Great Blue Heron Catering Reviews

130 | Vienna, VA
See photos, pricing and details

130 Reviews for Great Blue Heron Catering

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

130

7 User photos

Order by:
  • Will

    Will Park · Getting married on 12/05/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great food and service!

    Great Blue Heron was great to work with and the food was SO GOOD. Liz was very receptive and helpful to any changes to the menu and linen order. We particular enjoyed our tasting and everybody enjoyed their dinner at our wedding. Our favorites were actually the appetizers - some of our guests loved the appetizers so much they couldn’t believe they were also getting dinner! The bacon-wrapped dates are to die for. Service at the wedding was also prompt and courteous. Thanks, Great Blue Heron Catering!

    Sent on 05/31/2019
  • L

    Lori Ruderman · Married on 01/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome in all ways

    From start to finish an awesome experience! They worked with us on allergies and restrictions. Price was reasonable ant the food was terrific!

    Sent on 05/27/2020
  • A

    Joyce Mattes · Married on 10/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Guests couldn't stop talking about the food

    Great Blue Heron catered our wedding and the appetizers and dinner were raved about by our guests. They provided terrific and responsive service!

    Sent on 10/28/2019
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Food, Amazing Service on our Wedding Day!

    e chose GBH because they were our venue's preferred catering, and, to our great delight, we fell in love with the food they made during our tasting session! The chefs are professional and were able to fully customize our menu to include special platters that were meaningful to us. They worked with us on cost without compromising the delicious food, and they made sure everything was to our liking the day of our wedding. The service staff were also excellent, and they were flexible enough to accommodate any guests who were held up due to talking with the bride or groom. They managed the chaos of food service with the utmost professionalism and efficiency, and we are very grateful to have had them on our wedding day. They made sure that we had our own platters ready and waiting for us while we talked with our guests, as well as making sure our glasses were full of whatever we needed at the time. We hope to be able to experience their amazing service again should we have need for a catering company.

    Sent on 10/20/2019
  • J

    John Davidson · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    great food and service

    Blue Heron Catering had lots of delicious food options. We thoroughly enjoyed our food. And the great staff did a lot to help make our special day great.

    Sent on 11/30/2019
  • Ariel

    Ariel Ramsey · Married on 07/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were so great!

    For the cost, we received 2 stationary appetizers, 5 passed appetizers, and 3 amazing meal choices. They also provided bar service & our own signature cocktail. Their catering team was also incredible. We were a little hesitant about using them - when caterers are required by venues they can decline in service and quality with no repercussions - but the catering tasting eased all our worries and made us SO excited for the wedding. We would recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 07/31/2019
  • C

    Catherine Forrester · Married on 06/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful food and great service!

    I loved all the food! I highly recommend the coconut shrimp and raspberry brie phyllo bites (spectacular)! Kelli is an amazing coordinator and so easy to work with! They were flexible and accommodating with dietary needs and special drink requests! I highly recommend them! And the day of staff were great!!

    Sent on 07/12/2019
  • Jewel

    Jewel Tomasula · Married on 06/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious!

    Great Blue Heron is the exclusive caterer for the Northern Virginia Parks wedding and event venues. We did the tasting with them at our venue, the Woodlands at Algonkian. They're really experienced and they know what food makes a good event. They also managed the open bar. They are pretty flexible with options and price points. They give a buffet option and a plated option, with several options to cut/add options within those two. We chose plated meals and worked it to $60 per person. All of the staff were wonderful.

    One nice perk they offer is that as the bride and groom, we could choose *any* meal we wanted, at no upcharge! Our guests chose between sliced steak, chicken, and salmon, but I had crab cake and my husband had a filet steak.

    They also take care of ordering the table cloths and napkins, and set up and clean up at the venue.

    Sent on 06/15/2019
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious!

    Started at our tasting - which was amazing - their food is truly really good. They were super flexible with how we wanted to do our menu, any dietary restrictions, everything. They were very amicable about pricing, and on the day of the wedding everything went smoothly and was delicious. Everybody loved the food!

    Sent on 05/26/2019
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 04/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food!

    We got married April 2019 and used them as our caterer. The food, drinks, and service were all amazing! Bianca the catering manager was there the day and night of the wedding to ensure everything went smoothly. We went with the buffet and full bar and our guests raved about it. Would definitely use them again for another event.

    Sent on 06/18/2019
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 04/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Well Worth It

    My guests were blown away with the food overall! Both the appetizers and main dish were amazing! I especially liked that the company has a policy where no matter what you serve your guests, the bride and groom can have whatever we wanted (the guests had chicken and beef options with the buffet, we had salmon). Many people came up to us saying how they plan to keep our venue in mind just because they were catered by Great Blue Heron!

    Sent on 04/15/2019
  • Reign1701A

    David · Married on 03/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Food, Amazing Staff

    We got married at Woodlands at Algonkian, which contracts with Blue Heron. We repeatedly got compliments about how good the food was. We enjoyed our tasting and because there were so many delicious selections, we had a tough time narrowing down our menu. The catering crew on our wedding day was totally professional and were SUPER attentive to my wife and I the whole evening.

    Sent on 10/12/2019
  • Heidi

    Heidi · Married on 01/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you, Liz!

