversary! Thank you for your feedback – we always love hearing from couples whose weddings we have had the honor of catering. We remember your wedding well and enjoyed working with you to celebrate your wedding to A.! We’re delighted that you enjoyed the food and drinks that we prepared for you and your guests. As you mentioned, we have the flexibility to provide catering services at a variety of venues, including ones that do not have on-premise food services – it’s one of our strengths, following our delicious food and exceptional service.

    We apologize that you felt your wedding celebration was too expensive and that our communications on costs were unclear. We work closely with our clients to understand their event, their vision, and any budget restraints; and we have reviewed our communications with you to see if we were not transparent in stating total costs related to catering, including rental fees. We’re happy to discuss further and will follow up with an email which will also include an invitation for an anniversary toast at one of our venues.

    Once again, happy anniversary!

    Warmly,
    Great Performances

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review