    Wow! Our food was incredible! I have never seen so many steaks cooked to medium rare perfection at a wedding. We absolutely loved working with Great Blue Heron and the food couldn't have turned out better. Between our cocktail hour reception snacks, delicious main courses, and the flowing bar, I can't decide what my favorite part was. Some hidden perks to working with Great Blue Heron is that the venue coordinator Cori and the catering coordinator Liz work really well together. I can't tell you how relieved we were to be able to easily coordinate with everyone involved. We worked together at the tasting to build our menu, were able to coordinate special meals for a few guests including my husband and my sister, and were able to communicate about day of timeline using a google doc. Our meals were perfectly timed, high quality, and left our guests happy. Thank you, Great Blue Heron!

    Sent on 02/26/2019
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone complimented the food!

    It’s rare that food on a buffet for 150 actually tastes good but GBH made that happen and our guests loved the meal! GBH is Meadowlark’s in-house catering company and if you’re looking at Meadowlark for a vendor, highly recommend GBH! The tasting went on for forever and there are so many options!

    Sent on 12/10/2018
  • H

    Hilary · Married on 10/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food was wonderful

    Everyone at the wedding said how wonderful the food was! The staff was amazing!

    Sent on 11/14/2018
  • Wendy

    Wendy · Married on 10/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    amazing taste & nothing was dry!

    We booked our wedding venue with River View at Occoquan, which is one of the Nova parks. They partner with Blue Heron so they automatically became our caterer for the wedding and... it was a great experience having them cooking for my wedding!

    Everything from the cocktail food to the actual dinner was AMAZINGGGGG!! We did buffet and the food was very much not dry and absolutely splendid in taste! All of our guests raved about the salmon and the beef tenderloin. And on point service!!

    Sent on 11/06/2018
  • Gloria

    Gloria · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was incredible!

    Their whole team was on point and the chef is clearly an artist. Food, drinks and service at our wedding were all fantastic :) THANK YOU!

    Sent on 10/16/2018
  • F

    Francesca · Married on 07/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food provided by Great Blue Heron Catering was absolutely amazing! We were very fortunate that they are attached to Rust Manor House and NOVA Parks, which is how we found out about them. We had a fantastic experience at the tasting, and the food was just as great at the wedding. The service was also outstanding, and they made sure to attend to the bridal party while we were away from the cocktail hour for photos. Again, we can't say enough about the food!

    Sent on 07/21/2018
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a truly incredible experience working with Liz and her staff! They provided a delicious tasting, answered all of our questions, were able to switch out local beers into our package, supplied our guest with water on a hot summer day and were accommodating is so many ways! They customized a reception dinner menu for us, set up the reception space beautifully. Their pricing CANNOT be beat!! Would highly recommend their support staff, chefs, and day of catering staff!

    Sent on 08/05/2018
  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Blue Heron did a fabulous job at our wedding! We got so many compliments on all of the food and drinks. Everything was delicious. Great Blue Heron has a great staff that made sure we were full and happy. The service was top notch. They took care of set up and clean up, table cloths, and worked closely with the venue to make sure the reception was set up just as requested. Liz was helpful and responsive on the planning end of things. She accommodated our requests for signature drinks and answered all of my questions quickly when planning. Our guests left our wedding full and happy! We are so grateful for a delicious first meal as husband and wife!

    Sent on 06/24/2018
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 06/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A great team to work with! Food was delicious and they were very helpful - especially in the last 30 days leading up to the wedding.

    Sent on 08/13/2018
  • P

    Parvin · Married on 03/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Caterer ( Great Blue Heron ) is really one of the best one in Northern Virginia . Jason , the catering manager was expert , cooperative and responsive . We have to change the floor plan a few times and he accepted them without any complain . All his staff were great . The quality and quantity of food and services was excellent .

    Sent on 05/09/2018
  • A

    Alex · Married on 11/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Great Blue Heron! We used them as our wedding was at Rust Manor and they are their preferred caterer. Using them was not only the simpler and cheaper option (as opposed to finding an outside caterer, etc.) they were fantastic. The food was delicious and the staff were phenomenal. It took off so much worry knowing they were so familiar with our venue. We could not have been happier. They took into consideration dietary restrictions as well which was super awesome.

    Sent on 12/03/2017
  • Anneka

    Anneka · Married on 11/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Blue Heron were great to work with. Liz was very responsive to the endless questions that arose! Dennis was amazing, and we were able to put together a menu that was special to us! Can't thank him enough for going out of his way to accommodate our requests. On the day of, everything ran smoothly. The staff were amazing, and while the bridal party were taking pictures, they made sure to bring food and drinks outside to make sure we all were fed and watered :) The food was unbelievable. Everyone has raved about how amazing the cocktail hour spread was, and honestly, the only "complaint" I have heard from guests, was that there was too much food!!!! LOL - simply wonderful - I highly recommend Great Blue Heron!! Thank you all for your hard work!!

    Sent on 11/17/2017
  • Athena

    Athena · Married on 10/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was amazing!! The only thing I noticed was the lighting in the dining hall made it a little difficult for the staff to tell the difference between the purple and black cards (indicating beef or fish) AND people moved their seats at the parents table making GBH’s master copy of the meal choice reversed, which was NO fault to GBH at all. For that I apologize, I didn’t know they were moved until everyone was seated (and still don’t know who moved them). But they worked it out and everyone has complimented on how great the food was. Thank you so very very much! Forgive me for not remembering her name but the woman who was overseeing the dinner/waitstaff was absolutely amazing and I am 100% positive her goal the whole night was to ensure not only was I happy, but everyone at our wedding reception was happy! Again, thank you for being a very critical part of our wedding day and looking back, I wish I had gotten a picture of all the staff together!

    Sent on 11/01/2017